DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 15 contains the trademark/trade name Wacker XT 50 and Wacker XT 55, and claim 16 contains the trademark/trade name Risun 30000T. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name Wacker XT 50 or XT 55 is used to identify/describe a blend of a silylated polymer with a silicone resin intermediate and RISUN 30000T is used to identify/describe trimethoxy silane terminated polyether polymer, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damke (US 2019/0300712).
Damke teaches adhesive materials comprising the following:
a) at least one polymer having at least one terminal group of the general formula -Zn-R-SiXYZ, and meets applicants’ silylated polymer;
b) at least one compound of the general formula
,
which meets applicants’ silicone resin intermediate; and
an adhesion promoter, which includes rosins (p. 6, [0078]).
Damke does not teach or suggest the peel strength, as claimed; however, Damke does teach that when X, Y and Z are methoxy groups, rapid curing is possible which is desirable for adhesives with which high initial adhesion is required (p. 4, [0059]). Damke also teaches that the rosin adhesion promoter improves the adhesion properties of adhesive layers on surfaces (p. 6, [0078]).
Polymer (a) is present in an amount of preferably 20-60 wt% (p. 5, [0062]) and compound (b) is present in an amount of preferably 2-50 wt% (p. 5, [0066]) and the tackifier adhesion promoter is taught as being present in an amount of 0.1-5 wt% (p. 6, [0081]). When the adhesion promoter is present in an amount of 5 wt%, and the resin components are present in an amount of 94 wt%, the ratio of tackifier to resin is 0.05. Additionally, the inclusion of other additives, such as plasticizers, catalyst, drying agent, solvent, etc., a ratio of 5/65 or about 0.08 is possible.
The components described by Damke are the same as those claimed, and are taught in amounts which are suggested by the instant invention; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the adhesives of Damke as having similar peel strength properties as those claimed.
Damke is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-3 and 5.
As to claims 6-7, Damke teaches that the adhesion promoters can include coumarone/indene resins and terpene phenolic resins, teaching that they can be use individually or as a combination of several compounds. Choosing a combination of rosin and coumarone/indene resins and/or terpene phenolic resin is prima facie obvious.
As to claims 9-10 and 12-16, Damke teaches the inclusion of a solvent to reduce the viscosity, which includes ketones and esters (p. 6, [0076]), where acetone is known as the simplest ketone, and methyl acetate is known as the simplest ester solvent, and are both very well-known solvents. The remaining limitations can be met as described above.
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garnier (US 2022/0049143).
Garnier teaches adhesive compositions comprising the following:
(A) at least one polymer comprising a hydrolysable alkoxysilane group, which meets applicants’ silyl terminated polymer;
(B) at least one tackifying resin, which includes (i) terpene phenols and (iii) rosins, suggesting a combination of such can be used;
(C) at least one silsesquioxane, which meets applicants’ silicone intermediate; and
(D) at least one crosslinking catalyst.
Garnier exemplifies a ratio of tackifying resin to polymer of about 0.05-0.1 in Examples 1-2, showing that when some of the tackifying resin is substituted with the silsesquioxane, the peel strength significantly increases.
Garnier teaches that the adhesive has high peel strength on stainless steel and polymer but does not teach the peel strength as measured by the instant invention; however, the compositions of Garnier suggest the claimed adhesives using applicants claimed components in similar amounts as described in the instant disclosure. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the adhesives of Garnier to possess a similar peel strength, as claimed.
Garnier is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0316766 does not qualify as prior art, but teaches applicants’ claimed components.
/Brieann R Johnston/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766