DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Claims
1-18 are now pending in the present application.
The amendment to paragraph [0023] of the specification has been accepted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that "... at a first time point when radar is detected on a first channel used by a first link among the multiple links, and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information, starting performing a first procedure ..." it should be regarded as a non-breakable presumption (e.g., a predetermined condition being satisfied) for the operation of "starting performing a first procedure ..." to be executed. The examiner respectfully disagrees because the phrase “and at which” describes circumstances under which the claimed procedure operates, not a requirement that both conditions must be simultaneously satisfied. The claim describes when the procedure starts, at the first time point (when the radar detected), the scenario being addressed (where the other device is not ready to receive). The Phrase “to make…be received” indicates the procedure’s purpose, to ensure reception when the device becomes ready. This inherently contemplates scenarios where immediate reception is not possible, and the procedure is designed to handle such scenarios.
Lee teaches (Lee, Table 21- Association of STAs with an AP in a BSS based on the STAs’ supported channels. Quieting the current channel so it can be tested for the presence of radar with less interference from other STAs. Testing channels for radar before using a channel and while operating in a channel. Discontinuing operations after detecting radar in the current channel to avoid interference with radar). In this case Lee teaches radar detection procedures and consideration of STA readiness states during channel management operations. (Lee, Table 21- The channel switch should be scheduled so that all STAs in the BSS, including STAs in power save mode, have the opportunity to receive at least one Channel Switch Announcement element before the switch). STAs may be in power save mode, a state where the device is not ready to receive because its receiver is powered off to conserve battery. Watanabe teaches radar detection on a specific channel and checking for alternative communication paths at the time of interference detection (Paragraphs [0048]-[0051]; [0056]).
Watanabe teaches multi-link, radar detection and alternative links, Lee teaches that STA may be in power save mode (note ready) during channel management, and the combination of these teachings renders obvious the claimed procedure of using alternative links when radar detected and a device is not ready. For all the reasons explained above, the applicant’s non-breakable presumption argument is not persuasive and does not overcome the rejection.
Applicant further argues that Lee doesn’t disclose "the STAs in power save mode cannot receive the CSA due to power saving"? In particular, Lee can only say "have the opportunity to receive" rather than "can receive" in the last part of Table 21 above, indicating that the architecture of Lee also suffers from the existing dilemma regarding DFS: once radar is detected on a specific channel, the channel is not allowed for transmission for at least the "non-occupancy period"
(Lee Table 21-The channel switch should be scheduled so that all STAs in the BSS, including STAs in power save mode, have the opportunity to receive at least one Channel Switch Announcement element before the switch). Lee phrase “have the opportunity to receive” is functionally equivalent to and directly teaches the claim’s language “…at any time point when the other device is ready to receive the channel management information,” Both Lee’s teaching and the claim language describe a system where information is made available for reception over a period of time, and the actual moment of reception depends on when the receiving device transitions from a “not ready” state to a “ready” state, rather than reception occurring at one predetermined fixed instant.
When Lee teaches that STAs should “have the opportunity to receive at least one Channel Switch Announcement element before the switch Announcement element” this means that the channel switch announcements are transmitted multiple times or made available over a time period and each individual STA receives an announcement at whichever point in time that particular STA happens to be ready to receive. When Lee states “The channel switch should be schedule so that all STAs in the BSS, including STAs in power save mode, “have the opportunity to receive” this language is not expressing uncertainty or acknowledging an unsolved problem rather it is providing a normative requirement to implementers, telling them how the system must be designed to accommodate STAs in various power states.
Applicant argues that Lee also suffers from the existing dilemma regarding DFS: once radar is detected on a specific channel, the channel is not allowed for transmission for at least the "non-occupancy period". The examiner respectfully disagrees because this limitation doesn’t appear anywhere in the claim language. The claim recites “and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information,“ which describes a state of the receiving device (the device’s receiver is off, sleeping, not monitoring etc.), not restriction on the transmitting capability of the channel or access point.
Therefore, the applicant’s argument that Lee’s system “suffers from the existing dilemma regarding DFS” because of non-occupancy restrictions is arguing about a limitation (transmission prohibition) that is not recited in the claims.
Applicant further argues that Lee merely says "The channel switch should be scheduled “ rather than " The transmission should be scheduled," and more particularly, Lee merely says "have the opportunity to receive" rather than "can receive."
When Lee teaches “Table 21The channel switch should be scheduled so that all STAs in the BSS, including STAs in power save mode, have the opportunity to receive at least one Channel Switch Announcement element before the switch”. The phrase “channel switch should be scheduled” inherently encompasses and requires that the transmissions of channel switch announcement elements be scheduled because the only way to ensure STA’s have opportunities to receive announcements is to transmit those announcements at appropriate times. A person of ordinary skill in the art reading Lee’s teaching would understand that “scheduling the channel switch” to accommodate STAs in power save mode necessarily means scheduling the transmission of announcement frames during the period before the switch occurs, because the switch cannot be accommodated unless the announcements are transmitted.
(Lee Table 21 -An AP shall inform associated STAs that the AP is moving to a new channel and maintain the association by advertising the switch using Channel Switch Announcement elements in Beacon frames, Probe Response frames, and Channel Switch Announcement frames until the intended channel switch time). Lee teaches that the AP transmits (advertises) announcement elements continuously over a time period, which is precisely transmission scheduling. The AP schedules and transmits these elements repeatedly from the time the channel switch decision is made until the switch actually occurs.
Applicant further argues that “For part (a), a step should not be equal to a procedure. The examiner respectfully disagrees because Under BRI, the term “procedure” must be interpreted according to its ordinary meaning in the relevant technical field, and there is no reasonable interpretation under which “procedure” categorically excludes “steps” or requires something fundamentally different from a series of coordinated steps or actions. Merriam webster defines it as “a series of steps followed in a regular definite order.” Under this meaning, a “procedure” inherently consists of “steps” and teaching specific steps that accomplish a defined purpose necessarily teaches a procedure comprising those steps.
Applicant further argues that, part (b), a BSSID should not be equal to channel management information.” The examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim broadly recites “channel management information” without specifying format, structure, information elements. Under BRI, this broad language encompasses any information that manages channel usage, regardless of format. Without such explicit limitation, broad claim language receives broad interpretation.
(Watanabe Paragraph [0053] The AP 102 can execute this notification by, for example, further adding the information of a BSSID to a Channel Switch Announcement element as shown in FIG. 10 and transmitting a radio frame including the element to the STA 103). teaches that BSSID information can be “added to a channel Switch announcement element,” Watanabe establishes that BSSID information functions as channel management information, and it can be part of the same management frame structure as Channel Switch Announcement.
(Watanabe Paragraph [0053] The AP 102 may execute this notification by adding the BSSID to another existing element and transmitting the element or by including the BSSID in an element that is not currently defined and transmitting the element). Teaches multiple alternative formats for the same information further demonstrates that the claim’s broad term “channel management information” cannot be limited to one specific format (such as CSA). If Watanabe teaches that the same information (BSSID) can be transmitted in multiple different frame formats, all serving the purpose of managing channel usage, then “channel management information” under BRI must encompass all these formats.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2022/0330368; hereinafter Watanabe) in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0007247; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a method for performing channel usage management with aid of multi-link operation (MLO) architecture (Paragraphs [0022]; [0046] describes multi-link operation architecture where devices “concurrently using a plurality of radio frequency bands” with “a plurality of radio links can be established” for communication),
the method being applicable to a wireless transceiver device within a wireless communications system (Paragraph [0028] describes the hardware configuration of wireless devices ( AP 102 and the STA 103) and these are clearly wireless transceiver devices with both transmissions and reception capabilities),
the method comprising: utilizing the wireless transceiver device to communicate with another device within the wireless communications system through at least one portion of multiple links respectively corresponding to multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Paragraphs [0043]; [0044] Describes utilizing wireless devices to communicate through radio links…” established in 5ch in 2.4 GHz, 36ch in 5 GHz, and 220ch in 6 GHz.” The three frequency bands (2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ) are predetermined radio frequency bands and the specific channels (5ch, 36ch, 220ch) represent portions of these bands used for multiple links);
and at a first time point when radar is detected on a first channel used by a first link among the multiple links (Paragraph [0048] describes radar detection in a first channel (36ch of the 5 GHZ band) used by the first link. The phrase “(step S801)” provides the temporal marker teaching “at a first time point” because S801 represent the specific procedural moment when the determination or detection occurs, establishing a defined time point in the operational sequence),
However, Watanabe doesn’t teach and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information
In analogous art Lee teaches and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information (Table 21, describes when radar is detected and channel switch decisions are made STAs in power save mode are not actively listening and can’t immediately receive channel management information. The system must be scheduled so that all STAs have the opportunity to receive the channel switch announcement , meaning transmission must be timed for when devices are ready),
starting performing a first procedure to make the channel management information be received by the other device via one or more other links among the multiple links at any time point when the other device is ready to receive the channel management information (Paragraph [0056] describes starting “step S804” (a first procedure) where the AP 102 transmits transmit, to the STA 103, a BSSID (channel management information) “ using a frequency channel other than, for example, 36ch of the 5 GHz band” (via one or more other links among the multiple links). The BSSID is network identifier information that manages which channel/frequency the device should use for communication, which is channel management information. This transmission occurs via alternative frequency channels when the original channel has interference. Paragraph [0053] describes a notification procedure that makes channel management information be received by the STA, with the information transmitted via radio frames that can be sent on the maintained other links. The phrase “The AP 102 can execute this notification” teaches starting performing a first procedure where the notification execution is the procedure being performed in response to the interference detection scenario. When radio frames containing channel management information (CSA elements with BSSID) are transmitted to the STA, and other radio links are maintained without disconnection, these transmission occur via the maintained other links, rather than via the affected link),
wherein the first channel is one of multiple channels of a first predetermined radio frequency band among the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Paragraph [0047] describes 36ch as one channel within the 5 GHZ band, which is one of multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (2.4 GHZ, 5 GHZ, 6 GHZ) and 36ch as being one of multiple channels within a first predetermined radio frequency band (5 GHZ band) among multiple predetermined bands),
Watanabe and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, specifically addressing channel management , interference avoidance, and multi-frequency band operations in wireless networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe’s method of performing multi-link channel usage management with radar detection by incorporating the teaching of Lee regarding power save mode device readiness and coordinated channel switch announcement procedures. Such modification would provide enhanced channel management that accounts for device power states and ensures reliable delivery of channel management information across multiple communication systems (Lee, Paragraph [0148]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe in view of Lee, Watanabe teaches wherein the wireless transceiver device is an access point (AP) device, and the other device is a station (STA) device (Paragraph [0022] describes (AP 102) as one of the communication apparatus and (terminal (STA 103)as the other communication apparatus).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe in view of Lee, Watanabe teaches wherein the wireless transceiver device is arranged to perform multiple procedures regarding channel control, and the first procedure is one of the multiple procedures (Paragraphs [0047]; [0049];[0052] describes the AP performing multiple distinct procedures for channel control (including step S803, S804, and others) with the first procedures (transmitting channel management information via alternative links) being one specific procedure among this set of multiple channel control procedures).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein the wireless transceiver device is arranged to perform the first procedure to prevent any error of failing to receive the channel management information by the other device due to the other device being in a non-awake state, wherein the channel management information comprises a channel switch announcement (CSA) information element (IE) and a quiet IE (Table 21 and 22, describes to prevent any error of failing to receive the channel management information by other device due to the other device being in a power save mode where STAs periodically turn off their receivers. The requirement to schedule channel switches so that all STAs including STAs in power save mode, have the opportunity to receive the channel management information. Using channel switch announcement elements as channel management information, and using quiet elements as part of the channel management system.).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe in view of Lee, Watanabe teaches wherein the multiple links represent multiple multi-link device (MLD) links, the first link represents a first MLD link among the multiple MLD links, and the one or more other links represent one or more other MLD links among the multiple MLD links (Fig. 5 shows multiple simultaneous links (2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ) between the multi-link devices),
wherein the wireless transceiver device is configured to be equipped with multiple APs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Fig. 5 Shows the wireless transceiver device (labeled 102) being equipped with multiple Aps respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands specifically showing separate AP entities for 2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ),
and the other device is configured to be equipped with multiple non-AP STAs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Fig. 5 shows the other device (labeled 103) being equipped with multiple non-AP STAs respectively showing separate STA entities for 2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ);
Watanabe in view of Lee, Lee teaches and the first procedure comprises among the multiple non-AP STAs, determining if any non-AP STA corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in an awake state (Table 21 describes determining the state of STAs (whether they are in power save mode or awake) to schedule channel switches appropriately),
Watanabe in view of Lee, Lee teaches wherein none of one or more non-AP STAs corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in the awake state (Table 21 Describes STAs in power save mode are not in the awake state);
Watanabe in view of Lee, Lee teaches and after any STA among the one or more non-AP STAs becomes in the awake state, sending an action frame carrying the channel management information to the any STA to indicate a new channel among the multiple channels, for performing channel switching (Table 21 describes waiting until STAs have the opportunity to receive (i.e., after they become awake) channel management information).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe teaches a wireless transceiver device, for performing channel usage management with aid of multi-link operation (MLO) architecture, the wireless transceiver device being one of multiple devices within a wireless communications system (Paragraph [0022] describes wireless communication devices (AP 102 and a terminal STA 103)),
the wireless transceiver device comprising: a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the wireless transceiver device; and at least one communications control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to perform communications control, wherein the at least one communications control circuit is arranged to perform wireless communications operations with another device among the multiple devices for the wireless transceiver device (Paragraph [0030] a processing circuit, arrange to control operations of the wireless transceiver device);
wherein: the wireless transceiver device is arranged to communicate with the other device within the wireless communications system through at least one portion of multiple links respectively corresponding to multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Paragraphs [0043]; [0044] Describes utilizing wireless devices to communicate through radio links…” established in 5ch in 2.4 GHz, 36ch in 5 GHz, and 220ch in 6 GHz.” The three frequency bands (2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ) are predetermined radio frequency bands and the specific channels (5ch, 36ch, 220ch) represent portions of these bands used for multiple links);
and at a first time point when radar is detected on a first channel used by a first link among the multiple links (Paragraph [0048] describes radar detection in a first channel (36ch of the 5 GHZ band) used by the first link),
Watanabe doesn’t teach and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information
However, in analogous art Lee teaches and at which the other device is not ready to receive channel management information (Table 21, describes when radar is detected and channel switch decisions are made STAs in power save mode are not actively listening and can’t immediately receive channel management information. The system must be scheduled so that all STAs have the opportunity to receive the channel switch announcement , meaning transmission must be timed for when devices are ready),
the wireless transceiver device is arranged to start performing a first procedure to make the channel management information be received by the other device via one or more other links among the multiple links at any time point when the other device is ready to receive the channel management information (Paragraph [0056] describes starting “step S804” (a first procedure) where the AP 102 transmits transmit, to the STA 103, a BSSID (channel management information) “ using a frequency channel other than, for example, 36ch of the 5 GHz band” (via one or more other links among the multiple links). The BSSID is network identifier information that manages which channel/frequency the device should use for communication, which is channel management information. This transmission occurs via alternative frequency channels when the original channel has interference),
wherein the first channel is one of multiple channels of a first predetermined radio frequency band among the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Paragraph [0047] describes 36ch as one channel within the 5 GHZ band, which is one of multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (2.4 GHZ, 5 GHZ, 6 GHZ) and 36ch as being one of multiple channels within a first predetermined radio frequency band (5 GHZ band) among multiple predetermined bands),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe into the combination of Lee for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2respectively.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 respectively.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Lee in further view of Gan et al. (US 2022/0264429; hereinafter Gan).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches wherein at least one possible mode of the any STA among the one or more non-AP STAs comprises a power saving mode (Table 21 describes that STAs have a power saving mode as one of their possible operational modes);
Lee teaches and the first procedure further comprises: in response to none of one or more non-AP STAs corresponding to the one or more other MLD links being in the awake state, determining if the any STA is in the power saving mode (Table 21 Shows the requirement to consider and account for STAs in power save mode when scheduling channel switches implies determining whether STAs are in power saving mode);
However, Watanabe and Lee doesn’t teach and in response to the any STA being in the power saving mode, determining whether a power-saving (PS)-poll frame or a trigger frame of the any STA is received by a corresponding AP among the multiple APs; wherein in response to any of the PS-poll frame and the trigger frame of the any STA being received by the corresponding AP,
In analogous art Gan teaches and in response to the any STA being in the power saving mode, determining whether a power-saving (PS)-poll frame or a trigger frame of the any STA is received by a corresponding AP among the multiple Aps (Paragraphs [0144]-[0146] describes PS-Poll frames being sent by STAs and received by Aps or an AP determining whether it has received a PS-Poll frame from a STA);
wherein in response to any of the PS-poll frame and the trigger frame of the any STA being received by the corresponding AP (Paragraph [0148] Describes non-AP STA in a multi-link device to actively notify the AP when it's ready to receive buffered downlink traffic on a specific secondary link. The AP can then use this information to efficiently manage data delivery and coordinate channel switching or other actions based on the STA's awake status),
Watanabe teaches an operation of sending the action frame carrying the channel management information to the any STA is performed (Paragraph [0051] describes that the transmit Radio Frequency Change Notification: The AP 102 sends a notification to the STA 103 to inform it about the planned change in radio frequency. This notification can be done using an element like the Channel Switch Announcement (CSA) element. This element is included in a radio frame).
Watanabe, Lee and Gan are in the same field are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, specifically addressing channel management , interference avoidance, and multi-frequency band operations in wireless networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe in view of Lee’s method of power saving mode device readiness and coordinated channel switch announcement procedures with Gan power consumption reduction in multi-link wireless devices to improve a peak throughput and reduce traffic transmission latency (Gan, Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe in view of Lee and Gan, Gan teaches wherein at least one possible mode of the any STA among the one or more non-AP STAs comprises a target wake time (TWT) mode (Paragraphs [0068]; [0114] disclose TWT (target wake time)based power saving mechanisms for STAs, and STAs can operate in TWT mode with defined wake intervals);
Lee teaches and the first procedure further comprises: in response to none of one or more non-AP STAs corresponding to the one or more other MLD links being in the awake state (Table 21 Shows the requirement to consider and account for STAs in power save mode when scheduling channel switches implies determining whether STAs are in power saving mode),
Gan teaches determining if the any STA is in the TWT mode; and in response to the any STA being in the TWT mode, determining if the any STA is in a TWT service period; wherein in response to the any STA being in the TWT service period (Paragraph [0114] describes TWT service periods (awake, periods, or intervals) and how they are determined and calculated. In TWT mode, there are defined service periods when STAs are awake),
Watanabe teaches an operation of sending the action frame carrying the channel management information to the any STA is performed (Paragraph [0051] describes transmit Radio Frequency Change Notification: The AP 102 sends a notification to the STA 103 to inform it about the planned change in radio frequency. This notification can be done using an element like the Channel Switch Announcement (CSA) element. This element is included in a radio frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe into the combination of Lee and Gan for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 respectively.
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Lee in further view of Klein et al. (US 2023/0309169; hereinafter Klein).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches wherein the multiple links represent multiple multi-link device (MLD) links, the first link represents a first MLD link among the multiple MLD [inks, and the one or more other links represent one or more other MLD links among the multiple MLD links (Fig. 5 demonstrates multiple simultaneous links (2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ) between the multi-link devices),
wherein the wireless transceiver device is configured to be equipped with multiple APs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Fig. 5 Shows the wireless transceiver device (labeled 102) being equipped with multiple Aps respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands specifically showing separate AP entities for 2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ),
and the other device is configured to be equipped with multiple non-AP STAs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Fig. 5 Shows the other device (labeled 103) being equipped with multiple non-AP STAs respectively showing separate STA entities for 2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ);
However Watanabe doesn’t teach and the wireless transceiver device is arranged to perform a second procedure, wherein the second procedure comprises: among the multiple non-AP STAs, determining if a first STA corresponding to the first predetermined radio frequency band is set with a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping relationship in the first channel; in response to the first STA corresponding to the first predetermined radio frequency band being set with the TID-to-link mapping relationship in the first channel, among the multiple non-AP STAs, determining if any non-AP STA corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in an awake state, wherein none of one or more non-AP STAs corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in the awake state; and after any STA among the one or more non-AP STAs becomes in the awake state, sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the one or more other MLD links to the any STA to disable one or more TIDs used in the first predetermined radio frequency band and enable one or more TIDs in one or more other predetermined radio frequency bands among the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands. ..
In analogous art Klein teaches and the wireless transceiver device is arranged to perform a second procedure, wherein the second procedure comprises: among the multiple non-AP STAs, determining if a first STA corresponding to the first predetermined radio frequency band is set with a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping relationship in the first channel; in response to the first STA corresponding to the first predetermined radio frequency band being set with the TID-to-link mapping relationship in the first channel (Paragraphs [0022]; [0105] discloses TID-to-link mapping relationships for multi-link wireless non-AP stations. The reference describes determining which TIDs are mapped to which setup links for specific non-AP stations.),
Lee teaches among the multiple non-AP STAs, determining if any non-AP STA corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in an awake state, wherein none of one or more non-AP STAs corresponding to the one or more other MLD links is in the awake state; and after any STA among the one or more non-AP STAs becomes in the awake state (Table 21 shows the requirement to consider and account for STAs in power save mode when scheduling channel switches implies determining whether STAs are in power saving mode),
Lee doesn’t teach sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the one or more other MLD links to the any STA to disable one or more TIDs used in the first predetermined radio frequency band and enable one or more TIDs in one or more other predetermined radio frequency bands among the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands.
In analogous art Klein teaches sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the one or more other MLD links to the any STA to disable one or more TIDs used in the first predetermined radio frequency band (Paragraphs [0106]; [0117]-[0118] Describes sending a link disable notification management frame to one or more of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations)
and enable one or more TIDs in one or more other predetermined radio frequency bands among the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Paragraphs [0112]; [0120]-[0121] describes sending management frames (including “ link enable notification management frame”)).
Watanabe, Lee and Klein are in the same field are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, specifically addressing channel management , interference avoidance, and multi-frequency band operations in wireless networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe in view of Lee’s method of power saving mode device readiness and coordinated channel switch announcement procedures with Klein method of link disable/enable operations between access points and stations to improve communication throughput (Klein, Paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches wherein the multiple links represent multiple multi-link device (MLD) links, the first link represents a first MLD link among the multiple MLD links, and the one or more other links represent one or more other MLD links among the multiple MLD links (Fig. 5 demonstrates multiple simultaneous links (2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ) between the multi-link devices),
wherein the wireless transceiver device is configured to be equipped with multiple APs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands, and the other device is configured to be equipped with multiple non-AP STAs respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands (Fig. 5 Shows the wireless transceiver device (labeled 102) being equipped with multiple Aps respectively corresponding to the multiple predetermined radio frequency bands specifically showing separate AP entities for 2.4 GHZ, 5GHZ, 6GHZ);
and the wireless transceiver device is arranged to perform at least one other procedure, wherein the at least one other procedure comprises: determining if a channel availability check time of a new channel among the multiple channels has expired and no radar is detected in the new channel; in response to the channel availability check time of the new channel among the multiple channels having expired and no radar being detected in the new channel, among the multiple non-AP STAs (Paragraphs [0045]; [0057]-[0058] describes a predetermined time period (channel availability check time), monitoring for radar interference during that time and conditional action based on no interference being detected during the time period),
Watanabe doesn’t teach determining if any non-AP STA corresponding to any MLD link is in an awake state; and if the any non-AP STA corresponding to the any MLD link is in the awake state, sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the any MLD link to the any non-AP STA corresponding to the any MLD link to enable one or more TIDs which are previously disabled and used in the first predetermined radio frequency band, otherwise, after at least one non-AP STA corresponding to at least one MLD link becomes in the awake state, sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the at least one MLD link to the at least one STA to enable the one or more TIDs which are previously disabled and used in the first predetermined radio frequency band.
In analogous art Lee teaches determining if any non-AP STA corresponding to any MLD link is in an awake state; and if the any non-AP STA corresponding to the any MLD link is in the awake state (Table 21 shows the requirement to consider and account for STAs in power save mode when scheduling channel switches implies determining whether STAs are in power saving mode),
In analogous art Klein teaches sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the any MLD link to the any non-AP STA corresponding to the any MLD link to enable one or more TIDs which are previously disabled and used in the first predetermined radio frequency band (Paragraphs [0112]; [0120]-[0121] describes sending management frames (including “ link enable notification management frame”)),
Lee teaches, otherwise, after at least one non-AP STA corresponding to at least one MLD link becomes in the awake state (Table 21 shows the requirement to consider and account for STAs in power save mode when scheduling channel switches implies determining whether STAs are in power saving mode),
Klein teaches sending a TID-to-link mapping request frame over the at least one MLD link to the at least one STA to enable the one or more TIDs which are previously disabled and used in the first predetermined radio frequency band (Paragraphs [0106]; [0117]-[0118] describes enable TIDs which are previously disabled and used in the first predetermined radio frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe into the combination of Lee and Klein for the same reason as claim 8 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464