Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/337,638, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application 63/337,638 provides no mention in the originally filed drawings or specification of a centrifugal clutch with lobes or its connection to a sprocket. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5,6, 11-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Densow (U.S. Patent 3,970,178) in view of in view of Fisher U.S. Patent (7,743,513) and in further view of Baker et al. (U.S. Patent 12,253,125), herein referred to as Baker. In regards to claim 1, Densow discloses a chainsaw comprising: a guide bar (21) supporting a chain (23); a motor (11) configured to drive the chain (23), the motor (11) receiving power from an electrical energy source of the chainsaw; a sprocket (27) operably coupled between the motor (11) and the chain (23) to impart driving force from the motor to the chain, wherein the sprocket defines a lob extending radially inward;
and an operating device (clutch shoes and drum 43-45 / 47) operably coupled between the motor (11) and the sprocket (27) and moveable between a driving state (fig. 3) and a neutral state (fig. 4),
wherein the operating device is configured to engage the lobe when the operating device is in the driving state, and wherein the operating device is configured to be spaced apart from the lobe in the neutral state.
wherein the chain is freely moveable in at least one direction relative to the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state (When the operating device is in the neutral state, the clutch shoes do not engage the drum below the predetermined engagement speed. Accordingly, torque is not transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket and the chain carried by the sprocket are capable of movement relative to the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state). (Additionally, the clutch of Densow automatically engages when the engine operates above a predetermined engagement speed and disengages when the engine speed decreases below that speed. When the engine rotates at a higher speed, centrifugal force causes the clutch shoes to move radially outward against the bias of the springs and engage the clutch drum, thereby transmitting torque from the drive shaft to the drum and the chain sprocket. When the engine speed decreases the springs pull the clutch shoes radially inward and away from the drum, thereby disengaging the clutch. When the clutch shoes disengage from the drum, torque is no longer transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket is uncoupled from the motor output shaft and begins to slow due to inertia. During this transition, the chain and sprocket continue rotating while the operating device is in the disengaged or neutral state. Accordingly, the chain is freely moving relative to the guide bar and relative to the motor output shaft when the operating device is in the neutral state during the deceleration of the sprocket and chain.
Densow discloses a chain saw powered by a combustion engine and therefore does not disclose the limitations that the chainsaw received power from an electric energy source. Attention is further directed to the Fisher, which discloses that is it well known for chainsaws to be powered by a gasoline engine or alternatively by an electrical energy source such as a cord connected to an electrical outlet or a battery (col. 2, lines 45-50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combustion engine of Densow to instead utilize an electric motor powered by an electrical energy source as taught by Fisher, as Fisher expressly teaches such electrical power source are known alternatives for providing power to chainsaws.
Densow also does not disclose that the operating device comprises a lobe and therefore is silent as to the operating device being configured to engage the lobe when the operating device is in the driving state, and wherein the operating device is configured to be spaced apart from the lobe in the neutral state. Baker discloses a battery powered lawn motor having a centrifugal clutch. As Baker and Densow are considered analogous art because both are concerned with the same problem of utilizing centrifugal clutches to transfer power from a rotating power source to a driven cutting implement.
Baker teaches that the clutch bell includes drive surfaces (lobes) that engage centrifugal weights to selectively transmit torque when the rotational speed exceeds a predetermined threshold and disengage when the rotational speed falls below the threshold (col, 10, lines 12-42). The drive surfaces provide increased functional engagement with the centrifugal weights, resulting in more positive drive engagement while still permitting temporary slippage during clutch engagement. It would have been obvious to substitute the centrifugal clutch of Densow with the centrifugal clutch of Baker as Baker teaches that such an arrangement automatically engages and disengages torque transmission based on rotational speed while providing more positive engagement and controlled slippage during engagement, thereby improving drive performance. The substitution merely employs one known centrifugal clutch configuration for another to perform the same function with the predictable benefit of improved torque transmission.
In regards to claim 2, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the operating device comprises a centrifugal clutch (200 Baker) including one or more weighted elements (230/232 Baker) moveable between a first position in the driving state and a second position in the neutral state (via garter spring; col. 9, lines 5-10), wherein the chain (23) is free to move in the at least one direction when the one or more weighted elements are in the first position (e.g. Baker Fig. 5), and wherein the one or more weighted elements (230/232 Baker) transmit power from the motor to the sprocket in the second position (Baker Fig. 6).
In regards to claim 3, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the one or more weighted (230/232 Baker) elements are each configured to move in a linear direction of translation (see Baker Figs. 5-6) when the operating device moves between the driving state and the neutral state.
In regards to claim 5, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the one or more weighted elements (230/232 Baker) are spring-biased (via garter spring; col. 9, lines 5-10) to the second position (fig. 6 Baker).
In regards to claim 6, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the chain (23) is freely moveable in both a forward direction and a rearward direction relative to the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state. (When the operating device is in the neutral state, the clutch shoes/weights do not engage the drum below the predetermined engagement speed. Accordingly, torque is not transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket and the chain carried by the sprocket are capable of movement relative to the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state).
In regards to claim 11, the modified device of Densow discloses a method of operating a chainsaw comprising: providing a chainsaw comprising a guide bar (21) supporting a chain (23), motor (11 / electric motor; col. 2, lines 45-50 Fisher) having an output shaft (35) to drive the chain, the motor being configured to receive power from an electrical energy source of the chainsaw (e.g. battery as modified by Fisher); a sprocket (27) operably coupled between the motor and the chain (23) to transmit driving force from the motor to the chain, wherein the sprocket defines a lobe (220 Baker as modified) extending radially inward (radially inward from the circular ring 214 corresponding to Densow’s clutch drum 47)
and an operating device (clutch 200/232/234 Baker) operably coupled between the motor and the sprocket; and movable between a driving state (e.g. Baker Figure 6) and a neutral state (e.g. Baker Fig. 5), wherein the operating device (clutch 200/232/234 Baker) engages the lobe (220) when the operating device is in the dirivng state (Baker Fig. 6) and wherein the operating device is spaced apart from the lobe in the neutral state (Baker Fig. 5);
moving the operating device from the driving state (e.g. Baker Figure 6) to the neutral state (Baker Fig. 5); and freely moving the chain (23) relative to the guide bar (21) in at least one direction relative to the output shaft of the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state.
The clutches of Baker and Densow automatically engages when the engine operates above a predetermined engagement speed and disengages when the engine speed decreases below that speed. When the engine rotates at a higher speed, centrifugal force causes the clutch shoes to move radially outward against the bias of the springs and engage the clutch drum, thereby transmitting torque from the drive shaft to the drum and the chain sprocket. When the engine speed decreases the springs pull the clutch shoes radially inward and away from the drum, thereby disengaging the clutch. When the clutch shoes disengage from the drum, torque is no longer transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket is uncoupled from the motor output shaft and begins to slow due to inertia. During this transition, the chain and sprocket continue rotating while the operating device is in the disengaged or neutral state. Accordingly, the chain is at least freely moving relative to the guide bar and relative to the motor output shaft when the operating device is in the neutral state during the deceleration of the sprocket and chain.
In regards to claim 12, the modified device of Densow discloses interrupting power to the motor from an electrical energy source of the chainsaw to stop driving the chain, wherein interrupting power automatically causes the operating device to move from the driving state to the neutral state (As taught by Baker and Densow the centrifugal clutch engages when the motor operates above a predetermined engagement speed and disengages when the motor drops below that speed. Accordingly interrupting power automatically reduces the motor speed, causing the clutch shoes to retract from the clutch drum and move the operating device from the driving to the neutral state).
In regards to claim 13, the modified device of Densow discloses further comprising automatically returning the operating device (clutch 200/232/234 Baker) to the driving state (fig. 6) upon providing power to the motor (the centrifugal clutch engages when the motor operates above a predetermined engagement speed).
In regards to claim 14, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein moving the operating device (clutch 200/232/234 Baker )comprises moving one or more weighted elements (counterweights 234 Baker) from a first position (Baker Fig. 6) to a second position (Baker Fig. 5), wherein the one or more weighted elements transmit power from the motor to the sprocket (27) in the first position (via the drum 47), and wherein the sprocket chain is free to move in the at least one direction when the one or more weighted elements are in the second position (as set forth above).
In regards to claim 15, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the chain (21) is freely moveable in both a forward direction and a rearward direction relative to the output shaft of the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state (when the clutch disengages, the chain is no longer driven and is not directionally constrained by the motor ).
In regards to claim 19, the modified device of Densow discloses chainsaw comprising a motor (19/ engine as modified by Fisher) configured to receive power from an electrical energy source (battery as modified by Fisher) of the chainsaw, wherein the motor is configured to drive a sprocket (27 / 226 Baker) to move a chain (23) about a guide bar (21), wherein the chain (23) is operably fixed to an output shaft (35) of the motor (19/ engine as modified by Fisher) when an operating device (clutch Baker 200 as modified) operably coupled between the motor (19/ engine as modified by Fisher) and the chain (23) is in a driving state (fig. 3), wherein the chain (23) is freely moveable in at least one direction relative to the output shaft of the motor when the operating device is in a neutral state (Fig. 5 Baker) , and wherein the operating device is movable from the driving state (Fig. 6 Baker) and the neutral state (decoupled state; Fig. 5 Baker) by disengaging the operating device (clutch 200/232/234 Baker) from a lobe (220 Baker) extending radially from an inner sidewall of the sprocket.
(“At low operational speeds, e.g., below a low-speed threshold, the centrifugal weights 230 of the centrifugal clutch mechanism 200 remain in the disengaged position (inwardly retracted towards the center), such as a result of the biasing force from the inward biasing element 240.” Baker col. 4, lines 42-46);
(When the operating device is in the neutral state, the clutch shoes/weights do not engage the drum/bell below the predetermined engagement speed. Accordingly, torque is not transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket and the chain carried by the sprocket are capable of movement relative to the motor when the operating device is in the neutral state).
(Additionally, the clutch of Densow automatically engages when the engine operates above a predetermined engagement speed and disengages when the engine speed decreases below that speed. When the engine rotates at a higher speed, centrifugal force causes the clutch shoes to move radially outward against the bias of the springs and engage the clutch drum, thereby transmitting torque from the drive shaft to the drum and the chain sprocket. When the engine speed decreases the springs pull the clutch shoes radially inward and away from the drum, thereby disengaging the clutch. When the clutch shoes disengage from the drum, torque is no longer transmitted from the drive shaft to the sprocket. As a result, the sprocket is uncoupled from the motor output shaft and begins to slow due to inertia. During this transition, the chain and sprocket continue rotating while the operating device is in the disengaged or neutral state. Accordingly, the chain is freely moving relative to the guide bar and relative to the motor output shaft when the operating device is in the neutral state during the deceleration of the sprocket and chain.
In regards to claim 20, the modified device of Densow discloses wherein the operating device automatically moves from the driving state to the neutral state when the output shaft rotates below a threshold speed.
(“At low operational speeds, e.g., below a low-speed threshold, the centrifugal weights 230 of the centrifugal clutch mechanism 200 remain in the disengaged position (inwardly retracted towards the center), such as a result of the biasing force from the inward biasing element 240.” Baker col. 4, lines 42-46);
(“However, if the engine speed falls below the predetermined low speed or if the engine speed is thereafter reduced to below the predetermined low speed, the counterweights 53 and 55 will be drawn inwardly by the springs 75 and the fingers 81 and 83 will be moved by the spring 123 to the latched position shown in FIG. 3. Thereafter, with the actuating member in the spaced position, advancement of the engine speed above the predetermined high speed will permit outward movement of the clutch shoes 43 and 45 into driving engagement with the clutch drum 47.” Densow Col. 8, lines 25-45)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724