DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 16 October 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Examiner notes that the foreign patent document citation no. 38, IN 201102087, has not been provided, and suggests providing the foreign patent document and an English translation of the foreign patent document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andis et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,275,339 A, hereinafter “Andis”) in view of Yamazaki (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0302548 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Andis discloses a diffuser attachment assembly for an air-moving appliance (10 in Figs. 1-11, Abstract), the diffuser attachment assembly comprising:
a diffuser attachment (22 in Fig. 6, col. 2 lines 38-51) comprising:
an inlet end (inlet end in annotated Fig. 6) capable of connecting to the air-moving appliance (col. 2 lines 43-45), the inlet end including an inlet (30 in Fig. 6) for airflow to enter the diffuser attachment (col. 2 lines 51-55); and
an outlet end (outlet end in annotated Fig. 6) including a diffuser surface (diffuser surface in annotated Fig. 11) defining discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58), the diffuser surface being smooth and free of any prongs (Figs. 10 and 11), wherein the diffuser surface is concaved relative to an exterior of the diffuser attachment (Figs. 6 and 11); and
a hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) capable of being removably attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), the hair engagement cover including an inner ring (86 in Fig. 5) and a plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) extending radially and linearly outward from the inner ring (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 37-39), the inner ring and the elongate bridge threads define voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass from the inlet end of the diffuser attachment to an outer side of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 44-47, col. 4 lines 27-30), and a plurality of prongs (134 in Fig. 6) extending outwardly from the plurality of elongate bridge threads (Fig. 5),
wherein the attachment assembly has a first configuration in which the hair engagement cover is not attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), and a second configuration in which the hair engagement cover is attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (Fig. 2).
Andis does not disclose wherein the plurality of prongs extend outwardly from the inner ring.
Yamazaki teaches a similar apparatus (Figs. 1-7) comprising discharge openings ( see 13 in Fig. 1) and an inner ring (inner ring in annotated Fig. 2), where a plurality of elongate bridge threads (bridge threads in annotated Fig. 2) extend radially and linearly outward from the inner ring, the inner ring and the elongate bridge threads defines voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass (para. 0046), and a plurality of prongs (110 in Fig. 2) extend outwardly from the inner ring (para. 0046).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis by adding additional discharge openings to the diffuser attachment and a plurality of prongs extending outwardly from the inner ring of the hair engagement cover as taught by Yamazaki in order to allow the prongs to be positioned in a pattern in which they can contact the scalp (Yamazaki para. 0047) while allowing air to blow through (Yamazaki para. 0046).
In regard to claim 2, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 1. Andis further discloses wherein the diffuser attachment (10 in Fig. 1) is removably connected to the air-moving appliance (col. 3 lines 12-15)
In regard to claim 3, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 1. Andis further discloses wherein the discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58) are positioned in a grid configuration on the diffuser surface (Fig. 10, grid configuration radially around a point at the center).
In regard to claim 5, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 1. Andis further discloses wherein the prongs (134 in Fig. 6) of the hair engagement cover each define an opening (146 in Fig. 7) that is capable of expelling at least a portion of the airflow discharged by the diffuser attachment (col. 4 lines 16-20).
In regard to claim 6, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 5. Andis further discloses wherein the openings of the prongs (146 in Figs. 6 and 7) are positioned perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis (axis in annotated Fig. 6) of the hair engagement cover (Figs. 6 and 7).
In regard to claim 7, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 1. Andis further discloses wherein the hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) defines the plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) coupled to an outer edge (90 in Fig. 2) of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 37-39).
In regard to claim 9, Andis discloses a diffuser attachment assembly for an air-moving appliance (10 in Figs. 1-11, Abstract), the diffuser attachment assembly comprising:
a diffuser attachment (22 in Fig. 6, col. 2 lines 38-51) comprising:
an inlet end (inlet end in annotated Fig. 6) capable of removably connecting to the air-moving appliance (col. 2 lines 43-45), the inlet end including an inlet (30 in Fig. 6) for airflow to enter the diffuser attachment (col. 2 lines 51-55); and
an outlet end (outlet end in annotated Fig. 6) including a diffuser surface (diffuser surface in annotated Fig. 11) defining discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58) capable of discharging at least a portion of the airflow (col. 6 lines 17-22), the diffuser surface being free of any prongs (Figs. 10 and 11), wherein the diffuser surface is concaved relative to an exterior of the diffuser attachment (Figs. 6 and 11); and
a hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising an inner side (inner side in annotated Fig. 6) and an outer side (outer side in annotated Fig. 6), wherein the inner side of the hair engagement cover is capable of removably attaching to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), wherein the hair engagement cover includes an inner ring (86 in Fig. 5) and a plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) extending radially and linearly outward from the inner ring (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 37-39), the inner ring and the elongate bridge threads define voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass from the inlet end of the diffuser attachment to an outer side of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 44-47, col. 4 lines 27-30), and a plurality of prongs (134 in Fig. 6) extending outwardly from the plurality of elongate bridge threads (Fig. 5), the prongs defining openings (146 in Fig. 7) that are in communication with the discharge openings of the diffuser attachment (col. 4 lines 16-20), wherein the openings of the prongs are capable of expelling at least a portion of the airflow discharged by the diffuser attachment (col. 4 lines 16-20),
wherein the attachment assembly has a first configuration in which the hair engagement cover is not attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), and a second configuration in which the hair engagement cover is attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (Fig. 2).
Andis does not disclose wherein the plurality of prongs extend outwardly from the inner ring.
Yamazaki teaches a similar apparatus (Figs. 1-7) comprising discharge openings ( see 13 in Fig. 1) and an inner ring (inner ring in annotated Fig. 2), where a plurality of elongate bridge threads (bridge threads in annotated Fig. 2) extend radially and linearly outward from the inner ring, the inner ring and the elongate bridge threads defines voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass (para. 0046), and a plurality of prongs (110 in Fig. 2) extend outwardly from the inner ring (para. 0046).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis by adding additional discharge openings to the diffuser attachment and a plurality of prongs extending outwardly from the inner ring of the hair engagement cover as taught by Yamazaki in order to allow the prongs to be positioned in a pattern in which they can contact the scalp (Yamazaki para. 0047) while allowing air to blow through (Yamazaki para. 0046).
In regard to claim 10, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 9. Andis further discloses wherein the openings of the prongs (146 in Figs. 6 and 7) are positioned perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis(axis in annotated Fig. 6) of the hair engagement cover (Figs. 6 and 7).
In regard to claim 11, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 9. Andis further discloses wherein the hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) defines the plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) coupled to an outer edge (90 in Fig. 2) of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 37-39).
In regard to claim 13, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 9. Andis further discloses wherein the diffuser attachment (10 in Fig. 1) is removably connected to the air-moving appliance (col. 3 lines 12-15).
In regard to claim 14, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 9. Andis further discloses wherein the discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58) are positioned in a grid configuration on the diffuser surface (Fig. 10, grid configuration radially around a point at the center).
In regard to claim 16, Andis discloses an air-moving appliance assembly (Figs. 1-11, Abstract) comprising a diffuser attachment assembly (10 in Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 38-39) and an air-moving appliance (14 in Fig. 1) capable of expelling air from an outlet end (18 in Fig. 1), the diffuser attachment assembly comprising:
a diffuser attachment (22 in Fig. 6, col. 2 lines 38-51) comprising:
an inlet end (inlet end in annotated Fig. 6) capable of removably connecting to the outlet end of the air-moving appliance (Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 43-45), the inlet end including an inlet (30 in Fig. 6) for airflow to enter the diffuser attachment (col. 2 lines 51-55); and
an outlet end (outlet end in annotated Fig. 6) including a diffuser surface (diffuser surface in annotated Fig. 11) defining discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58), the diffuser surface being smooth and free of any prongs (Figs. 10 and 11), wherein the diffuser surface is concaved relative to an exterior of the diffuser attachment (Figs. 6 and 11); and
a hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) comprising:
an inner side (inner side in annotated Fig. 6) and an outer side (outer side in annotated Fig. 6), wherein the inner side of the hair engagement cover is capable of removably attaching to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment (col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), wherein the hair engagement cover includes an inner ring (86 in Fig. 5) and a plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) extending radially and linearly outward from the inner ring (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 37-39), the inner ring and the plurality of elongate bridge threads defining voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass from the inlet end of the diffuser attachment to an outer side of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 44-47, col. 4 lines 27-30), and a plurality of prongs (134 in Fig. 6) extending outwardly from the plurality of elongate bridge threads (Fig. 5), the prongs defining an opening (146 in Fig. 7) that is in communication with the discharge openings of the diffuser attachment (col. 4 lines 16-20), wherein the opening of the prongs is capable of expelling at least a portion of the airflow discharged by the diffuser attachment (col. 4 lines 16-20),
wherein the diffuser attachment assembly has a first configuration in which the diffuser attachment is mounted with respect to the outlet end of the air-moving appliance (Fig. 1, col. 3 lines 52-64, cover 70 is capable of being removed once fasteners are removed), and a second configuration in which the hair engagement cover is attached to the outlet end of the diffuser attachment when the diffuser attachment is mounted with respect to the air-moving appliance (Figs. 1 and 2).
Andis does not disclose wherein the plurality of prongs extend outwardly from the inner ring.
Yamazaki teaches a similar apparatus (Figs. 1-7) comprising discharge openings ( see 13 in Fig. 1) and an inner ring (inner ring in annotated Fig. 2), where a plurality of elongate bridge threads (bridge threads in annotated Fig. 2) extend radially and linearly outward from the inner ring, the inner ring and the elongate bridge threads defines voids (112 in Fig. 2) for allowing air to pass (para. 0046), and a plurality of prongs (110 in Fig. 2) extend outwardly from the inner ring (para. 0046).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis by adding additional discharge openings to the diffuser attachment and a plurality of prongs extending outwardly from the inner ring of the hair engagement cover as taught by Yamazaki in order to allow the prongs to be positioned in a pattern in which they can contact the scalp (Yamazaki para. 0047) while allowing air to blow through (Yamazaki para. 0046).
In regard to claim 17, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 16. Andis further discloses wherein the hair engagement cover (70 in Figs. 5 and 6) defines the plurality of elongate bridge threads (110 in Fig. 2) coupled to an outer edge (90 in Fig. 2) of the hair engagement cover (col. 3 lines 37-39).
In regard to claim 19, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 16. Andis further discloses wherein the discharge openings (178 in Fig. 10, col. 4 lines 54-58) are positioned in a grid configuration on the diffuser surface (Fig. 10, grid configuration radially around a point at the center).
Claims 4, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andis in view of Yamazaki and Rolf et al (EP 0439781 B1 and translated PDF, hereinafter “Rolf”).
In regard to claim 4, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 1. Andis does not disclose wherein the outlet end of the diffuser attachment defines openings configured to receive corresponding tabs of the hair engagement cover.
Rolf teaches an apparatus for an air-moving appliance (Abstract) wherein the outlet end of a diffuser attachment (4 in Fig. 6) defines openings (28 in Fig. 6) capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover (para. 0022).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet end of the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis in view of Yamazaki by adding the openings capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover as taught by Rolf in order to allow securement between the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover with a small rotation (Rolf para. 0022).
In regard to claim 15, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 9. Andis does not disclose wherein the outlet end of the diffuser attachment defines openings configured to receive a corresponding tab of the hair engagement cover.
Rolf teaches an apparatus for an air-moving appliance (Abstract) wherein the outlet end of a diffuser attachment (4 in Fig. 6) defines openings (28 in Fig. 6) capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover (para. 0022).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet end of the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis in view of Yamazaki by adding the openings capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover as taught by Rolf in order to allow securement between the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover with a small rotation (Rolf para. 0022).
In regard to claim 20, Andis in view of Yamazaki discloses the invention of claim 16. Andis does not disclose wherein the outlet end of the diffuser attachment defines openings configured to receive corresponding tabs of the hair engagement cover.
Rolf teaches an apparatus for an air-moving appliance (Abstract) wherein the outlet end of a diffuser attachment (4 in Fig. 6) defines openings (28 in Fig. 6) capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover (para. 0022).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hair dryer attachments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet end of the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover of Andis in view of Yamazaki by adding the openings capable of receiving corresponding tabs of a hair engagement cover as taught by Rolf in order to allow securement between the diffuser attachment and hair engagement cover with a small rotation (Rolf para. 0022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03 December 2025 with respect to the rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant is directed to the rejections in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY N HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772