DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the cord-like material is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” (while the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer) in claim 3; “the casing is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” (while the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer) in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification does not describe “…that enable the bra pad to return to a shape into which it was originally formed after deformation” in claims 1, 21 and 22.
The specification does not describe “the cord-like material is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” (while the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer) in claim 3.
The specification does not describe “the casing is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” (while the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer) in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 21 and 22 recite “… that enable the bra pad to return to a shape into which it was originally formed after deformation”, which is not described in the specification. The original specification only describes “the cord-like material can be a wire substantially round or cylindrical in shape, which can be a heat-resistant plastic or metal wire that possesses spring-like properties, enabling it to return to the shape into which it was originally formed after being subjected to deformation”.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the cord-like material is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” while claim 1 recites “the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer”, which does not have a support in the specification and the drawings do not show the limitation. Therefore, claim 3 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 7 recites “the casing is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad”, while claim 1 recites “the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer”, which does not have a support in the specification and the drawings do not show the limitation. Therefore, claim 7 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claims 3, 5-7, 15, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the cord-like material is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad” while claim 1 recites “the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer”. It is unclear how the casing is secured between the first layer and the second layer of the bra pad body and the cord-like material (which is placed inside the casing) is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad. For the purpose of applying art, the limitation is interpreted that the cord-like material is attached to a surface of the bra pad.
Claim 5 recites “a first layer”, “a second layer”. It is unclear “a first layer”, “a second layer” in claim 5 are the same or different from “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 1. For the purpose of applying art, “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 5 are interpreted to be the same as “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites “a casing” in line 2. It is unclear “a casing” in claim 6 is the same or different from “a casing” in claim 1. For the purpose of applying art, “a casing” in claim 6 is interpreted to be the same as “a casing” in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “the casing is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad”, while claim 1 recites “the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer”. It is unclear how the casing can be attached to an outer surface of the bra pad while the casing is secured between the first layer and the second layer of the bra pad. For the purpose of applying art, the limitation is interpreted that the casing is attached to a surface of the bra pad.
Claim 15 recites “the casing is made of cloth or fabric material”, while claim 1 recites “a fabric casing”. The claim is indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly set forth. See MPEP. 2173.05(c). I.
Claim 16 recites “a first layer”, “a second layer”. It is unclear “a first layer”, “a second layer” in claim 16 are the same or different from “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 1. For the purpose of applying art, “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 16 are interpreted to be the same as “a first layer” and “a second layer” in claim 1.
Claim 22 recites “the shape of the perimeter” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites “the bra pad of claim 1, wherein the support structure further comprises a casing having a channel for holding the cord-like material therein”, while claim 1 already recites “a support structure comprising a fabric casing having a channel that holds a cord-like material”.
Claim 16 recites “the casing is sandwiched between a first layer and a second layer of the bra pad”, while claim 1 already recites “the casing being secured …between the first layer and the second layer”.
Claim 17 recites “the cord-like material runs on the perimeter of the bra pad as one integral continuous piece” while claim 1 already recites “the cord-like material runs on the perimeter of the bra pad body as one integral continuous piece”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 15-17 and 20 are rejected to the degree of definiteness under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769).
Regarding claim 1, Pearce teaches a bra pad (fig. 13, pad 102 with wire 230), comprising:
a bra pad body having a perimeter (fig. 1); and
a support structure comprising a fabric casing having a channel that holds a cord-like material (para. [0044], the underwire is encased in a fabric sleeve);
wherein the cord-like material comprises a heat-resistant plastic wire or a heat-resistant metal wire having spring-like properties (para. [0066], the wire 230 is extruded and made from elastomeric material) that enable the bra pad to return to a shape into which it was originally formed after deformation (para. [0020]-[0023]), and wherein the cord-like material runs on the perimeter of the bra pad body as one integral continuous piece (figs. 1 and 13).
Pearce does not teach in fig. 13 the bra pad body comprising a first layer and a second layer; and the casing being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer.
However, Pearce teaches in fig. 15, the bra pad body comprising a first layer and a second layer (layers 242, 244); and the casing (fig. 15, casing 251) being secured at the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearce in fig. 13 with a first layer and a second layer and the casing being secured as the perimeter between the first layer and the second layer as suggested in fig. 15 of Pearce for the benefit of providing a place for securing a removable casing to lift or shape the breast in a comfortable way (Pearce, para. [0067]).
Pearce does not clearly teach the pad is placed inside a cup of a bra.
However, Pearce teaches the bra may be used in other garments, such as sports bras, swimwear, bikini tops, camisoles, lingerie, clothing with built-in-bras or other breast supports. Such garments may be worn under other clothing (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the bra pad of Pearce placed inside a cup of a bra for the benefit of providing a fuller more rounded appearance for a bra cup and filling out the bra cups, creating a better fit and preventing gaps or bulges.
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Pearce teaches the cord-like material is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Pearce teaches the cord-like material is attached to an inner surface of the bra pad (annotated fig. 13 below).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Pearce teaches the bra pad comprises a first layer and a second layer (fig. 15) and the cord-like material is sandwiched between the first layer and the second layer (as shown in fig. 15, the material encased by the sleeve 251 is sandwiched between the first layer and the second layer).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Pearce teaches the support structure further comprises a casing having a channel for holding the cord-like material therein (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Pearce teaches the casing is attached to an outer surface of the bra pad (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Pearce teaches the casing is attached to an inner surface of the bra pad (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Pearce teaches the cord-like material comprises the wire that is round or cylindrical in shape (fig. 13, para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Pearce teaches the casing is made of cloth or fabric material (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified structure Pearce teaches the casing is sandwiched between a first layer and a second layer of the bra pad (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 17, the modified structure Pearce teaches the cord-like material runs on the perimeter of the bra pad as one integral continuous piece (figs. 1, 13, para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified structure Pearce does not teach the casing is detachably attached to the perimeter of the bra pad.
However, Pearce teaches the casing (fig. 15, casing 251) is detachably attached to the perimeter of the bra pad (fig. 15, para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Pearce with the teaching that the casing is detachably attached to the perimeter of the bra pad as suggested in fig. 15 for the benefit of providing supporting and shaping to the breast of the user when it is desired.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Maeda (US 2022/0408852).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure Pearce does not teach a diameter of the wire is ranging from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches a diameter of the wire is ranging from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm (para. [0027], the diameter of the wire 170 is within a range of 0.5 mm to 2 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the wire of the modified structure Pearce ranging from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm as taught by Maeda for the benefit of providing lightweight material in supporting the cup insert.
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure Pearce does not teach a diameter of the wire is ranging from 0.7 mm to 1 mm.
However, Maeda teaches a diameter of the wire is ranging from 0.7 mm to 1 mm (para. [0027], the diameter of the wire 170 is within a range of 0.5 mm to 2 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the wire of the modified structure Pearce ranging from 0.7 mm to 1 mm as suggested by Maeda for the benefit of providing lightweight material in supporting the cup insert.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jonas (US 3126007).
Regarding claim 14, the modified structure Pearce teaches the cord-like material comprises the wire having a flat shape (figs. 8-11).
The modified structure Pearce does not teach the wire having a thickness ranging from 0.5mm to 1.2mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jonas teaches a wire having a flat shape and having a thickness ranging from 0.5 mm to 1.2 mm (fig. 2, column 3, lines 69-74).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the wire of the modified structure Pearce with the thickness of the wire of Jonas for the benefit of providing a supporting frame for the cup insert, which provides optimum comfort and support to the wearer (Jonas, column 2, lines 17-20).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hood (US 2006/0189254).
Regarding claim 18, the modified structure Pearce does not teach the cord-like material is comprised of plurality of pieces that are not touching each other, thereby forming a set of disconnected cord segments.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hood teaches the cord-like material is comprised of plurality of pieces that are not touching each other, thereby forming a set of disconnected cord segments (fig. 5, the cup member 306 comprises wire members 300 and 310 that are not touching each other).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the underwire of the modified structure Pearce with plurality of pieces that are not touching each other as taught by Hood for the benefit of providing more support for the bra pad in the upper part of the breast area (Hood, para. [0025]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769) in view of DeAngelo (US 2021/0030077).
Regarding claim 21, Pearce teaches a bra pad (fig. 13, pad 102 with wire 230) comprising:
a bra pad body having a perimeter (fig. 13, pad 102 having a perimeter); and
a support structure comprising a fabric casing (para. [0044], the underwire is encased in a fabric sleeve) having a channel holding a cord-like material (fig. 13, wire 230), the casing attached at the perimeter of the bra pad body (para. [0044], the underwire is encased in a fabric sleeve and the underwire is located at the bottom and/or sides of a bra cup);
wherein the cord-like material extends along the perimeter to form a partially closed loop (fig. 1), and wherein the cord-like material comprises a heat-resistant plastic wire or a heat-resistant metal wire having spring-like properties (para. [0066], the wire 230 is extruded and made from elastomeric material) that enable the bra pad to return to a shape into which it was originally formed after deformation (para. [0020]-[0023]).
Pearce does not clearly teach the pad 102 is for placement inside a cup of a bra.
However, Pearce teaches the bra may be used in other garments, such as sports bras, swimwear, bikini tops, camisoles, lingerie, clothing with built-in-bras or other breast supports. Such garments may be worn under other clothing (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the bra pad of Pearce placed inside a cup of a bra for the benefit of providing a fuller more rounded appearance for a bra cup and filling out the bra cups, creating a better fit and preventing gaps or bulges.
The modified structure Pearce does not clearly teach the core-like material extends along 80% to 95% of the perimeter of the bra pad body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DeAngelo suggests that the diameter of the cup is 5.125 inches (para. [0025]); the underarm region 244 is about 3 inches long, while the underarm region does not include the underwire (para. [0044]). Therefore, the length of the underwire is about (π x 5.125) – 3 = 13 inches. Therefore, the length of the underwire is about 13 inches /( π x 5.125) inches = 81% of the perimeter of the bra pad.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Pearce with the teaching that a length of the cord-like material is ranging from 80% to 95% of the perimeter of the bra pad as suggested by DeAngelo for the benefit of providing support and comfort to the user while using the bra (DeAngelo, para. [0044]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce (US 2012/0052769).
Regarding claim 22, Pearce teaches a bra pad (fig. 13, pad 102 with wire 230) comprising:
a bra pad body having a perimeter (fig. 13, pad 102 having a perimeter); and
a support structure comprising a fabric casing (para. [0044], the underwire is encased in a fabric sleeve) having a channel that holds a cord-like material (fig. 13, wire 230); and
wherein the cord-like material is a heat-resistant plastic wire or heat-resistant metal wire having spring-like properties (para. [0066], the wire 230 is extruded and made from elastomeric material) that enable the bra pad to return to a shape into which it was originally formed after deformation (para. [0020]-[0023]).
Pearce does not teach a hook and loop fastening mechanism that detachably secures the casing to the perimeter of the bra pad body without displacing the cord-like material within the channel, the casing conforming to the shape of the perimeter and being configured to provide a stable attachment that resists displacement during use.
However, Pearce teaches the casing (fig. 15, casing 251 encapsulates material) is detachably attached to the perimeter of the bra pad using a hook and loop fastening mechanism (para. [0067]), without displacing the material within the channel (fig. 15), wherein the casing conforms to the shape of the perimeter of the bra pad and is configured to provide a stable attachment that resists displacement during use (fig. 15, para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Pearce with the teaching that the casing is detachably attached to the perimeter of the bra pad as suggested by Pearce in fig. 15 for the benefit of providing supporting and shaping to the breast of the user when it is desired.
Pearce does not clearly teach the pad 102 is for placement inside a cup of a bra.
However, Pearce teaches the bra may be used in other garments, such as sports bras, swimwear, bikini tops, camisoles, lingerie, clothing with built-in-bras or other breast supports. Such garments may be worn under other clothing (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the bra pad of Pearce placed inside a cup of a bra for the benefit of providing a fuller more rounded appearance for a bra cup and filling out the bra cups, creating a better fit and preventing gaps or bulges.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, dated 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 22 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on reasonings applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that DeAngelo does not describe the length of a wire running along the perimeter of a removable insert pad.
In response, the applicant's arguments are against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Pearce teaches a removable insert pad (see the rejection of claims 1, 21, 22 above). Pearce also teaches the pad can be function as a cup of a bra (fig. 1) and the underwire extends less than 100% of the perimeter of the bra pad body. Pearce does not teach the underwire extends along 80% to 95% of the perimeter of the bra pad body. However, DeAngelo teaches the underwire extends along 80% to 95% of the perimeter of the bra pad body (see rejection of claim 21 above). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Pearce with the teaching that a length of the cord-like material is ranging from 80% to 95% of the perimeter of the bra pad as suggested by DeAngelo for the benefit of providing support and comfort to the user while using the bra (DeAngelo, para. [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732