Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: term “the plurality of feed exit passages” is believed to be in error for - - the plurality of - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 22-25, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, recitation “wherein a first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extends along a centerline that is non-parallel with the axis” is unclear whether i) each exit passage of the first set of exit passages extends along a respective centerline that is non-parallel with the axis (plural); or ii) one exit passage of the first set of exit passage extends along a centerline that is non-parallel with the axis (singular).
Regarding claim 22 and its dependents,
I. recitation “the first set of exit passages … is circumferentially spaced from the first end of the gallery by a first circumferential distance” is unclear whether i) each exit passage of the first set of exit passage is circumferentially spaced from the first end of the gallery by a respective first circumferential distance (plural); or ii) one exit passage of the first set of exit passage is circumferentially spaced from the first end of the gallery by a first circumferential distance (singular);
II. recitation “the second set of exit passages … is circumferentially spaced from the second end of the gallery by a second circumferential distance” is unclear whether i) each exit passage of the second set of exit passage is circumferentially spaced from the second end of the gallery by a respective second circumferential distance (plural); or ii) one exit passage of the second set of exit passage is circumferentially spaced from the second end of the gallery by a second circumferential distance (singular).
Regarding claims 23-24, due to the ambiguity of claim 22, it is unclear term “the first circumferential distance” refers to which first circumferential distance and term “the second circumferential distance” refers to which second circumferential distance; and it is further unclear whether i) claim 23 and claim 24 are claiming two different embodiments (if the two claimed first circumferential distances in claims 23-24 refer to the same first circumferential distance and the two claimed second circumferential distances in claims 23-24 refer to the same second circumferential distance); or ii) claim 23 and claim 24 are claiming the same embodiment (if the two claimed first circumferential distances in claims 23-24 refer to two different first circumferential distances and the two claimed second circumferential distances in claims 23-24 refer to two different second circumferential distances).
Regarding claims 25 and 27, recitation “wherein the first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extends along a centerline that is parallel with the axis” is unclear whether i) each exit passage of the first set of exit passages extends along a respective centerline that is parallel with the axis (plural); or ii) one exit passage of the first set of exit passage extends along a centerline that is parallel with the axis (singular).
Regarding claim 29, recitation “the first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extending axially along a centerline” is unclear whether i) each exit passage of the first set of exit passages extending axially along a respective centerline (plural); or ii) one exit passage of the first set of exit passage extends along a centerline (singular).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 16, and 18-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cramb 9366190 in view of MCMASTERS 20090255256 and Overman 20120234944.
Regarding claim 1, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending continuously within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), wherein the gallery (343) extends more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15) circumferentially around the axis (309), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10); and
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6),
wherein the feed passage (354) extend to and is fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) at the first end (345; Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll 5-10);
wherein an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is about circumferentially midway between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343), an axial height of the gallery (the axial height of 343) and a radial width of the gallery (the radial width of 343) are both decrease as the gallery (343) extend circumferentially about the axis between the first end (345) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) to maintain velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery;
wherein said feed passage extend to and is fluidly coupled with said gallery at said intermediate location;
wherein a first set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages extend from and are fluidly coupled with said gallery circumferentially between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the first set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages are circumferentially spaced from said first end of said gallery; and
wherein a second set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages extend from and are fluidly coupled with said gallery circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of said gallery, and the second set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages are circumferentially spaced from said second end of said gallery; and
wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of the gallery.
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]) and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]);
wherein the feed passage (14) extend to and is fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) at the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4);
wherein a first set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of exit passages (68s) extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64), and the first set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of exit passages (68s) are circumferentially spaced from the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64, see annotated Fig. 4);
wherein a second set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of exit passages (68s) extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64), and the second set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of exit passages (68s) are circumferentially spaced from the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64, see annotated Fig. 4); and
wherein the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) is about circumferentially midway (annotated Fig. 4) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64), a radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extend circumferentially about the axis (11) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]) to maintain a velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery ([0025], it is noted that pressure loss of the fuel caused by flowing through the gallery effects the fuel velocity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the intermediate location and forming the gallery having the axial height and radial width that are both decrease (as taught by Cramb) as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery, such that
wherein a first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery circumferentially between the intermediate location and the first end of the gallery, and the first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages are circumferentially spaced from the first end of the gallery; and
wherein a second set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery circumferentially between the intermediate location and the second end of the gallery, and the second set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages are circumferentially spaced from the second end of the gallery (the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS read on the claim limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III B.
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (108s) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120) at an intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3b and [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery.
Regarding claim 20, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages at Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a first exit passage (a first Cramb’s 347 exit passages in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to a first exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) at a first exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the first exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between a first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passaged in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages 108s coupled at Cramb’s intermediate location, see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
Regarding claim 21, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the second set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages at Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the second set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a second exit passage (a second Cramb’s 347 exit passages in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to a second exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) at a second exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the second exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between a second feed passage (Overman’s second feed passaged in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages 108s coupled at Cramb’s intermediate location, see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
Regarding claim 22, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages at Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is circumferentially spaced from the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343) by a first circumferential distance (a respective first distance marked as a1 and a2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5); and the second set of exit passages (the second set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages is circumferentially spaced from the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343) by a second circumferential distance (a respective second distance marked as b1 and b2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first circumferential distance (the respective first distance marked as a1 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22) is less than the second circumferential distance (the respective second distance marked as b2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22).
Regarding claim 24, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first circumferential distance (the respective first distance marked as a2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22) is great than the second circumferential distance (the respective second distance marked as b1 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22).
Regarding claim 25, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (interpreted as a first exit passage of the first set of exit passage; the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages at Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, a first Cramb’s 347 exit passages in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to a first exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) extends along a centerline (an axial of Cramb’s 347, see exampled in annotated Cramb’s Fig. 6) that is parallel with the axis (Cramb’s 309; see Cramb’s Figs. 3-4 and 6).
Regarding claim 26, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman as discussed so far does not teach wherein a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular.
However, Overman further teaches a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular (the cross-sectional geometry of 120 as shown in Fig. 5a is rectangular).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman with Overman’s teaching of forming the gallery having a rectangular cross-sectional geometry because it is noted that merely changing shapes, in this case, changing to rectangular as taught by Overman, of an invention, in this case, the gallery, involves only routine skill in the art when absent persuasive evidence, in this case, Applicant does not disclose using a rectangular gallery results in an unpredicted result, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10); and
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6),
wherein the feed passage (354) are positioned at the first end (345) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 5 and col. 9, ll. 5-10);
wherein the gallery (343) extends, more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15), circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) of the gallery (343) to the second end (346) of the gallery (343); and
wherein an axial height of the gallery (the axial height of 343) and a radial width of the gallery (the radial width of 343) are both decrease as the gallery (343) extend circumferentially about the axis between the first end (345) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) to maintain velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15);
wherein an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is circumferentially surounding midway between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends in a first direction circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends in a second direction circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery;
wherein said feed passage is position circumferentially at said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of the gallery;
wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of the gallery.
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 4) circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends in a second direction (annotated Fig. 4) circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]);
wherein the feed passage (14) is positioned circumferentially at midway (annotated Fig. 4) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64),
wherein a radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extend circumferentially about the axis (11) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]) to maintain a velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery ([0025], it is noted that pressure loss of the fuel caused by flowing through the gallery effects the fuel velocity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the midway and forming the gallery having the axial height and radial width that are both decrease as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis (as taught by Cramb) from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III B.
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, wherein the plurality of feed passages are positioned circumferentially about said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of said gallery, in proximity to said intermediate location; wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of said intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of said intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (108s) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120), and the plurality of feed passages (108s) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (120; [0045]); and
wherein the plurality of feed passages (108s) are positioned circumferentially about midway (see annotated Fig. 3a) of the gallery (120), in proximity to the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a);
wherein a first feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a first circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a), and a second feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a second circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side (see annotated Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, and positioned the plurality of feed passages circumferentially about midway between the first end of the gallery and the second end of the gallery, in proximity to the intermediate location, such that
wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of the intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side
because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery as while as maintaining even fuel distribution to all of the plurality of exit passages (Overman, [0045]) as taught by Cramb (col. 2, ll. 10-15) and MCMASTERS ([0025]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Cramb further teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the gallery, i.e., both of the axial height and a radial width of the gallery (see col. 5, ll. 25-38), change as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309, Fig. 3) between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343).
Regarding claim 16, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages about Cramb’s midway in proximate of Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the intermediate location (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343), and a second set of exit passages (the second set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the intermediate location (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
Regarding claim 18, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages about Cramb’s midway in proximate of Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343), and a second set of exit passages (the second set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the second feed passage (Overman’s second feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
Regarding claim 19, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a first exit passage (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages about Cramb’s midway in proximate of Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343) at a first exit passage orifice (see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the first exit passage orifice (see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between the first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
Regarding claim 27, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages about Cramb’s midway in proximate of Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, the first set of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4-6) extends along a centerline (interpreted as a respective centerline; only one is marked in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 6 for clarification) that is parallel with the axis (Cramb’s 309; see Cramb’s Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 28, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman as discussed so far does not teach wherein a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular.
However, Overman further teaches a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular (the cross-sectional geometry of 120 as shown in Fig. 5a is rectangular).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman with Overman’s teaching of forming the gallery having a rectangular cross-sectional geometry because it is noted that merely changing shapes, in this case, changing to rectangular as taught by Overman, of an invention, in this case, the gallery, involves only routine skill in the art when absent persuasive evidence, in this case, Applicant does not disclose using a rectangular gallery results in an unpredicted result, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 29, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending continuously within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), wherein the gallery (343) extends more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15) circumferentially around the axis (309), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10), and the feed passage (354) extending to and fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) at the first end (345; Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll 5-10);
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6),
an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is about circumferentially midway between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343), and each of the plurality of exit passages (each 347) extending axially along (relative to axis 309 in Fig. 3) a respective centerline (only one is marked in Fig. 6 for clarification).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery;
said feed passage extending to and fluidly coupled with said gallery at said intermediate location; and
a first set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages extending from and fluidly coupled with said gallery circumferentially between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the first
set of exit passages of said plurality of exit passages extending axially along said respective centerline.
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]) and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]);
the feed passage (14) extending to and fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) at the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4); and
a first set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of exit passages (68s) extending from and fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64),
wherein the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) is about circumferentially midway (annotated Fig. 4) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the intermediate location and forming the gallery having a size (the axial height and radial width as taught by Cramb) that decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery, such that
a first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extending from and fluidly coupled with the gallery circumferentially between the intermediate location and the first end of the gallery, and the first set of exit passages of the plurality of exit passages extending axially along a centerline (the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS read on the claim limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III(B).
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (108s) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120) at an intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3b and [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twardochleb 20130283809 in view of Overman 20120234944 and Cramb 9366190.
Regarding claim 8, Twardochleb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (30, Fig. 3) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (46, see Fig. 3) comprising a gallery (56, best seen in Fig. 5), a feed passage (38, [0017]), and a plurality of exit passages (54a-54e, Fig. 5);
the gallery (56) extending within the fuel nozzle (46) circumferentially around an axis (88, see Figs. 2-3) between a first end of the gallery (annotated Fig. 5) and a second end of the gallery (annotated Fig. 5), a size of the gallery (the cross-sectional area of 56 decreases due to the decreasing of the radial width, see annotated Fig. 5) decreasing as the gallery (56) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially around the axis (88) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) towards the first end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56), and the size of the gallery (the cross-sectional area of 56 decreases due to the decreasing of the radial width, see annotated Fig. 5) decreasing as the gallery (56) extends in a second direction (annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially around the axis (88) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56);
the feed passage (38) extending within the fuel nozzle (46, see Figs. 2-3) to the gallery (56), and the feed passage configured to supply fuel to the gallery ([0017]); and
the plurality of exit passages (54a-54e, Fig. 5) extending within the fuel nozzle (46) from the gallery (56, see Figs. 3-5), and the plurality of exit passages configured to receive the fuel from the gallery ([0017]),
wherein a midway is surrounded by the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 5);
wherein the gallery (56) extends, more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees circumferentially around the axis (per [0024] and Fig. 5, the purge hole 62a is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between 10-20 degrees, the purge holes 62b is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between 160-170 degrees and 62c is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between the 190-200 degrees; thus, the gallery extends about 300 degrees from the first end to the second end);
wherein a radial width of the gallery (see annotated Fig. 5) decreases as the gallery (56) extend circumferentially about the axis (88) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56), and the radial width of the gallery (see annotated Fig. 5) decreases as the gallery (56) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56).
Twardochleb does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, wherein the plurality of feed passages are positioned circumferentially about said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of said gallery, in proximity to said intermediate location; wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of said intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of said intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (108s) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120), and the plurality of feed passages (108s) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (120; [0045]); and
wherein the plurality of feed passages (108s) are positioned circumferentially about midway (see annotated Fig. 3a) of the gallery (120), in proximity to the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a);
wherein a first feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a first circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a), and a second feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a second circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side (see annotated Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Twardochleb with Overman’s teaching of
i) using a plurality of feed passages instead of one feed passage because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), the amplified effect being the provision of fuel to the gallery; and
ii) positioning the plurality of feed passages circumferentially about midway of the gallery in proximity to the intermediate location, such that
wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of the intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side
in order to maintain even fuel distribution to all of the plurality of exit passages (Overman, [0045]).
Twardochleb in view of Overman does not teach wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as the gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of said gallery.
However, Cramb teaches both of an axial height and a radial width of the gallery (343, Fig. 5) decrease in order to decrease a size (the cross-sectional area) of the gallery (343; see col. 5, ll. 25-38) in order to maintain the fuel velocity when flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15; note: constant fuel velocity means even fuel distribution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to provide Twardochleb in view of Overman with Cramb’s teaching of changing both of the axial height and the radial width of the gallery to change the size (cross-sectional area) of the gallery, such that
wherein an axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extend circumferentially about the axis between the intermediate location and the first end of the gallery, and the axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially between the intermediate location and the second end of the gallery (the modification of Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb read on the claimed limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, changing the radial width of the gallery as taught by Twardochleb, for another, in this case, changing both of the radial width and the axial height of the gallery as taught by Cramb, to obtain predictable results, in this case, changing the cross sectional area of the gallery to evenly distribute fuel, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141(III)(B).
Regarding claim 15, Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb teaches position Overman’s plurality of feed passages about the midway in proximate to Twardochleb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Twardochleb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, Twardochleb’s 54b and 54a are the first set of exit passages) of the plurality of exit passages (Twardochleb’s 54a-54e) extends along a centerline (interpreted as a respective centerline; only one is marked in Twardochleb’s annotated Fig. 5 for clarification) that is non-parallel (see Twardochleb’s Figs. 2-3) with the axis (Twardochleb’s 88 in Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the art rejection based on Twardochleb in view of Overman and SPIVEY for claims 1 and 18 are moot because said arguments do not applied to the new combination of the new reference and the previously applied references being used in the current office action, necessitated by amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant's arguments have been addressed above, at the appropriate locations.
Additionally, Applicant’s argument regarding the art rejection based on Twardochleb in view of Overman and SPIVEY for claim 18, pp. 11-12, is not persuasive (it is noted SPIVEY’s teaching is similar to Cramb) because:
i) the base reference Twardochleb teaches a cross-sectional area, i.e., the claimed size, of the gallery (56) decease (due to a radial width of 56 decreases, see annotated Fig. 5) as the gallery (56) extend circumferentially about the axis (88) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56), and the cross-sectional area, i.e., the claimed size, of the gallery (56) decease (due to a radial width of 56 decreases, see annotated Fig. 5) as the gallery (56) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56);
ii) Cramb teaches an axial height and a radial width of the gallery (343) are both decrease in order to decrease a cross-sectional area of the gallery (343; see col. 5, ll. 25-40);
iii) it has been held, “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”); MPEP 2145(III);
iv) thus, it is obvious to modify Twardochleb with Cramb’s teaching of decreasing both of the axial height of Twardochleb’s gallery and the radial width of Twardochleb’s gallery for the motivation stated in the rejection (see above) without bodily incorporating the coupling location of Cramb’s feed passage into Twardochleb. In summary, the combination of Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb teaches the fuel injector as claimed in claim 18.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Twardochleb does not teach the new claim 29 is moot because said argument does not applied to the new combination of the new reference and the previously applied references being used in the current office action. However, to the extent possible, Applicant's arguments have been addressed above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINGCHEN LIU/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741