DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/141,275 filed on 04/28/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. This office action is based upon claims received on 03/18/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1, 8, 15 are amended.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
5. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
6. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 6-8, filed on 03/18/2026, with respect to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to Rejections of Dependent Claims, have been considered, and are also moot and not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
8. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 20240064713 A1) i.e. “SUN”, in view of GUO et al (US 20230389100 A1) i.e. “GUO”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) SUN teaches: A method (SUN – FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B & ¶0094 […] FIGS. 5A and 5B […] illustrate COT sharing for sidelink groupcast […] method 500 may be implemented among UE 502a, UE 502b, UE 502c, and UE 502d operating over a shared radio frequency band (e.g., in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum)[…] FIG. 5B is a timing diagram 520 illustrating the sidelink COT sharing method 500 […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and per ¶00094 i.e. a timing diagram 520 illustrating the sidelink COT sharing method 500 reads on: A method)
comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing indication indicating a COT duration (SUN FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0098 The sidelink transmission A may include COT sharing information. As shown in FIG. 5B, the sidelink transmission A includes an indicator 532. The indicator 532 may indicate whether the sidelink transmission A 530 is transmitted by an initiating node (of the COT 524) or a responding node. […] the indicator 532 may have a length of 1 bit, where a bit-value of 1 may indicate an initiating node and a bit-value of 0 may indicate a responding node or vice versa. […] the indicator 532 may be part of a first stage SCI or part of a second stage SCI. In some aspects, the indicator 532 may be part of a COT-SI. For instance, the COT-SI may include a bitmap and the indicator 532 may correspond to a bit within the bitmap. In some instances, the COT-SI may indicate other information (e.g., a duration of the COT 524 for sharing such as the portion 508 shown in FIG. 5B) related to the COT 524;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0098 i.e. the sidelink transmission A includes an indicator 532 reads on: comprising: receiving, furthermore per FIG. 5A i.e. UE502b that receives Transmission A reads on: by a first wireless device furthermore per FIG. 5A i.e. UE502a that transmits Transmission A reads on: from a second wireless device. Furthermore, per ¶0098 i.e. the indicator 532 may be part of a COT-SI. i.e. the COT-SI may indicate other information (e.g., a duration of the COT 524 for sharing such as the portion 508 shown in FIG. 5B reads on: a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing indication indicating a COT duration );
determining, by the first wireless device: a first power measurement associated with a first sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device(Sun FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0100 […] the UE 502b may perform a CAT2 LBT prior to transmitting the sidelink transmission B in the shared COT 524 […]the UE 502b may determine whether to perform no LBT or a CAT2 LBT prior transmitting the sidelink transmission B in the shared COT 524 based on a gap duration between the sidelink transmission B and a previous transmission in the COT;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. the UE 502b may perform a CAT2 LBT prior to transmitting the sidelink transmission B i.e. perform a CAT2 LBT reads on: determining, by the first wireless device: a first power measurement i.e. prior to transmitting the sidelink transmission B as applied to sidelink transmission from UE 502b to UE 502a as depicted in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B reads on: associated with a first sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device );
and a second power measurement associated with a second sidelink between the first wireless device and a third wireless device(Sun FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0101 […] To transmit the sidelink transmission C, the UE 502b may perform a CAT4 LBT 552 in the shared channel to contend for a COT 554 and transmit the sidelink transmission C 560 upon passing the CAT4 LBT 552 (with the checkmark) as shown in FIG. 5B. The sidelink transmission C 560 may include SCI (e.g., SCI 430) and data (e.g., data 435);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. UE 502b may perform a CAT4 LBT 552 in the shared channel to contend for a COT 554 and i.e. upon passing the CAT4 LBT 552 reads on: and a second power measurement i.e. per ¶0101 i.e. To transmit the sidelink transmission C as applied to from UE 502b to UE 502d as depicted in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B reads on: associated with a second sidelink between the first wireless device and a third wireless device);
and transmitting, to (Sun FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. The sidelink transmission C 560 may include SCI (e.g., SCI 430) and data (e.g., data 435) as depicted to UE 502d reads on: and transmitting, to the third wireless device where per FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B cot 554 is within COT 524 showing Transmission C or Transmission C 560 within portion 508 reads on: within the COT duration, and per FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. The sidelink transmission C 560 may include SCI (e.g., SCI 430) and data (e.g., data 435) reads on: sidelink data )
based on: (Sun FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. To transmit the sidelink transmission C, the UE 502b may perform a CAT4 LBT 552 reads on: based on: the second power measurement );
SUN does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly disclose (I.e. see italicized portions): a first power measurement based on a first reference signal (RS); and a second power measurement based on a second RS; transmitting, based on: ; and
GUO which also teaches: A method (GUO – FIG. 14 & ¶0105 […] flow 1400 between a transmitting sidelink device and multiple receiving sidelink devices […] in connection with FIGS. 8 and 12; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0105 i.e. flow 1400 reads on: A method)
comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, indication (GUO FIG. 14 & ¶0109 […] At 1462, in response to the configured CMR resource 1426 and/or the measurement indication (e.g., received at 1458), the first receiving sidelink device 1404 may perform a channel measurement for the first unicast link 1420 based on the received/configured CMR resource 1426, and may report/feedback channel measurement 1432 for the first unicast link 1420 back to the transmitting sidelink device 1402
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0109 i.e. the first receiving sidelink device 1404 i.e. may report/feedback channel measurement 1432 for the first unicast link 1420 back to the transmitting sidelink device 1402 reads on: comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device , i.e. the first receiving sidelink device 1404 i.e. may report/feedback channel measurement 1432 reads on: from a second wireless device , i.e. may report/feedback channel measurement 1432 for the first unicast link 1420 reads on: an indication );
furthermore (i.e. specific to portions not explicitly taught or strongly disclosed by SUN as noted above) GUO teaches:determining, by the first wireless device: a first power measurement based on a first reference signal (RS) associated with a first sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (GUO – FIG. 14 (in connection to FIG. 12) & ¶0107 […] At 1458, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may […] transmit measurement indications to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 and the second receiving sidelink device 1406. […], the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 to perform channel measurement for the first unicast link 1420 based on the CMR resource 1426 of the first RS 1412 and to report/feedback the channel measurement back to the transmitting sidelink device 1402. The transmitting sidelink device 1402 may also indicate to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 to perform interference measurement […] and to report/feedback the interference measurement back to the transmitting sidelink device 1402 […] ; ¶0108 […] At 1460, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit the first RS 1412 from the first TRP 1408 […] ; ¶0109 see above; ¶0113 […] At 1474, based at least in part on the channel measurement 1432 from the first receiving sidelink device 1404 and the interference measurement 1434 from the second receiving sidelink device 1406, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine/calculate SINR corresponding to the first precoder 1422 […]; ¶0114 […] At 1476, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether multiple unicast SDM transmission may be applied or enabled for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 based at least in part on the received channel measurements (e.g., 1432, 1442) for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 […] the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 using the first precoder 1422 and the second precoder 1424 based at least in part on the SINR calculated for the first precoder 1422 and the second precoder 1424;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 14 step 1432 & ¶0109 i.e. The channel measurement 1432 i.e. received by the first TRP 1408 and/or the second TRP 1410, and per ¶0113 i.e. based at least in part on the channel measurement 1432 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may i.e. determine/calculate SINR corresponding to the first precoder 1422 reads on: determining, by the first wireless device: per ¶0109 & ¶0113 & ¶0114 i.e. The channel measurement 1432 and per ¶0113 i.e. SINR corresponding to the first precoder 1422, where per ¶0114 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for the first unicast link 1420 a based at least in part on the SINR calculated for the first precoder 1422, and therefore i.e. The channel measurement 1432 or i.e. SINR calculated corresponding to the first precoder 1422 reads on: a first power measurement . Furthermore per ¶0108 i.e. 1460, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit the first RS 1412 where furthermore per ¶0107 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 to perform channel measurement for the first unicast link 1420 based on the CMR resource 1426 of i.e. the first RS 1412 and to report/feedback the channel measurement i.e. The channel measurement 1432 and accordingly i.e. SINR corresponding to the first precoder 1422 are based on the first RS 1412 measurement report reads on: reads on: based on a first reference signal (RS) . Furthermore per ¶0107 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 to perform channel measurement i.e. for the first unicast link based on the CMR resource 1426 of the first RS 1412 reads on: associated with a first sidelink. Furthermore per FIG. 14 first Unicast Link on side link is between UE- A and UE-B 1404 reads on: between the first wireless device and the second wireless device);
and a second power measurement based on a second RS associated with a second sidelink between the first wireless device and a third wireless device (GUO – FIG. 14 & ¶0110 […]At 1468, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may optionally transmit measurement indications to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 and the second receiving sidelink device 1406. […], the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 to perform a channel measurement for the second unicast link 1430 based on the CMR resource 1436 of the second RS 1414 and to report/feedback the channel measurement back to the transmitting sidelink device 1402 […] ; ¶0111 […] At 1470, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit the second RS 1414 from the second TRP 1410 […] ; ¶0112 The channel measurement 1442 may be received by the first TRP 1408 and/or the second TRP 1410; ¶0114 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 14 step 1434 where per ¶0112 & ¶0113 & ¶0114 i.e. The channel measurement 1442 and per ¶0113 i.e. based at least in part on the channel measurement 1442 from the second receiving sidelink device 1406 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine/calculate SINR corresponding to the second precoder 1424, where per ¶0114 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for i.e. the second unicast link 1430 using i.e. the second precoder 1424 based at least in part on i.e. the SINR calculated for the second precoder 1424, and therefore i.e. The channel measurement 1442 or i.e. the SINR calculated for the second precoder 1424 reads on: and a second power measurement. Furthermore per ¶0111 i.e. 1470, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit the second RS 1414 and furthermore per ¶0110 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 to perform a channel measurement for the second unicast link 1430 based on the CMR resource 1436 i.e. of the second RS 1414 i.e. The channel measurement 1442 and accordingly i.e. SINR corresponding to the first precoder 1424 are based on the first RS 1414 measurement report reads on: reads on: based on a second RS. Furthermore per ¶0110 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may indicate to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 to perform a channel measurement i.e. for the second unicast link 1430 based on the CMR resource 1436 of the second RS 1414 reads on: associated with a second sidelink. Furthermore per FIG. 14 Second Unicast Link on side link is between UE- A and UE-C 1406 reads on: between the first wireless device and a third wireless device);
and transmitting, to (GUO – FIG. 14 & FIG. 13 & ¶0099 in connection with FIG. 8 & FIG. 12[…]; ¶0104 […] the transmitting sidelink device 1302 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for the first unicast link 1320 and the second unicast link 1330 based on the SINR determined/calculated for the first precoder 1322 and the second precoder 1324, such as when the SINR reaches or is above a threshold; ¶0114 See above; ¶0116 […] At 1480, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may communicate with (e.g., transmit data to or receive data from) the first receiving sidelink device 1404 and the second receiving sidelink device 1406 based on SDM transmission. […] the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit a first packet to the first receiving sidelink device 1404 using the first precoder 1422 (e.g., via the first spatial layer of the SDM transmission) and a second packet to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 using the second precoder 1424 (e.g., via the second spatial layer of the SDM transmission);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0116 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may transmit i.e. a second packet to the second receiving sidelink device 1406 using the second precoder 1424 (e.g., via the second spatial layer of the SDM transmission) reads on: and transmitting, to the third wireless device sidelink data, where per ¶0114 i.e. At 1476, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether multiple unicast SDM transmission may be applied or enabled for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 i.e. based at least in part on i.e. the received channel measurements (e.g., 1432, 1442) and i.e. based at least in part on the SINR calculated for the first precoder 1422 and the second precoder 1424 reads on: based on: the first power measurement and the second power measurement as correspondingly also indicated by per ¶104 i.e. apply SDM transmission for the first unicast link 1320 and the second unicast link 1330 based on the SINR determined/calculated for the first precoder 1322 and the second precoder 1324 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN with teachings of GUO, since GUO enables a transmitting UE to determine whether, or when, to enable SDM transmission for multiple unicast links, and provide improved measurement procedure(s) of SDM transmission determination for UEs that are communicating under the unicast mode (GUO - ¶0042).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore GUO teaches: wherein the transmitting is further based on: a comparison of the first power measurement with a first power threshold (GUO – FIG. 13 & ¶0099 […] in connection with FIGS. 8 and 12; ¶0104 See claim 1; FIG. 14 & ¶0105 See claim 1; ¶0114 See claim 1; ¶0116 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0114 i.e. At 1476, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether multiple unicast SDM transmission may be applied or enabled for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 i.e. based at least in part on the received channel measurements (e.g., 1432, 1442) i.e. per ¶0114 i.e. measurement 1432 where per ¶0114 and i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for the first unicast link 1420 a based at least in part on the SINR calculated for the first precoder 1422 reads on: wherein the transmitting is further based on: SINR determined for 1422, and based upon per ¶0104 i.e. such as when the SINR reaches or is above a threshold reads on: a comparison of the first power measurement with a first power threshold );
and a comparison of the second power measurement with a second power threshold (GUO – FIG. 13 & ¶0099 See above; ¶0104 See above; FIG. 14 & ¶0105 See claim 1; ¶0114 See claim 1; ¶0116 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0114 i.e. At 1476, the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether multiple unicast SDM transmission may be applied or enabled for the first unicast link 1420 and the second unicast link 1430 i.e. based at least in part on the received channel measurements (e.g., 1432, 1442) i.e. 1442 where per ¶0114 the i.e. measurement 1432 where per ¶0114 i.e. the transmitting sidelink device 1402 may determine whether to apply SDM transmission for the second unicast link 1430 a based at least in part on the SINR calculated for the second precoder 1424 reads on: wherein the transmitting is further based on: SINR determined for 1424, and based upon per ¶0104 i.e. such as when the SINR reaches or is above a threshold reads on: a comparison of the second power measurement with a second power threshold ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN in view of GUO, further with the teachings of GUO, since GUO enables a transmitting UE to determine whether, or when, to enable SDM transmission for multiple unicast links, and provide improved measurement procedure(s) of SDM transmission determination for UEs that are communicating under the unicast mode (GUO - ¶0042).
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore SUN teaches: wherein the COT sharing indication further indicates that the first wireless device is allowed to transmit the sidelink data during the COT duration (SUN FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0098 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and per ¶0098 i.e. the indicator 532 may be part of a COT-SI. reads on: a wherein the COT sharing indication i.e. the COT-SI may indicate other information (e.g., a duration of the COT 524 for sharing such as the portion 508 shown in FIG. 5B reads on: further indicates that the first wireless device per FIG. 5B as depicted i.e. Transmission C 560 is within shared portion 508 reads on: is allowed to transmit the sidelink data, and that i.e. Transmission C 560 is within shared portion 508 of COT 524 and within COT 524 reads on: during the COT duration).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore SUN teaches: wherein the receiving the COT sharing indication comprises receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) and a first sidelink transport block scheduled by the first SCI (SUN FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B & ¶0091 […] SCI 430 […] parameters (e.g., transmission parameters) to be used for an upcoming sidelink transmission, such as one or more resource blocks to be used for the upcoming sidelink transmission on the PSSCH 420 (e.g., for TBs 435) ;¶0096 […] At action 512, upon passing the CAT4 LBT, the UE 502a transmits a sidelink transmission A (shown as 530 in FIG. 5B) during a portion 506 of the COT 524. The sidelink transmission A may include SCI (e.g., SCI 430) and data (e.g., data 435) as discussed above in relation to FIG. 4. The sidelink transmission A is a groupcast transmission, for example, with the UE 502b and the UE 502c as the intended recipients as shown by the two arrows grouped by the dashed oval. The UE 502b and the UE 502c (e.g., responding UEs) may receive the sidelink transmission A.; ¶0098 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5A i.e. UE502a that transmits Transmission A, and per ¶0098 i.e. the indicator 532 may be part of a COT-SI. i.e. the COT-SI may indicate other information (e.g., a duration of the COT 524 for sharing such as the portion 508 shown in FIG. 5B reads on: wherein the receiving the COT sharing indication, and furthermore per ¶0096 i.e. UE 502a transmits a sidelink transmission A (shown as 530 in FIG. 5B) during a portion 506 of the COT 524. The sidelink transmission A may include SCI (e.g., SCI 430) and data (e.g., data 435) reads on: comprises receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) and a first sidelink transport block , where per ¶0091 SCI 430 transmits grants which indicates transmission parameters) to be used for an upcoming sidelink transmission, such as one or more resource blocks to be used for the upcoming sidelink transmission on the PSSCH 420 (e.g., for TBs 435) reads on: scheduled by the first SCI).
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) SUN teaches: A first wireless device ((SUN – FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B & ¶0094 See claim 1; ¶0098 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5A i.e. UE502b that receives Transmission A reads on: A first wireless device)
comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device (SUN FIG. 11 & & FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B & ¶0148 […] ¶0148 i.e. The memory 1104 may store instructions 1106. The instructions 1106 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1102, cause the processor 1102 to perform operations described herein, for example, aspects of FIGS. 1-3, 4, 5A-5B, 6A-6B, 7, 8A-8B, 9, and 12; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0148 i.e. The memory 1104 may store instructions 1106. The instructions 1106 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1102, reads on: comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions , where i.e. ¶0148 i.e. The memory 1104 may store instructions 1106. The instructions 1106 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1102, cause the processor 1102 to perform operations reads on: when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device )
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8) to: receive, from a second wireless device, a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing indication indicating a COT duration;determine: a first power measurement based on a first reference signal (RS) associated with a first sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device; and a second power measurement based on a second RS associated with a second sidelink between the first wireless device and a third wireless device; and transmit, to a-the third wireless device and within the COT duration, sidelink data based on: (See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The first wireless device of claim 8,
(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11) wherein transmitting the sidelink data is further based on: a comparison of the first power measurement with a first power threshold; and a comparison of the second power measurement with a second power threshold(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The first wireless device of claim 8,
(See Rejection of Claim 6, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 13) wherein the COT sharing indication further indicates that the first wireless device is allowed to transmit the sidelink data during the COT duration(See Rejection of Claim 6, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The first wireless device of claim 8, (See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 14)
wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive first sidelink control information (SCI) and a first sidelink transport block scheduled by the first SCI(See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 14).
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) SUN teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first wireless device, cause the first wireless device (SUN FIG. 11 & & FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B & ¶0148 See claim 1 and Claim 8; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0148 i.e. The memory 1104 may store instructions 1106. The instructions 1106 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1102, reads on: comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions , where i.e. ¶0148 i.e. The memory 1104 may store instructions 1106. The instructions 1106 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1102, cause the processor 1102 to perform operations reads on: when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device )
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15) to: receive, from a second wireless device, a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing indication indicating a COT duration;determine: a first power measurement based on a first reference signal (RS) associated with a first sidelink between the first wireless device and the second wireless device; and a second power measurement based on a second RS associated with a second sidelink between the first wireless device and a third wireless device; and transmit, to a-the third wireless device and within the COT duration, sidelink data based on: (See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15).
Regarding Claim 18. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 18)
wherein transmitting the sidelink data is further based on: a comparison of the first power measurement with a first power threshold; and a comparison of the second power measurement with a second power threshold(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 18).
Regarding Claim 19. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
(See Rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 19)
wherein the COT sharing indication further indicates that the first wireless device is allowed to transmit the sidelink data during the COT duration (See Rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
(See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 20)
wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive first sidelink control information (SCI) and a first sidelink transport block scheduled by the first SCI(See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 20).
9. Claims 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 12, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of GUO, further in view of GUO et al (US 20240389142 A1), i.e. “Guo2”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore SUN teaches: further comprising performing, based on the receiving the COT sharing indication, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure on a channel comprising a sidelink resource for transmission of the sidelink data, wherein the transmitting is in response to the LBT procedure indicating the channel is idle. (SUN FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0095 […] For instance, the CAT4 LBT 522 is successful (indicating the channel is clear for transmission) as shown by the checkmark; ¶0101 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0100…. To transmit the sidelink transmission C, the UE 502b may perform i.e. a CAT4 LBT 552 in the shared channel reads on: further comprising performing, based on the receiving the COT sharing indication, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure where per ¶0100 i.e. a CAT4 LBT 552 in the shared channel to contend for a COT 554 and transmit the sidelink transmission C 560 reads on: on a channel comprising a sidelink resource for transmission of the sidelink data ; per ¶0100… transmit the sidelink transmission C 560 reads on: wherein the transmitting per ¶0100 i.e. upon passing the CAT4 LBT 552 (with the checkmark) as shown in FIG. 5B reads on: is in response to the LBT procedure indicating the channel is idle );
While SUN teaches: indicating the channel is idle as noted herein i.e. per ¶0100 i.e. upon passing the CAT4 LBT 552 (with the checkmark) as shown in FIG. 5B where passing can be interpreted per ¶0095 as the CAT4 LBT i.e. is successful (indicating the channel is clear for transmission) as shown by the checkmark indicating that per ¶0100 i.e. upon passing the CAT4 LBT 552 (with the checkmark) also indicates indicating the channel is clear for transmission implying the channel is idle,
assuming arguendo that SUN implies idle and that:
SUN in view of GUO does not appear to explicitly disclose (i.e. SUN implies - Note see italicized portions): indicating the channel is idle;
Guo2 teaches: transmitting is in response to LBT procedure indicating the channel is idle (Guo - ¶0035… the wireless communication device may utilize an energy detection (ED) threshold during LBT to determine whether the channel is idle or busy. For example, the wireless communication device may compare the measured energy level of signals transmitted by other devices on the channel to the ED threshold. The wireless communication device may then access the channel in response to the measured energy level being less than the ED threshold. For COT sidelink sharing, the wireless communication device may either reuse the same ED threshold as COT uplink sharing; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 i.e. The wireless communication device may then access the channel in response to the measured energy level being less than the ED threshold, where i.e. the wireless communication device may utilize an energy detection (ED) threshold during LBT reads on: transmitting is in response to LBT procedure, where i.e. utilize an energy detection (ED) threshold during LBT to determine whether the channel is idle reads on: indicating the channel is idle ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN in view of GUO, with teachings of Guo2, since Guo2 enables efficient use of a gNB-initiated COT, the gNB (e.g., network access node) may share the gNB-initiated COT with one or more UEs for sidelink communication (Guo2 - ¶0106).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) SUN in view of GUO and Guo2 teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore SUN teaches: wherein the transmitting is via the sidelink resource (Sun FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B & ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 A & FIG. 5B and Per ¶0100 i.e. To transmit the sidelink transmission C reads on: wherein the transmitting per ¶0100 i.e. sidelink transmission C and per FIG. 5B The sidelink transmission C 560 reads on: is via the sidelink resource).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The method of claim 4,
SUN in view of GUO does not appear to explicitly disclose (Note – i.e. see italicized portions): further comprising receiving, from a base station, a message indicating at least one of the first power threshold or the second power threshold.
Guo2 teaches: further comprising receiving, from a base station, a message indicating at least one of the first power threshold. (Guo2 - ¶0032… he wireless communication device can receive a message from the network access node including a COT sharing indicator indicating whether COT sidelink sharing is enabled or disabled …the message may include a radio resource control (RRC) message and the COT sharing indicator may include an RRC parameter ;¶0035 See claim 2; ¶0036… the wireless communication device may be RRC configured with a new sidelink ED threshold (e.g., maxEnergyDetectionThreshold-SL) and/or an ED threshold offset (e.g., energyDetectionThresholdOffset-SL) that may be used adjust a default ED threshold according to the offset value indicated by the ED threshold offset; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 i.e. The wireless communication device may then access the channel in response to the measured energy level being less than the ED threshold, where i.e. the wireless communication device may utilize an energy detection (ED) threshold during LBT reads on: transmitting, sidelink data based on: a power measurement , where i.e. utilize an energy detection (ED) threshold during LBT to determine whether the channel is idle or busy and i.e. per ¶0036 the wireless communication device may be RRC configured reads on: further comprising receiving , where per ¶0032 i.e. receive a message from the network access node including a COT sharing indicator indicating whether COT sidelink sharing is enabled or disabled combined with RRC combined with per ¶0036 wireless communication device may be RRC configured reads on from a base station , where per ¶0036 i.e. with a new sidelink ED threshold reads on: a message indicating at least one of the first power threshold)
or the second power threshold (Note: preceding limitation is subsequent to or separated by a recitation “or” and is interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN in view of GUO with teachings of Guo2, since GUO enables efficient use of a gNB-initiated COT, the gNB (e.g., network access node) may share the gNB-initiated COT with one or more UEs for sidelink communication (Guo2 - ¶0106).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The first wireless device of claim 8,
(See Rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9)
wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to perform, based on receiving the COT sharing indication, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure on a channel comprising a sidelink resource for transmission of the sidelink data, wherein transmitting the sidelink data is in response to the LBT procedure indicating the channel is idle(See Rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) SUN in view of GUO and Guo2 teaches: The first wireless device of claim 9,
(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10)
wherein transmitting the sidelink data is via the sidelink resource(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The first wireless device of claim 11,
(See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 12)
wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive, from a base station, a message indicating at least one of the first power threshold or the second power threshold(See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 12).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) SUN in view of GUO teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
(See Rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16)
wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to perform, based on receiving the COT sharing indication, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure on a channel comprising a sidelink resource for transmission of the sidelink data, wherein transmitting the sidelink data is in response to the LBT procedure indicating the channel is idle (See Rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original) SUN in view of GUO and Guo2 teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16,
(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 17)
wherein transmitting the sidelink data is via the sidelink resource (See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 17).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
04/14/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414