DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 5/2/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 8/18/2023 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-11,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carbunaru et al, (Carbunaru), (USNO.2012/0119699).
As for claim 1, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C a charging device comprising: at least one coil contained in a housing (ref’ external charging housing), wherein the at least one coil wirelessly transfers energy to an implantable medical device; and a coil manipulator (ref’s actuator) that adjusts a configuration of the at least one coil within the housing (par.[ 0007-0014,0034,0048,0058]).
As for claim 2, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C the coil manipulator moves the at least one coil within the housing.
As for claim 3, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C the coil manipulator moves the at least one coil within the housing by translating a position of the at least one coil within the housing.
As for claim 5, Carbunaru discloses at least one sensor (via ref’s microstimulator) that provides a sensor reading to a charging engine (par.[0045-0049]).
As for claim 6, Carbunaru discloses the charging engine instructs the coil manipulator to adjust the configuration of the at least one coil based on the sensor reading (par.[0045-0049])
As for claim 7, Carbunaru discloses the sensor reading provides an indication of an efficiency with which the at least one coil is wirelessly transferring energy to the implantable medical device (par.[0045-0049]).
As for claim 8, Carbunaru discloses the sensor reading provides an indication of a distance between the at least one coil and a receiver coil in the implantable medical device (par.[0045-0049]).
As for claim 9, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C the at least one coil is provided on a support substrate (ref’s coil plate) in the housing and wherein the coil manipulator adjusts the configuration of the at least one coil by moving the support substrate (par.[0057]).
As for claim 10, Carbunaru discloses and shows in Fig. 7C the at least one coil comprises a wire mounted on the support substrate.
As for claim 11, Carbunaru discloses and shows in Fig. 7C the at least one coil comprises a conductive material printed (via ref’s coil and pcb) on the support substrate
As for claim 13, Carbunaru discloses the at least one coil comprises an array of coils (par.[0054]).
As for claim 14, Carbunaru discloses coil manipulator comprises one or more electrical switches that selectively activate and deactivate coils in the array of coils (par.[0053])
As for claim 15, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C configuration of the at least one coil is adjusted to maximize charging efficiency between the at least one coil and the implantable medical device (par.[0048])
As for claim 16, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C a system comprising: a chargeable device having a receiver coil; and a charging device comprising: a charging coil that wirelessly transfers energy to the receiver coil; and a coil manipulator (ref’s actuator) that changes a configuration of the charging coil to improve an efficiency with which the energy is wirelessly transferred to the receiver coil during a charging session (par.[ 0007-0014,0034,0048,0058]).
As for claim 17, Carbunaru discloses at least one sensor that provides a sensor reading to determine an efficiency with which the energy is wirelessly transferred to the receiver coil during the charging session (par.[0045-0046]).
As for claim 18, Carbunaru discloses the at least one sensor comprises one or more of an electromagnetic sensor, an optical sensor, an acoustic sensor, a mechanical sensor, and a thermal sensor (par.[0045-0046]).
As for claim 19, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIG. 7C wherein the coil manipulator at least one of physically moves the charging coil or adjusts an RF field produced by the charging coil
As for claim 20, Carbunaru discloses and shows in FIGs. 7C and 8 a system comprising: a housing (ref’ external charging housing); a charging coil contained within the housing; and a coil manipulator (ref’s actuator) that physically moves the charging coil in the housing (par.[0007-0014,0034,0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schommer et al, (Schommer), (USNO.2005/0075700).
As claims 4 and 12, Carbunaru discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose coil manipulator moves the at least one coil within the housing by rotating a position of the at least one coil within the housing. Furthermore, at least one coil comprises a single coil.
Schommer discloses and shows in Figs. 3 and 12 coil manipulator moves (via core cup assembly) the at least one coil within the housing by rotating a position of the at least one coil within the housing (par.[0060,0072]) . Furthermore, Schommer discloses and shows in at least one coil comprises a single coil (par.[0060])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Carbunaru by using coil manipulator moves the at least one coil within the housing by rotating a position of the at least one coil within the housing for advantages such as providing more closely be aligned with secondary coil (par.[0060]) , as taught by Schommer.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859