Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 17-26 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-26 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant discloses a non-component receiving area within a build area of a build material layer to form a portion of the 3D build object in the non-component receiving area. It is unclear what applicant is referring to when discloses “non-component.” The specification also has no degree to ascertain what it means. Is non-component referring to the work piece?
Claim 1 also discloses the non-component receiving area to fuse together to form the portion of the 3d build object, it is unclear how the non-component area are fusing together since it is unclear what non-component area is referring to. Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1 and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka (US 2017/0274593 A1) and Zhao (US2019/0134898 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nauka discloses an additive manufacturing system [0001] comprising: a processor [0028];
and a memory storing instructions that when executed by processor cause the processor to [0028]:
generate print data from received data related to a three- dimensional (3D) build object [0029], the generated print data comprising:
defined print data to dispense a first fusing agent at non-component receiving area within a build area of a build material layer to form a portion of the 3D build object in the non-component receiving area, wherein [0015],
the first fusing agent is to raise a temperature of the build material in the non-component receiving area, by absorbing fusing energy, sufficient to cause build material in the non-component receiving area to fuse together to form the portion of the 3d build object [0019],
defined print data to dispense a second fusing agent (coalescing agent 16), different than the first fusing agent, at a component receiving area within the build area of the build material layer at which component is to be placed within the 3d build object [0018, 0029],
to position a component within the component receiving area at a time of the component receiving area being in a viscous state (“The build material may also include a charging agent to suppress tribo-charging and/or a flow aid to improve flowability” [0036]).
Nauka does not explicitly disclose the second fusing agent is to raise the temperature of the build material in the component receiving area higher than the temperature in non-component receiving area, by absorbing more fusing energy than the first fusing agent sufficient to locally reduce a viscosity of the build material at the component receiving area to a viscous moltens state,. However, Nauka discloses the modifier agent having a relatively high heat capacity but a low heat emissivity [0041]. Further, Nauka discloses the modifying agent can have a lower thermal conductivity and/ or higher melting point. Therefore there are two options for the agents. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated to locally reduce the viscosity of the build material includes to raise a temperature of the build material to a viscous, or molten, state, wherein the second agent has a higher heating efficiency than the first agent in order to retain a bulk of thermal energy [0041].
Further, if applicant does not agree with the interpretation of Nauka does not have a second fusing agent, analogous 3d art, Zhao, discloses using fusing agents for fusing regions of layer [abstract]. Zhao further discloses using fusing agents dispensed all over various portions [0100] and adding electronic agent (30’) which includes a radiation absorber [0025]. [0028] discloses using/ matching fusing agents to match the radiation source in order to optimize the fusion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a second fusing agent depending on the materials being fused in the 3d printer.
Regarding claim 2, Nauka discloses a printhead [0024, 0031] to dispense the first agent onto the build material at the build area and to selectively dispense the second agent at the component receiving area within the build area based on the generated print data;
An energy source (26) to apply fusing energy to fuse a portion of the build object at the build area and to bring to a viscous state and fuse a portion of the build object at the component receiving area [0031];
and a component placement apparatus (robotic device) to selectively engage, position, and release the component at the component receiving area [0031].
Nauka does not explicitly disclose wherein to locally reduce the viscosity of the build material includes to raise a temperature of the build material to a viscous, or molten, state, wherein the second agent has a higher heating efficiency than the first agent, Nauka discloses the modifier agent having a relatively high heat capacity but a low heat emissivity [0041]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated to locally reduce the viscosity of the build material includes to raise a temperature of the build material to a viscous, or molten, state, wherein the second agent has a higher heating efficiency than the first agent in order to retain a bulk of thermal energy [0041].
As for the non-component receiving area, it is unclear what non-component receiving area is referring to. However according to Zhao the fusing agent and absorber can be placed anywhere in the workpiece [0028-0029].
Regarding claim 3, as for the claim limitation wherein the component placement apparatus is to exert a force onto the component to embed the component a pre-determined distance within a thickness of the build material layer at the component receiving area, , the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 4, as for the claim limitation, wherein the component has a thickness greater than a thickness of the build material layer, applicant’s claims are directed to the final product and not the apparatus. The prior art structure is considered capable of producing the thickness. There appears to be no structural difference resulting from the claimed thickness.
Regarding claims 5-6, as for the claim limitations, wherein the second agent has a higher heating or physiochemical efficiency than the first agent; and wherein the second agent to thermally activate with the build material, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon (e.g., second agent), as per MPEP §2115).
Regarding claim 7, Nakua discloses wherein the generated print data further comprises: defined print data to apply a fusing energy (light 26) of the build material layer; wherein the fusing energy absorbed by the second fusing agent causes the build material in the component receiving area to enter viscous molten state [0031]. Further, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 8, as for the claim limitation wherein the build material in the component receiving area in the viscous molten state and the second agent area bond the component within the component receiving area, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon (e.g., viscous build material and second agent), as per MPEP §2115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the different fusing agents. However, as written the claims use the claim language “processor to”, which renders the claim broad and allows the claims to be capable of compared to the “configured to” language. Regardless, the combination of Nauka and Zhao teach this limitation.
Zhao, discloses using fusing agents for fusing regions of layer [abstract]. Zhao further discloses using fusing agents dispensed all over various portions [0100] and adding electronic agent (30’) which includes a radiation absorber [0025]. [0028] discloses using/ matching fusing agents to match the radiation source in order to optimize the fusion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a second fusing agent depending on the materials being fused in the 3d printer.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754