DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05 December 2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 05 August 2025, where it is noted that the previous rejection of claim 12 appears to have been intended for claim 10 and is nonetheless overcome by the applicant’s amendments. The objection to claim 15 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18-19 appear to use “domestic animal” and “domesticated animal” interchangeably in spite of the different meanings of “domestic” and “domesticated”. As the specification provides no specific reference to either of “domestic” or “domesticated animals” and merely references animal pets, including specific reference to non-domesticated animals such as parrots, the limitations are interpreted as referring to domestic animals in each instance.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose of the patient as the one or more medical characteristics of the patient”. It is not clear if this is intended to be the same as the “blood glucose levels” described in claim 1 or if this limitation refers to some other blood glucose related measurement separate from blood glucose levels. The limitation is currently interpreted as referring to the same blood glucose levels of claim 1.
Claims 2-15 and 17 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite due to their dependence on claim 1 which has been rejected as indefinite.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 as each limitation of claim 5 is found within claim 1 and no additional limitations are present. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martino (US 20180345479 A1--previously cited) in view of Liu (CN 210939292U—previously cited), further in view of Kamath (US 11389090B2—previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Martino discloses an interactive patient monitoring system (Paragraph [0005], lines 1-2, robotic companion device), the monitoring system comprising:
a robotic apparatus including physical characteristics representative of a domestic animal with whom a human could interact (Figure 1 depicts a robotic device 100 having four limbs and a head; Paragraph [0022], lines 7-11, The system is designed to communicate with human beings via a built-in or held viewing screen, project images on a suitable surface via an integrated laser projector, or speak via the integrated speaker), the robotic apparatus including one or more actuators capable of causing the robotic apparatus to perform one or more actions (Paragraph [0005], lines 8-11, based on the sensor data, that an emergency situation has occurred related to one or more patients, move, using the one or more actuators, the robotic companion to an area adjacent to the one or more patients; Examiner notes actuators causing the device to move to a patient as performing an action);
a communication device configured to communicate with a medical sensing device (Paragraph [0025], lines 3-6, The robotic device may also have a network communication device 105 to enable it to communicate with other devices and subsystems) to receive measurements of one or more medical characteristics of a patient (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-25, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol, such as those discussed herein. In some embodiments, the wearable medical tracking device may measure a patient's temperature, blood pressure, pulse, oxygen saturation, etc.; Examiner notes wireless communication with a medial tracking device measuring vital signs as receiving measurements of one or more medical characteristics); and
a controller configured to examine the measurements received from the medical sensing device (Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3, one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements) and to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus to interact with the patient based on the measurements received from the medical sensing device (Examiner notes the system may include processors programmed to cause the robotic device to perform behaviors/tasks in response to physical contact with a specified human being as described in Paragraph [0040], lines 1-4; wherein the device can be controlled to move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the one or more patients as described in Paragraph [0007], lines 8-12),
Martino additionally teaches wherein the measurements received from the sensing device are first measurements (Paragraph [0067], lines 19-22, the threshold may be determined by the robotic device based on the historical vital signs previously measured; Examiner notes previously measured vital signs as the first measurements).
Martino additionally discloses the robotic apparatus configured to sense second measurements (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-22, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol; Examiner notes data received by robot device from medical tracking device as second measurements), the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0067], lines 3-4, one or more actuators or actuator devices facilitate movement) based on the second measurements obtained from the sensor (Examiner notes in an emergency mode, the robotic device may attempt to locate the patient and immediately go to their location and may determine whether the patient needs help as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 6-10; and wherein and an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs of the patient exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16).
Martino further discloses wherein the controller is a machine learning device (Paragraph [0066], lines 8-9, the robotic device is a machine learning device; Examiner notes the robotic device being a machine learning device as the device including its controller including machine learning) which implements a machine model (Examiner notes the robotic device is programmed to function in several modes, including an autonomous robotic behavior mode in which actions of the robotic device are controlled by a specific decision table, which contains programmed actions in conjunction with gathered sensor data as described in Paragraph [0041], lines 1-6; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table as a model that defines relationships between measurements and actions because the robotic device engages in selected actions based on prompts received from sensor measurements)
to trigger the actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus (Examiner notes the control program may be written using a decision table structure for the logic, and a decision table translator may generate the code for the processor to execute as described in Paragraph [0066], lines 1-4; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table control program executed by processor to select actions from a group of actions as the controller being configured to select at least one action) and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model (Examiner notes computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor to execute the functions/acts specified herein as described in Paragraph [0072], lines 1-7; wherein as an example, once the emergency situation is recognized, the robotic device may move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the patient and record vital signs as described in Paragraph [0069], lines 1-7; Examiner notes moving to a patient and recording vitals signs as the controller being configured to control one or more actuators to implement one or more actions) with the first measurements as inputs (Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3, one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements).
However, Martino does not explicitly disclose an internal sensor of the robotic apparatus configured to sense second measurements of the one or more medical characteristics of the patient, and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the second measurements obtained from the internal sensor.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a robot for providing medical monitoring and assistance, teaches an internal sensor of the robotic apparatus configured to sense measurements of the one or more medical characteristics of the patient (Page 2, Paragraph 1, lines 1-8, The blood pressure and blood glucose integrated measurement unit is arranged above the base of the robot, and includes …a blood glucose detection module 182, … the blood glucose detection module sends the detected blood glucose information to the microcontroller).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic apparatus of Martino to incorporate the teachings of Liu by adding an internal sensor that measure one or more medical characteristics of the patient in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to monitor a user by enabling confirmation of measurements from the medical sensing device or alternatively to provide additional measurements of the user’s health. It would be further obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus of Martino based on the second measurements obtained from the internal sensor in order to predictably reduce hospital resources needed to detect basic physical indexes, as recognized by Liu (Page, 1, Background Technique paragraph, lines 1-6).
However, Martino does not teach wherein the measurements received from the medical sensing device are first measurements of blood glucose levels and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on those first measurements and implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers to trigger actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus based in part on results of a past action by the robotic apparatus being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus, the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model with the first measurements and the second measurements as inputs.
Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Column 25, lines 1-8, Analyte sensor 104 may, for example, be a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement). Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose and transmits them to another device (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Examiner notes analyte sensor 104 maybe a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement as described in Column 25, lines 1-8; and the glucose concentration level may be transmitted via a network 124 and delivered to a patient or caretaker device as described in Column 27, lines 29-32); detection of a hypoglycemic state of a patient (Column 29, lines 59-63, Sensor information (e.g., blood glucose concentration level) or an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 (e.g., via visual display, sound, or vibration; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic state of the patient); and prompting the patient to increase activity responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hyperglycemic state of the patient or a trend toward the hyperglycemic state of the patient (Column 48, lines 21-25, the application may indicate that a suggested activity is likely to bring the user's glucose level to a desired value or range (e.g., “We estimate that one hour of running will lower your glucose by 15 mg/dl”); Examiner notes guidance identifying that glucose level is too high because it recommends an activity to lower to a desired range as indicating that the patient increase an activity level responsive to a hyperglycemic condition).
Kamath additionally discloses the system implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers (Column 34, line 13-64, Col. 35, line 59-Col. 36, line 2—model is trained…neural networks…; Examiner notes that the neural networks as disclosed by Kamath encompass non-single layer neural networks which would include multiple neurons and layers), to trigger actions by the system based in part on results of a past action by the system being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus (Col. 35, line 37-Col. 36, line 2 and Col. 36, line 23-line 65, Col. 41, line 30-45 --a system may automatically reconfigure a coaching system (e.g., a chat bot or other coaching application running on a smart device, such as a watch) with preferred or specified information, such as enhanced glucose metrics…A system may also determine guidance or other patient management factors based on behavioral learnings about a subject, such as timing and types of messaging, such as delivery of information about a post-meal recap (e.g., extent or nature of glucose level control or loss of control), an exercise benefit, an improvement with medicine changes, or adherence, or to conduct an information-gathering period…may personalize metrics, guidance or other information relating to management of a physiologic condition of a patient, such as glycemic health…health concepts (e.g., potential guidance or action to be taken by a subject may be ranked or quantified for potential health impact, a list of patient management options may be formed into a personalized list for a subject, e.g., by determination of one or more estimates of a quantifiable benefit on a physiological outcome (e.g., achievement of a glucose concentration range, goal, time-in-range, or A1C.) For example, one or more patterns (e.g., dietary choice, exercise or activity, or sleep) that result in a benefit (e.g., better glucose control) may be determined based at least in part on high-fidelity data. In some examples, a correlation may be determined between a glucose concentration level and one or more lifestyle factors (e.g., activity (e.g., steps), meal timing, or food choice.)…; The examiner notes that the system may determine guidance or management for the patient based on learnings including an extent of control or loss of control relative to meals, exercise, and medication such that each of these actions can be considered to be evaluated as sufficient or insufficient to improve glucose or glucose control which is then used to determine guidance), the controller configured to control actions of the system based on the machine model with the first measurements and the second measurements as inputs (Col. 35, line 8-36--A determination may also be based on a combination of two or more types of low-fidelity data. For example, activity and blood glucose meter data may be used in combination, or activity and location may be used in combination, or blood glucose meter data and location may be used in combination.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensing device of Martino with the analyte sensor of Kamath in order to receive blood glucose measurements as the one or more medical characteristics as Martino generally discloses the medical sensing device may be used to monitor vital signs, where blood glucose may be considered an indicator of a vital function particularly in patients having diabetes or other known blood glucose-related issues. Doing so would allow for active management of glucose levels of diabetes patients in real-time and further inform learned relationships between analyte levels and activity, as recognized by Kamath (Column 33, lines 9-11, Intermittently collected CGM information may be used to actively manage glucose levels (e.g., in real time), or may be used to update or refine learned relationship between estimated glucose levels from a CGM and other information, such as activity).
It would additionally have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic apparatus of Martino, already capable of using a machine learning model which receives measurements as input in order to trigger actions by the robotic apparatus and control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model and modified with Liu to additionally sense second measurements, to implement a machine model from an artificial neural network receiving first and second measurements to trigger actions based on results of a past action being sufficient as described by Kamath in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to intervene and/or support interventions in a user’s health by adjusting the actions that are triggered based on previous outcomes of those actions in response to similar data in order to account for individual differences in treatment efficacy such as lower than expected glucose responses to exercise or medication.
Regarding Claim 2, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the one or more actuators to move the robotic apparatus to interact with the patient (Martino: Examiner notes the device can be controlled to move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the one or more patients as described in Paragraph [0007], lines 8-12; wherein the system may include processors programmed to cause the robotic device to perform behaviors/tasks in response to physical contact with a specified human being as described in Paragraph [0040], lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the one or more actuators to generate light, generate one or more sounds, or place a telephone call by the robotic apparatus (Martino: Paragraph [0022], lines 15-22, For example, the robot may be able to retrieve medical measurements (e.g., vital signs, blood pressure, temperature, oxygen saturation, etc.); access and use information in order to act as a companion (e.g., read digital books, articles, information or news, display digital videos/images, play music, etc.); facilitate communication to others (e.g., write letters, text messages, or emails, place telephone calls, etc.); Examiner notes reading digital books and playing music as generating sounds).
Regarding Claim 5, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the communication device is configured to receive the measurements from the sensing device (as mapped above in Claim 1). However, Martino does not teach blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose of the patient as the one or more medical characteristics of the patient.
Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Column 25, lines 1-8, Analyte sensor 104 may, for example, be a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensing device of Martino with the analyte sensor of Kamath in order to receive blood glucose measurements as the one or more medical characteristics. Doing so would allow for active management of glucose levels of diabetes patients in real-time and further inform learned relationships between analyte levels and activity, as recognized by Kamath (Column 33, lines 9-11, Intermittently collected CGM information may be used to actively manage glucose levels (e.g., in real time), or may be used to update or refine learned relationship between estimated glucose levels from a CGM and other information, such as activity).
Regarding Claim 6, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 5. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the one or more actuators to cause the robotic apparatus to generate one or more sounds (Paragraph [0035], lines 1-3, the robotic device may also have one or more integrated speakers 104 to play audio sounds). However, Martino does not teach the generation of one or more sounds being responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient.
Kamath teaches generation of one or more sounds responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient (Column 29, lines 59-63, Sensor information (e.g., blood glucose concentration level) or an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 (e.g., via visual display, sound, or vibration; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic condition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speakers of Martino to include playing one or more sounds responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient. Doing so would allow for a clear notification of blood sugar status and urgency due to the words of the message and the volume, as recognized by Kamath (Column 45, lines 45-48, The system may present a notification that is more severe to indicate urgency. For example, the system may present a high frequency or high duration sound, a verbal message presented at increased cadence or volume).
Regarding Claim 7, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 5. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the communication device to cause the communication device to send a wireless notification to a third party (Martino: Paragraph [0007], lines 6-15, stores instructions executable by a processor to: … transmit, using the network connection device, a communication to a third party). However, Martino does not teach the wireless notification to a third party being responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient.
Kamath further teaches sending a wireless notification to a third party responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic response condition of the patient (Examiner notes the system 100 may also include one or more peripheral devices … which may communicate with the analyte sensor system 102 via a wireless communication signal, and may also communicate over a network 124 with a remote terminal 128 to facilitate communication with a remote user as described in Paragraph [0026], lines 50-63; and an alert or notification (e.g., “low glucose level” may be communicated via the peripheral device user interface 252 as described in Column 29, lines 59-63; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic condition, and wirelessly communicating the alert to a remote terminal as sending a notification of hypoglycemic condition to a third party).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the network connection device of Martino to include the teachings of Kamath by configuring it to send a wireless notification to a third party responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hypoglycemic condition of the patient. Doing so would allow for a clinician (Column 26, lines 50-63) and a caretaker or family member (Paragraph 27, lines 32-35) to have access to frequency of hypoglycemic alerts, as recognized by Kamath.
Regarding Claim 8, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 5. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the one or more actuators to cause the robotic apparatus to move (Paragraph [0067], lines 3-4, one or more actuators or actuator devices facilitate movement). However, Martino as modified by Kamath does not teach indicating that the patient should increase an activity level of the patient responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hyperglycemic condition of the patient.
Kamath further teaches indicating that the patient should increase an activity level of the patient responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hyperglycemic condition of the patient (Column 48, lines 21-25, the application may indicate that a suggested activity is likely to bring the user's glucose level to a desired value or range (e.g., “We estimate that one hour of running will lower your glucose by 15 mg/dl”); Examiner notes guidance identifying that glucose level is too high because it recommends an activity to lower to a desired range as indicating that the patient increase an activity level responsive to a hyperglycemic condition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Martino to be configured to indicate that the patient should increase an activity level of the patient responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hyperglycemic condition of the patient. Doing so would allow for further allow for management of glucose level of diabetes patients in real-time (Column 33, lines 9-11) and additionally allow for personalized guidance relating to management (Column 36, lines 1-4), as recognized by Kamath.
Regarding Claim 9, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to control one or more of the communication device or the one or more actuators to give instruction to the patient via the robotic apparatus (Martino: Paragraph [0062], lines 16-17, the robot may tell the patient to stay where they are until help arrives). However, Martino does not teach directing the patient to perform a blood glucose measurement of the patient.
Kamath teaches direct the patient to perform a blood glucose measurement of the patient (Column 43, lines 15-17, The method may further include prompting a user (e.g., patient) to obtain a measurement (e.g., check blood glucose with a blood glucose meter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speaker of Martino to be configured to direct a patient to perform a blood glucose measurement of the patient. Doing so would allow for an accurate determination of one or more estimated glucose concentration levels due to a well-timed single-point glucose measurement, as recognized by Kamath (Column 43, lines 6-8, obtaining one or more well-timed single-point glucose measurements may allow for an accurate determination of one or more estimated glucose concentration levels).
Regarding Claim 10, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein machine learning interacts with the controller (Paragraph [0066], lines 8-9, the robotic device is a machine learning device; Examiner notes the robotic device being a machine learning device as the device including its controller including machine learning) configured to examine the measurements received from the sensing device (Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3, one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements) using a model that defines relationships between different ones of the one or more actions of the robotic apparatus and different values or trends of the measurements (Examiner notes the robotic device is programmed to function in several modes, including an autonomous robotic behavior mode in which actions of the robotic device are controlled by a specific decision table, which contains programmed actions in conjunction with gathered sensor data as described in Paragraph [0041], lines 1-6; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table as a model that defines relationships between measurements and actions because the robotic device engages in selected actions based on prompts received from sensor measurements),
the controller configured to select one or more of the different ones of the one or more actions (Examiner notes the control program may be written using a decision table structure for the logic, and a decision table translator may generate the code for the processor to execute as described in Paragraph [0066], lines 1-4; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table control program executed by processor to select actions from a group of actions as the controller being configured to select at least one action) and to control the one or more actuators to implement the one or more of the different ones of the one or more actions that is selected using the model (Examiner notes computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor to execute the functions/acts specified herein as described in Paragraph [0072], lines 1-7; wherein as an example, once the emergency situation is recognized, the robotic device may move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the patient and record vital signs as described in Paragraph [0069], lines 1-7; Examiner notes moving to a patient and recording vitals signs as the controller being configured to control one or more actuators to implement one or more actions).
As noted above, Kamath describes an artificial intelligence neural network (Column 34, line 13-64, Col. 35, line 59-Col. 36, line 2—model is trained…neural networks…), configured to examine the measurements received from the medical sensing device using a model that defines relationships between different ones of the one or more actions of the system and different values or trends of the measurements (Col. 35, line 37-Col. 36, line 2 and Col. 36, line 23-line 65, Col. 41, line 30-45 --a system may automatically reconfigure a coaching system (e.g., a chat bot or other coaching application running on a smart device, such as a watch) with preferred or specified information, such as enhanced glucose metrics…A system may also determine guidance or other patient management factors based on behavioral learnings about a subject, such as timing and types of messaging, such as delivery of information about a post-meal recap (e.g., extent or nature of glucose level control or loss of control), an exercise benefit, an improvement with medicine changes, or adherence, or to conduct an information-gathering period…may personalize metrics, guidance or other information relating to management of a physiologic condition of a patient, such as glycemic health…health concepts (e.g., potential guidance or action to be taken by a subject may be ranked or quantified for potential health impact, a list of patient management options may be formed into a personalized list for a subject, e.g., by determination of one or more estimates of a quantifiable benefit on a physiological outcome (e.g., achievement of a glucose concentration range, goal, time-in-range, or A1C.) For example, one or more patterns (e.g., dietary choice, exercise or activity, or sleep) that result in a benefit (e.g., better glucose control) may be determined based at least in part on high-fidelity data. In some examples, a correlation may be determined between a glucose concentration level and one or more lifestyle factors (e.g., activity (e.g., steps), meal timing, or food choice.)…; The examiner notes that the system may determine guidance or management for the patient based on learnings including an extent of control or loss of control relative to meals, exercise, and medication such that each of these actions can be considered to be evaluated as sufficient or insufficient to improve glucose or glucose control which is then used to determine guidance), the controller configured to select one or more of the different ones of the one or more actions and to control the system to implement the one or more of the different ones of the one or more actions that is selected using the model (Col. 35, line 8-36--A determination may also be based on a combination of two or more types of low-fidelity data. For example, activity and blood glucose meter data may be used in combination, or activity and location may be used in combination, or blood glucose meter data and location may be used in combination.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the machine learning of Martino with the artificial neural network of Kamath as a matter of simple substitution where an artificial neural network is a form of machine learning and as disclosed by Kamath may perform the same functions.
Regarding Claim 11, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses further comprising an acoustic output device configured to be disposed in or on the robotic apparatus and to generate different sounds (Figure 1 depicts speaker 104 as a part of robot device 100; Paragraph [0025], lines 1-3, the robotic device may also have one or more integrated speakers 104 to play audio sounds and/or to communicate with a patient; Examiner notes speaker as acoustic output device), the controller configured to select one or more of the different sounds to be played by the acoustic output device based on the measurements received from the sensing device (Examiner notes the processor can determine an emergency situation has occurred related to one or more patients based on sensor data as described in Paragraph [0007], lines 6-10; wherein
the robotic device may go into an emergency mode and tell the patient to stay where they are until help arrives, provide updates on when help is expected to arrive, or it may act as a communication bridge between the patient and the third party as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 5-19; and wherein the system is designed to communicate with human beings via by speak via the integrated speaker. The Examiner notes processor executing communication with the patient or a third party in response to an emergency situation based on sensor data as the controller being configured to select more than one sounds to be played).
Regarding Claim 12, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 11. Martino additionally discloses wherein the different sounds represent voices of different persons (Examiner notes the robotic device may sound like a specific person that is familiar to the patient as described in Paragraph [0035], lines 1-3; and the robotic device may be fashioned as a non-threatening and reassuring middle-aged female with a kind, soft voice as described in Paragraph [0035], lines 11-14).
Regarding Claim 13, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 11. Martino additionally discloses further comprising an acoustic input device configured to be disposed in or on the robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0058], lines 1-3, the robotic device can interpret commands received from its auditory sensors; Examiner notes auditory sensors as acoustic input device disposed in the robotic apparatus because it is part of the robot device) and to detect a voice of the patient (Paragraph [0033], lines 5-8, the robotic device may physically move within a defined area in response to voice or gestured commands issued by one or more individuals (e.g., medical patients, elderly patients, disabled patients, etc.)),
the controller configured to control (Examiner notes computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor to execute the functions/acts specified herein as described in Paragraph [0072], lines 1-7) the acoustic input device (Paragraph [0058], lines 1-3, the robotic device can interpret commands received from its auditory sensors), the acoustic output device (Paragraph [0022], lines 7-11, The system is designed to communicate with human beings via… the integrated speaker) and the communication device (Paragraph [0007], lines 14-16, transmit, using the network connection device, a communication to a third party) to audibly connect the patient with a third party via the robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0022], lines 15-22, the robot may … facilitate communication to others (e.g., write letters, text messages, or emails, place phone calls, etc.); Examiner notes facilitating phone calls as audibly connecting the patient to a third party).
Regarding Claim 14, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus include one or more of a lamp configured to generate light or a motor configured to generate vibrations of the robotic apparatus (Examiner notes one or more actuator devices facilitate movement as described in Paragraph [0067], line 3-4; wherein shining a light which may be housed in the finger or another body part of the robotic device into the throat of the patient as descried in Paragraph [0053], lines 9-10) based on the measurements that are received by the controller from the one or more sensing devices (Examiner notes the processor can determine an emergency situation has occurred related to one or more patients based on sensor data as described in Paragraph [0007], lines 6-10; wherein once the emergency situation is recognized, the robotic device may offer emergency care and determine whether the patient needs help as described in Paragraph [0069], lines 1-7; and wherein the robotic device may assist the patient by carrying out physical examinations including shining a light into the throat of a patient as described in Paragraph [0053], lines 1-10); Examiner notes shining a light as a result of a determined emergency situation based on sensor data as the actuators controlling a light based on sensor measurements).
Regarding Claim 15, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the controller is configured to communicate with one or more external devices that are external to the robotic apparatus to one or more of communicate one or more of the measurements (Examiner notes a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol as described in Paragraph [0053], lines 19-22; and recorded vital signs and data may be transmitted to a remote monitoring station and/or medical facility as described in Paragraph [0053], lines 1-6; Examiner notes receiving information from a medical tracking device and transmitting vital signs to a remote monitoring station as communication with one or more devices external to the robotic apparatus) or to control the one or more external devices based on the measurements that are received.
Regarding Claim 17, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino additionally discloses wherein the robotic apparatus has a shape of an animal pet (Martino: Figure 1 depicts a primate-like form; Examiner notes robotic device to have a shape of an animal because chimpanzees is a primate animal that can be kept as a pet), the controller is configured to receive measurements from the sensing device (as claimed above in Claim 1), the controller is configured to control the one or more actuators to cause the robotic apparatus to move responsive to a state of a patient being in an abnormal medical state (Martino: Examiner notes in an emergency mode, the robotic device may attempt to locate the patient and immediately go to their location and may determine whether the patient needs help as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 6-10; and wherein an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs of the patient exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16), and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators to cause the robotic apparatus to prompt the patient (Martino: Examiner notes the robotic device may go into an emergency mode and tell the patient to stay where they are until help arrives as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 5-19).
However, Martino does not disclose wherein the controller receiving blood glucose measurements from the medical sensing device as the measurements, the robotic apparatus generating an animal sound or moving in response to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hypoglycemic state of the patient or a trend toward the hypoglycemic state of the patient, and the robotic apparatus prompting the patient to increase activity responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hyperglycemic state of the patient or a trend toward the hyperglycemic state of the patient.
Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose and transmits them to another device (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Examiner notes analyte sensor 104 maybe a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement as described in Column 25, lines 1-8; and the glucose concentration level may be transmitted via a network 124 and delivered to a patient or caretaker device as described in Column 27, lines 29-32); detection of a hypoglycemic state of a patient (Column 29, lines 59-63, Sensor information (e.g., blood glucose concentration level) or an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 (e.g., via visual display, sound, or vibration; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic state of the patient); and prompting the patient to increase activity responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hyperglycemic state of the patient or a trend toward the hyperglycemic state of the patient (Column 48, lines 21-25, the application may indicate that a suggested activity is likely to bring the user's glucose level to a desired value or range (e.g., “We estimate that one hour of running will lower your glucose by 15 mg/dl”); Examiner notes guidance identifying that glucose level is too high because it recommends an activity to lower to a desired range as indicating that the patient increase an activity level responsive to a hyperglycemic condition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical sensing device of Martino to be a CGM and to have modified the controller of Martino to be configured to receive blood glucose measurements. It would further be obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control one or more actuators to move in response to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hypoglycemic condition because the robotic device of Martino already moves to the patient in emergency situations determined by medical measurements being outside of a threshold. It would further be obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control the one or more actuators to cause the robotic apparatus to prompt the patient to increase activity responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hyperglycemic state since the robotic device of Martino can already prompt the patient in emergency situations. Doing so would allow for active management of glucose levels of patients with diabetes in real-time and further inform learned relationships between analyte levels and activity, as recognized by Kamath (Column 33, lines 9-11, Intermittently collected CGM information may be used to actively manage glucose levels (e.g., in real time), or may be used to update or refine learned relationship between estimated glucose levels from a CGM and other information, such as activity).
Regarding Claim 18, Martino discloses a method comprising: receiving measurements of one or more medical characteristics of a patient from a sensing device (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-22, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol; Examiner notes data received by robot device from medical tracking device as measurements), the measurements received at a communication device of a robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0025], lines 3-6, The robotic device may also have a network communication device 105 to enable it to communicate with other device);
identifying a medical state based on the measurements that are received (Examiner notes a patient may wear a medical tracking device which measures temperature, blood pressure, pulse, oxygen saturation and communicates with the robotic device via wireless communication protocol as described in Paragraph [0053], lines 23-25; and an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16; Examiner notes wireless communication of temperature, blood pressure, pulse, and oxygen as receiving vital signs measurements, and determination of one or more vital signs to be exceeding a threshold as identifying an abnormal medical state based on the vital signs measurements);
Martino additionally discloses the robotic apparatus configured to sense second measurements (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-22, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol; Examiner notes data received by robot device from medical tracking device as second measurements).
Martino further discloses a machine learning model (Paragraph [0066], lines 8-9, the robotic device is a machine learning device; Examiner notes the robotic device is programmed to function in several modes, including an autonomous robotic behavior mode in which actions of the robotic device are controlled by a specific decision table, which contains programmed actions in conjunction with gathered sensor data as described in Paragraph [0041], lines 1-6; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table as a model that defines relationships between measurements and actions because the robotic device engages in selected actions based on prompts received from sensor measurements)
that triggers actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus (Examiner notes the control program may be written using a decision table structure for the logic, and a decision table translator may generate the code for the processor to execute as described in Paragraph [0066], lines 1-4; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table control program executed by processor to select actions from a group of actions as the controller being configured to select at least one action) and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model (Examiner notes computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor to execute the functions/acts specified herein as described in Paragraph [0072], lines 1-7; wherein as an example, once the emergency situation is recognized, the robotic device may move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the patient and record vital signs as described in Paragraph [0069], lines 1-7; Examiner notes moving to a patient and recording vitals signs as the controller being configured to control one or more actuators to implement one or more actions) with the first measurements as inputs (Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3, one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements),
and controlling one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0067], lines 3-4, one or more actuators or actuator devices facilitate movement) to cause the robotic apparatus to interact with the patient based on the medical state that is identified (Examiner notes movement is initiated by pre-established rules associated with emergency conditions as described in Paragraph [0064], lines 3-10; wherein in an emergency mode, the robotic device may attempt to locate the patient and immediately go to their location and may determine whether the patient needs help as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 6-10; and wherein and an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs of the patient exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16; Examiner notes a vital signs threshold being exceeded as an abnormal medical state triggering an emergency mode in the robotic device and movement by the actuator devices to interact with the patient by going to them and determining if help is needed).
However, Martino does not explicitly disclose second measurements from an sensor internal to the domesticated animal robotic apparatus.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a robot for providing medical monitoring and assistance, teaches an internal sensor of the robotic apparatus configured to sense measurements of the one or more medical characteristics of the patient (Page 2, Paragraph 1, lines 1-8, The blood pressure and blood glucose integrated measurement unit is arranged above the base of the robot, and includes …a blood glucose detection module 182, … the blood glucose detection module sends the detected blood glucose information to the microcontroller).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic apparatus of Martino to incorporate the teachings of Liu by adding an internal sensor that measure one or more medical characteristics of the patient in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to monitor a user by enabling confirmation of measurements from the medical sensing device or alternatively to provide additional measurements of the user’s health. It would be further obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus of Martino based on the second measurements obtained from the internal sensor in order to predictably reduce hospital resources needed to detect basic physical indexes, as recognized by Liu (Page, 1, Background Technique paragraph, lines 1-6).
However, Martino does not teach wherein the measurements received from the medical sensing device are first measurements of blood glucose levels and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on those first measurements and implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers to trigger actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus based in part on results of a past action by the robotic apparatus being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus, the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model.
Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Column 25, lines 1-8, Analyte sensor 104 may, for example, be a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement). Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose and transmits them to another device (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Examiner notes analyte sensor 104 maybe a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement as described in Column 25, lines 1-8; and the glucose concentration level may be transmitted via a network 124 and delivered to a patient or caretaker device as described in Column 27, lines 29-32); detection of a hypoglycemic state of a patient (Column 29, lines 59-63, Sensor information (e.g., blood glucose concentration level) or an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 (e.g., via visual display, sound, or vibration; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic state of the patient); and prompting the patient to increase activity responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating a hyperglycemic state of the patient or a trend toward the hyperglycemic state of the patient (Column 48, lines 21-25, the application may indicate that a suggested activity is likely to bring the user's glucose level to a desired value or range (e.g., “We estimate that one hour of running will lower your glucose by 15 mg/dl”); Examiner notes guidance identifying that glucose level is too high because it recommends an activity to lower to a desired range as indicating that the patient increase an activity level responsive to a hyperglycemic condition).
Kamath additionally discloses the system implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers (Column 34, line 13-64, Col. 35, line 59-Col. 36, line 2—model is trained…neural networks…; Examiner notes that the neural networks as disclosed by Kamath encompass non-single layer neural networks which would include multiple neurons and layers), to trigger actions by the system based in part on results of a past action by the system being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus (Col. 35, line 37-Col. 36, line 2 and Col. 36, line 23-line 65, Col. 41, line 30-45 --a system may automatically reconfigure a coaching system (e.g., a chat bot or other coaching application running on a smart device, such as a watch) with preferred or specified information, such as enhanced glucose metrics…A system may also determine guidance or other patient management factors based on behavioral learnings about a subject, such as timing and types of messaging, such as delivery of information about a post-meal recap (e.g., extent or nature of glucose level control or loss of control), an exercise benefit, an improvement with medicine changes, or adherence, or to conduct an information-gathering period…may personalize metrics, guidance or other information relating to management of a physiologic condition of a patient, such as glycemic health…health concepts (e.g., potential guidance or action to be taken by a subject may be ranked or quantified for potential health impact, a list of patient management options may be formed into a personalized list for a subject, e.g., by determination of one or more estimates of a quantifiable benefit on a physiological outcome (e.g., achievement of a glucose concentration range, goal, time-in-range, or A1C.) For example, one or more patterns (e.g., dietary choice, exercise or activity, or sleep) that result in a benefit (e.g., better glucose control) may be determined based at least in part on high-fidelity data. In some examples, a correlation may be determined between a glucose concentration level and one or more lifestyle factors (e.g., activity (e.g., steps), meal timing, or food choice.)…; The examiner notes that the system may determine guidance or management for the patient based on learnings including an extent of control or loss of control relative to meals, exercise, and medication such that each of these actions can be considered to be evaluated as sufficient or insufficient to improve glucose or glucose control which is then used to determine guidance), the controller configured to control actions of the system based on the machine model with the first measurements and the second measurements as inputs (Col. 35, line 8-36--A determination may also be based on a combination of two or more types of low-fidelity data. For example, activity and blood glucose meter data may be used in combination, or activity and location may be used in combination, or blood glucose meter data and location may be used in combination.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sensing device of Martino with the analyte sensor of Kamath in order to receive blood glucose measurements as the one or more medical characteristics as Martino generally discloses the medical sensing device may be used to monitor vital signs, where blood glucose may be considered an indicator of a vital function particularly in patients having diabetes or other known blood glucose-related issues. Doing so would allow for active management of glucose levels of diabetes patients in real-time and further inform learned relationships between analyte levels and activity, as recognized by Kamath (Column 33, lines 9-11, Intermittently collected CGM information may be used to actively manage glucose levels (e.g., in real time), or may be used to update or refine learned relationship between estimated glucose levels from a CGM and other information, such as activity).
It would additionally have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic apparatus of Martino, already capable of using a machine learning model which receives measurements as input in order to trigger actions by the robotic apparatus and control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model and modified with Liu to additionally sense second measurements, to implement a machine model from an artificial neural network receiving first and second measurements to trigger actions based on results of a past action being sufficient as described by Kamath in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to intervene and/or support interventions in a user’s health by adjusting the actions that are triggered based on previous outcomes of those actions in response to similar data in order to account for individual differences in treatment efficacy such as lower than expected glucose responses to exercise or medication.
Regarding Claim 19, Martino, Liu, and Kamath discloses the method of claim 18. Martino additionally wherein controlling the one or more actuators includes one or more of: generating one or more sounds with the domesticated animal robotic apparatus (Martino: Paragraph [0025], lines 1-3, the robotic device may also have one or more integrated speakers 104 to play audio sounds) responsive to the measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient; or moving the robotic apparatus to indicate that the patient should increase an activity level of the patient responsive to the measurements indicating or trending toward a hyperglycemic condition of the patient.
However, Martino does not disclose the one or more sounds being responsive to the measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient.
Kamath teaches generation of one or more sounds responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient (Column 29, lines 59-63, Sensor information (e.g., blood glucose concentration level) or an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 (e.g., via visual display, sound, or vibration; Examiner notes low glucose level alert as measurements indicating hypoglycemic condition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified speakers of Martino to include playing one or more sounds responsive to the blood glucose measurements indicating or trending toward a hypoglycemic condition of the patient. Doing so would allow for a clear notification of blood sugar status and urgency due to the words of the message and the volume, as recognized by Kamath (Column 45, lines 45-48, The system may present a notification that is more severe to indicate urgency. For example, the system may present a high frequency or high duration sound, a verbal message presented at increased cadence or volume).
Regarding Claim 20, Martino discloses an interactive patient monitoring system, the monitoring system comprising: a robotic apparatus having a shape of an animal pet (Figure 1 depicts a primate-like form; Examiner notes robotic device to have a shape of an animal because chimpanzees is a primate animal that can be kept as a pet), the robotic apparatus comprising one or more actuators configured to simulate movement of the animal pet by moving the robotic apparatus (Examiner notes a robotic companion device with one or more actuators or actuator devices to facilitate movement as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 2-4; wherein the hinged connection 604 of the upper leg portion 603 and the lower leg portion 602, may allow for the robotic device to take one or more steps (i.e., walk) as described in Paragraph [0031], lines 9-11; Examiner notes talking steps/walking as simulating animal movement because pet chimpanzees walk);
a communication device configured to communicate with a medical tracking device to receive measurements (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-25, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol, such as those discussed herein. In some embodiments, the wearable medical tracking device may measure a patient's temperature, blood pressure, pulse, oxygen saturation, etc.; Examiner notes wireless communication with a medial tracking device measuring vital signs as receiving measurements of one or more medical characteristics); and
a controller configured to examine sensor measurements (Examiner notes one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements as described in Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3; wherein a specific decision table contains programmed actions in conjunction with gathered sensor data as described in Paragraph [0041], lines 4-6) and to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus to simulate movement of the animal pet (Examiner notes a robotic companion device with one or more actuators or actuator devices to facilitate movement as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 2-4; wherein the hinged connection 604 of the upper leg portion 603 and the lower leg portion 602, may allow for the robotic device to take one or more steps (i.e., walk) as described in Paragraph [0031], lines 9-11; Examiner notes talking steps/walking as simulating animal movement because pet chimpanzees walk) and interact with the patient in different ways based on medical measurements (in an emergency mode, the robotic device may go into an emergency mode and tell the patient to stay where they are until help arrives, provide updates on when help is expected to arrive, or it may act as a communication bridge between the patient and the third party as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 5-19; and wherein an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs of the patient exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16; Examiner notes telling the patient to stay where they are, providing updates on when help is expected to arrive, and acting as a communication bridge as interacting with the patient in different ways).
Martino additionally discloses the robotic apparatus configured to sense second measurements (Paragraph [0053], lines 19-22, a patient may wear a medical tracking device which communicates with the robotic device via a wireless communication protocol; Examiner notes data received by robot device from medical tracking device as second measurements).
Martino further discloses a machine learning model (Paragraph [0066], lines 8-9, the robotic device is a machine learning device; Examiner notes the robotic device is programmed to function in several modes, including an autonomous robotic behavior mode in which actions of the robotic device are controlled by a specific decision table, which contains programmed actions in conjunction with gathered sensor data as described in Paragraph [0041], lines 1-6; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table as a model that defines relationships between measurements and actions because the robotic device engages in selected actions based on prompts received from sensor measurements)
that triggers actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus (Examiner notes the control program may be written using a decision table structure for the logic, and a decision table translator may generate the code for the processor to execute as described in Paragraph [0066], lines 1-4; wherein the semi-autonomous robotic device may respond to various prompts received from an array of sensors that take selected measurements by engaging in actions selected from a group of programmed or learned actions as described in Paragraph [0038], lines 6-11; Examiner notes decision table control program executed by processor to select actions from a group of actions as the controller being configured to select at least one action) and the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model (Examiner notes computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor to execute the functions/acts specified herein as described in Paragraph [0072], lines 1-7; wherein as an example, once the emergency situation is recognized, the robotic device may move, using the one or more actuators, to an area adjacent to the patient and record vital signs as described in Paragraph [0069], lines 1-7; Examiner notes moving to a patient and recording vitals signs as the controller being configured to control one or more actuators to implement one or more actions) with the first measurements as inputs (Paragraph [0039], lines 2-3, one or more processors programmed to cause the robotic device to analyze sensor measurements),
and controlling one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus (Paragraph [0067], lines 3-4, one or more actuators or actuator devices facilitate movement) to cause the robotic apparatus to interact with the patient based on the medical state that is identified (Examiner notes movement is initiated by pre-established rules associated with emergency conditions as described in Paragraph [0064], lines 3-10; wherein in an emergency mode, the robotic device may attempt to locate the patient and immediately go to their location and may determine whether the patient needs help as described in Paragraph [0062], lines 6-10; and wherein and an emergency situation may be detected based on one or more vital signs of the patient exceeding a threshold as described in Paragraph [0067], lines 13-16; Examiner notes a vital signs threshold being exceeded as an abnormal medical state triggering an emergency mode in the robotic device and movement by the actuator devices to interact with the patient by going to them and determining if help is needed).
However, Martino does not explicitly disclose second measurements from an sensor internal to the domesticated animal robotic apparatus.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a robot for providing medical monitoring and assistance, teaches an internal sensor of the robotic apparatus configured to sense measurements of the one or more medical characteristics of the patient (Page 2, Paragraph 1, lines 1-8, The blood pressure and blood glucose integrated measurement unit is arranged above the base of the robot, and includes …a blood glucose detection module 182, … the blood glucose detection module sends the detected blood glucose information to the microcontroller).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robotic apparatus of Martino to incorporate the teachings of Liu by adding an internal sensor that measure one or more medical characteristics of the patient in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to monitor a user by enabling confirmation of measurements from the medical sensing device or alternatively to provide additional measurements of the user’s health. It would be further obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus of Martino based on the second measurements obtained from the internal sensor in order to predictably reduce hospital resources needed to detect basic physical indexes, as recognized by Liu (Page, 1, Background Technique paragraph, lines 1-6).
However, Martino does not disclose the communication device configured to communicate with a continuous glucose measurement (CGM) device to receive measurements of blood glucose levels of a patient; and a controller configured to examine the measurements received from the CGM device and to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus to simulate movement of the animal pet and interact with the patient in different ways based on the blood glucose measurements received from the CGM device, wherein the measurements received from the CGM device are first measurements of blood glucose levels of the patient, and the controller implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers to trigger actions by the domesticated animal robotic apparatus based in part on results of a past action by the robotic apparatus being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus, the controller configured to control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model..
Kamath teaches a sensing device that outputs blood glucose measurements of a blood glucose and transmits them to another device (Figure 1, analyte sensor 104; Examiner notes analyte sensor 104 maybe a continuous glucose sensor, which may… use any method of glucose measurement as described in Column 25, lines 1-8; and the glucose concentration level may be transmitted via a network 124 and delivered to a patient or caretaker device as described in Column 27, lines 29-32); and
a controller configured to examine the measurements received from the glucose levels of a patient (Examiner notes the sensor electronics 106 may include hardware, firmware, and/or software that enables measurement of levels of the analyte via a glucose sensor and can take a variety of forms including a microcontroller and/or a processor as described in Column 28, lines 30-38, wherein the data may be collected and analyzed to determine a relationship between glucose levels and activity as described in Column 23, lines 28-31) and interact with the patient in different ways based on the blood glucose measurements received from the CGM device (Examiner notes an alert or notification (e.g., “high glucose level”, “low glucose level” or “fall rate alert” may be communicated via the user interface 252 as described in Column 29, lines 59-63; and , the application may indicate that a suggested activity is likely to bring the user's glucose level to a desired value or range (e.g., “We estimate that one hour of running will lower your glucose by 15 mg/dl”) as described in Column 48, lines 21-25; Examiner notes different alert messages determined based on high and low glucose levels and communicated to the user on a user interface as interacting with the patient in different ways).
Kamath additionally discloses the system implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers (Column 34, line 13-64, Col. 35, line 59-Col. 36, line 2—model is trained…neural networks…; Examiner notes that the neural networks as disclosed by Kamath encompass non-single layer neural networks which would include multiple neurons and layers), to trigger actions by the system based in part on results of a past action by the system being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient associated with robotic apparatus (Col. 35, line 37-Col. 36, line 2 and Col. 36, line 23-line 65, Col. 41, line 30-45 --a system may automatically reconfigure a coaching system (e.g., a chat bot or other coaching application running on a smart device, such as a watch) with preferred or specified information, such as enhanced glucose metrics…A system may also determine guidance or other patient management factors based on behavioral learnings about a subject, such as timing and types of messaging, such as delivery of information about a post-meal recap (e.g., extent or nature of glucose level control or loss of control), an exercise benefit, an improvement with medicine changes, or adherence, or to conduct an information-gathering period…may personalize metrics, guidance or other information relating to management of a physiologic condition of a patient, such as glycemic health…health concepts (e.g., potential guidance or action to be taken by a subject may be ranked or quantified for potential health impact, a list of patient management options may be formed into a personalized list for a subject, e.g., by determination of one or more estimates of a quantifiable benefit on a physiological outcome (e.g., achievement of a glucose concentration range, goal, time-in-range, or A1C.) For example, one or more patterns (e.g., dietary choice, exercise or activity, or sleep) that result in a benefit (e.g., better glucose control) may be determined based at least in part on high-fidelity data. In some examples, a correlation may be determined between a glucose concentration level and one or more lifestyle factors (e.g., activity (e.g., steps), meal timing, or food choice.)…; The examiner notes that the system may determine guidance or management for the patient based on learnings including an extent of control or loss of control relative to meals, exercise, and medication such that each of these actions can be considered to be evaluated as sufficient or insufficient to improve glucose or glucose control which is then used to determine guidance), the controller configured to control actions of the system based on the machine model with the first measurements and the second measurements as inputs (Col. 35, line 8-36--A determination may also be based on a combination of two or more types of low-fidelity data. For example, activity and blood glucose meter data may be used in combination, or activity and location may be used in combination, or blood glucose meter data and location may be used in combination.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the network communication device of Martino to be configured to communicate with a CGM and to have modified the controller of Martino to be configured to examine blood glucose measurements from the CGM as first measurements of blood glucose levels of the patient as Martino generally discloses the medical sensing device may be used to monitor vital signs, where blood glucose may be considered an indicator of a vital function particularly in patients having diabetes or other known blood glucose-related issues. It would further be obvious to modify the controller of Martino to be configured to control one or more actuators to interact with a patient in different ways based on the blood glucose measurements received from the CGM device. Doing so would allow for further allow for management of glucose level of diabetes patients in real-time (Column 33, lines 9-11) and additionally allow for personalized guidance relating to management (Column 36, lines 1-4), as recognized by Kamath.
It would additionally have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the robotic apparatus of Martino, already capable of using a machine learning model which receives measurements as input in order to trigger actions by the robotic apparatus and control the one or more actuators of the robotic apparatus based on the machine model and modified with Liu to additionally sense second measurements, to implement a machine model from an artificial neural network receiving first and second measurements to trigger actions based on results of a past action being sufficient as described by Kamath in order to predictably improve the ability of the system to intervene and/or support interventions in a user’s health by adjusting the actions that are triggered based on previous outcomes of those actions in response to similar data in order to account for individual differences in treatment efficacy such as lower than expected glucose responses to exercise or medication.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martino in view of Liu, further in view of Kamath, further in view of Mizukami (US 20200371525A1—previously cited).
Regarding Claim 4, Martino, Liu, and Kamath disclose the monitoring system of claim 1. Martino discloses wherein the robotic apparatus has physical characteristics of one or more of a dog, a cat, or a bird (Figure 7 depicts a body with four total limbs and a head standing on two of those limbs; Examiner notes robotic device to have a shape of a cat or dog because they have four total limbs and a head and can stand on two of the limbs).
However, Martino does not disclose wherein the robotic apparatus has a shape of one or more of a dog, a cat, or a bird.
Mizukami teaches the robotic apparatus having a shape of one or more of a dog, a cat, or a bird (Figure 1, mobile body 10 is depicted as dog-shaped; Paragraph [0080], The autonomous mobile body 10 may be, for example, an autonomous mobile robot having a shape imitating a human or an animal such as a dog).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Martino to incorporate the teachings of Mizukami by making it dog-shaped. Doing so would allow for pet-like interaction with a device that gathers information through sensors (Paragraph [0096], lines 7-10) because the mobile body can imitate motions of a pet (Paragraph [0168], lines 4-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While the applicant argues that the previously cited references fail to disclose the newly amended limitations of the independent claims, new citations of Kamath have been provided to disclose the relevant limitations in combination with Martino and Liu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US 20240285194 A1) discloses implementing a machine model from an artificial neural network using a plurality of neurons in a plurality of layers to trigger actions by a device based in part on results of a past action by the robotic apparatus being sufficient or insufficient for the health of the patient.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791