DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 09/15/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1, 5-12, and 16-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, and 20 are amended.
Claims 2-4 and 13-15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 09/15/2025, with respect to the drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun) in view of Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Yun teaches a process fluid treatment apparatus for treating a process fluid used for cleaning a wafer in semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the process fluid treatment apparatus comprising:
a housing having an inner space configured to contain the process fluid (FIG. 3 paragraph [0052] canister 2100 forms a receiving space in which a liquid is received);
a spray nozzle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0064] spray nozzle 2330) configured to spray the process fluid into the inner space in a form of mist (paragraph [0068] the particle size of the liquid can be controlled by adjusting the size of the hole of the injection nozzle 2330, which can be a mist); and
a nozzle heater configured to heat the process fluid passing through the spray nozzle (paragraph [0076] nozzle heater (not shown)).
Yun differs from the instant claim in failing to teach that the process fluid is containing ozone; and that the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle; and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket, wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path, wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path, wherein a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Bergman teaches a similar process fluid treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0049] treatment system 10). Bergman teaches a process fluid containing ozone (FIG. 1 paragraph [0053] a reservoir 45 defines a chamber 50 in which the liquid that is to be mixed with the ozone is stored).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun with a process fluid containing ozone as taught by Bergman as the solution can deliver the ozone to the surface of the wafer (paragraph [0030]), while the ozone diffuses through the boundary layer and reacts with the material on the first surface of a wafer (paragraph [0013]).
Kaneyama teaches a nozzle (FIG. 11 paragraph [0200] nozzle 950). Kaneyama teaches wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path (FIG. 11 shows a cylindrical liquid passage 311b in where the flow path is wide, becomes narrow and widens again), wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path (FIG. 11 paragraph [0202] a cleaning liquid or a rinse liquid that is supplied from the supply pipe 663 is introduced into the liquid passage 311b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun with a nozzle as taught by Kaneyama. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that when a nozzle has a chokepoint, it would diffuse the process fluid in order to create a mist.
Wurstlin teaches a nozzle heater (FIG. 1 column 5 line 63 jacket-heating unit 8). Wurstlin teaches that the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle (FIG. 2 jacket-heating unit 8 is a cylindrical shape surrounding the outside of nozzle 2); and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket (FIG. 1 column 5 lines 63-64 jacket-heating unit 8 has a heating coil that is run spirally around the exterior perimeter of the nozzle body 2).
The combination of Kaneyama and Wurstlin would result in a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun with a heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. Since Yun is silent on the structure of the nozzle heater, it would have been obvious to use the heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. The heating jacket would be used to maintain/alter the temperature of the nozzle, and subsequently, maintain/alter the temperature of the fluid that is within the nozzle. Additionally, the heating jacket can aid in the process of creating a mist.
As to claim 6, (Original) Yun further teaches a circulation line connecting the inner space of the housing to the spray nozzle, wherein the process fluid is supplied from the housing to the spray nozzle through the circulation line (FIG. 3 paragraph [0063] recovery line 2340 is placed at the lower side of the receiving space and connects to injection nozzle 2330).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kusuzawa U.S. Publication 2003/0030803 (henceforth referred to as Kusuzawa).
As to claim 5, (Original) Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach wherein the spray nozzle is made of SUS316 stainless steel.
Kusuzawa teaches a similar spray nozzle (paragraph [0065] nozzle 21). Kusuzawa teaches the spray nozzle is made of SUS3 16 stainless steel (paragraph [0065] nozzle 21 is formed of the stainless steel SUS316).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a spray nozzle made of SUS316 stainless steel as taught by Kusuzawa as SUS316 stainless steel is chemical-resistant (paragraph [0065]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Youn et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0111860 (henceforth referred to as Youn).
As to claim 7, (Original) Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a gas supply pipe connected to the inner space of the housing to supply a decomposition gas into the inner space of the housing, wherein the decomposition gas promotes decomposition of ozone in the process fluid.
Youn teaches a similar process fluid treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0062] process fluid treating apparatus 32). Youn teaches a gas supply pipe (FIG. 3 paragraph [0066] gas supply conduit 320) connected to the inner space of the housing to supply a decomposition gas into the inner space of the housing, wherein the decomposition gas promotes decomposition of ozone in the process fluid (paragraph [0069] a decomposition gas that facilitates the decomposition of the ozone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a decomposition gas as taught by Youn in order to more effectively process a substrate (paragraph [0005]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin), and Youn et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0111860 (henceforth referred to as Youn) as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Tateno et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0204742 (henceforth referred to as Tateno).
As to claim 8, (Original) Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, Wurstlin, and Youn differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a gas heater mounted on the gas supply pipe and configured to heat the decomposition gas supplied into the inner space.
Tateno teaches a similar gas port (paragraph [0039] gas supply pipe 289a). Tateno teaches a gas heater mounted on the gas supply pipe (paragraph [0039] gas port heater 285).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, Wurstlin, and Youn with a gas heater as taught by Tateno. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a gas heater on a gas supply pipe in order to control the temperature of the gas within the pipe.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman) in view of Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) Bergman teaches a wafer cleaning apparatus of semiconductor manufacturing equipment, the wafer cleaning apparatus comprising:
a process fluid supply apparatus configured to supply a process fluid for cleaning a wafer (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0052] and [0053] treatment liquid is provided to nozzles 40 to direct a spray mixture of ozone and treatment liquid onto the surfaces of the semiconductor workpieces 20 that are to be treated. The treatment liquid and ozone are stored in reservoir 45);
a process chamber configured to perform cleaning processing on the wafer by supplying the process fluid to the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0049] treatment chamber 15); and
a process fluid treatment apparatus configured to treat the process fluid used for cleaning the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0054] ozone generator 75 reads on the claimed process fluid treatment apparatus),
wherein the process fluid treatment apparatus comprises:
a housing having an inner space configured to contain the process fluid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0053] reservoir 45 stores the treatment liquid).
Bergman differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a spray nozzle configured to spray the process fluid containing ozone into the inner space in a form of mist; and a nozzle heater configured to heat the process fluid passing through the spray nozzle wherein the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle; and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket, wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path, wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path, wherein a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Yun teaches a similar process fluid treatment apparatus (paragraph [0001] liquid precursor management system). Yun teaches a spray nozzle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0064] spray nozzle 2330) configured to spray the process fluid into the inner space in a form of mist (paragraph [0068] the particle size of the liquid can be controlled by adjusting the size of the hole of the injection nozzle 2330, which can be a mist); and a nozzle heater mounted to the spray nozzle and configured to heat the process fluid passing through the spray nozzle (paragraph [0076] nozzle heater (not shown)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a spray nozzle and nozzle heater as taught by Yun as the nozzle can inject the liquid into the housing under a predetermined pressure (paragraph [0076]) while the nozzle heater reduces the possibility of contamination of the injection nozzle and satisfy the temperature conditions of the process (paragraph [0076]).
Kaneyama teaches a nozzle (FIG. 11 paragraph [0200] nozzle 950). Kaneyama teaches wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path (FIG. 11 shows a cylindrical liquid passage 311b in where the flow path is wide, becomes narrow and widens again), wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path (FIG. 11 paragraph [0202] a cleaning liquid or a rinse liquid that is supplied from the supply pipe 663 is introduced into the liquid passage 311b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a nozzle as taught by Kaneyama. It is known in the art that when a nozzle has a chokepoint, it would diffuse the process fluid in order to create a mist.
Wurstlin teaches a nozzle heater (FIG. 1 column 5 line 63 jacket-heating unit 8). Wurstlin teaches that the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle (FIG. 2 jacket-heating unit 8 is a cylindrical shape surrounding the outside of nozzle 2); and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket (FIG. 1 column 5 lines 63-64 jacket-heating unit 8 has a heating coil that is run spirally around the exterior perimeter of the nozzle body 2).
The combination of Kaneyama and Wurstlin would result in a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. Since Yun is silent on the structure of the nozzle heater, it would have been obvious to use the heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. The heating jacket would be used to maintain/alter the temperature of the nozzle, and subsequently, maintain/alter the temperature of the fluid that is within the nozzle. Additionally, the heating jacket can aid in the process of creating a mist.
As to claim 17, (Original) Yun further teaches a circulation line connecting the inner space of the housing to the spray nozzle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0063] recovery line 2340 is placed at the lower side of the receiving space and connects to injection nozzle 2330).
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Youn et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0111860 (henceforth referred to as Youn).
As to claim 10, (Original) Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the process fluid treatment apparatus is connected to the process chamber through a first discharge pipe, and wherein the spray nozzle is connected to the first discharge pipe and sprays the process fluid supplied through the first discharge pipe into the inner space in the form of mist.
Youn teaches a similar process fluid treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0062] process fluid treating apparatus 32). Youn teaches the process fluid treatment apparatus is connected to the process chamber through a first discharge pipe (FIG. 3 paragraph [0068] discharge conduit 210), and wherein the spray nozzle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0068] injection nozzle 310) is connected to the first discharge pipe and sprays the process fluid supplied through the first discharge pipe into the inner space in the form of mist (paragraph [0068] the process fluid may be injected in a mist form).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a first discharge pipe and injection nozzle as taught by Youn in order to treat the discharged fluid in order to remove or reduce the amount of ozone in the process fluid (paragraphs [0065] and [0068]) .
As to claim 11, (Original) Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the process fluid supply apparatus is connected to the process fluid treatment apparatus through a second discharge pipe, and wherein the spray nozzle is connected to the second discharge pipe and sprays the process fluid supplied through the second discharge pipe into the inner space in the form of mist.
Youn teaches a similar process fluid treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0062] process fluid treating apparatus 32). Youn teaches the process fluid supply apparatus is connected to the process fluid treatment apparatus through a second discharge pipe (FIG. 2 recovery conduit 220, which reads on the second discharge pipe, connects process fluid supply 31 to process fluid treating apparatus 32), and wherein the spray nozzle is connected to the second discharge pipe (Figure 2 shows that conduits 220 and 210 are connected outside of process fluid treating apparatus 32. Figure 3 shows that nozzle 310 is connected to conduit 210. Since conduits 220 and 210 are connected, then the spray nozzle is also connected to conduit 220) and sprays the process fluid supplied through the second discharge pipe into the inner space in the form of mist (paragraph [0068] injection nozzle 310 may spray the process fluid in a mist form).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a second discharge pipe as taught by Youn. It would be obvious to have a second discharge pipe so that the fluid recovered through cup 200 can be used again (paragraph [0063]). Additionally, having the first discharge pipe and the second discharge pipe share the nozzle that injects into the inner space would be space and cost effective.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Mizota U.S. Publication 2017/0333958 (henceforth referred to as Mizota).
As to claim 12, (Original) Bergman further teaches the process fluid treatment apparatus treats the process fluid recovered from the process chamber (Bergman FIG. 1 paragraph [0056] the spent liquid may be sent back to the liquid chamber 50 of the reservoir 45 to be treated).
Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the process chamber comprises a plurality of process chambers, wherein the process fluid supply apparatus supplies the process fluid to the plurality of process chambers.
Mizota teaches a similar wafer cleaning apparatus (FIGS. 2-3 paragraph [0031] processing units 16). Mizota teaches the process chamber comprises a plurality of process chambers (Mizota FIG. 3 shows a plurality of process chambers), wherein the process fluid supply apparatus supplies the process fluid to the plurality of process chambers (Mizota FIG. 3 paragraph [0039] distribution line 114 branches into a plurality of branched distribution lines 116).
The combination of Mizota and Bergman would result in a process fluid treatment apparatus that treats the process fluid recovered from a plurality of process chambers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a plurality of process chambers as taught by Mizota. It is known in the art to have multiple process chambers in order to process more than one wafer simultaneously.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Kusuzawa U.S. Publication 2003/0030803 (henceforth referred to as Kusuzawa).
As to claim 16, (Original) Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the spray nozzle is made of SUS316 stainless steel.
Kusuzawa teaches a similar spray nozzle (paragraph [0065] nozzle 21). Kusuzawa teaches the spray nozzle is made of SUS3 16 stainless steel (paragraph [0065] nozzle 21 is formed of the stainless steel SUS316).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a spray nozzle made of SUS316 stainless steel as taught by Kusuzawa as SUS316 stainless steel is chemical-resistant (paragraph [0065]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin) as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Youn et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0111860 (henceforth referred to as Youn).
As to claim 18, (Original) Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a gas supply pipe connected to the inner space of the housing to supply a decomposition gas into the inner space of the housing, wherein the decomposition gas promotes decomposition of ozone in the process fluid.
Youn teaches a similar process fluid treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0062] process fluid treating apparatus 32). Youn teaches a gas supply pipe (FIG. 3 paragraph [0066] gas supply conduit 320) connected to the inner space of the housing to supply a decomposition gas into the inner space of the housing, wherein the decomposition gas promotes decomposition of ozone in the process fluid (paragraph [0069] a decomposition gas that facilitates the decomposition of the ozone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman, Yun, Kaneyama, and Wurstlin with a decomposition gas as taught by Youn in order to more effectively process a substrate (paragraph [0005]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin), and Youn et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0111860 (henceforth referred to as Youn) as applied to claim 18 above, in further view of Tateno et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0204742 (henceforth referred to as Tateno).
As to claim 19, (Original) Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, Wurstlin, and Youn differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a gas heater mounted on the gas supply pipe and configured to heat the decomposition gas supplied into the inner space.
Tateno teaches a similar gas port (paragraph [0039] gas supply pipe 289a). Tateno teaches a gas heater mounted on the gas supply pipe (paragraph [0039] gas port heater 285).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Yun, Bergman, Kaneyama, Wurstlin, and Youn with a gas heater as taught by Tateno. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a gas heater on a gas supply pipe in order to control the temperature of the gas within the pipe.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman U.S. Publication 2003/0205240 (henceforth referred to as Bergman) in view of Mizota U.S. Publication 2017/0333958 (henceforth referred to as Mizota), Yun et al. KR20200083869 (henceforth referred to as Yun), Kaneyama et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0016714 (henceforth referred to as Kaneyama), and Wurstlin U.S. Patent 6,409,497 (henceforth referred to as Wurstlin).
As to claim 20, (Currently Amended) Bergman teaches a semiconductor manufacturing equipment comprising:
a process fluid supply apparatus configured to supply a process fluid for cleaning the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0052] and [0053] treatment liquid is provided to nozzles 40 to direct a spray mixture of ozone and treatment liquid onto the surfaces of the semiconductor workpieces 20 that are to be treated. The treatment liquid and ozone are stored in reservoir 45);
a process chamber configured to perform cleaning processing for the wafer by supplying the process fluid to the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0049] treatment chamber 15); and
a process fluid treatment apparatus configured to treat the process fluid used for cleaning the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0054] ozone generator 75 reads on the claimed process fluid treatment apparatus), and
wherein the process fluid treatment apparatus comprises:
a housing having an inner space configured to contain the process fluid (FIG. 1 paragraph [0053] reservoir 45 stores the treatment liquid).
Bergman differs from the instant claim in failing to teach an index module configured to handle a wafer fed into the semiconductor manufacturing equipment; and a process processing module comprising a wafer cleaning apparatus configured to perform cleaning processing on the wafer, wherein the wafer cleaning apparatus comprises: a spray nozzle configured to spray the process fluid containing ozone into the inner space in a form of mist; and a nozzle heater mounted to the spray nozzle and configured to heat the process fluid passing through the spray nozzle wherein the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle; and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket, wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path, wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path, wherein a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Mizota teaches a similar semiconductor manufacturing equipment (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] substrate processing system 1). Mizota teaches an index module (FIG. 1 paragraph [0022] carry-in/out station 2) configured to handle a wafer fed into the semiconductor manufacturing equipment (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0022] and [0023] carry-in/out station 2 is provided with a carrier placing section 11 and transfer section 12, which further is provided with a substrate transfer device 13 and a delivery unit 14); and
a process processing module (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] processing station 3) comprising a wafer cleaning apparatus configured to perform cleaning processing on the wafer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] processing station 3 is provided with a plurality of processing units 16, which can be used to clean a substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with an index module and processing module as taught by Mizota. It would have been obvious to have an index module in order to transfer the wafer to the necessary processing modules.
Yun teaches a similar process fluid treatment apparatus (paragraph [0001] liquid precursor management system). Yun teaches a spray nozzle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0064] spray nozzle 2330) configured to spray the process fluid into the inner space in a form of mist (paragraph [0068] the particle size of the liquid can be controlled by adjusting the size of the hole of the injection nozzle 2330, which can be a mist); and a nozzle heater mounted to the spray nozzle and configured to heat the process fluid passing through the spray nozzle (paragraph [0076] nozzle heater (not shown)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a spray nozzle and nozzle heater as taught by Yun as the nozzle can inject the liquid into the housing under a predetermined pressure (paragraph [0067]) while the nozzle heater reduces the possibility of contamination of the injection nozzle and satisfy the temperature conditions of the process (paragraph [0076]).
Kaneyama teaches a nozzle (FIG. 11 paragraph [0200] nozzle 950). Kaneyama teaches wherein the spray nozzle has a first inner flow path, a second inner flow path having a width narrower than the first inner flow path, and a third inner flow path having a width wider than the second inner flow path (FIG. 11 shows a cylindrical liquid passage 311b in where the flow path is wide, becomes narrow and widens again), wherein the process fluid passes the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path (FIG. 11 paragraph [0202] a cleaning liquid or a rinse liquid that is supplied from the supply pipe 663 is introduced into the liquid passage 311b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a nozzle as taught by Kaneyama. It is known in the art that when a nozzle has a chokepoint, it would diffuse the process fluid in order to create a mist.
Wurstlin teaches a nozzle heater (FIG. 1 column 5 line 63 jacket-heating unit 8). Wurstlin teaches that the nozzle heater comprises: a heater jacket having a cylindrical shape surrounding an outside of the spray nozzle (FIG. 2 jacket-heating unit 8 is a cylindrical shape surrounding the outside of nozzle 2); and a heating wire mounted in the heater jacket (FIG. 1 column 5 lines 63-64 jacket-heating unit 8 has a heating coil that is run spirally around the exterior perimeter of the nozzle body 2).
The combination of Kaneyama and Wurstlin would result in a heating wire is wound in the heater jacket to surround the first inner flow path, the second inner flow path, and the third inner flow path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process fluid treatment as taught by Bergman with a heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. Since Yun is silent on the structure of the nozzle heater, it would have been obvious to use the heating jacket as taught by Wurstlin. The heating jacket would be used to maintain/alter the temperature of the nozzle, and subsequently, maintain/alter the temperature of the fluid that is within the nozzle. Additionally, the heating jacket can aid in the process of creating a mist.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711