DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarraf et al. (US. 20200067237 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Sarraf teaches “An electrical connector (102), comprising:
at least one contact terminal (114); a printed circuit board (306) on which at least one thermal sensor (304) is mounted to monitor a temperature of the at least one contact terminal (114); at least one thermal conductive pad (300) that includes at least one first thermal contact surface (See Reproduced Drawing 1) in direct engagement with the at least one contact terminal (114), and a second thermal contact surface (302) in direct engagement with the at least one thermal sensor (304), to transfer heat from the at least one contact terminal (114) to the at least one thermal sensor (304); and a support device (110) for the at least one thermal conductive pad (300), wherein the at least one thermal conductive pad (300) is compressed between the support device (110) and the printed circuit board (306) by a force of compression causing the at least one first thermal contact surface (See Reproduced Drawing 1) to press against the at least one contact terminal (114) and the second thermal contact surface (302) to deform on the thermal sensor (304) covering the thermal sensor (304).
In Regards to Claim 2:
Sarraf teaches the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board (306) extends through a plane and the force of compression is orthogonal to the plane of the printed circuit board (306).
In Regards to Claim 3:
Sarraf teaches the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the support device for the at least one thermal conductive pad (300) is a sealing pad provided with at least one hole for receiving the at least one contact terminal (114) and has a higher thermal conductivity than the sealing pad (300), and the thermal conductive pad (300) is compressed between the sealing pad (300) and the printed circuit board (306).
In Regards to Claim 10:
Sarraf teaches the electrical connector according to claim 1, including two contact terminals (114) and one thermal conductive pad (300) having two first thermal contact surfaces (See Reproduced Drawing 1, 302) in direct engagement with the two contact terminals (114), respectively.
In Regards to Claim 11:
Sarraf teaches a charging inlet device (100) for a vehicle, including the electrical connector (102) according to claim 1.
In Regards to Claim 12:
Sarraf teaches a vehicle (Paragraph 22, vehicle) including an electric battery (Paragraph 3, battery system) and a charging inlet device (100) according to claim 11 to charge the electric battery (Paragraph 3, battery system).
In Regards to Claim 13:
Sarraf teaches a method of manufacturing an electrical connector (102) comprising at least one contact terminal (114), including the steps of:
providing a printed circuit board (306) provided with at least one hole (350) for receiving the at least one contact terminal (114), and on which at least one thermal sensor (304) is mounted to monitor a temperature of the at least one contact terminal (114); providing a thermal conductive pad (300) having at least one first thermal contact surface (See Reproduced Drawing 1) and a second thermal contact surface (302), and coupling the thermal conductive pad (300) to a support device (110) provided with at least one hole (116) for receiving the at least one contact terminal (114); coupling the printed circuit board (306) to an assembly of the at least one thermal conductive pad (300) and the support device (110), by causing the second thermal contact surface (302) of the at least one thermal conductive pad (300) to come into direct engagement with the at least one thermal sensor (304) mounted on the printed circuit board (306); exerting a force of compression to compress the at least one thermal conductive pad (300) between the support device (110) and the printed circuit board (306) and cause the at least one first thermal contact surface (See Reproduced Drawing 1) to move to a path of the at least one contact terminal (114) and the second thermal contact surface (302) to deform on the thermal sensor (304) covering the thermal sensor (304); and inserting the at least one contact terminal (114) into the at least one hole (350) of the printed circuit board (306) and into the at least one hole (116) of the support device (110), by causing the at least one contact terminal (114) to come into direct engagement with the at least one first thermal contact surface (See Reproduced Drawing 1) of the at least one thermal conductive pad (300).
In Regards to Claim 14:
Sarraf teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the support device (110) is a sealing pad (300) for receiving the at least one contact terminal (114).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitation as substantially described in claims 4-9, these limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claims 4-9, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831