DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cumant (US 2015/0244134 A1) and Wei (US 11616311 B1).
Regarding claim 1: Cumant (Figures 1-3) teaches an electrical connection arrangement (4) for electrical and mechanical connection of a first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 2) to a second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. 6), the electrical connection arrangement (4) comprising:
an electrical connection element (8) (i.e. 7), having,
a first end, that defines a press portion (9) (i.e. 12), and
a second end, that defines a bearing portion (10) (i.e. 11), the bearing portion (10) having a bearing surface (14) (i.e. top surface of 7), and
a connection bore (16) (i.e. 15 and 17) is defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the connection bore (16) extends between the press portion (9) at the first end, and the bearing portion (10) at the second end (i.e. as in figure 1), and
the press portion (9) at the first end has at least one lateral contact surface (11) (i.e. 14) for electrical contact with an inner lateral surface (12) of a contact recess (13) (i.e. 5) defined in the first electrical conductor (2), and
the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) provides a non-positive connection to a side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
a first fastening means (17) (i.e. 8), wherein,
the first fastening means (17) is separable from the electrical connection element (8) and the first fastening means (17) extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. as in figure 1), or the first fastening means (17) is integral with the electrical connection element (8) and the integral first fastening means (17) defines, at least partially, the connection bore (16); and
a second fasting means (18) (i.e. 9) that extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the second fastening means (18) is connectable with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. via 21); and wherein
interconnection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) produces the non-positive connection between the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) and the side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as understood by figure 1); and
the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) is radially enlarged/spread apart responsive to the connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. via 20 within 16); and wherein
a non-positive connection between the at least one lateral contact surface (11) of the press portion (9) and the inner lateral surface (12) of the contact recess (13) defined in the first electrical conductor (2) is produced by connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. as understood by figure 1); and wherein
a mechanical interface (26) (i.e. 13) of the electrical connection element (8), rotationally fixes connection of the electrical connection element (8) to the first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. via the non-positive connection), or rotationally fixes connection of the electrical connection element (8) to the second electrical conductor (3);
but does not specifically teach wherein,
the mechanical interface (26),
has a non-circular cross-sectional profile along a longitudinal axis of the electrical connection element (8), between the first end and the second end, to provide a rotationally fixed, positive connection which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection with the first electrical conductor (2), or to provide a rotationally fixed, positive connection which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection with the second electrical conductor (3), or
the mechanical interface has an outer surface to provide a material connection, instead of a purely friction-based connection, with the first electrical conductor (2) or a material connection, instead of a purely friction-based connection, with the second electrical conductor (3).
However, Wei (Figure 5) teaches wherein the mechanical interface (i.e. 343) has a non-circular cross-sectional profile along a longitudinal axis of the electrical connection element (8), between the first end and the second end, to provide a rotationally fixed, positive connection which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection with the first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 31), or to provide a rotationally fixed, positive connection which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection with the second electrical conductor (3), or
the mechanical interface has an outer surface to provide a material connection, instead of a purely friction-based connection, with the first electrical conductor (2) or a material connection, instead of a purely friction-based connection, with the second electrical conductor (3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mechanical interface taught by Cumant with the mechanical interface taught by Wei to provide additional security to the desired connection.
Regarding claim 2: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein
the electrical connection element (8) is sleeve-shaped (i.e. as in figure 1); and
the connection bore (16) extends entirely through the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. as in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein
the bearing portion (10) is configured in one piece with the press portion (9) (i.e. as in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement as claimed in claim 1, Wei (Figure 5) further teaches wherein the press portion (i.e. 341) defines plural longitudinal slots (i.e. hex slots of 342) to form the at least one lateral contact surface (i.e. 342) in each case between two of the plural longitudinal slots;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the electrical connection arrangement taught by Cumant to have the press portion define plural longitudinal slots as taught by Wei so as to provide the desired locking geometry to the electrical connection arrangement.
Regarding claim 7: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement as claimed in claim 1, Wei (Figure 5) further teaches wherein the at least one lateral contact surface (11) has a radially outward convex bulge (i.e. each slot of the hex of 342 is a convex bulge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the electrical connection arrangement taught by Cumant to have the at least one lateral contact surface have a radially outward convex bulge as taught by Wei so as to provide the desired locking geometry to the electrical connection arrangement.
Regarding claim 9: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein,
at least one of the separable first fastening means (17), or the integral first fastening means (17), tapers on an outer lateral surface in the direction of the second end of the electrical connection element (8); or
the press portion (9) tapers on an inner lateral surface inside the connection bore (16) (i.e. 15 tapered), in the direction of the second end of the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. as in figure 1).
Regarding claim 10: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein
the first fastening means (17) defines an internal thread (i.e. 21) for threaded connection with the second fastening means (18).
Regarding claim 12: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein
the second fastening means (18) has a screw element (i.e. 9 is a screw element), the screw element having a screw head (21) (i.e. 23), and a screw shank (19) (i.e. 24) that is interconnected with the screw head (21), and
the screw head (21) contacts, directly or indirectly, a side surface of the second electrical conductor (3) opposite the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
the screw shank (19) can be passed, at least partially through a fastening recess (20) (i.e. 24 can be passed through recess of 6) defined in the second electrical conductor (3) and at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. as in figure 1), and wherein
the screw shank (19) defines an external thread (i.e. conventional screw thread) for forming a threaded connection with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. via 21),
Regarding claim 13: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) further teaches wherein the first electrical conductor (2) and the second electrical conductor (3) are configured as conductor rails (i.e. as in figure 1).
Regarding claim 14: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, Cumant (Figures 1-3) teaches further comprising:
a fastening recess (20) (i.e. hole of 6) defined in the second electrical conductor (3); and
the second fastening means (18) is passed, at least partially through the fastening recess (20) defined in the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
the fastening recess (20) has a larger cross-sectional extent than the portion of the second fastening means (18) passing through the fastening recess (20), for compensating for mechanical tolerances (i.e. as required for 24 to fit through 6).
Regarding claim 15: Cumant (Figures 1-3) teaches a method for producing an electrical and mechanical connection between a first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 2) and a second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. 6) comprising the steps:
providing an electrical connection element (8) (i.e. 7), the electrical connection element (8) having
a first end, that defines a press portion (9) (i.e. 12), and
a second end, that defines a bearing portion (10) (i.e. 11), the bearing portion (10) having a bearing surface (14) (i.e. top surface of 7), and
a connection bore (16) (i.e. 15 and 17) is defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the connection bore (16) extends between the press portion (9) at the first end, and the bearing portion (10) at the second end, and
the press portion (9) at the first end has at least one lateral contact surface (11) (i.e. 14) for electrical contact with an inner lateral surface (12) of a contact recess (13) (i.e. 5) defined in the first electrical conductor (2), and
the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) provides a non-positive connection to a side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
a first fastening means (17) (i.e. 8) that extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8); and
a second fastening means (18) (i.e. 9) that extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the second fastening means (18) is connectable with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. as in figure 1); and wherein
interconnection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) produces the non-positive connection between the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) and the side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as understood by figure 1); and wherein
the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) is radially enlarged/spread apart responsive to connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. as understood by figure 1); and wherein
a non-positive connection between the at least one lateral contact surface (11) of the press portion (9) and the inner lateral surface (12) of the contact recess (13) defined in the first electrical conductor (2) is produced by connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. via 21); and
positioning the electrical connection element (8) between the first electrical conductor (2) and the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
introducing the first fastening means (17) into the connection bore (16) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
introducing the second fastening means (18) into the connection bore (16) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
connecting the first fastening means (17) and the second fastening means (18) to one another so that the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) contacts the side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) and the first fastening means (17), or the second fastening means (18) (i.e. as in figure 1), radially enlarges/spreads apart the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) which creates the non-positive connection between at least one lateral contact surface (11) of the radially enlarged/spread apart press portion (9) and the inner lateral surface (12) of the contact recess (13) of the first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. as in figure 1); and providing a rotationally fixed interconnection (i.e. as in figure 1),
but does not specifically teach
at least one of,
providing a mechanical interface (26) that has a non-circular cross-sectional profile which rotationally fixes the interconnection of the electrical connection element (8) to the first electrical conductor (2), or to the second electrical conductor (3) with a positive connection, which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection, or
configuring a non-circular geometry inside the connection bore of the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) to receive, engage and interlock with a corresponding external non-circular geometry of the first fastening means (17) in a positive, rotationally fixed manner which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection.
However, Wei (Figure 5) teaches providing a mechanical interface (26) (i.e. 343) that has a non-circular cross-sectional profile which rotationally fixes the interconnection of the electrical connection element (8) to the first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 31), or to the second electrical conductor (3) with a positive connection, which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection, or
configuring a non-circular geometry inside the connection bore of the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) to receive, engage and interlock with a corresponding external non-circular geometry of the first fastening means (17) in a positive, rotationally fixed manner which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mechanical interface taught by Cumant with the mechanical interface taught by Wei to provide additional security to the desired connection.
Regarding claim 17: Cumant (Figures 1-3) teaches an electrical connection arrangement (4) for electrical and mechanical connection of a first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 2) to a second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. 6), the electrical connection arrangement (4) comprising:
an electrical connection element (8) (i.e. 7), having,
a first end, that defines a press portion (9) (i.e. 12), and
a second end, that defines a bearing portion (10) (i.e. 11), the bearing portion (10) having a bearing surface (14) (i.e. top of 7), and
a connection bore (16) (i.e. 15 and 17) is defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the connection bore (16) extends between the press portion (9) at the first end, and the bearing portion (10) at the second end (i.e. as in figure 1), and
the press portion (9) at the first end has at least one lateral contact surface (11) (i.e. 14) for electrical contact with an inner lateral surface (12) of a contact recess (13) (i.e. 5) defined in the first electrical conductor (2), and
the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) provides a non-positive connection to a side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
a first fastening means (17) (i.e. 8), and wherein,
the first fastening means (17) is separable from the electrical connection element (8) and the first fastening means (17) extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. as in figure 1), or the first fastening means (17) is integral with the electrical connection element (8) and the integral first fastening means (17) defines, at least partially, the connection bore (16); and
a second fastening means (18) (i.e. 9) that extends at least partially through the connection bore (16) defined in the electrical connection element (8) and the second fastening means (18) is connectable with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. as in figure 1); and wherein
interconnection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) produces the non-positive connection between the bearing surface (14) of the bearing portion (10) and the side surface (15) of the second electrical conductor (3) (i.e. as in figure 1); and
the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) is radially enlarged/spread apart responsive to the connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. as understood by figure 1); and wherein
a non-positive connection between the at least one lateral contact surface (11) of the press portion (9) and the inner lateral surface (12) of the contact recess (13) defined in the first electrical conductor (2) is produced by connection of the second fastening means (18) with the first fastening means (17) (i.e. via 21); and wherein
the press portion (9) of the electrical connection element (8) is configured to receive the first fastening means (17) in a rotationally fixed manner (i.e. via the non-positive connection);
but does not specifically teach wherein
the press portion (9) defines a non-circular geometry inside the connection bore (16) which engages with, and interlocks with, a corresponding external non-circular geometry of the first fastening means (17) so as to provide a positive non-rotatable connection therebetween, which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection.
Wei (Figure 5) teaches wherein
the press portion (9) (i.e. 352) defines a non-circular geometry inside the connection bore (16) (i.e. 351) which engages with, and interlocks with, a corresponding external non-circular geometry of the first fastening means (17) (i.e. 343 of 34) so as to provide a positive non-rotatable connection therebetween, which is based on interlocking shapes instead of a purely friction-based connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the press portion and first fastening means taught by Cumant to have the non-circular geometry taught by Wei to provide additional security to the connection.
Regarding claim 18: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mechanical interface (26) that rotationally fixes the connection is the bearing portion (10) of the electrical connection element (8) (i.e. Wei’s modification of Cumant places Wei’s 343 on the bottom of Cumant’s 13 which is comprised by 11).
Regarding claim 19: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mechanical interface (26) has at least one linear/non-curved surface/section that prevents rotation of the electrical connection element (8) relative to the respective electrical conductor (2), (3) (i.e. edge of Wei’s 343 per the modification of claim 1).
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cumant, Wei, and Douglas (US 1978935).
Regarding claim 16: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement as claimed in claim 1, but do not specifically teach
plural lateral contact surfaces (11); and
the plural lateral contact surfaces are configured as spring tabs of a spring cage.
However, Douglas (Figures 4-5) teaches
plural lateral contact surface (11) (i.e. outer surfaces of 18); and
the plural lateral contact surfaces are configured as spring tabs of a spring cage (i.e. as in figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electrical connection arrangement taught by Cumant and Wei to further comprise plural lateral contact surfaces configured as spring tabs of a spring cage as taught by Douglas because the form of the spring cage helps to prevent inadvertent removal of the spring cage from the arrangement.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cumant, Wei, and Dahmer (US 2024/0170862 A1).
Regarding claim 20: Cumant and Wei teach the electrical connection arrangement (4) as claimed in claim 1 but do not specifically teach further comprising:
a housing shell (25); and wherein
the rotationally fixed connection to the first electrical conductor (2) or the rotationally fixed connection to the second electrical conductor (3) is provided via cooperating surfaces between the housing shell (25) and the mechanical interface (26).
However, Dahmer (Marked version of figure 1 below) teaches
a housing shell (25) (i.e. 11); and wherein
the rotationally fixed connection to the first electrical conductor (2) (i.e. 9) or the rotationally fixed connection to the second electrical conductor (3) is provided via cooperating surfaces (i.e. see figure below) between the housing shell (25) and the mechanical interface (26) (i.e. surface of 18 in figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electrical connection arrangement taught by Cumant and Wei to have a housing shell as taught by Dahmer in order to protect the arrangement from foreign matter. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the rotationally fixed connection via cooperating surfaces between the housing shell and mechanical interface since this mechanically secures the housing to the arrangement.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For addition questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/G.L.M./
Gregory Lawrence Mangot
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834