DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 01/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “performa” in line 6. Please amend it to --- perform a ---.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the controller is configured” in line 2. Please amend it to --- the controller is further configured ---.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the temperature” in line 5. Please amend it to --- a temperature ---.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the first temperature” in line 5. Please amend it to --- a first temperature ---.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the temperature” in line 8. Please amend it to --- a temperature ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altinier et al. (US 2014/0033562; hereinafter Altinier).
Regarding claim 1, Altinier shows dryer (1, fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (2, fig. 1);
a drum (3, fig. 1) in the main body (2, fig. 1), the drum (3, fig. 1) being rotatable and configured to receive an object to be dried by the dryer (1, fig. 1);
a driving motor (14, fig. 1) configured to rotate the drum (3, fig. 1);
an input module (19, fig. 1) configured to receive a command to perform a dry mode (120, fig. 2) or a dehumidification mode (210, fig. 2) from a user;
a heat exchanger (12, fig. 1) in the main body (2, fig. 1); and
a controller (18, fig. 1) configured to:
in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode (120, fig. 2), control the driving motor (14, fig. 1) to rotate the drum (3, fig. 1) at a first rotation speed (v1 at block 130, fig. 2), and
in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode (210, fig. 2), control the driving motor (14, fig. 1) to rotate the drum (3, fig. 1) at a second rotation speed (v2 at block 220, fig. 2) different from the first rotation speed (v1 at block 130, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Altinier shows wherein the second rotation speed (v2 at block 220, fig. 2) is higher than (greater than, [0080]) the first rotation speed (v1 at block 130, fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altinier as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Yoshitaka (JP2002066197 A).
Regarding claim 2, Altinier discloses the limitations of the dryer of claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the second rotation speed is lower than the first rotation speed.
Yoshitaka teaches wherein the second rotation speed (Yoshitaka, rotation speed of rotating drum of the soft mode, [0016]) is lower than the first rotation speed (Yoshitaka, rotation speed of rotating drum of powerful mode, [0016]) (Yoshitaka recites “… when the powerful mode is set, the rotating drum and dehumidifying fan rotate at a higher speed than the steady state, and when the soft mode is set, the rotating drum and dehumidifying fan rotate at a lower speed than the steady state.”, [0016]; thus, the rotation speed or the second rotation speed of rotating drum of the soft mode is lower than the rotation speed or the first rotation speed of rotating drum of powerful mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the dryer of Altinier with wherein the second rotation speed is lower than the first rotation speed, as taught by Yoshitaka, for preventing damages to the object(s) to be dried such as clothe(s), hat(s), etc… which would result in promoting a user’s satisfaction. Thus, the dryer is safely to use and thus benefits the consumer.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altinier as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Seok et al. (US 2019/0276978; hereinafter Seok).
Regarding claims 5 & 6, Altinier discloses further comprising: a compressor (Altinier recites “… condensing device 12 may be replaced with two heat exchangers, i.e. a condenser and an evaporator respectively, comprised within a heat pump assembly (not shown).”, [0071]; well-known in the art, the heat pump system or assembly comprises an evaporator, a condenser, a compressor, an expansion valve and a refrigerant flowing inside these components; thus, the heat pump assembly of Altinier inherently has a compressor) configured to provide a compressed refrigerant to a condenser (12, fig. 1; condenser, [0071]); (Application claim 5) and
wherein the second temperature is lower than the first temperature. (Application claim 6)
Altinier does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to:
in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode, control the compressor so that the temperature in the drum is the first temperature in the dry mode, and
in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode, control the compressor so that the temperature in the drum is a second temperature different from the first temperature.
Seok teaches wherein the controller (Seok, 160, fig. 4) is further configured to:
in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode (Seok, STANDAR DRY MODE, fig. 6), control the compressor (Seok, 121, fig. 5) ([0026-0027]) so that the temperature in the drum (Seok, 110, fig. 5) is the first temperature (MIDDLE TEMPERATURE, fig. 6) in the dry mode (Seok, STANDAR DRY MODE, fig. 6), and
in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode (Seok, DELICATE DRY MODE, fig. 6), control the compressor (Seok, 121, fig. 5) ([0026-0027]) so that the temperature in the drum (Seok, 110, fig. 5) is a second temperature (MIDDLE-LOW TEMPERATURE, fig. 6) different from the first temperature (MIDDLE TEMPERATURE, fig. 6); (Application claim 5) and
wherein the second temperature (MIDDLE-LOW TEMPERATURE, fig. 6) is lower than the first temperature (MIDDLE TEMPERATURE, fig. 6). (Application claim 6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the dryer of Altinier with wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode, control the compressor so that the temperature in the drum is the first temperature in the dry mode, and in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode, control the compressor so that the temperature in the drum is a second temperature different from the first temperature, as taught by Seok, for effectively controlling the temperatures in the drum at different modes of the dryer which would result in effectively drying the object(s) to be dried such as clothe(s), hat(s), etc… within a shorter drying time. Thus, the dryer operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claims 1, 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshitaka (JP2002066197 A) in view of Altinier et al. (US 2014/0033562; hereinafter Altinier).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshitaka discloses dryer (10, fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (outer walls of item 10, fig. 1);
a drum (11, fig. 1) in the main body (outer walls of item 10, fig. 1), the drum (11, fig. 1) being rotatable and configured to receive an object to be dried by the dryer (10, fig. 1);
a driving motor (a rotating drum 11 that is rotated by a motor (not shown), [0017]) configured to rotate the drum (11, fig. 1);
an input module (the dryer 10 inherently has an input module for setting or selecting clothes drying operation mode and a ventilation operation mode, [0019-0020]) configured to receive a command to perform a dry mode (clothes drying operation mode, [0019]) or a dehumidification mode (ventilation operation mode, [0020]) from a user;
a heat exchanger (12, fig. 1) in the main body (outer walls of item 10, fig. 1); and
a controller (20, fig. 1).
Yoshitaka does not disclose a controller configured to:
in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode, control the driving motor to rotate the drum at a first rotation speed, and
in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode, control the driving motor to rotate the drum at a second rotation speed different from the first rotation speed.
Altinier teaches a controller (Altinier, 18, fig. 1) configured to:
in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode (Altinier, 120, fig. 2), control the driving motor (Altinier, 14, fig. 1) to rotate the drum (Altinier, 3, fig. 1) at a first rotation speed (Altinier, 130, fig. 2), and
in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode (Altinier, 210, fig. 2), control the driving motor (Altinier, 14, fig. 1) to rotate the drum (Altinier, 3, fig. 1) at a second rotation speed (Altinier, 220, fig. 2) different from the first rotation speed (Altinier, 130, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the dryer of Yoshitaka with the controller configured to: in response to receiving the command to perform the dry mode, control the driving motor to rotate the drum at a first rotation speed, and in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode, control the driving motor to rotate the drum at a second rotation speed different from the first rotation speed, as taught by Altinier, for effectively controlling the operations of the dryer at different modes which would result in effectively drying the object(s) to be dried such as clothe(s), hat(s), etc… within a shorter drying time. Thus, the dryer operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshitaka as modified discloses wherein in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode (ventilation operation mode, [0020]), the controller (20, fig. 1) is configured to control the driving motor (a rotating drum 11 that is rotated by a motor (not shown), [0017]) to rotate the drum (11, fig. 1) (only the rotating drum 11 is driven in conjunction with the driving of the dehumidifying fan 13, [0020]) so that air brought in from outside the dryer (10, fig. 1) reaches an inner surface of the drum (11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshitaka as modified discloses further comprising:
a fan (13, fig. 1) configured to generate wind power;
wherein the controller (20, fig. 1) further configured to control the fan (13, fig. 1) to form an open flow path (as shown in fig. 1) for air brought in from outside the dryer (10, fig. 1) to pass through the heat exchanger (12, fig. 1) and the drum (11, fig. 1) and flow back to outside the dryer (10, fig. 1) in the dehumidification mode (ventilation operation mode, [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshitaka as modified discloses wherein the controller (20, fig. 1) is further configured to, in response to receiving the command to perform the dehumidification mode (ventilation operation mode, [0020]), control operation of the fan (13, fig. 1).
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762