Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (WO 2022/217045).
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches a pickleball paddle (Figure 1, element 100), comprising:
a paddle body (Figure 1, element 110) and
a handle (Figure 1, element 112) connected to the paddle body;
the paddle body including a substrate layer (Figure 3, element 118) and
a fiber face sheet (Figure 3, elements 120 and 122; Paragraph 0071, lines 1-2); the fiber face sheet overlaying either surface of the substrate layer;
a coating (Paragraph 0058, line 8) being provided on an outer surface of the fiber face sheet,
an outer surface of the coating having a texture (Paragraph 0064, line 3) formed by directly pressing the coating.
Regarding claim 3, Davis teaches a fiber face sheet is made of a carbon fiber material (Paragraph 0032, lines 1-2) or a glass fiber material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (WO 2022/217045) in view of Thurman et al. (US 2021/0252356).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches all elements of claim 1 and a transparent resin coating (Paragraph 0058, line 8), but fails to teach a pattern layer provided on the outer surface of the fiber face sheet.
Thurman et al. teaches a pattern layer provided on the outer surface of the fiber face sheet (Paragraph 0178, lines 2-3), and a transparent coating (Paragraph 0085, lines 28-29) that covers the pattern. Thurman teaches that pickleball paddle faces may contain a graphic such as a logo, image, or design to provide a unique aesthetic appearance.
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teachings of Thurman et al. to include a graphic layer to provide a unique aesthetic appearance.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (WO 2022/217045) in Snow (US 2002/0198071).
Regarding claim 4, Davis teaches all elements of claim 1 and a transparent resin coating (Paragraph 0058, line 8), but fails to teach a semi-gloss oil-based coating or a full-gloss oil-based coating. It is well-known in the art of athletic equipment that resins are oil-based coatings available in semi-gloss or full-gloss finishes. Snow teaches a high-gloss epoxy resin coating to provide an aesthetic and durable outer layer to a softball bat. Both softball bats and pickleball paddles are athletic equipment used to hit a ball in the air, therefore the athletic bat disclosed by Snow is analogous art for a full-gloss oil-based coating.
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teachings of Snow to include a high-gloss epoxy resin coating to provide an aesthetic and durable outer layer to a pickleball paddle.
Conclusion
/K.G.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711