DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 10 recites “the first biocompatible” which is interpreted as “the first biocompatible polymer” as recited in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,763. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 1 are to be found in claim 1 of the patent. The difference between claim 1 of the application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaplan (US 2013/0038632).
As to claim 1, Kaplan discloses a dissolvable microneedle array (200) for transdermal insertion into a patient comprising: a base portion (214); and a plurality of microneedles (210) extending from the base portion, the plurality of microneedles including a first controlled release component, the first controlled release component comprising a first bioactive component and a first biocompatible polymer that interacts with the first bioactive component to provide a first controlled release profile of the first bioactive component [0011; 0110], wherein the first bioactive component is complexed with, integrated to, or otherwise encapsulated by the first biocompatible to form the first controlled release component [0110], and wherein the first controlled release profile of the first bioactive component is triggered by a temperature sensitive phase transition [0235].
As to claim 2, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 1, further comprising a second bioactive component that is different from the first bioactive component [0011; 0110].
As to claim 3, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 2, wherein the second bioactive component is complexed with, integrated to, or otherwise encapsulated by a second biocompatible polymer to form a second controlled release component [0110].
As to claim 4, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 3, wherein the first and second biocompatible polymers are different, and the first controlled release profile is different from a second controlled release profile of the second controlled release component [0110].
As to claim 5, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 3, wherein the first and second biocompatible polymers are the same [0110].
As to claim 6, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 1, wherein the first biocompatible polymer is selected from the group consisting of PLGA, P(L)LA, P(D,L)LA, PCL, PLCL [0086; 0110].
As to claim 7, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 3, wherein the second biocompatible polymer is selected from the group consisting of PLGA, P(L)LA, P(D,L)LA, PCL, PLCL [0086; 0110].
As to claim 8, Kaplan discloses the microneedle array of claim 1, further comprising a second bioactive component and, in use, the second bioactive component is configured to be released from the microneedle array with an initial burst release kinetic activity and the first bioactive component is configured to have a delayed release relative to the second bioactive component [0097].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, US 2013/0038632 to Kaplan and US 2002/0082543 to Park, fails to suggest or disclose the microneedle array of claim 1, wherein the first controlled release profile of the first bioactive component is also triggered by a second trigger signal, the second trigger signal being selected from the group consisting of trigger signals based on electric-field triggers, light triggers, and ultrasound triggers; and the microneedle array of claim 4, wherein the second controlled release profile of the second bioactive component is triggered by a second trigger signal, the second trigger signal being selected from the group consisting of trigger signals based on electric-field triggers, light triggers, and ultrasound triggers.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841