FINAL REJECTION
1. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 and 12 are presented for examination. Claims 3, 6 and 11 are canceled.
2. The text of those applicable section of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribbich et al. (Ribbich), US publication no. 2016/03279211 in view of Li (Li), CN 202126052 U.
As per claim 1, Ribbich discloses a structure monitoring assembly [figure 7A] comprising:
a plurality of remote units, the remote units of the plurality of remote units being mountable to a structure at various locations within the structure [figure 7B; par 40], each remote unit comprising:
a plurality of remote sensors, each remote sensor of the plurality of remote sensors measuring a respective parameter corresponding to a potentially dangerous condition, such that the plurality of remote sensors measures a variety of parameters corresponding to a variety of potentially dangerous conditions [para 40, 115]; a remote speaker, the remote speaker being operationally coupled with the plurality of remote sensors and configured for broadcasting an audible alert upon detection of a potentially dangerous condition [para 123, 125]; a plurality of remote light emitting diodes, the plurality of remote light emitting diodes being operationally coupled with the plurality of remote sensors and configured for emitting a visual alert upon detection of the potentially dangerous condition [para 123]; and a strobe light, the strobe light being operationally coupled with the plurality of remote sensors and configured for projecting a lighted arrow toward an exit closest to the remote unit upon detection of the potentially dangerous condition [para 123, 125, 193, 194]; and a base station, the base station being in communicative engagement with the plurality of remote units, wherefrom the base station receives measurements of the parameters corresponding to the variety of potentially dangerous conditions, the base station being in communicative engagement with a building automation and control network (BACnet) of the structure, which is operationally engaged to at least one utility of the structure, whereupon the base station selectively signals the BACnet for shutting off one or more utilities of the structure [figures 7A; para 118, 123, 188]; each remote unit comprises: a remote housing defining an interior space, the remote sensors of the plurality of remote sensors being attached to the remote housing and positioned either in the interior space or upon a front face of the remote housing [figure 7A; para 104], the remote speaker, the plurality of remote light emitting diodes, and the strobe light being attached to the front face, the front face having a plurality of slots positioned therein for venting the interior space [para 112, 115, 117]; a remote battery, the remote battery being attached to the remote housing and positioned in the interior space [para 119]; a microcontroller, the microcontroller being attached to the remote housing and positioned in the interior space, the microcontroller being operationally engaged to the remote battery, the plurality of remote sensors, the remote speaker, the plurality of remote light emitting diodes, and the strobe light; and a remote transceiver, the remote transceiver being attached to the remote housing, positioned in the interior space, and operationally engaged to the microcontroller [para 31, 32, 99, 104, 117, 119, 123, 125, 193, 194].
Ribbich fails to disclose a back face of the remote housing has a set of keyhole slots positioned therein, wherein each keyhole slot of the set of keyhole slots is configured for insertion of a respective article of mounting hardware for mounting the remote housing to a wall or to a ceiling of the structure.
Li discloses a back face of the remote housing has a set of keyhole slots [22, figure 1] positioned therein, wherein each keyhole slot of the set of keyhole slots is configured for insertion of a respective article of mounting hardware for mounting the remote housing to a wall or to a ceiling of the structure [figure 1; English translation, para 5, 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Ribbich and Li because they both disclose an controller system, the specify teachings of Li stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Ribbich system to obtain predictable results to securely mounting the system.
Ribbich teaches:
[0118] In some embodiments, each sensor unit includes an integrated controller or other electronics configured to control conditions within the room in which the sensor unit is installed. For example, each sensor unit may be connected to a power relay for the room or zone in which the sensor unit is installed. The power relay may be installed within the electrical gang box along with the sensor unit (as shown in FIGS. 7C-7D). Each sensor unit may be configured to operate the power relay to activate or deactivate various power outlets, appliances, or other devices in the room. In some embodiments, the sensor units are configured to act upon voice commands without requiring the main control unit. For example, a sensor unit may operate a connected
power relay (e.g., a power relay installed in the electrical gang box with the sensor unit) in response to sensing a voice command at a microphone of the sensor unit.
[0123] In some embodiments, the main control unit uses input from multiple different sensor units to determine a safe evacuation route out of the home. For example, each sensor unit may include sensors configured to detect a fire (e.g., smoke detectors, thermal cameras, etc.) in the room in which the sensor unit is installed. If a fire is detected in the living room, the main control unit may determine that any evacuation
route out of the home should avoid the living room. The main control unit may be configured to cause the sensor units in each room to display a safe evacuation route ( e.g., via the display screens of the sensor units) which avoids the room with the fire. In some embodiments, the main control unit and/or sensor units announce the evacuation route audibly or display the evacuation routes on a map based upon the locations of the sensed hazards.
[0188] Referring now to FIGS. 23-26, an exemplary building management system (BMS) and HVAC system in which user control device 100 may be implemented are shown, according to some embodiments. Referring particularly to FIG. 23, a perspective view of a building 10 is shown. Building 10 is served by a BMS. A BMS is, in general, a system of devices configured to control, monitor, and manage equipment in or around a building or building area. A BMS can include, for example, an HVAC system, a security system, a lighting system, a fire alerting system, any other system that is capable of managing building functions or devices, or any combination thereof.
Li teaches:
[0016] As picture 1, picture 2, picture 3, this utility model A plate mounting structure of air conditioner temperature controller, comprising a temperature controller; and one is set on the wall body of the clamping plate 5, the temperature controller comprises a shell and a display panel (not shown) connected within the shell, the shell comprises a front shell 1, a rear shell 2, the front shell 1 connect together through two buckles 3 and one two ends of the rear shell 2, the front shell 1 connected together by screw 4 and the rear shell 2 corresponding to the other end. The mounting structure further comprises a set on the wall body of the clamping plate 5, the clamping plate 5 is provided with the temperature controller shell 2 of the base 21 for the controller is buckled on the plate 5 within the groove 51. the back of the back shell 2 is provided with four hanging holes 22, the retention boards 5 is set corresponding to the hanging hole of the cylinder 52. the temperature controller is buckled on the plate 5 within the groove 51 when the corresponding embedding corresponding hanging hole within the column 52 22.
As per claim 2, Ribbich discloses the plurality of remote sensors comprises:
a remote temperature sensor, the remote temperature sensor being configured for measuring a temperature of air proximate to the remote unit; a remote smoke detector, the remote smoke detector being configured for detecting smoke proximate to the remote unit; a remote air quality sensor, the remote air quality sensor being configured for measuring levels of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, and sulphur dioxide in the air proximate to the remote unit; and a remote particulate sensor, the remote particulate sensor being configured for measuring a level of particulates in the air proximate to the remote unit [figure 7A; para 40, 112, 115].
As per claim 4, Ribbich discloses a display panel, the display panel being attached to the front face of the remote housing and operationally engaged to the microcontroller [para 123, 125].
As per claim 5, Ribbich discloses a remote ethernet port, the remote ethernet port being attached to a back face of the remote housing and operationally engaged to the microcontroller [figure 8; para 126, 131].
As per claim 7, Ribbich discloses a back face of the remote housing having a cutout positioned therein proximate to the remote battery, such that the remote battery is accessible to a user; and a plate, the plate being selectively attachable to the remote
housing for closing the cutout [para 119].
As per claim 8, Ribbich discloses the base station comprises: a base housing defining an internal space; a base battery, the base battery being attached to the base
housing and positioned in the internal space; a microprocessor, the microprocessor being attached to the base housing, positioned in the internal space, and operationally engaged to the base battery; a touchscreen, the touchscreen being attached to a forward face of the base housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor;
a base transceiver, the base transceiver being attached to the base housing, positioned in the internal space, and configured for receiving the measurements of the
parameters corresponding to the variety of potentially dangerous conditions from plurality of remote units; a base speaker, the base speaker being attached to the base
housing, operationally engaged to the microprocessor, and configured for broadcasting an audible alert upon detection of a potentially dangerous condition; and a plurality of base light emitting diodes, the plurality of base light emitting diodes being attached to the base housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor and configured for emitting a visual alert upon detection of the potentially dangerous condition [figure 8; para 123, 125, 129, 133, 188].
As per claim 9, Ribbich discloses a plurality of base sensors, each base sensor of the plurality of base sensors being attached to the base housing, operationally engaged to the microprocessor, and configured for measuring a respective parameter corresponding to a potentially dangerous condition, such that the plurality of base sensors measures a variety of parameters corresponding to a variety of potentially dangerous conditions [para 112, 123, 131].
As per claim 10, Ribbich discloses the plurality of base sensors comprising:
a base temperature sensor, the base temperature sensor being configured for measuring a temperature of air proximate to the base station; a base smoke detector, the base smoke detector being configured for detecting smoke proximate to the base
station; a base air quality sensor, the base air quality sensor being configured for measuring levels of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, and sulphur dioxide in the air proximate to the base station; and a base particulate sensor, the base particulate sensor being
configured for measuring a level of particulates in the air proximate to the base station [figure 7A; para 40, 112-115].
As per claim 12 is contained the same limitations as set forth claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-10. Therefore, same rejection is applied.
5. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
See detailed rejection indicated above.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Ribbich is cited in prior office action.