Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gruver et al. US20160282468.
Regarding independent claim 19, Gruver discloses, in Figures 1A-1B and 1D,
A system (Gruver; Fig. 1A-1B and 1D) for detecting road debris (Gruver; [0033] “for identification of smaller objects (e.g., debris, etc.)”) using LiDAR, the system comprising: a first illumination module (Gruver; the illumination portion of first LIDAR sensor 120), wherein: the first illumination module is positioned on a vehicle (Gruver; vehicle 100); the first illumination module comprises a first light source arranged to transmit light toward the ground a first predetermined distance in front of the vehicle (Gruver; [0064] first LIDAR 120 scans contour 162 with a medium range of distance of 100-meters); and the first light source is a laser; a second illumination module (Gruver; the illumination portion of second LIDAR sensor 122), wherein: the second illumination module is positioned on the vehicle; the second illumination module comprises a second light source arranged to transmit light toward the ground a second predetermined distance in front of the vehicle (Gruver; [0066] second LIDAR 122 scans contour 164 with a long range of distance of 300-meters); the second light source is a laser; and the second predetermined distance is different from the first predetermined distance; and a detection module (Gruver; the detection/receiving portion of first LIDAR sensor 120), wherein: the detection module is positioned on the vehicle; and the detection module is arranged to detect light from the first light source and/or the second light source after light from the first light source and/or the second light source is transmitted in front of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruver et al. US20160282468 in view of Donovan et al. US20200041614.
Regarding independent claim 1, Gruver discloses, in Figures 1A, 1C, 1D, and 1E,
A system (Gruver; Fig. 1A, 1C, 1D, and 1E) for detecting road debris (Gruver; [0033] “for identification of smaller objects (e.g., debris, etc.)”) using LiDAR, the system comprising: an illumination module (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104), wherein: the illumination module is positioned on a vehicle (Gruver; vehicle 100); the illumination module is contained within a first housing (Gruver; Fig. 1C; the housing portion that houses the light source of LIDAR 130); the illumination module comprises a light source arranged to transmit light toward the ground a predetermined distance in front of the vehicle (Gruver; Fig. 1C-1D); and a detection module (Gruver; the detection/receiver portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104), wherein: the detection module is positioned on the vehicle (Gruver; Fig. 1C-1D); and the detection module is arranged to detect light from the light source after light from the light source is transmitted in front of the vehicle (Gruver; Fig. 1C-1D).
Gruver does not disclose wherein the illumination module and the detection module are in separate, offset housing.
Donovan teaches, in Figure 13, a receiver module 1302 mounted at the roof on the passenger/right side, a transmitter module 1312 mounted to the sideview mirror of the driver/left side, and a transmitter module 1320 mounted near the front headlamp on the driver/left side (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302, transmitter module 1312, and transmitter module 1324 each have their own housing; receiver module 1302 is offset/staggered from transmitter module 1312 in both the vertical direction and in the horizontal direction; receiver module 1302 is positioned above the transmitter module 1324; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”; [0073] “The modular design described herein is also easier to integrate into different types of vehicles as the physical size is relatively small.”; [0074] “One feature of the modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching is the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements.” and “The modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching can separate the transmit and the receive signals to substantially mitigate any electrical cross-talk concern. This separation also can be used improve EMI emissions.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing configuration of the illumination module and the detection module and the relative positions of modules as taught by Gruver so that they are in separate housings and located in offset/staggered positions and to include a second illumination module as taught by Donovan for the purpose of having additional field-of-view FOV coverage by having an additional illumination module, for facilitating “seamless integration into the vehicle”, for providing “the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements”, and for improving EMI emissions (Donovan; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”; [0073] “The modular design described herein is also easier to integrate into different types of vehicles as the physical size is relatively small.”; [0074] “One feature of the modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching is the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements.” and “The modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching can separate the transmit and the receive signals to substantially mitigate any electrical cross-talk concern. This separation also can be used improve EMI emissions.”).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein the detection module is positioned on the vehicle to be vertically offset from the illumination module (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302 is positioned above the transmitter module 1324).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 2, wherein the detection module is above the illumination module (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302 is positioned above the transmitter module 1324).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 2.
Modified Gruver does not teach wherein the detection module is below the illumination module.
Donovan teaches that the detection module and the illumination module can be positioned virtually anywhere on a vehicle (Donovan; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relative position of the detection module as taught by Modified Gruver so that the detection module is positioned at the bumper and below the illumination module as taught by Donovan for the purpose of detecting reflections that are closer to the ground.
Regarding claim 5, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein the detection module is positioned on the vehicle to be horizontally offset from the illumination module (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302 is offset/staggered in the horizontal direction from the transmitter module 1324).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein: the light source is a first light source (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104); the detection module comprises a second light source (Gruver; LIDAR sensor 102); and the second light source and the detection module form a LiDAR sensor system (Gruver; Fig. 1A, 1C, 1D, and 1E; LIDAR system).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein the light source is arranged to project a fan-shaped illumination pattern (Gruver; [0055] “the third LIDAR 130 may have a FOY of 270° (horizontal) x 10° (vertical)” and “the 3D map determined based on the data from the third LIDAR 130 may have an angular resolution of 1.2° (horizontal) x 0.2° (vertical)”).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 8, wherein the light source is arranged to be scanned horizontally to produce the fan-shaped illumination pattern (Gruver; [0055] “the third LIDAR 130 may have a FOY of 270° (horizontal) x 10° (vertical)” and “the 3D map determined based on the data from the third LIDAR 130 may have an angular resolution of 1.2° (horizontal) x 0.2° (vertical)”).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 8, wherein the light source is arranged to horizontally rotate the fan-shaped illumination pattern to follow a road (Gruver; [0055] “the third LIDAR 130 may be configured to rotate (e.g., horizontally) across a wider FOY”).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein: the illumination module is a first illumination module (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104); and the system comprises a second illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1A, 1B, 1D, and 1E; [0065] second LIDAR 122 of LIDAR sensor 102 that scans a narrow contour 164 and that extends at a long range of distances; [0138] second LIDAR 122 scans a long range of distances within contour 164) arranged on the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 12, wherein the second illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1E; [0065] second LIDAR 122 of LIDAR sensor 102 that scans a narrow contour 164 and that extends at a long range of distances; [0138] second LIDAR 122 scans a long range of distances within contour 164) is arranged to point at a different distance in front of the vehicle than the first illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1E; [0138] third LIDAR 130 scans a short range distance within contour 166).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 12, wherein the second illumination module is arranged at a different height on the vehicle than the first illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1D; LIDAR sensor 102 is located higher/above LIDAR sensor 104).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 12, wherein the second illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1D; [0059] second LIDAR 122 of LIDAR sensor 102 scans between arrows 146 and 148 for a FOV of 15-degrees) has a field of view with a different angular extent than a field of view of the first illumination module (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104; [0061] third LIDAR 130 scans between arrows 150 and 152 for a FOV of 110-degrees).
Regarding independent claim 16, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
A method (Gruver; Fig. 1A, 1C, 1D, and 1E) for detecting road debris (Gruver; [0033] “for identification of smaller objects (e.g., debris, etc.)”) using LiDAR, the method comprising: transmitting light toward the ground a predetermined distance in front of a vehicle (Gruver; vehicle 100), wherein: light is transmitted using a light source that is part of an illumination module (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104); the illumination module is positioned on the vehicle; and the illumination module is contained within a first housing (Gruver; Fig. 1C; the housing portion that houses the light source of LIDAR 130); and detecting light from the light source, wherein: light from the light source is detected after light from the light source is transmitted in front of the vehicle; light is detected using a detection module (Gruver; the detection/receiver portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104); the detection module is positioned on the vehicle (Gruver; Fig. 1C-1D); the detection module is contained within a second housing; and the second housing is physically separate from the first housing so that the detection module is offset from the illumination module (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302, transmitter module 1312, and transmitter module 1324 each have their own housing; receiver module 1302 is offset/staggered from transmitter module 1312 in both the vertical direction and in the horizontal direction; receiver module 1302 is positioned above the transmitter module 1324; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”; [0073] “The modular design described herein is also easier to integrate into different types of vehicles as the physical size is relatively small.”; [0074] “One feature of the modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching is the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements.” and “The modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching can separate the transmit and the receive signals to substantially mitigate any electrical cross-talk concern. This separation also can be used improve EMI emissions.”).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method of claim 16, the method further comprising calculating a distance to an object in front of the vehicle based on detecting light from the light source (Gruver; [0003] “determining the distance to the object according to the time delay”; [0142 “indicating time-of-flight”]).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method of claim 16, wherein the light source is a laser (Gruver; [0003] “laser pulse”; [0039] LIDARs).
Regarding claim 20, Gruver discloses The system of claim 19, wherein: the second illumination module is vertically offset from the first illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1B; first LIDAR sensor 120 is located above second LIDAR sensor 122); and the detection module (Gruver; the detection/receiver portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104) is positioned on the vehicle to be vertically offset from the second illumination module (Gruver; Fig. 1B).
Gruver does not disclose the detection module is positioned on the vehicle to be vertically offset from the first illumination module.
Donovan teaches, in Figure 13, a receiver module 1302 mounted at the roof at a high-level, a transmitter module 1312 mounted at a mid-level, and a transmitter module 1324 mounted at a low-level (Donovan; Fig. 13; receiver module 1302, transmitter module 1312, and transmitter module 1324 each have their own housing; receiver module 1302 is offset/staggered from transmitter module 1312 and transmitter module 1324 in the vertical direction; receiver module 1302 is positioned so that it is vertically offset from both the transmitter modules 1312 and 1324; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”; [0073] “The modular design described herein is also easier to integrate into different types of vehicles as the physical size is relatively small.”; [0074] “One feature of the modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching is the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements.” and “The modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching can separate the transmit and the receive signals to substantially mitigate any electrical cross-talk concern. This separation also can be used improve EMI emissions.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relative position of the detection module as taught by Gruver so that it is in a separate housing and located in vertically offset/staggered position from both the first and second illumination modules as taught by Donovan for the purpose of facilitating “seamless integration into the vehicle”, for providing “the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements”, and for improving EMI emissions (Donovan; [0072] “The ability to have multiple modules of relatively small size allows the location of the transmitters and receives in virtually any location of the automobile 1308, which allows for seamless integration into the vehicle.”; [0073] “The modular design described herein is also easier to integrate into different types of vehicles as the physical size is relatively small.”; [0074] “One feature of the modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching is the ability to minimize electrical crosstalk between the transmitter and the receiver elements.” and “The modular LIDAR systems of the present teaching can separate the transmit and the receive signals to substantially mitigate any electrical cross-talk concern. This separation also can be used improve EMI emissions.”).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruver et al. US20160282468 in view of Donovan et al. US20200041614 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gilliland et al. US20120154785.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination module (Gruver; the light source portion of LIDAR 130 of LIDAR sensor 104).
Modified Gruver does not teach wherein the illumination module is arranged to rotate vertically to follow an elevation of a road.
Gilliland teaches wherein the illumination module is arranged to rotate vertically to follow an elevation of a road (Gilliland; Fig. 3-4 and 8 articulating LADAR headlamps and pivot mechanisms; articulating ladar sensor and headlamp 18 with motorized horizontal pivots 62 and motorized vertical pivots 63; [0031] “an important feature of the integrated headlamp and ladar sensor we describe is the ability to steer the field of view of the ladar illumination pulse 11 along with the headlamps mechanically in the vertical and horizontal axes.” and “therefore giving the greatest possible amount of time for collision threat detection and avoidance”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the illumination module as taught by Modified Gruver to vertically and horizontally articulate and rotate as taught by Gilliland for the purpose of steering the field of view to provide the maximum possible amount of time for collision thread detection and avoidance (Gilliland; [0031] “an important feature of the integrated headlamp and ladar sensor we describe is the ability to steer the field of view of the ladar illumination pulse 11 along with the headlamps mechanically in the vertical and horizontal axes.” and “therefore giving the greatest possible amount of time for collision threat detection and avoidance”).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruver et al. US20160282468 in view of Donovan et al. US20200041614 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kato US20220203987.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Gruver teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The system of claim 8, wherein a width of the fan-shaped illumination pattern on the ground is arranged to be (Gruver; [0055] “the third LIDAR 130 may have a FOY of 270° (horizontal) x 10° (vertical)” and “the 3D map determined based on the data from the third LIDAR 130 may have an angular resolution of 1.2° (horizontal) x 0.2° (vertical)”).
Modified Gruver is silent regarding wherein a width of the fan-shaped illumination pattern on the ground is arranged to be equal to or greater than 8 feet and equal to or less than 16 feet.
Kato teaches a reference distance that is about 4-7 meters which corresponds to a width distance that is wider than the width of a single lane and shorter than the width of two lanes (Kato; [0064] “the reference distance Ref is set to a distance that is longer than a lane width corresponding to one lane and is shorter than a lane width corresponding to two lanes. More specifically, the reference distance Ref may be set to about 4 to 7 [m].”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the pattern width as taught by Modified Gruver to be equal to or greater than 8 feet and equal to or less than 16 feet as taught by Kato for the purpose of detecting “obstacles or objects in an environment of the vehicle and thereby facilitate accident avoidance and/or autonomous operation” and to track nearby objects to support decision-making so that “the vehicle may adjust its navigational path accordingly (e.g., speed, direction, etc.) to facilitate accidence avoidance.”. (Gruver; [0028] “obstacles or objects in an environment of the vehicle and thereby facilitate accident avoidance and/or autonomous operation”; [0035] “the vehicle may adjust its navigational path accordingly (e.g., speed, direction, etc.) to facilitate accidence avoidance.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al. US20200209403 teaches, in Figures 1-2 and 11, a LIDAR sensor 101 and a laser elevation detection system 102. The laser elevation detection system 102 can slide and be re-positioned in the vertical direction.
Maass et al. US20220137197 teaches, in Figure 7, a LiDAR system that scans the ground.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 2/5/26