DETAILED ACTION
2. Claim 11 is amended. Claims 16 and 17 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 02/01/2024, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 11 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schonholz (US 20160007442) in view of Nielsen (US 20150343668) and OGAWA (US 20190099300).
4. Schonholz further describes that in the pin lamination process, the thermally hardening epoxy and not the UV exposed resin works as an adhesive in the stack (black arrows) and adheres the layers together only in the areas of the at least one uncured UV resin portions (127) to form a laminated layup (see also FIG. 6.).
5. Examiner maintains that the claim recites that a joining device comprising the molding tool and adapted to join the first laminate arrangement and second laminate arrangement; it does not require the entire area of the layers will be joined together.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,13-14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schonholz (US 20160007442) in view of Nielsen (US 20150343668) further in view of OGAWA (US 20190099300).
Regarding Claim 11 Schonholz discloses system for manufacturing a component ([0032]), comprising: a molding tool(Figure 6, [0044],prepeg-100 with first surface-125)and a second laminate arrangement (Figure 6, [0044], prepeg layer/second surface-150), a joining device(Figure 6, [0044], layer-125 through pins-152 is adapted to join the superposed first laminate arrangement (Figure 4, [0022] , [0044]; ), and a cutting/milling arranged movably relative to the support surface (Figure 7-8, [0045]; milling is done along the contouri.e. the perimeter-162 which is part of the second surface150 and forms a separating section -160 ), so that at least one segment(Figure 8 showing that one segment
Schonholz did not disclose a cutting tool specifically, however it would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art prior to the time of applicant’s invention applicant’s invention to interpret that if milling is being performed then there has to be a cutting/milling tool to undergo the operation for the purpose of removing the rigid portion from the arrangement ([0006],Schonholz).
Further, Schonolz didn’t disclose the joining device cover structure. In the related field of endeavor, fabricating composites, Nielson discloses that the cover is rigid to exert pressure on the laminate arrangements and in the direction of the molding tool. (Figure-4, rigid cover-10, [0070]). Therefore, combining together Schonholz and Nielson a cover , together with the support surface, forms a closed chamber for resin infusion as required, and wherein the cover is rigid is met.
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Schonholz’s teaching with that of Nielson rigid cover for the purpose of a protecting sheath during the molding process.
The above combination didn’t disclose that a release material comprising a material distinct from the fiber-reinforced plastic of the first laminate arrangement. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, OGAWA discloses, a release material comprising aluminum foil or plastic film i.e. distinct from the fiber-reinforced plastic of the first laminate arrangement (Figure 1, release layer-5, [0060]); a release material configured to be applied to at least one release portionof the first laminate arrangement as a release layer (combining Schonholz’s and Ogawa this limitation is met).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Schonholz’s teaching with that of OGAWA for the purpose of flexible less corrosive laminate arrangement.
Regarding Claim 13, Schonholz discloses wherein the joining deviceFigure 6, [0022], [0044], Claim 1; layer-125 through pins-152 adapted to join the superposed first laminate arrangement).
Regarding Claim 14, Schonholz discloses wherein the cutting tool([0045]).
Regarding Claim 16, OGAWA discloses wherein the release layer comprises an aluminum foil ([0060]).
Regarding Claim 17, OGAWA discloses, wherein the release layer comprises polyimide or a plastic ([0060]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schonholz (US 20160007442) in view of Nielsen (US 20150343668) and OGAWA (US 20190099300)as applied to claim 11 further in view of Nouhra (US 20220314101)
Regarding Claim 12, Schonholz discloses system for manufacturing a component ([0032]) with two different laminate arrangements. However, Schonholz didn’t disclose that the connecting devicerelated field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Nouhra discloses that mold/surface placed at elevated temperature which are used for laminated arrangements ([0002]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art prior to the time of applicant’s invention applicant’s invention to combine Schonholz/ Nielsen teaching with that of the Nouhra’s teaching of elevated temperature and pressure for the curing purpose as used in the composite material.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741