DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (US 2012/0274078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses an apparatus comprising: an input gas supply 63; a downstream reactor 28 inlet (paragraph 21); a solar-thermal reactor comprising a solar collector 58 and a reactor 50 that is heated by the solar collector, the reactor comprising: a housing (see Figure 3) having an inlet 64 for receiving a hydrocarbon input gas and an outlet 20 for expelling an output gas 71, wherein the inlet 64 is in fluid communication with the input gas supply 63 and the outlet is in fluid communication with the downstream reactor inlet (paragraph 21); a reaction chamber 54 enclosed by the housing and in fluid communication with the inlet 64 and the outlet 20 (see Figure 3); and a catalyst 52 arranged inside the reaction chamber (paragraph 30); wherein the heat applied to the reactor by the solar collector can heat the catalyst to a reaction temperature (paragraph 36); and wherein input gas can flow from the input gas source and through the thermal reactor from the inlet to the outlet to be chemically converted into the output gas that is directed to the downstream reactor inlet to a secondary reactor (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses that the solar collector is a parabolic trough solar collector and the reactor is arranged in a focal region of the parabolic trough solar collector (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses that the housing is a tube formed from at least quartz (paragraph 30).
Claims 1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wegeng (US 2013/0025192 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wegeng discloses an apparatus comprising: an input gas supply and a solar-thermal reactor comprising a solar collector and a reactor that is heated by the solar collector (paragraph 53), the reactor comprising: a housing having an inlet for receiving a hydrocarbon input gas and an outlet for expelling an output gas, wherein the inlet is in fluid communication with the input gas supply (paragraphs 54-56) and the outlet is in fluid communication with downstream storage (paragraph 57); a reaction chamber enclosed by the housing and in fluid communication with the inlet and the outlet and a catalyst arranged inside the reaction chamber (paragraphs 66-68); wherein the heat applied to the reactor by the solar collector can heat the catalyst to a reaction temperature (paragraph 75); and wherein input gas can flow from the input gas source and through the thermal reactor from the inlet to the outlet to be chemically converted into the output gas that is directed to the storage (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Wegeng discloses that the solar collector is moveable and can be oriented to increase or decrease an amount of solar radiation focused into the focal region (paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 6, Wegeng discloses a preheater (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 7, Wegeng discloses that an inert heat transfer media is arranged in the reaction chamber of the preheating stage (paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 8, Wegeng discloses that the reactor comprises a cooling stage that includes a heat sink (paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 9, Wegeng discloses that the reactor comprises a mixing stage comprising a first inlet and a second inlet (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 10, Wegeng discloses that the reactor comprises temperature gradients (paragraph 75).
Regarding claim 11, Wegeng discloses multiple catalyst stages (paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 12, Wegeng discloses that the reactor comprises temperature gradients (paragraph 75).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Wegeng discloses that the reactor comprises an auxiliary heater comprising a housing that is coaxial with the reactor and that encloses a heating chamber (paragraph 39). The limitations associated with the fluid are intended use. Wegeng discloses a hot working fluid (paragraph 89).
Regarding claim 15, Wegeng discloses a hot working fluid (paragraph 89).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wegeng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bordoloi (US 2016/0001269 A1).
Wegeng discloses the use methane with CO2 as an input (paragraph 52) and hydrogen with CO as the effluent (paragraph 53) but does not disclose that the claimed catalyst. Bordoloi—in an invention for reforming using solar energy—discloses the use of multi-cationic aluminate spinel catalysts for their high melting temperature, high mechanical strength at elevated temperature, high chemical inertness, good thermal shock resistance and catalytic properties (paragraph 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the catalyst of Bordoloi as the catalyst in Wegeng for its high melting temperature, high mechanical strength at elevated temperature, high chemical inertness, good thermal shock resistance and catalytic properties as suggested by Bordoloi.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725