DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Jan 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
112(b).
On page 7 Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims have addressed the 112(b) rejections. The Examiner agrees and those 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn. However, new 112(b) rejections are presented in light of the amendments.
103 - Claims 1 and 14.
On page 8, first full paragraph, Applicant argues:
Race discloses unmanned underwater vehicles (UUVs), also known as autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), that are "autonomous in the sense that, once launched on a mission, they operate according to a preprogrammed mission profile." (Race, I [0005]). Race further teaches that computer 155 "executes preprogrammed computer instructions to autonomously direct UUV 20 to carry out a predetermined underwater mission as well as to direct the deployment and retrieval of towed body 60 and operation of towed antenna system 40." (Race, 1 [0064]). Race does not disclose or teach "a first fiber optic converter carried by a vehicle and integrated into a base station on the vehicle" as recited by amended claims 1 and 14. Race's UUV 20 is an autonomous vehicle that operates according to preprogrammed instructions, not a vehicle with a base station that integrates a fiber optic converter with user devices.
Applicant is arguing amended limitations, which are discussed in the new rejections below. The Examiner also notes that the original limitations were not rejected based only on the explicit teachings of Race. In particular, Race is cited to teach the use of bi-directional fiber optic communications (e.g., see pages 6-8) and the use of electronics on both ends of the fiber optics (e.g., see pages 8-11), and from this the use of E/O and O/E converters would have been obvious (e.g., page 11). Furthermore, Scheibenreif was also cited in a 103 combination to more explicitly teach the use of converters.
On pages 8-9 Applicant argues:
Race also does not disclose or teach a system adapted to extend communication capabilities of a user device on the vehicle to a location remote from the vehicle as recited by amended claims 1 and 14. Race teaches that "Computer 155 of UUV 20 may command launch and recovery system 46 to deploy and retrieve towed body 60 according to pre-programmed commands stored in computer 155." (Race, I [0113]). The computer 155 in Race is not a user device requiring extended communication capabilities; rather, it is an autonomous control system executing preprogrammed commands. Race further teaches that "computer 155 or a computer of towed antenna system 40 may cycle through available communication options" and that "remote control and operation of UUV 20 and towable system 40 may be made by a remote user." (Race, T [0071]). From the specification, drawings, and claims, Race's system is designed for remote control of an autonomous vehicle, not for extending communication capabilities of user devices on the vehicle itself.
The “adapted to extend communication capabilities” language is new limitation that was added in the Response. This is discussed in more detail below, but the Examiner notes that Race teaches an extendable antenna which has the effect of extending the range of communications when the antenna is away from the main apparatus (e.g., extended communication capabilities at least in the direction the antenna is away from the main body.
Regarding the argument that “Race is not a user device requiring extended communication capabilities”, Race does, in fact, extend the communication capabilities (e.g., by extending the remote antenna). Regarding a “user device”, this is obvious and is discussed in more detail with reference to the next argument.
On page 9, first full paragraph, Applicant argues:
The Office Action assertion that Race's submarine could be "of a known type, such as submarines that carry people" and that "it would have been obvious that the submarine includes devices for use by those people" respectfully relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction. The Federal Circuit has stated that "rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained with mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). While Race states that "the teachings of the following disclosure would also apply to any submersible craft," (Race, 1 [0061]), it does not teach or suggest integrating a fiber optic converter into a base station on the vehicle for the purpose of extending user device communication capabilities.
Applicant seems to be arguing that the rejection used hindsight reasoning by combining the statement in Race that the teachings apply to “any submersible craft”, and the fact that it was known for submarines to carry people and user devices. More specifically, Race teaches that the submarine is not limited to UUVs and can be any submersible craft. See:
[0061] Although the figures and the following disclosure describes an embodiment involving an unmanned underwater vehicle (UUV), one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the teachings of the disclosure would not be limited to use solely in connection with UUVs, and instead would appreciate that the teachings of the following disclosure would also apply to any submersible craft.
The Examiner stated that “it would have been obvious that the submarine can be of a known type, such as submarines that carry people.” See the previous Action on page 13. The Examiner also referenced Race teaching the use of computers in the submarine and the antenna, and Race teaching operations to communicate with other devices (also on page 13 of the previous Action). This is not hindsight; this is a combination of an explicit teaching and well-known facts that take into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill, with predictable results (e.g., the people on the submarine will use the devices to control the submarine and perform related functions).
Although it should not be necessary, in the interests of compact prosecution the Examiner notes that these facts were well-known not only to those skilled in the art, but also to the general public. For example, submarines with people and user devices on board (e.g., radio equipment and other devices to control the submarine) were well-known to the public since at least World War II.
In summary, the portion of the rejection that Applicant is arguing relies on explicit teachings of the prior art and facts that were well-known. These relate to the same technical field (e.g., submarines), could have been combined using known methods (e.g., making the submarine large enough for people, installing seats, input devices, and output devices for use by people), and the results would have been predictable by one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR v Teleflex, 127 S. Ct 1727, 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Also, see MPEP 2145(X)(A):
Applicants may argue that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based on improper hindsight reasoning. However, “[a]ny judgement on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper.” In re McLaughlin 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971). Applicants may also argue that the combination of two or more references is “hindsight” because “express” motivation to combine the references is lacking. However, there is no requirement that an “express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness.” See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP § 2141 and § 2143 for guidance regarding establishment of a prima facie case of obviousness.
In other words, the combination did not rely on any knowledge gleaned only from the application, but rather relied on the teachings of the cited art and knowledge within the level of ordinary skill at the time of the invention.
Applicant’s argument of “mere conclusory statements” and the suggestion that there is no “articulated reasoning” and no “rational underpinning” to support the 103 rejection is without merit. See the discussion above.
Referring again to page 9, first full paragraph:
The Office Action assertion that Race's submarine could be "of a known type, such as submarines that carry people" and that "it would have been obvious that the submarine includes devices for use by those people" respectfully relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction. The Federal Circuit has stated that "rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained with mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). While Race states that "the teachings of the following disclosure would also apply to any submersible craft," (Race, 1 [0061]), it does not teach or suggest integrating a fiber optic converter into a base station on the vehicle for the purpose of extending user device communication capabilities.
Applicant argues that Race “does not teach or suggest integrating a fiber optic converter into a base station on the vehicle for the purpose of extending user device communication capabilities.” Applicant is arguing amended limitations. These are addressed in the new rejections below. See also the discussion above regarding the arguments on page 8, first full paragraph.
On page 9, last paragraph, Applicant argues that “Scheibenreif does not cure the deficiencies of Race”. See the discussion of Scheibenreif above.
Claims 2-13 and 14-20.
Applicant argues on page 10 that claims 2-13 and 14-20 are allowable because of their dependence on claim 1 or 13. This is not persuasive for the reasons discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 last line, recites “user device on a vehicle ...”. It is not clear if this is a reference to the vehicle introduced in line 3 (in which case the Examiner suggests using the article “the” or “said”) or if it is a new vehicle (in which case the Examiner suggests using a term to distinguish this “vehicle” from the other “vehicle”).
Claim 1 last line, recites “to a location form the vehicle.” It appears that this is a typographical error and should be “from”.
Claims 2-13 are rejected because they depend from claim 1 and they fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejection.
Claim 14, last paragraph recites:
wherein the system is adapted to extend a communication capabilities of the user device on the vehicle to a location from the vehicle.
This appears to be a typographical error. It may be that Applicant intends:
wherein the system is adapted to extend [[a]] communication capabilities of the user device on the vehicle to a location from the vehicle.
Or it may be that Applicant intends:
wherein the system is adapted to extend a communication capability
In any event, amendment and/or clarification is required.
Claim 18, lines 1-2 recites “of claims claim 14”. This appears to be a typographical error.
Claims 15-20 are rejected because they depend from claim 14 and they fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0162573 (Race) in view of US 2008/0037995 (Scheibenreif).
Regarding claim 1, Race teaches a fiber optic communication system for vehicles, comprising:
a first fiber optic converter carried by a vehicle and integrated into a base station on the vehicle, the first fiber optic converter adapted for electrical connection to at least one user device (FIG. 1: a portion of the submarine interfacing with the optical fiber 48);
a second fiber optic converter adapted to be positioned remotely from the vehicle and the first fiber optic converter (FIG. 1: optical fiber 48 interface in towed antenna 40/60);
at least one fiber optic cable optically coupling the first fiber optic converter and the second fiber optic converter (FIG. 4: optical fiber cable 48 between the submarine 20 and the towed antenna 40/60); and
a wireless communication module in electrical communication with the second fiber optic converter (FIG. 1: wireless antenna and associated equipment in towed antenna 40/60),
wherein the first fiber optic converter is configured to convert first electrical signals received from the at least one user device into first optical signals, and is further configured to convert second optical signals into second electrical signals received by the at least one user device,
wherein the second fiber optic converter is configured to convert the first optical signals from the first fiber optic converter into third electrical signals received by the wireless communication module, and is further configured to convert fourth electrical signals received from the wireless communication module into the second optical signals received by the first fiber optic converter, and
wherein the user device can communicate through the vehicle’s fiber optic system and is adapted to extend communication capabilities of the user device on a vehicle to a location remote from the vehicle.
FIG. 1 is illustrated for reference.
As can be seen in FIGS. 1 and 4, there is a main vessel (i.e., submarine 20 in FIG. 1) and a remote device (i.e., remote antenna 60 in FIG. 1), connected by cable. FIG. 4 illustrates a more detailed view of the towed antenna, submarine, and the cable 48 between them.
Race teaches that this cable 48 can be fiber optic cable. See:
[0088] In another embodiment, cable system 48 comprises cable 252, as shown in FIG. 17. Cable 252 may comprise a fiber optic configuration having cover 254, strength member 256, and dual optical fibers 258. Cover 254 may be made from a waterproof PVC material. Strength member 256 may be made from a strong yet lightweight material, such as Kevlar. Cable 252 may be desirable for long cable runs and/or extremely high bandwidth where multiple data streams may be multiplexed onto a single fiber 258.
[0117] In an embodiment cable system 48 comprises a fiber optic-type cable, such as cable 252, a PRIZM Ultimate USB may be employed to transmit and receive data signals along a single fiber. The PRIZM Ultimate USB, which is available at www.moog.com, offers bi-directional fiber optic transmission of, for example, video and data signals, over a single fiber. The PRIZM Ultimate USB is designed for underwater applications, and includes a 4 port USB 1.1 hub. This device may require up to 7.5 watts of power to operate, which may or may not be significant depending on the power source availability in UUV 20 or in towed body 60 and the power transmission properties of the chosen cable system 40. Two boards may be needed for the system to be complete: one board for each end of cable system 48.
[0118] Another option for use in connection with cable system 48 comprising a fiber optic-type cable is the AXFT-1621 single fiber, bi-directional receptacle/transceiver. This device, which is available from Axcen Photonics Corp. at www.axcen.com.tw, can transmit and receive data signals at the serial TTL level enabling compatibility with virtually any type of communications hardware. A second multiplexer board may be needed to combine data signals to and from Wi-Fi communication system 125, GPS communication system 107, satellite communication system 113, and RF communication system 119. The AXFT-1621 transceiver may incorporate additional multiplexers and provide breakouts for communications ports to attach additional communication modules, but may require custom supporting circuitry in order to function in towed antenna system 40.
This also teaches that the cable can be used to bi-directionally transmit data between the submarine and the towed antenna.
First and Second Fiber Optic Converters.
As discussed above, the connection between the submarine and the towed antenna is optical and bi-directional. Therefore, it would have been obvious that there are fiber optic converters at either end of the optical fiber to convert electrical signals into optical signals for transmission over the optical fiber, and for converting optical signals received from the fiber into electrical signals. See, for example:
[0063] UUV 20, through towed antenna system 40, may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18. Similarly, one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with UUV 20 through towed antenna system 40. Bi-directional communication may simultaneously occur between UUV 20 and one or more of any or all of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18.
[0068] Towed body 60 is further configured to house various antennas and associated electronics usable for receiving and transmitting data signals to and from UUV 20 and to and from aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 while UUV 20 is permitted to be submersed below the surface of the water.
[0165] Electrical power from UUV 20 may be supplied through cable system 48 (or cable system 188, for example) through, for example, launch and recovery communication system 170 of launch and recovery system 46, and ultimately to towed body 60 through cable system 48. Alternatively, towed body 60 may house and carry its own power supply, such as a battery, to electrically power computer 105 and all peripheral computer and communication components and all servo motors in towed body 60.
[0175] In this embodiment, the maximum current required is therefore approximately 1.36 amps. Taking, for example, cable 282, which may be rated to transmit only approximately 0.2 amps, the voltage may need to be stepped up to approximately 38.5 volts to provide enough power to system components. A DC-DC converter may be employed to step the voltage down to any level required by any electrical component of towed antenna system 40. In addition, a passive filter located in towed body 60 may be employed to separate out the DC power from any data signals.
In other words, it was contemplated that electrical/electronic equipment would be present in the towed antenna, and data signals are sent and received via the optical fiber by electrical/electronic equipment, making it obvious to include a fiber optic converter to convert between optical and electrical signals. Similar conversion would be obvious at the submarine end of the fiber. For example, converting the optical signals to electrical signal for use by electrical signal processors, and vice versa in the submarine.
See also FIG. 27 which illustrates electrical components, including computers 105, 155 in both the towed antenna 102 and the submarine 150.
See also:
[0064] Turning now to FIG. 2, there is shown a more detailed view of UUV 20 together with towed antenna system 40, and further showing towed body 60 partially deployed. UUV 20 may include, for example, nose module 30, propulsion and guidance module 24, lift hoist 22, and one or more interchangeable modules 32 that, when assembled together, form UUV 20. One of modules 32 may include one or more electrical power sources, such as power supply 157 shown schematically on, for example, FIG. 27. In addition, UUV 20 may include one or more computers, such as computer 155 shown schematically on, for example, FIG. 27. Computer 155 executes preprogrammed computer instructions to autonomously direct UUV 20 to carry out a predetermined underwater mission as well as to direct the deployment and retrieval of towed body 60 and operation of towed antenna system 40. Computer 155 is additionally configured to engage towed antenna system 40 to permit communication of UUV 20 with remote air, water, space, and terrestrial communication systems.
[0104] Towed body communication system 102, as shown in FIG. 27, includes computer 105, which may include flash memory, ram memory, and means for permanent data storage, such as a hard drive. Computer 105 may also include a processor as well as various ports and interfaces to connect with peripheral devices and antennas. For example, computer 105 may include Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi, cellular, satellite, IEEE UART, and I.sup.2C ports and interfaces. Computer 105 may comprise an operating system for carrying out computer instructions, such as Linux, and operate on one or more wired or wireless networks, such as an intranet and the Internet. Towed body communication system 102 may use one or more encryption methods for privately communicating data signals to and from UUV 20 and to and from the at least one remote communication system.
[0166] Computer 155 of UUV 20 may command launch and recovery system 46 to deploy and retrieve towed body 60 according to pre-programmed commands stored in computer 155. UUV 20 may bi-directionally transmit and receive communication signals to and from one or more remote communication systems, in parallel or in series, using towed antenna system 40 to do so.
In other words, it was contemplated that electrical/electronic equipment would be present in the submarine and the towed antenna, and that optical signals are transmitted over the fiber, making it obvious that fiber optic converters are used to convert between optical and electrical signals.
The Examiner is of the opinion that this is sufficient. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, Scheibenreif is also cited. In particular, Scheibenreif more explicitly teaches that O/E and E/O conversion was known when using optical fiber. See, for example:
[0003] The invention relates to optical transceivers, and in particular to coupling assemblies or modules that provide a communications interface between a computer or communications unit having an electrical input/output connector or interface and an optical fiber, such as used in fiber optic communications links.
[0005] A variety of optical transceivers are known in the art which include an optical transmit portion that converts an electrical signal into a modulated light beam that is coupled to an optical fiber, and a receive portion that receives an optical signal from an optical fiber and converts it into an electrical signal. In a high-speed unit, optical transmitter subassemblies include several lasers operating at different wavelengths and modulated with respective electrical signals for emitting a plurality of laser light beams. There beams are coupled into a plurality of optical fibers, which converge in an optical multiplexer for receiving the beams and multiplexing the respective optical signals into a single multi-wavelength beam that is coupled to a fiber optic connector for transmitting the optical signal to an external optical fiber.
As a result, it would have been obvious to use fiber optic converters, as taught in Scheibenreif to convert between optical and electrical signals at each end of the fiber in Race. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., optical fiber communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., electrical signals will be converted into optical signals for transmission in the optical fiber of Race, and those optical signals will be converted back into electrical signals at the other end of the optical fiber).
First Converter Integrated into a Base Station.
A portion of the main body of the submarine (i.e., the portion left behind when the antenna is deployed; see FIGS. 1 and 4) is within the scope of a “base station” on the vehicle. The remote antenna is a remote device which is deployed away from the submarine or the base station.
As discussed above, Race teaches bi-directional fiber optic communication and the use of electrical equipment on both sides of the fiber optical cable. From these teachings (and from Scheibenreif) it would have been obvious to have fiber optic converters on each end of the fiber to transmit and receive the optical signals to and from the optical fiber. An obvious location for these converters is at the ends of the fiber (e.g., the “base station”).
Finally, it would have been obvious that the converters in the main body of the submarine are integrated (e.g., combined or linked) into the base station on the vehicle. For example, the converters on the main submarine portion (i.e., the base station) are integrated on that end so they can operate on the optical signals being transmitted and received over the fiber, and so that they can communicate with (e.g., electrically connect to) other devices associated with transmitting and receiving the optical signals. For similar reasons, it would have been obvious that the converters on the remote antenna portion are integrated on the remote antenna device.
Bi-Directional Communication over the Fiber.
As discussed above, Race teaches that the communication between the submarine and the towed antenna can be bi-directional. See, for example:
[0063] UUV 20, through towed antenna system 40, may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18. Similarly, one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with UUV 20 through towed antenna system 40. Bi-directional communication may simultaneously occur between UUV 20 and one or more of any or all of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18.
[0068] Towed body 60 is further configured to house various antennas and associated electronics usable for receiving and transmitting data signals to and from UUV 20 and to and from aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 while UUV 20 is permitted to be submersed below the surface of the water.
[0167] Data signals to and from the one or more remote communication system with towed antenna system 40 may be transmitted to and from computer 155 of UUV 20 in real time. Alternatively or in addition to, data signals to and from the one or more remote communication system with towed antenna system 40 may be stored in memory associated with computer 105. In this way, data signals from computer 155 of UUV 20 may be stored in memory associated with computer 105 for later transmission to the one or more remote communication systems. Similarly, data signals received from the one or more remote communication system by towed antenna system 40 may be stored in memory associated with computer 105 for later transmission to computer 155 of UUV 20.
As a result, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that optical and electrical signals travel in both directions along the optical and electrical communications paths as recited in the claim.
User Device.
Race teaches that the submarine is not limited to unmanned underwater vehicles and can be any submersible craft. See, for example:
[0061] Although the figures and the following disclosure describes an embodiment involving an unmanned underwater vehicle (UUV), one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the teachings of the disclosure would not be limited to use solely in connection with UUVs, and instead would appreciate that the teachings of the following disclosure would also apply to any submersible craft.
Furthermore, it was well-known to one skilled in the art that submersible craft (e.g., submarines) can carry people, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It was also well-known that submarines can include devices for use by those people on the submarine to perform the functions of the submarine (e.g., radios for communication and other “user devices” for controlling the submarines speed, depth, direction, and other functions), and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. If submarines carrying people did not include “user devices”, then the submarine could not be operated by the people on-board.
With this in mind, it would have been obvious that “any other submersible craft” as taught in Race can be implemented in a known manner, such as a submarine carrying people and user devices for controlling the operation of the submarine. In the case of Race, this would include, for example, the operation of the towed antenna.
See also the discussion above regarding the use of computers in the submarine and in the towed antenna. It would have been obvious for submarines carrying people to include user devices for performing tasks associated with operating the submarine and the towed antenna (e.g., using computer keyboards, mouses, touchscreens, or other user interfaces).
In addition to the operations discussed above, Race also teaches that the submarine 20 can communicate bi-directionally with remote devices, such as aircraft, watercraft, satellites, and terrestrial communication systems. See Race at:
[0063] UUV 20, through towed antenna system 40, may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18. Similarly, one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with UUV 20 through towed antenna system 40. Bi-directional communication may simultaneously occur between UUV 20 and one or more of any or all of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18.
It also would have been obvious that these remote devices (i.e., aircraft, watercraft, satellites, and terrestrial communication systems) can also include user devices for their respective users to perform their intended operations (e.g., communications).
Communication Through Fiber.
As discussed under “User Device”, Race teaches that there is bi-directional communication between the submarine 20 and the remote devices (i.e., aircraft, watercraft, satellites, and terrestrial communication systems) via the antenna system 40. As seen in FIGS. 1 and 4, the submarine 20 and antenna 40 are connected via the fiber. As a result, it would have been obvious that the bidirectional communication is via the fiber 48. In addition, Race teaches the use of bi-directional devices with the fiber 48. See:
[0118] Another option for use in connection with cable system 48 comprising a fiber optic-type cable is the AXFT-1621 single fiber, bi-directional receptacle/transceiver. This device, which is available from Axcen Photonics Corp. at www.axcen.com.tw, can transmit and receive data signals at the serial TTL level enabling compatibility with virtually any type of communications hardware. A second multiplexer board may be needed to combine data signals to and from Wi-Fi communication system 125, GPS communication system 107, satellite communication system 113, and RF communication system 119. The AXFT-1621 transceiver may incorporate additional multiplexers and provide breakouts for communications ports to attach additional communication modules, but may require custom supporting circuitry in order to function in towed antenna system 40.
In other words, this expressly discusses bi-directional communication with the fiber 48 using devices that both transmit and receive data.
It would have been obvious that the user devices can perform the stated operations for the apparatus, such as bi-directional communication through the fiber optic system.
Extend Communication Capabilities.
As discussed above, Race teaches an extendable antenna that can be used to communicate with other devices. See Race at:
[0063] UUV 20, through towed antenna system 40, may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18. Similarly, one or more of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18 may initiate and bi-directionally communicate with UUV 20 through towed antenna system 40. Bi-directional communication may simultaneously occur between UUV 20 and one or more of any or all of aircraft 12, watercraft 13, satellite 14, and terrestrial communication systems 16,18.
Because the remote antenna can be extended away from the main body of the vehicle (e.g., see FIGS. 1 and 4), it would extend communication capabilities at least in the direction in which the remote antenna is extended away from the main vehicle. Furthermore, Race teaches that when submerged that submarine cannot communicate. See:
[0004] When any underwater vehicle (UV), such as, for example, an unmanned underwater vehicle (UUV) or a submarine, is submerged under water, it cannot receive a GPS signal from a GPS satellite, and it cannot transmit or receive data signals over the air using radio frequency (RF) or satellite communication techniques. This lack of connectivity to the world above the surface of the water when submerged may significantly impact or constrain UV operations, and ultimately, the mission the UV may perform. Consequently, the ability to transmit and receive data signals may be beneficial to UV operations while a UV is submerged.
In other words, the remote antenna on the surface will extend communication capabilities with a remote location when the submarine is underwater. As a result, this is within the scope of “adapted to extend communication capabilities” as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 1, further comprising a connector hub, wherein the wireless communication module is electrically connected to the second fiber optic converter through the connector hub.
Race teaches the use of a connector hub. See:
[0117] In an embodiment cable system 48 comprises a fiber optic-type cable, such as cable 252, a PRIZM Ultimate USB may be employed to transmit and receive data signals along a single fiber. The PRIZM Ultimate USB, which is available at www.moog.com, offers bi-directional fiber optic transmission of, for example, video and data signals, over a single fiber. The PRIZM Ultimate USB is designed for underwater applications, and includes a 4 port USB 1.1 hub. This device may require up to 7.5 watts of power to operate, which may or may not be significant depending on the power source availability in UUV 20 or in towed body 60 and the power transmission properties of the chosen cable system 40. Two boards may be needed for the system to be complete: one board for each end of cable system 48.
In other words, Race teaches that a USB hub may be used to interface with (e.g., transmit and receive data over) the optical fiber. As a result, it would have been obvious that the wireless communication module (and other electronics that send or receive data through the fiber) is electrically connected to the second fiber optic converter through the connector hub.
Regarding claim 3, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 2, further comprising a first enclosure, wherein the second fiber optic converter and the connector hub are each received within the first enclosure.
Race teaches an enclosure for the towed antenna. See, for example, FIGS. 1 and 4 which are discussed in claim 1. For example, FIG. 4 illustrates a housing for the towed antenna and associated components and the connection to the optical fiber/tether 48. FIG. 14 illustrates the towed antenna 60 in more detail.
See also:
[0075] Turning now to FIGS. 8-14, there is shown in detail an exemplary towed body 60. In FIG. 8 which shows a top perspective view of an exemplary towed body 60, for example, towed body 60 includes antenna housing 66, top section 64, bottom section 68, cavity 65, and access cap 84.
[0078] Antenna housing 66 may include one or more antennas, including GPS antenna 109 and satellite antenna 115, for example. Antenna housing 66 may also include an appropriate GPS receiver and/or an appropriate satellite receiver permanently potted within antenna housing 66. Antenna housing 66 may also include Wi-Fi antenna 127 and/or RF antenna 121. Antenna housing 66 may further include a Wi-Fi cable for connecting Wi-Fi antenna 127 to a Wi-Fi transceiver, which may be housed in electrical housing 62 secured in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60. Alternatively or additionally, antenna housing 66 may include a GPS/satellite cable connected to a GPS receiver and/or a satellite transceiver, both of which may be housed in electrical housing 62 in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60.
In particular, there is a large enclosure including at least an antenna housing 66 and an electronics housing 62.
Furthermore, Race teaches that the towed antenna is used in/under water, so that it would have been obvious that the various parts of the towed antenna are within one or more enclosures to protect them from the water.
Regarding claim 4, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 3, wherein the first enclosure is waterproof.
This would have been obvious. See the discussion of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 4, wherein the wireless communication module is located external to the first enclosure.
As discussed in claim 3, Race teaches an antenna housing 66 and a separate electronics housing 62. See also FIG. 14, reproduced with the discussion of claim 3. As a result, it would have been obvious that the wireless communication module is located external of the first enclosure (e.g., the electronics housing 62) containing the electronics (e.g., the second fiber optic converter and hub).
Regarding claim 6, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 5, further comprising a second enclosure, wherein the wireless communication module is received within the second enclosure.
As discussed above, Race teaches an antenna housing 66 and an electronics housing 62. In other words, the use of housings for components of the towed antenna was contemplated. Furthermore, it would have been obvious that different housings or enclosures can be used for different parts of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 6, wherein the second enclosure is waterproof.
This would have been obvious. See the discussion of claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 1, wherein the wireless communication module comprises:
a wireless transceiver; and
a wireless antenna in electrical communication with the wireless transceiver.
See:
[0078] Antenna housing 66 may include one or more antennas, including GPS antenna 109 and satellite antenna 115, for example. Antenna housing 66 may also include an appropriate GPS receiver and/or an appropriate satellite receiver permanently potted within antenna housing 66. Antenna housing 66 may also include Wi-Fi antenna 127 and/or RF antenna 121. Antenna housing 66 may further include a Wi-Fi cable for connecting Wi-Fi antenna 127 to a Wi-Fi transceiver, which may be housed in electrical housing 62 secured in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60. Alternatively or additionally, antenna housing 66 may include a GPS/satellite cable connected to a GPS receiver and/or a satellite transceiver, both of which may be housed in electrical housing 62 in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60.
In other words, Race teaches wireless transceivers used with wireless antennas. It also teaches that electronics associated with the antennas (e.g., receivers and transceivers) may be housed in the electrical housing 62 or in the antenna housing 66. From this it would have been obvious that the wireless transceiver and the wireless antenna could be housed together (e.g., in the same housing) or separately (e.g., in different housings).
Regarding claim 9, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 8, wherein the wireless communication module further comprises a radio frequency amplifier in electrical communication with the wireless transceiver and the wireless antenna.
As discussed above, Race teaches the use of RF communications/antennas (e.g., see the discussion of claim 8). Race also teaches the use of an RF amplifier. See:
[0146] In an embodiment in which cable system 48 comprises a fiber optic-type cable, the Wi-Fi transceiver includes a WL-USB-RSMAP, which is available at www.jefatech.com. This module includes an SMA antenna jack to permit its use with a Wi-Fi amplifier to increase range.
[0147] In another embodiment, a Wi-Fi amplifier is connected between the Wi-Fi transceiver and the Wi-Fi antenna to amplify data signals received by and transmitted out from the Wi-Fi antenna. In an embodiment, the Wi-Fi amplifier comprises an RF-Linx 2400 CAE-1W, which is available at www.rflinx.com. This amplifier is a 1-watt amplifier, which uses automatic gain control to only use power when it needs to send or receive data, thereby conserving energy. Simulation testing has revealed that a Wi-Fi communications connection using this amplifier may result in a range of up to 1 mile over open water.
In other words, it teaches the use of amplifiers, including RF amplifiers. It would have been obvious that the amplifier is in electrical communication with the wireless transceiver and the wireless antenna.
Regarding claim 10, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 2, further comprising at least one global navigation satellite system module in electrical communication with the connector hub.
Race teaches the use of GPS. See:
[0078] Antenna housing 66 may include one or more antennas, including GPS antenna 109 and satellite antenna 115, for example. Antenna housing 66 may also include an appropriate GPS receiver and/or an appropriate satellite receiver permanently potted within antenna housing 66. Antenna housing 66 may also include Wi-Fi antenna 127 and/or RF antenna 121. Antenna housing 66 may further include a Wi-Fi cable for connecting Wi-Fi antenna 127 to a Wi-Fi transceiver, which may be housed in electrical housing 62 secured in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60. Alternatively or additionally, antenna housing 66 may include a GPS/satellite cable connected to a GPS receiver and/or a satellite transceiver, both of which may be housed in electrical housing 62 in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60.
[0106] To receive GPS data signals, GPS communication system 107 of towed antenna system 40 may include a GPS antenna connected to a GPS receiver. GPS receiver of GPS communication system 107 may be connected to computer 105 using, for example, a USB, serial, or Ethernet cable. The GPS receiver may alternatively be integrated with or directly connected to computer 105.
GPS uses satellites, so that it is a global satellite system. This is also used to navigate (e.g., by knowing where you are, one can figure out in which direction they need to go in order to get to their destination. See also:
[0148] Turning to hardware options for GPS reception, in one embodiment, the GPS receiver of towed antenna system 40 includes one of the NovAtel OEMV 1/1G line of GPS receivers, which are available at www.novatel.com. The NovAtel OEMV 1/1G line offers centimeter-level positioning accuracy with RTK corrections and 2 meter or greater accuracy as well as high reliability using satellites in the GLONASS network. With 48+ satellites in the combined GPS-GLONASS networks, performance in high seas may be expected to be improved as more satellites are visible in the non-blocked portions of the sky. The OEMV-1 supports both RS232 and USB interfaces.
[0149] In one embodiment, the GPS antenna includes a PCtel WS3951-HR, which is available at www.canalgeomatics.com. This antenna provides high gain, low noise, low power and small size. It also has a high rejection, dual SAW filter, which is expected to decrease the risk of interference with any nearby Wi-Fi antenna.
[0150] In another embodiment, the GPS receiver includes a GlobalSat SiRF III transceiver module, which may track up to approximately 20 GPS satellites simultaneously. Data from this transceiver module is output in standard NMEA 0183 format over, for example, a USB interface.
[0151] When testing a simulated towed body 60 carrying this particular GPS transceiver module, the following results showed that the transceiver unit had a successful communications connection with one or more GPS satellites
:
In light of this, it would have been obvious that the towed antenna of Race can include at least one global navigation satellite system module. Furthermore, it would have been obvious that this is connected to the other electronic components so that the GPS signals can be transmitted and used where needed.
Regarding claim 11, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 2, further comprising at least one global positioning satellite module in electrical communication with the connector hub.
Race teaches the use of GPS. See:
[0078] Antenna housing 66 may include one or more antennas, including GPS antenna 109 and satellite antenna 115, for example. Antenna housing 66 may also include an appropriate GPS receiver and/or an appropriate satellite receiver permanently potted within antenna housing 66. Antenna housing 66 may also include Wi-Fi antenna 127 and/or RF antenna 121. Antenna housing 66 may further include a Wi-Fi cable for connecting Wi-Fi antenna 127 to a Wi-Fi transceiver, which may be housed in electrical housing 62 secured in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60. Alternatively or additionally, antenna housing 66 may include a GPS/satellite cable connected to a GPS receiver and/or a satellite transceiver, both of which may be housed in electrical housing 62 in cavity 65 of bottom section 68 of towed body 60.
[0106] To receive GPS data signals, GPS communication system 107 of towed antenna system 40 may include a GPS antenna connected to a GPS receiver. GPS receiver of GPS communication system 107 may be connected to computer 105 using, for example, a USB, serial, or Ethernet cable. The GPS receiver may alternatively be integrated with or directly connected to computer 105.
It would have been obvious that this is connected to the other electronic components so that the GPS signals can be transmitted and used where needed.
Regarding claim 12, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 6, further comprising a telescopic mast wherein the telescopic mast is configured to support the wireless antenna in a raised position.
See:
[0082] Antenna housing 66, as shown in FIG. 14, is shown as extended above the top surface of top section 64 to best position GPS antenna 109, satellite antenna 115, or Wi-Fi antenna 127 as high above the surface of the water as possible without being easily visually detected. Antenna housing 66 may be in a fixed position and in a fixed length, or it may be deployable and retractable, in, for example, a telescoping manner. One of ordinary skill would appreciate that antenna housing 66, and towed body 60, may be configured in any number of ways. In one embodiment, antenna housing 66 is configured in the shape of a relatively small blister. In another embodiment, antenna housing 66 is non-existent, where the RF, Wi-Fi, GPS, satellite and cellular antennas are housed inside tow body 60.
In other words, the antenna housing 66 supports the wireless antenna in a desired position (e.g., above the water) and can be telescopic.
Regarding claim 13, Race teaches the fiber optic communication system for vehicles as recited in claim 6, further comprising a telescopic mast wherein the telescopic mast is configured to support the wireless antenna in a desired orientation.
Race teaches that the antenna housing 66 supports the wireless antenna in a desired position (e.g., above the water) and can be telescopic, and that different configurations can be used.
[0082] Antenna housing 66, as shown in FIG. 14, is shown as extended above the top surface of top section 64 to best position GPS antenna 109, satellite antenna 115, or Wi-Fi antenna 127 as high above the surface of the water as possible without being easily visually detected. Antenna housing 66 may be in a fixed position and in a fixed length, or it may be deployable and retractable, in, for example, a telescoping manner. One of ordinary skill would appreciate that antenna housing 66, and towed body 60, may be configured in any number of ways. In one embodiment, antenna housing 66 is configured in the shape of a relatively small blister. In another embodiment, antenna housing 66 is non-existent, where the RF, Wi-Fi, GPS, satellite and cellular antennas are housed inside tow body 60.
It also teaches that the towed antenna can include directional control (e.g., powered control surfaces and rudders).
[0076] FIG. 9 shows a bottom perspective view of an exemplary towed body 60 shown in FIG. 8, and shows towed body 60 may additionally include keel 74, right and left pontoons 78, rudder 76, and cable system 48 positioned through an aperture formed in keel 74. In addition, at the entrance point of cable system 48 through the aperture in keel 74, there is shown seal 70, which is configured for ensuring that the cable-keel interface forms a water-tight seal. In one embodiment, seal 70 includes a flexible epoxy and a flexible polysulfide strain relief.
[0084] In one embodiment, towed body 60 is buoyant to cause towed body 60 to float to the surface of the water on deployment from UUV 20 and to operate at or on the surface of the water to communicate with the at least one remote communication system. Towed body 60 may additionally be configured with a lift-to-drag ratio of greater than approximately 1.0 to permit towed body 60 to hydrodynamically "fly" to the surface of the water on deployment from UUV 20. In one embodiment, towed body 60 is configured with powered control surfaces that are movable via one or more servo motors, for example, to control towed body 60 while deployed under water and at or on the surface of the water. In another embodiment, towed body 60 is configured with powered control systems to propel and control towed body 60 while deployed under water and at or on the surface of the water. Towed body 60 may be made from any material that is lightweight, durable, and suitable for underwater use including salt water environments. In one embodiment, towed body 60 is made from a plastic. In another embodiment, towed body is made from a composite material. Rudder 76 of towed body 60 may be fixed or it may be moveable, for example, using one or more servo motors to permit additional directional control of towed body 60 during deployment under water and at or on the surface of the water. Access cap 84 may be removed from top section 64 to gain access to, for example, the electronics housed in cavity 65 of towed body 60. In this way, quick access to such contents may be obtained without having to disturb the water-tight seal between top section 64 and bottom section 68.
From this, the wireless module can be can be telescopic and configured to support the wireless antenna in a desired orientation.
Regarding claim 14, Race teaches a fiber optic communication system for vehicles, comprising:
a first fiber optic converter carried by a vehicle and integrated into a base station on the vehicle, the first fiber optic converter electrically connected to a user device (FIG. 1: optical fiber 48 interface in submarine 20);
a second fiber optic converter positioned remotely from the vehicle and the first fiber optic converter (FIG. 1: optical fiber 48 interface in towed antenna 40/60);
a fiber optic cable optically coupling the first fiber optic converter and the second fiber optic converter (FIG. 4: optical fiber cable 48 between the submarine 20 and the towed antenna 40/60); and
a wireless communication module in electrical communication with the second fiber optic converter (FIG. 1: wireless antenna and associated equipment in towed antenna 40/60),
wherein the first fiber optic converter is configured to convert first electrical signals received from the at least one user device into first optical signals, and is further configured to convert second optical signals into second electrical signals received by the at least one user device, and
the second fiber optic converter is configured to convert the first optical signals from the first fiber optic converter into third electrical signals received by the wireless communication module, and is further configured to convert fourth electrical signals received from the wireless communication module into the second optical signals received by the first fiber optic converter
wherein the first fiber optic converter enables the user device to communicate through the vehicle's fiber optic system to the wireless communication module; and
wherein the system is adapted to extend a communication capabilities of the user device on the vehicle to a location from the vehicle.
See the rejection of claim 1 for a more detailed discussion of the art, particularly the first and second fiber optic converters.
Regarding the second to last paragraph, Race teaches that there is bi-directional communication between the submarine 20 and the remote devices (i.e., aircraft, watercraft, satellites, and terrestrial communication systems) via the antenna system 40. As seen in FIGS. 1 and 4, the submarine 20 and antenna 40 are connected via the fiber and the fiber optic converters. In particular, Race at [0118] teaches the use of bi-directional devices with the fiber 48. In other words, this expressly discusses bi-directional communication with the fiber 48 using devices that both transmit and receive data. It would have been obvious that the user devices can perform the stated operations for the apparatus, such as bi-directional communication through the fiber optic system.
15. The fiber optic communication system of claim 14 including a connector hub, wherein the wireless communication module is electrically connected to the second fiber optic converter through the connector hub.
Claim 15 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 2.
16. The fiber optic communication system of claim 15 including a first waterproof enclosure, wherein the second fiber optic converter and the connector hub are each received within the first waterproof enclosure.
Claim 16 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claims 3 and 4.
17. The fiber optic communication system of claim 16 including a second waterproof enclosure external to the first waterproof enclosure, wherein the wireless communication module is received within the second waterproof enclosure.
Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claims 6 and 7.
18. The fiber optic communication system of claims claim 14 wherein the wireless communication module comprises a wireless transceiver, a wireless antenna in electrical communication with the wireless transceiver, and a radio frequency amplifier in electrical communication with the wireless transceiver and the wireless antenna.
Claim 18 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claims 8 and 9.
19. The fiber optic communication system of claim 15 including a global navigation satellite system module and a global positioning satellite module in electrical communication with the connector hub.
Claim 19 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claims 10 and 11.
20. The fiber optic communication system of claim 17 including a telescopic mast configured to support the wireless antenna in at least one of a raised position and a desired orientation.
Claim 20 is rejected for the reasons discussed in claims 12 and 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0003587 (Bouffaron) at FIG. 1 illustrates a wireless sensor antenna 2 (e.g., sonar) towed by a ship 80 and connected with optical fiber 14.
See:
[0039] As represented schematically in FIG. 1, the invention pertains to a sonar. The sonar typically comprises a measurement device comprising a linear antenna 2, termed acoustic antenna hereinafter in the text, an optical source and a reader/receiver. This antenna 2 is towed by a marine vessel 80 such as a ship, by means of a pulling cable 81. This antenna 2 comprises at least one hydrophone and at least one non-acoustic measurement unit. The hydrophones and the non-acoustic measurement unit 5 make it possible to deliver acoustic measurements and respectively non-acoustic measurements in the form of optical signals conveyed by means of a main optical fiber 14 from the antenna 2 to a reader/receiver 7. The main optical fiber 14 comprises a first end linked to the acoustic reception antenna and a second end linked to at least one optical source S and to a reader/receiver 7. The reader/receiver 7 makes it possible to discriminate the acoustic and non-acoustic measurements on the basis of the signals conveyed by the main optical fiber 14. The optical source S makes it possible to generate an optical signal termed an excitation optical signal which may be a pump energy. The optical source S is coupled to the main optical fiber 14 intended to convey said excitation optical signal to the antenna 2. The sonar also comprises a processing unit 8 comprising at least one computer configured to detect and, preferably, to identify and locate objects on the basis of acoustic and non-acoustic measurements arising from the acoustic antenna 2 and identified by the reader/receiver 7.
US 2006/0280034 (Howard) at FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate a remote submersible vehicle 110 using a cable 170 for connection with a submarine.
The cable 170 can be optical fiber and can be used as a data link. See:
[0015] In an embodiment, the platform 100 is powered by an on board battery within the platform, and/or power from the underwater vehicle through a power line in the cable 170. The cable 170 further has communication cables connecting the submarine with the platform. The communication cables could be either fiber optic and/or an electrical coax data link. However, it is preferred to used a fiber optic link because it is higher bandwidth and commensurately smaller in diameter.
FIG. 5 illustrates another embodiments with an electronics package 503.
This illustrates an electronics package 503. See:
[0028] FIG. 5 illustrates an alternate embodiment of a remote surface platform that may be used in connection with a submarine. Referring to FIG. 5, a buoy-like platform 500 has attached thereto a mast 510 and a camera or other sensing device 520. The platform 500 has a floatation and electronics package in section 505, and a battery and/or other weight providing component in section 507. The weighted section 507 helps provide stabilization to the platform. The platform 500 is connected to the submarine via a fiber optic link 530. This embodiment is particularly suited to combination with recently developed 360 degree video cameras.
It also teaches the use of RF sensing, which is within the broad scope of communication. See:
[0004] In an embodiment, a remote platform that is tethered to a submarine or other underwater vehicle is released from the submarine and floats or actively rises up to the surface of the sea. The platform has a body, control surfaces, a ballast within the body, a sensor mast, and a sensor platform. A visual, UV, IR and/or RF sensing device is attached to the sensor platform, and captures and transmits image data to the submarine. The image is then displayed on a medium in the submarine. As a result, the submarine and its crew acquires information about the seascape before rising to periscope depth. Other platform embodiments and features are disclosed in the detailed description.
US 2010/0198547 (Mulligan) at FIG. 1 illustrates an optical communication system including a buoy 114 and a submerged device106 connected via an optical fiber 112.
See:
[0035] FIG. 1 depicts a system 100 for measuring hydraulic parameters, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. A submersible system 106 is disposed near the interface between a surface water body 102 and an aquifer 104. A piezometer 108 coupled to the submersible system 106 is disposed within the aquifer 104, which may collect groundwater from the aquifer 104 for the submersible system 106 to measure. In some embodiments, the piezometer 108 may collect groundwater via inlets or ports on the piezometer that allow groundwater to pass into the interior of the piezometer 108. A surface fluid port 110, also coupled to the submersible system 106, is exposed to the surface water in the surface water body 102, and allows the submersible system 106 to access and measure the surface water. A communications link 112 may link the submersible system 106 to a buoy 114, and may allow the submersible system 106 to transmit and/or receive data and/or instructions to and from the buoy 114. Communications link 112 may be a wired link, such as an electrical link or an optical fiber link In some embodiments, communications link 112 may be or also include a wireless link, such as an acoustic or optical link. Buoy 114 may include a second communications link (not shown), which may include a wired link and/or a wireless link, for transmitting and/or receiving data and/or instructions to and from an external source. In some embodiments, buoy 114 may be anchored by anchor 116.
FIGS. 2 and 4A-D illustrate details of embodiments of the submerged device 106. Mulligan also teaches using watertight housings.
US 2018/0191439 (Morser) at FIG. 1 illustrates a drone 12 connected to a base station 14 via an optical fiber 18.
FIG. 2 illustrates details of the drone 12 and base station 14, connected by the optical fiber 18.
The base station includes optical transceivers including optical modulators/demodulators 24A, 24B.
US 2013/0337750 (Ko) teaches an optical communication system including optical fiber 122 connecting remote units 102 to a head end 101. The remote unit includes a wireless communication module and both the head end 101 and the radio units 102 include fiber optic converters to convert between the optical signals on optical fiber 122 and electrical signals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634