DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 15 September 2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “controller is further configured to at least one of allow…” in claims 8 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “at least one of” should grammatically be followed by a noun, herein the phrase is followed by a verb. Examiner suggests amending to “at least one of the following actions:” or a similar noun. For the purpose of examination claim 8 has been interpreted as:
“at least one of [the following actions]:
allow a user to specify a minimum state of charge to maintain or
associate available charging stations.”
Where the limitation has been divided by the verbs. Further emphasized portion of the limitation “allow a user to specify a minimum state of charge to maintain” is indefinite and does not indicate what is maintaining a state of charge.
The emphasized portion of the limitation “their respective consideration for discharging energy, an anticipated discharge power, or a time of day with the electric vehicle” is indefinite. The term “their” indicates possession but does not specify which noun they is referring to (electric vehicles, charging stations, users, etc..). The term “their respective” is not defined by the claim language, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Y.A. et al (US 20220227251 A1) which has the priority date of 30 November 2021 associated with PCT/IB2020/055152
Regarding claim 1, Y.A. teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system for electric vehicle battery charging, comprising: an electric vehicle supply equipment that is connectable to a distributed energy resource for charging/discharging a battery of an electric vehicle; (¶0027 “[FIG 1] an EV (101) enters an EV charger (102) for charging, the EV (101) may be authenticated prior to charging”, ¶0028 “[FIG 1] [distribution system operator] (107) is configured to distribute the electric energy from a grid (108) to the plurality of chargers. In an embodiment, the grid (108) is an interconnected network of power generating stations, transmission lines, distribution lines for delivering electricity from producers to consumers”)
and a controller in operative communication (FIG 1 and FIG 3 EV system operator 105)
with at least one of a communication network, (FIG 1 and FIG 3 gateway 103)
an electronic device of the electric vehicle, or a distributed energy resource controller (¶0028 “[FIG 1] The one or more charging points of the EV charger (102) is connected to a gateway (110) via a communication network (109). The gateway (110) is used to route the information between the EVSO (105), plurality of energy distribution vendor (104) and the one or more charging points of the EV charger (102)”)
and configured to transmit and receive electric vehicle supply equipment information (¶0028 “[FIG 1] The gateway (110) is used to route the information between the EVSO (105), plurality of energy distribution vendor (104) and the one or more charging points of the EV charger (102)”, similarly depicted in FIG 3)
associated with a manufacturer of at least one of the electric vehicle supply equipment or the electric vehicle to provide charging/discharging of the battery at a public charging station associated with the manufacturer. (¶0027 “An EV manufacturer (106) manufactures the EV (101) and a server (herein referred as EV manufacturer (106) server) hosted by the EV manufacturer (106) is communicatively connected to the EV (101).”, ¶0029 “[FIG 2] the query can be made to the EV manufacturer (106) and the EV manufacturer (106) forwards the query to the EVSO (105)”)
Similarly as applied to the system for electric vehicle battery charging, of claim 9, comprising: a solar array comprising a distributed energy resource; (¶0054 “the energy storage unit (801) can store the energy generated by the renewable sources of energy for example solar energy as shown in FIG. 8”)
a distributed energy resource controller operably connected to the distributed energy resource; (¶0028 “[FIG 1] The gateway (110) is used to route the information between the EVSO (105), plurality of energy distribution vendor (104) and the one or more charging points of the EV charger (102)”)
and an electric vehicle supply equipment system, (¶0027 “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary environment for charging electric vehicles”)
comprising: an electric vehicle supply equipment that is connectable to the distributed energy resource for charging/discharging a battery of an electric vehicle. (FIG 1 EV charger 102 connected to power grid 108 and electric vehicle 101, ¶0028 “The gateway (110) is used to route the information between the EVSO (105), plurality of energy distribution vendor (104) and the one or more charging points of the EV charger (102)”)
Regarding claim 2, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 1. Y.A. further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the controller is further configured to store control information relating to a service level agreement between an owner of the electric vehicle supply equipment or the electric vehicle and the manufacturer, (¶0027 “An EV manufacturer (106) manufactures the EV (101) and a server (herein referred as EV manufacturer (106) server) hosted by the EV manufacturer (106) is communicatively connected to the EV (101)... each of plurality of energy distribution vendors (104) has a vendor information unit (111) for storing identification information of the EV (101), identification information of the charging point (103) of an EV charger (102) and energy transaction associated with charging of the EV (101). For example, when an EV (101) enters an EV charger (102) for charging, the EV (101) may be authenticated prior to charging”, ¶0029 “[FIG 2] query can be made to the EV manufacturer (106) and the EV manufacturer (106) forwards the query to the EVSO (105)”)
and wherein the control information enables at least one functionality associated with charging/discharging of the battery at the public charging station associated by the manufacturer. (¶0027 “the EV manufacturer (106) server can monitor EV battery state and can recommend nearby charging points. In an embodiment, the EV manufacturer (106) may be associated with one or more energy distribution vendors (104) for providing chargers comprising charging points to charge the EV (101)”)
Similarly as applied to claim 10, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 9.
Regarding claim 3, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 2. Y.A. further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein charging/discharging of the battery at the public charging station (¶0027 “each of plurality of energy distribution vendors (104) has a vendor information unit (111) for storing identification information of the EV (101), identification information of the charging point (103) of an EV charger (102) and energy transaction associated with charging of the EV (101)”)
is based on at least one of free charging, (¶0058 “The EV (101) can locate the charging point (103) from a plurality of charging points for charging the EV (101) based on the distance to the plurality of charging points, unit energy cost for charging the EV (101) and availability of the plurality of charging points”; wherein the unit energy cost for the charging EV is $0)
reduced cost of charging, (¶0058 “The EV (101) can locate the charging point (103) from a plurality of charging points for charging the EV (101) based on the distance to the plurality of charging points, unit energy cost for charging the EV (101) and availability of the plurality of charging points”; wherein the unit energy cost for the charging EV is reduced)
maximum amount of power, (¶0028 “amount of energy distributed to each charger from the grid (108) is recorded in an EV system information unit associated with the EVSO and information unit (112) associated with DSO”)
or maximum amount of energy within a set period of time. (¶0031 “energy transaction for the EV (101) includes at least one of the time duration for charging the EV (101) at the charging point (103) of the EV charger (102), the total cost for charging the EV (101) at the charging point (103) of the EV charger (102)”)
Similarly as applied to claim 11, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y.A. modified by Goei et al (US 20220153156 A1) which has a filing date of 30 November 2021
Regarding claim 4, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 2. Y.A. further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the control information is [dynamically] adjustable over-the-air, (¶0028 “[FIG 1] The one or more charging points of the EV charger (102) is connected to a gateway (110) via a communication network (109)”)
and wherein the control information is based on at least one of time, (¶0029 “required charging time to charge the rechargeable batteries of the EV (101) or a waiting time for the availability of the charging point (103) at the EV charger (102) with the EVSO (105)”)
availability, (¶0029 “[FIG 2] EVSO (105) will query the plurality of energy distribution vendors (104) for the location information of respective EV chargers available in the geographical area of the EV (101)”)
Y.A. does not explicitly disclose wherein the control information is dynamically [adjustable].
Goei teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the control information is dynamically [adjustable]. (Goei ¶0055 “[FIG 4] Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404”, the vehicle is dynamically updating its location to choose a charging unit)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electric vehicle supply equipment system as taught by Y.A. wherein the control information is dynamically adjustable as taught by Goei improving electric vehicle user experience by guaranteeing EVSE availability and reducing range anxiety.
Similarly as applied to claim 12, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 10.
Regarding claim 5, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 2. Y.A. further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the at least one functionality enables intelligent routing via at least one of an in-electric vehicle navigation system, (¶0029 “the EV (101) uses navigation information for example from the satellites of the Global Positioning System (GPS) to navigate to the selected charging point (103) of the EV charger (102) for charging the EV (101)”)
a portable navigation system, (¶0029 “the EV (101) uses navigation information for example from the satellites of the Global Positioning System (GPS) to navigate to the selected charging point (103) of the EV charger (102) for charging the EV (101)”, the EV is able to move freely resulting in the navigation system to be portable).
Y.A. does not teach or a smartphone-based application to the public charging station, and wherein the at least one of the in-electric vehicle navigation system, the portable navigation system, or the smartphone-based application are configured to enable reservation capabilities that allow a lock-out feature at the public charging station such that after a certain time the public charging station can lock-out other electric vehicles from charging for a predetermined amount of time.
Goei teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system or a smartphone-based application to the public charging station, (¶0050 “[FIG 1] users of the system are able to interact with the central control server 104 using a mobile application 110 that is stored upon a mobile device such as a smart phone… and provides the ability to interconnect with the central control server 104 ”)
and wherein the at least one of the in-electric vehicle navigation system, the portable navigation system, or the smartphone-based application are configured to enable reservation capabilities (¶0055 “[FIG 4] Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404”, in order to track the real-time location of the EV there must be an active navigation system)
that allow a lock-out feature at the public charging station such that after a certain time the public charging station can lock-out other electric vehicles from charging for a predetermined amount of time. (¶0056 “appointment database 406 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 206. The appointment database 406 indicates a charging unit 206 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle”)
Goei describes the appointment database in ¶0056 to have time periods where it has designed a specific car to be charging at a specific charging station for a predetermined amount of time. The appointment database 406 would thereby mark those time periods as unavailable, locking out other electric vehicles from charging for a predetermined amount of time.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electric vehicle supply equipment as taught by Y.A. wherein the at least one of the in-electric vehicle navigation system enables reservation capabilities that allow a lock-out feature at the public charging station as taught by Goei by incorporating appointment database 406, as taught by Goei, into Y.A.’s electric vehicle system operator 105. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve electric vehicle user experience by guaranteeing EVSE availability and reducing range anxiety.
Similarly as applied to claim 13, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 10.
Regarding claim 6, Y.A. as modified by Goei teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 5. Y.A. as modified by Goei further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the intelligent routing is based on at least one of a most appropriate charging station associated with the manufacturer or real-time information about the electric vehicle, (Goei ¶0055 “[FIG 4] Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404”)
[wherein the most appropriate charging station associated with the manufacturer is based on an ability of the owner of the electric vehicle to discharge energy from the electric vehicle through a bidirectional charging station,]
and wherein the real-time information comprises at least one of a location of the electric vehicle, (Goei ¶0055 “[FIG 4] Databases within the charging controller server 204 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 206 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 404”)
[a remaining mileage on the battery of the electric vehicle, a direction of where the electric vehicle is traveling, or a final destination of the electric vehicle.]
Y.A. as modified by Goei does not teach wherein the most appropriate charging station associated with the manufacturer is based on an ability of the owner of the electric vehicle to discharge energy from the electric vehicle through a bidirectional charging station, [wherein the real-time information comprises] a remaining mileage on the battery of the electric vehicle, a direction of where the electric vehicle is traveling, or a final destination of the electric vehicle.
Goei further teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the most appropriate charging station associated with the manufacturer is based on an ability of the owner of the electric vehicle to discharge energy from the electric vehicle through a bidirectional charging station, (¶0144 “FIG. 31, there is an embodiment of a vehicle 3102 to grid (“V2G”) Grid-Tie EVSE Inverter/Charger system providing for the ability to both charge an electric vehicle and/or use the EV as a battery storage device”, ¶0148 “[FIG 31] adapter 3107 includes hardware/software functionality and protocols that operate in conjunction with Central server 3112 and the Grid operator(s) 3114 to enable and facilitate various V2G functions with one or more EVs 3102 as a Grid energy storage”)
[wherein the real-time information comprises] a remaining mileage on the battery of the electric vehicle, (¶0055 “[FIG 4] The database 402 may also store information related to… the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power”)
[a direction of where the electric vehicle is traveling,]
or a final destination of the electric vehicle. (¶0093 “using the trip planning functionalities 1202 of the application 1016, the user can simply plan a trip by selecting planned trip on the opening screen of his smart phone and the system in conjunction with AIS 1113 will check the availability of charging units 1014 at various destination points”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the electric vehicle supply equipment system as taught by Y.A. modified by Goei wherein the most appropriate charging station associated with the manufacturer is based on an ability of the owner of the electric vehicle to discharge energy from the electric vehicle through a bidirectional charging station as taught by Goei. This modification would be achieved by using the bi-directional EVSE of Goei into the electric vehicle supply equipment system as taught by Y.A. modified by Goei to allow the electric vehicle to provide power back to the grid. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve overall grid stability while providing the vehicle owner reduced energy/operational costs.
Similarly as applied to claim 14, Y.A. modified by Goei teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 13.
Regarding claim 7, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 1. Y.A. does not teach an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a reservation request directly to the public charging station via the communication network.
Goei teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a reservation request directly to the public charging station via the communication network. (¶0056 “appointment database 406 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 206. The appointment database 406 indicates a charging unit 206 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electric vehicle supply equipment as taught by Y.A. wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a reservation request directly to the public charging station via the communication network as taught by Goei by incorporating appointment database 406, as taught by Goei, into Y.A.’s electric vehicle system operator 105. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve electric vehicle user experience by guaranteeing EVSE availability and reducing range anxiety.
Similarly as applied to claim 15, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 10.
Regarding claim 8, Y.A. teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment system of claim 1. Y.A. does not teach an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the controller is further configured to at least one of allow a user to specify a minimum state of charge to maintain or associate available charging stations, their respective consideration for discharging energy, an anticipated discharge power, or a time of day with the electric vehicle.
Goei teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment system wherein the controller is further configured to at least one of allow a user to specify a minimum state of charge to maintain (¶0208 “Besides the rate structure and prices obtained from the utility, the flow control servers 106 may also take into account the type of electric resource 112, its state of charge, as well as user needs/preferences (i.e., when the user will need to use the resource 112 again, how tolerant the user is of the resource 112 not being fully charged, etc.)”, ¶0146 “adaptor functionality 3208 or adapter 3107 monitors the current flow and direction according to specified priorities… Other priorities may be to maximize supplying power to the Grid 3116 for income generation, which may entail triggering the flow of power to the Grid at pre-set EV charge level ranges”)
or associate available charging stations, their respective consideration for [discharging energy, an anticipated discharge power,]
or a time of day with the electric vehicle. (¶0146 “[FIG 32] adaptor functionality 3208 or adapter 3107 monitors the current flow and direction according to specified priorities, such as time of day electricity rates. Other priorities may be to maximize supplying power to the Grid 3116 for income generation”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the electric vehicle supply equipment system as taught by Y.A. wherein the controller is further configured to at least one of allow a user to specify a minimum state of charge to maintain or associate available charging stations, their respective consideration for a time of day with the electric vehicle as taught by Goei for the purpose of minimizing charging costs to the user by providing excess power to the grid during peak hours and maintaining a minimum charge such that the user may still use their vehicle.
Similarly as applied to claim 16, Y.A. teaches the system for electric vehicle battery charging of claim 10.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Logvinov et al (US 20200023747 A1) teaches a server based electric vehicle reservation system which allows users to set charging parameters.
Pandhi et al (US 20190344672 A1) teaches a computer system for receiving electric vehicle information related to mobile payment
Lafky et al (US 20110010043 A1) teaches a system that enables vehicle communication with an electric vehicle power management system using a smart charging module.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859