DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-18, 23-66, 72-83, 87-109, 111-128 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim and/or should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The examiner notes claim 19 is not present in the claims filed on 5/2/23. The examiner assumes claim 19 has been canceled. The canceled claim should be listed in an amendment with the proper status modifier indicating said claim was canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 20-22, 85-86, and 110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "obtainable from" in line 2. It is unclear if the polyurea is obtained/produced from the reaction, or if the polyurea is merely obtainable. Accordingly, claim 1 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be interpreted the polyurea is obtained from the reaction.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "obtainable from" in line 2. It is unclear if the polyurea is obtained/produced from the reaction, or if the polyurea is merely obtainable. Accordingly, claim 2, and dependent claims 3-5 and 20-22 are indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 2 will be interpreted the polyurea is obtained from the reaction.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation C1-C8 alkylene, and the claim also recites C2-C8 alkylene, C2-C4 alkylene which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation C1-C8 alkylene, and the claim also recites C2-C8 alkylene, C2-C4 alkylene which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 21 recites the broad recitation C1-C8 alkylene, and the claim also recites C2-C8 alkylene, C2-C4 alkylene which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 85 recites the broad recitation C1-C8 alkylene, and the claim also recites C2-C8 alkylene, C2-C4 alkylene which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 86 recites the broad recitation C1-C12 hydrocarbyl, and the claim also recites C3-C10 hydrocarbyl, a C1-C12 hydrocarbyl selected from which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claims 4-5, 21, 85-86: the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph should be made. The examiner should analyze whether the metes and bounds of the claim are clearly set forth [see MPEP 2173.05(d)].
Claim 110 recites the limitation "obtainable from" in line 2. It is unclear if the polyurea is obtained/produced from the reaction, or if the polyurea is merely obtainable. Accordingly, claim 110 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 110 will be interpreted the polyurea is obtained from the reaction.
Claim 110; It is unclear if the text within the parentheses (e.g. of the diamine and the triamine) is included in the claim and further limits the subject matter of the claim, or whether it is an aside to the claim and is not further limiting. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken that the text within the parenthesis further limits the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grigsby et al. (WO 2020/185450).
Regarding claim 1: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028-0029]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run H] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (Rubinate 44) in Run H as the isocyanate [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.01 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run H]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Surfonamine L series has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0039].
Note Surfonamine L series:
[0039].
Claim(s) 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grigsby et al. (WO 2020/185450).
Regarding claim 67: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028-0029]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run H] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (Rubinate 44) in Run H as the isocyanate [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.01 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run H]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Surfonamine L series has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0039].
Note Surfonamine L series:
[0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grigsby et al. (WO 2020/185450).
Regarding claims 2-5: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028-0029]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a monoamine [0036] such as Surfonamine L-series, that has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0036; 0039]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a diamine [0041] such as Jeffamine D-series, that has a -NH2 end groups and methyl or ethyl (R2 = CH3 ; CH2CH3) side chains [0042].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run H] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (Rubinate 44) in Run H as the isocyanate [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.01 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run H].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing L200 and a Jeffamine D-series. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amine based on the invention of Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450), and would have been motivated to do so since Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) suggests that the composition can contain Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amines [0041-0042]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Note Surfonamine L-series:
[0039];
Jeffamine D-series:
[0042].
Regarding claims 20-22: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the basic claimed additive [as set forth above with respect to claim 2].
Note: claims 20-22 further defines species of the triamine component recited in claim 2. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the triamine component (i.e. claims 2 and 20-22 do not require the rheological additive to comprise the triamine component).
Claim(s) 68-70 and 84-86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grigsby et al. (WO 2020/185450).
Regarding claims 68-70: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028-0029]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a monoamine [0036] such as Surfonamine L-series, that has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0036; 0039]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a diamine [0041] such as Jeffamine D-series, that has a -NH2 end groups and methyl or ethyl (R2 = CH3 ; CH2CH3) side chains [0042].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run H] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (Rubinate 44) in Run H as the isocyanate [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.01 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run H].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing L200 and a Jeffamine D-series. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amine based on the invention of Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450), and would have been motivated to do so since Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) suggests that the composition can contain Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amines [0041-0042]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Note Surfonamine L-series:
[0039];
Jeffamine D-series:
[0042].
Regarding claims 84 and 86: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028-0029]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a monoamine [0036] such as Surfonamine L-series, that has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0036; 0039]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a triamine [0045] such as Jeffamine T-series, that has a -NH2 end groups, R3 as hydrogen, methyl or ethyl (R3 = H; CH3 ; CH2CH3) and R4 as hydrogen or ethyl (R4 = H ; CH2CH3), [0045].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run H] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (Rubinate 44) in Run H as the isocyanate [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.01 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run H].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing L200 and a Jeffamine T-series. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a Jeffamine T-series polyoxyalkylene amine based on the invention of Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450), and would have been motivated to do so since Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) suggests that the composition can contain Jeffamine T-series polyoxyalkylene amines [0045]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Note Surfonamine L-series:
[0039];
Jeffamine T-series:
[0045].
Regarding claim 85: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses polyoxyalkylene diamines having instant R3 as -CR2CH2- (R2 = H or CH3) [0041] and -CHCH3-CH2- [0043].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) does not specifically disclose polyoxyalkylene triamines having instant R3 as -CR2CH2- (R2 = H or CH3) or -CHCH3-CH2-. However, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [see MPEP 2144.09].
Claim(s) 110 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grigsby et al. (WO 2020/185450).
Regarding claim 110: Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses dispersants prepared from an isocyanate and a polyoxyalkylene amine [abstract], wherein the isocyanate can be a diisocyanate having a uretdione moiety prepared by dimerization of diisocyanates such as hexamethylene diisocyanate and 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate (4,4’-MDI) [0028; 0030-0032]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a monoamine [0036] such as Surfonamine L-series, that has a -CH3 end group and a methyl (R = CH3) side chain [0036; 0039]. Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses the polyoxyalkylene amine can be a diamine [0041] such as Jeffamine D-series, that has a -NH2 end groups and methyl or ethyl (R2 = CH3 ; CH2CH3) side chains [0042].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0067; Table 1, Run A] reacts Surfonamine L200 amine and a diisocyanate having a uretdione moiety prepared by dimerization hexamethylene diisocyanate (note: hexamethylene diisocyanate exchanged for 4,4’-MDI (via Isonate 143L) as the dimerized diisocyanate in Run A [see MPEP 2131.02]) at a 1.00 N/NCO ratio [Ex. 1; 0067; Tables 1-2, Run A].
Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1 containing L200 and a Jeffamine D-series. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amine based on the invention of Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450), and would have been motivated to do so since Grigsby et al. (WO ‘450) suggests that the composition can contain Jeffamine D-series polyoxyalkylene amines [0041-0042]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where changes in the sequence of adding ingredients derived from the prior art process steps. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.) [See MPEP 2144.04].
Note Surfonamine L-series:
[0039];
Jeffamine D-series:
[0042].
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-3, 20, 67-69, and 110 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-3, 19, 67-69, and 111 of copending Application No. 18/995,535 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4-5, 21-22, 70-71, and 85 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5 and 20-21, 70-71 of copending Application No. 18/995,535 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rheological additive of Application No. 18/995,535 anticipates the instant rheological additive of claims 4-5 when R3 is C1-C8 alkylene and R4 is C1-C8 alkylene, respectively. The rheological additive of Application No. 18/995,535 anticipates the instant rheological additive of claims 21-22 when R3 is C1-C8 alkylene and R5 is a linear or branched C1-C12 hydrocarbyl, respectively. The rheological additive of Application No. 18/995,535 anticipates the instant rheological additive of claims 70-71 when R3 is C1-C8 alkylene and R4 is C1-C8 alkylene, respectively. The rheological additive of Application No. 18/995,535 anticipates the instant rheological additive of claim 85 when (L2) has R3 as C1-C8 alkylene.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767