Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the respective feed passages located circumferentially aligned and radially spaced from each other at the intermediate location” in claim 29 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 16, and 18-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cramb 9366190 in view of MCMASTERS 20090255256 and Overman 20120234944.
Regarding claim 1, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending continuously within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), wherein the gallery (343) extends more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15) circumferentially around the axis (309), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10); and
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6),
wherein the feed passage (354) extend to and is fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) at the first end (345; Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll 5-10);
wherein a first set of exit passages (see annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (345) of the gallery (343), and the first set of exit passages (see annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) are circumferentially spaced from the first end (345) of the gallery (343);
wherein a second set of exit passages (see annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) extend from and are fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343), and the second set of exit passages (see annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) are circumferentially spaced from the second end (346) of the gallery; and
wherein an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is circumferentially midway (the intermediate location in annotated Fig. 5 is at the middle of the circumferential length of gallery 343) between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343), an axial height of the gallery (the axial height of 343) and a radial width of the gallery (the radial width of 343) are both decrease as the gallery (343) extend circumferentially about the axis between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) to maintain velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery;
wherein said feed passage extend to and is fluidly coupled with said gallery at said intermediate location;
wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of the gallery.
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14, where fuel inlet 69 is), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
wherein a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]) and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; per [0025], the cross section area B of the gallery 64 is varies as shown in Fig. 4 using known methods so as to maintain a constant pressure in the gallery 64 from fuel inlet 67 to the plurality of outlets 68s, and it is known for one of ordinary skill in the art to gradually decrease the B from an intermediate location to a first end and to gradually decrease from the intermediate location to a second end as marked in annotated Fig. 4 to achieve such teaching function);
wherein the feed passage (14, where fuel inlet 69 is) extend to and is fluidly coupled with the gallery (64) at the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) is circumferentially midway (the intermediate location in annotated Fig. 4 is at middle of the circumferential length of gallery 64) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64), a radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extend circumferentially about the axis (11) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]) to maintain a velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery ([0025], it is noted that pressure loss of the fuel caused by flowing through the gallery effects the fuel velocity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the intermediate location and forming the gallery having the axial height and radial width that are both decrease (as taught by Cramb) as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery (the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS read on the claim limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III B.
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, and the plurality of feed passages extend to and are fluidly coupled with said gallery at said intermediate location.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (a pair of 108s, best seen in Figs. 2 and 3a and [0044]) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120) at an intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3b and [0045], it is noted that the intermediate location in annotated Fig. 3b is a flow starting location that is at the middle of the circumferential length of gallery 120), wherein the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 3b) is a circumferentially midway of the gallery (120; per [0045] the size of the gallery 120 at the intermediate location where the plurality of feed passages 108s are coupled is lagered than the size of the gallery 120 at a distal location far away from the intermediate location, best seen in Fig. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery.
Regarding claim 20, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (the first set of Cramb’s exit passages corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a first exit passage (a first Cramb’s 347 exit passages corresponding to a first exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343 in Cramb’s Fig. 5) at a first exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the first exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between a first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passaged in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages 108s coupled at Cramb’s intermediate location, see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 21, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the second set of exit passages (corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a second exit passage (corresponding to a second exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) at a second exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the second exit passage orifice (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between a second feed passage (Overman’s second feed passaged in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages 108s coupled at Cramb’s intermediate location, see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 22, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (the plurality of Cramb’s exit passages 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is circumferentially spaced from the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343) by a first circumferential distance (a first distance marked as a1 or a first distance marked as a2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5); and the second set of exit passages (corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages is circumferentially spaced from the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343) by a second circumferential distance (a second distance marked as b1 or a second distance marked as b2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 23, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first circumferential distance (interpreted as the first distance marked as a1 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22) is less than the second circumferential distance (interpreted as the second distance marked as b2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 24, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first circumferential distance (interpreted as the first distance marked as a2 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22) is great than the second circumferential distance (interpreted as the second distance marked as b1 in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 22).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 25, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman further teaches wherein the first set of exit passages (interpreted as a first exit passage of the first set of exit passage; the modification of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman teaches coupling Overman’s plurality of feed passages at Cramb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 below, and thus, a first Cramb’s 347 exit passages in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6 corresponding to a first exit passages orifice in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) extends along a centerline (an axial of Cramb’s 347, see exampled in annotated Cramb’s Fig. 6) that is parallel with the axis (Cramb’s 309; see Cramb’s Figs. 3-4 and 6).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 26, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman as discussed so far does not teach wherein a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular.
However, Overman further teaches a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular (the cross-sectional geometry of 120 as shown in Fig. 5a is rectangular).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman with Overman’s teaching of forming the gallery having a rectangular cross-sectional geometry because it is noted that merely changing shapes, in this case, changing to rectangular as taught by Overman, of an invention, in this case, the gallery, involves only routine skill in the art when absent persuasive evidence, in this case, Applicant does not disclose using a rectangular gallery results in an unpredicted result, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10); and
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6),
wherein the feed passage (354) are positioned at the first end (345) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 5 and col. 9, ll. 5-10);wherein the gallery (343) extends, more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15), circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) of the gallery (343) to the second end (346) of the gallery (343); and
wherein an axial height of the gallery (the axial height of 343) and a radial width of the gallery (the radial width of 343) are both decrease as the gallery (343) extend circumferentially about the axis between the first end (345) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) to maintain velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15);
wherein an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is circumferentially surrounding midway (annotated Fig. 5; midway is interpreted as a middle point of the circumferential length of gallery 343) between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends in a first direction circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends in a second direction circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery;
wherein said feed passage is position circumferentially at said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of the gallery;
wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of the gallery.
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 4) circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends in a second direction (annotated Fig. 4) circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; per [0025], the cross section area B of the gallery 64 is varies as shown in Fig. 4 using known methods so as to maintain a constant pressure in the gallery 64 from fuel inlet 67 to the plurality of outlets 68s, and it is known for one of ordinary skill in the art to gradually decrease the B from an intermediate location to a first end and to gradually decrease from the intermediate location to a second end as marked in annotated Fig. 4 to achieve such teaching function);
wherein the feed passage (14, where fuel inlet 69 is) is positioned circumferentially at midway (annotated Fig. 4, which is interpreted as a midpoint of the circumferential length of gallery 64) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64),
wherein a radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extend circumferentially about the axis (11) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]) to maintain a velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery ([0025], it is noted that pressure loss of the fuel caused by flowing through the gallery effects the fuel velocity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the midway and forming the gallery having the axial height and radial width that are both decrease as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis (as taught by Cramb) from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III B.
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, wherein the plurality of feed passages are positioned circumferentially about said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of said gallery, in proximity to said intermediate location; wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of said intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of said intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (a pair of 108s, best seen in Figs. 2 and 3a and [0044]) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120), and the plurality of feed passages (108s) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (120; [0045]); and
wherein the plurality of feed passages (108s) are positioned circumferentially about midway (see annotated Fig. 3a, which is interpreted as a midpoint of the circumferential length of gallery 120) of the gallery (120), in proximity to the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a; it is noted the intermediate location is a flow starting location);
wherein a first feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a first circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a), and a second feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a second circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side (see annotated Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, and positioned the plurality of feed passages circumferentially about midway between the first end of the gallery and the second end of the gallery, in proximity to the intermediate location, such that
wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of the intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side
because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery as while as maintaining even fuel distribution to all of the plurality of exit passages (Overman, [0045]) as taught by Cramb (col. 2, ll. 10-15) and MCMASTERS ([0025]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Cramb further teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the gallery, i.e., both of the axial height and a radial width of the gallery (see col. 5, ll. 25-38), change as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309, Fig. 3) between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343).
Regarding claim 16, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the intermediate location (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343), and a second set of exit passages (corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the intermediate location (Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 18, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343), and a second set of exit passages (corresponding to the second set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) is located circumferentially between the second feed passage (Overman’s second feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5 in claim 16) and the second end (Cramb’s 346) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4 and 6) comprise a first exit passage (corresponding to the first exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) that is fluidly coupled with the gallery (Cramb’s 343) at a first exit passage orifice (see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5), the first exit passage orifice (see Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially between the first feed passage (Overman’s first feed passage in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of feed passages (Overman’s plurality of feed passages in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (Cramb’s 345) of the gallery (Cramb’s 343).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 27, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (corresponding to the first set of exit passages orifices in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (Cramb’s 347s in Cramb’s Figs. 4-6) extends along a centerline (interpreted as a respective centerline; only one is marked in Cramb’s annotated Fig. 6 for clarification) that is parallel with the axis (Cramb’s 309; see Cramb’s Figs. 3-4).
The motivations of the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman are the same with the reasons for applying MCMASTERS and Overman to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 28, Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman as discussed so far does not teach wherein a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular.
However, Overman further teaches a cross-sectional geometry of the gallery is rectangular (the cross-sectional geometry of 120 as shown in Fig. 5a is rectangular).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman with Overman’s teaching of forming the gallery having a rectangular cross-sectional geometry because it is noted that merely changing shapes, in this case, changing to rectangular as taught by Overman, of an invention, in this case, the gallery, involves only routine skill in the art when absent persuasive evidence, in this case, Applicant does not disclose using a rectangular gallery results in an unpredicted result, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 29, Cramb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (310) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (320, Figs. 2-3) comprising a gallery (343), a feed passage (354), and a plurality of exit passages (347s; Figs. 4-6);
the gallery (343) extending continuously within the fuel nozzle (320) circumferentially around an axis (309, Fig. 3) between a first end (345) of the gallery (343) and a second end (346) of the gallery (343; Fig. 5 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), wherein the gallery (343) extends more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees (gallery 343 spans 90% to 95% of the whole circumference, which is about 342 degrees; see col. 5, ll. 8-15) circumferentially around the axis (309), a size of the gallery (an axial height and a radial width of 343) decreasing as the gallery (343) extends circumferentially around the axis (309) from the first end (345) towards the second end (346; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) of the gallery (343),
the feed passage (354) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) to the gallery (343; Figs. 3-4), and the feed passage (345) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (343, Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll. 5-10) via a feed passage orifice (in order to provide feed into the gallery 343), and the feed passage (354) extending to and fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) at the first end (345; Fig. 4 and col. 9, ll 5-10);
the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending within the fuel nozzle (320) from the gallery (343, see Fig. 3), and the plurality of exit passages (347s) configured to receive the fuel from the gallery (343, see Figs. 4-6), a first set of exit passages(annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending from and fluidly coupled with the gallery (343) circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (345) of the gallery (343), and each exit passage of the first set of exit passages (annotated Fig. 5) of the plurality of exit passages (347s) extending axially along a respective centerline (only one is marked in annotated Fig. 6 for clarification),
an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) is about circumferentially midway between the first end (345) of the gallery (343) and the second end (346) of the gallery (343), and each of the plurality of exit passages (each 347) extending axially along (relative to axis 309 in Fig. 3) a respective centerline (only one is marked in Fig. 6 for clarification).
Cramb does not teach a size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said first end of said gallery, and the size of said gallery decreasing as said gallery extends circumferentially around said axis from said intermediate location towards said second end of said gallery; said feed passage orifice is located at the intermediate location;
However, MCMASTERS teaches a fuel nozzle (5) comprising a gallery (64), a feed passage (14), and a plurality of exit passages (68s, Figs. 2 and 4);
a size (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see Fig. 4 and [0025]) and the size of (B in Fig. 4) the gallery (64) decreasing as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially around the axis (11) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) towards a second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; per [0025], the cross section area B of the gallery 64 is varies as shown in Fig. 4 using known methods so as to maintain a constant pressure in the gallery 64 from fuel inlet 67 to the plurality of outlets 68s, and it is known for one of ordinary skill in the art to gradually decrease the B from an intermediate location to a first end and to gradually decrease from the intermediate location to a second end as marked in annotated Fig. 4 to achieve such teaching function);
the feed passage (14, where fuel inlet 69 is) extending within the fuel nozzle to the gallery (64), the feed passage (14) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (64) via a feed passage orifice (69), and the feed passage orifice (69) located at the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) is about circumferentially midway (annotated Fig. 4) between the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the intermediate location and forming the gallery having a size (the axial height and radial width as taught by Cramb) that decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery, (the combination of Cramb in view of MCMASTERS read on the claim limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from a first end, which is a flow starting location, to a second end, which is a flow ending location as taught by Cramb, for another, in this case, forming a gallery having a decreasing size from an intermediate location, which is a flow starting location, to a first end, which is a first flow ending location and a decreasing size from the intermediate location to a second end, which is a second flow ending location, as taught by MCMASTERS, to obtain predictable results, in this case, evenly providing fuel to the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III(B).
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, each of the plurality of feed passages configured to supply fuel to the gallery via a respective feed passage orifice, and the respective feed passage orifices are located at the intermediate location.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (a pair of 108s, best seen in Fig. 2 and [0044]) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to the gallery (120), each of the plurality of feed passages (each 108) configured to supply fuel to the gallery via a respective feed passage orifice (see Fig. 3a), and the respective feed passage orifices radially aligned and circumferentially spaced from each other at an intermediate location (see Fig. 3a and annotated Fig. 3b and per [0045], the size of the gallery 120 at the intermediate location where the plurality of feed passages 108s are coupled is lagered than the size of the gallery 120 at a distal location far away from the intermediate location, best seen in Fig. 3b, in order to maintain even pressure for all of the plurality of exit passages 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cramb in view of MCMASTERS with Overman’s teaching of using a plurality of feed passages instead of one, such that
each of the plurality of feed passages configured to supply fuel to the gallery via a respective feed passage orifice, and the respective feed passage orifices are located at the intermediate location
because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B), the amplified effect being providing a greater mass flow rate of fuel to the gallery.
Cramb in view of MCMASTERS and Overman does not teach the respective feed passage orifices located circumferentially aligned and radially spaced from each other at the intermediate location.
However, Overman further teaches the respective feed passage orifices (the two orifices connected to the two 108s, see Fig. 3a) are located radially aligned and circumferentially spaced from each other at an intermediate location (see Fig. 3a and annotated Fig. 3b) and provide even pressure for all of the plurality of exit passages (122).
Accordingly, since the applicant does not show the criticality of the arrangement as claimed, i.e., “the respective feed passage orifices located circumferentially aligned and radially spaced from each other” or any persuasive evidence of such arrangement is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) because it has been held to be obvious to try, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, in this case, locating the respective feed passage orifices radially aligned and circumferentially spaced from each other or locating the respective feed passage orifices circumferentially aligned and radially spaced from each other, with a reasonable expectation of
success, in this case, providing even pressure for all of the plurality of exit passages, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. See MPEP 2143 l(E).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twardochleb 20130283809 in view of Overman 20120234944 and Cramb 9366190.
Regarding claim 8, Twardochleb teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector (30, Fig. 3) for a turbine engine (100), comprising:
a fuel nozzle (46, see Fig. 3) comprising a gallery (56, best seen in Fig. 5), a feed passage (38, [0017]), and a plurality of exit passages (54a-54e, Fig. 5);
the gallery (56) extending within the fuel nozzle (46) circumferentially around an axis (88, see Figs. 2-3) between a first end of the gallery (annotated Fig. 5) and a second end of the gallery (annotated Fig. 5), a size of the gallery (the cross-sectional area of 56 decreases due to the decreasing of the radial width, see annotated Fig. 5) decreasing as the gallery (56) extends in a first direction (annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially around the axis (88) from an intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) towards the first end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56), and the size of the gallery (the cross-sectional area of 56 decreases due to the decreasing of the radial width, see annotated Fig. 5) decreasing as the gallery (56) extends in a second direction (annotated Fig. 5) circumferentially around the axis (88) from the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) towards the second end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56);
the feed passage (38) extending within the fuel nozzle (46, see Figs. 2-3) to the gallery (56), and the feed passage (38) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (56, see [0017]); and
the plurality of exit passages (54a-54e, Fig. 5) extending within the fuel nozzle (46) from the gallery (56, see Figs. 3-5), and the plurality of exit passages configured to receive the fuel from the gallery ([0017]),
wherein a midway (interpreted as a midpoint of circumferential length of gallery 56) is surrounded by the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 5);
wherein the gallery (56) extends, more than two-hundred and seventy degrees and less than three-hundred and sixty degrees circumferentially around the axis (per [0024] and Fig. 5, the purge hole 62a is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between 10-20 degrees, the purge holes 62b is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between 160-170 degrees and 62c is positioned from the vertical axis 88a between the 190-200 degrees; thus, the gallery extends about 300 degrees from the first end to the second end);
wherein a radial width of the gallery (see annotated Fig. 5) decreases as the gallery (56) extend circumferentially about the axis (88) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the first end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56), and the radial width of the gallery (see annotated Fig. 5) decreases as the gallery (56) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 5) and the second end (annotated Fig. 5) of the gallery (56).
Twardochleb does not teach said feed passage is a plurality of feed passages, wherein the plurality of feed passages are positioned circumferentially about said midway between said first end of said gallery and said second end of said gallery, in proximity to said intermediate location; wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of said intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of said intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side.
However, Overman teaches a plurality of feed passages (108s) extending within the fuel nozzle (100) to supply fuel to the gallery (120), and the plurality of feed passages (108s) configured to supply fuel to the gallery (120; [0045]); and
wherein the plurality of feed passages (108s) are positioned circumferentially about midway (see annotated Fig. 3a) of the gallery (120), in proximity to the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a);
wherein a first feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a first circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location (see annotated Fig. 3a), and a second feed passage (annotated Fig. 3a) of the plurality of feed passages (108s) is disposed on a second circumferential side (relative to the midway) of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side (see annotated Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Twardochleb with Overman’s teaching of
i) using a plurality of feed passages instead of one feed passage because it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device for amplified effect is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), the amplified effect being the provision of fuel to the gallery; and
ii) positioning the plurality of feed passages circumferentially about midway of the gallery in proximity to the intermediate location, such that
wherein a first feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a first circumferential side of the intermediate location, and a second feed passage of the plurality of feed passages is disposed on a second circumferential side of the intermediate location circumferentially opposite the first circumferential side
in order to maintain even fuel distribution to all of the plurality of exit passages (Overman, [0045]).
Twardochleb in view of Overman does not teach wherein an axial height of said gallery decreases as the gallery extend circumferentially about said axis between said intermediate location and said first end of said gallery, and the axial height of said gallery decreases as said gallery extends circumferentially between said intermediate location and said second end of said gallery.
However, Cramb teaches both of an axial height and a radial width of the gallery (343, Fig. 5) decrease in order to decrease a size (the cross-sectional area) of the gallery (343; see col. 5, ll. 25-38) in order to maintain the fuel velocity when flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15; note: constant fuel velocity means even fuel distribution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to provide Twardochleb in view of Overman with Cramb’s teaching of changing both of the axial height and the radial width of the gallery to change the size (cross-sectional area) of the gallery, such that
wherein an axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extend circumferentially about the axis between the intermediate location and the first end of the gallery, and the axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially between the intermediate location and the second end of the gallery (the modification of Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb read on the claimed limitation)
because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, changing the radial width of the gallery as taught by Twardochleb, for another, in this case, changing both of the radial width and the axial height of the gallery as taught by Cramb, to obtain predictable results, in this case, changing the cross sectional area of the gallery to evenly distribute fuel, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141(III)(B).
Regarding claim 15, Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb further teaches wherein a first set of exit passages (Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb teaches position Overman’s plurality of feed passages about the midway in proximate to Twardochleb’s intermediate location, which is presented in Twardochleb’s annotated Fig. 5, and thus, Twardochleb’s 54b and 54a are the first set of exit passages) of the plurality of exit passages (Twardochleb’s 54a-54e) extends along a centerline (interpreted as a respective centerline; only one is marked in Twardochleb’s annotated Fig. 5 for clarification) that is non-parallel (see Twardochleb’s Figs. 2-3) with the axis (Twardochleb’s 88 in Fig. 2).
The motivations of the combination of Twardochleb in view of Overman and Cramb are the same with the reasons for applying Overman and Cramb to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding 112b rejection, Applicant’s argument is persuasive and thus, the 112b rejection issued for claims 15, 22-25, 27, and 29 are withdraw.
Regarding 103 rejection based on Cramb, McMasters and Overman does not teach the claimed fuel injector of claims 1 and 8 because (on pp. 11-12), “Cramb discloses its annular channel reduces along the entirely of the gallery from the first end 345 to the second end 346. There is no disclosure, teaching or suggestion in Cramb of at least the features of ‘wherein the intermediate location is circumferentially midway between the first end of the gallery and the second end of the gallery, an axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extend circumferentially about the axis between the intermediate location and the first end of the gallery, and the axial height of the gallery decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially between the intermediate location and the second end of the gallery" recited in claim 1. Neither McMasters nor Overman resolve these deficiencies”.
Examiner does not agree because: i) the base reference Cramb teaches a gallery (343) circumferentially extending from a first end (345) to a second end (346) and comprising a feed passage (354) and a plurality of exit passages (347s), wherein the feed passage (354) is fluidly coupled to the first end (345, col. 9, ll.5-10), and an axial length and a radial width of the gallery decreasing when the gallery circumferentially extending from the first end (a flowing starting location) to the second end (a flow ending location; see Fig. 6 and col. 5, ll. 25-38) in order to maintain velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery (col. 2, ll. 10-15); ii) McMasters teaches a gallery (64) circumferentially extending from a first end (annotated Fig. 4) to a second end (annotated Fig. 4) and comprising a feed passage (69) and a plurality of exit passages (68s), wherein the feed passage (69) is fluidly coupled to an intermediate location of the gallery (see annotated Fig. 4), and a radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extend circumferentially about the axis (11) between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the first end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]), and the radial width (B in Fig. 4) of the gallery (64) decreases as the gallery (64) extends circumferentially between the intermediate location (annotated Fig. 4) and the second end (annotated Fig. 4) of the gallery (64; see annotated Fig. 4 and [0025]) to maintain a velocity of the fuel flowing through the gallery ([0025], it is noted that pressure loss of the fuel caused by flowing through the gallery effects the fuel velocity); iii) it would have been obvious to modify Cramb with MCMASTERS’s teaching of fluidly coupling Cramb’s feed passage with the gallery at the intermediate location and forming the gallery having the axial height and radial width that are both decrease (as taught by Cramb) as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the first end of the gallery and decreases as the gallery extends circumferentially around the axis from the intermediate location towards the second end of the gallery for the motivation as stated above; iv) it is noted, “One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).”, MPEP2145IV, in this case, Applicant’s argument only attacks the base reference Cramb and cannot show nonobviousness for the rejection based on Cramb in view of McMasters and Overman.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741