DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I, Figures 1-4, 6 and 9-10 in the reply filed on 3/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I-II are not distinct inventions and Species II-III are not different Species from Species I. This is not found persuasive because searching method of forming and different Species require additional search and/or consideration in other class/subclass. Claims 9-10 do not read of Figures 1-4, 6 and 9 of Species I. Claims 1-4 and 6 will be examined herewith.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the first and second openings of the terminal connector intended by “the second opening in the terminal connector forward of the first opening in the terminal connector in a first circumferential direction.” Applicant should also clarify the structure and/or arrangement intended by “the second opening in the first end flange rearward of the first opening in the first end flange in the first circumferential direction.” It is unclear as to what applicant is trying to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hughes [US 4,183,607].
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hughes discloses a bobbin wound coil [figure 1] for an electromagnetic coupling, comprising:
a bobbin [8] including a cylindrical body disposed about a central axis;
- a first end flange [10] disposed at a first axial end of the cylindrical body and extending radially outwardly therefrom, the first end flange defining an interior side facing the cylindrical body and an exterior side facing away from the cylindrical body;
- a second end flange [12] disposed at a second axial end of the cylindrical body and extending radially outwardly therefrom, the second end flange defining an interior side facing the cylindrical body and an exterior side facing away from the cylindrical body; and,
- a terminal connector [2] on an exterior side of the first end flange, the terminal connector including a body [16] defining a central cavity; and
- a first post 58] extending from an exterior surface of the body of the terminal connector; and,
- a coil [6] having a beginning portion [4] extending through the body of the terminal connector and the first end flange, an end portion [4’] extending through the body of the terminal connector and the first end flange, and a center portion extending between the beginning portion and the end portion and wound about the cylindrical body of the bobbin wherein one of the beginning portion and the end portion of the coil is wound about the first post [figure 1], wherein the terminal connector further includes a second post [58] extending from the exterior surface of the body of the terminal connector and another of the beginning portion and the end portion of the coil is wound about the second post [figure 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of Yasuo et al. [JP H1167526A].
Regarding claim 2, Hughes disclose the instant claimed invention except for a locking tab.
Yasuo et al. discloses a bobbin [1, figures 1-10] for a coil device, comprising a terminal connector structure [21], wherein the terminal connector structure including a locking/engaging tab [21j, figure 10].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a locking tab in Hughes, as suggested by Yasuo et al., for the purpose of providing locking [or engaging].
Regarding claim 3, Yasuo et al. discloses the locking tab includes a radially extending edge along the exterior surface of the body of the terminal connector structure [figure 10], an axially extending edge extending away from the exterior surface of the body of the terminal connector and an inclined edge extending between the radially extending edge and axially extending edge [figure 10].
The specific cross-section of the locking table would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose facilitating ease of locking and providing strength.
Claim(s) 6, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes.
Regarding claim 6, Hughes further discloses the beginning portion of the coil extends through a first opening [60] in the terminal connector and a first opening in the first end flange [figure 1] and the end portion of the coil extends through a second opening [60’] in the terminal connector and a second opening in the first end flange [figure 1], the beginning portion of the coil including a first section extending from the first opening in the terminal connector to the first opening in the first end flange and the end portion of the coil including a first section extending from the second opening in the terminal connector to the second opening in the first end flange, the first section of the end portion of the coil crossing over the first section of the beginning portion of the coil [figure 1].
Hughes disclose the instant claimed invention except for the second opening in the terminal connector forward of the first opening in the terminal connector in a first circumferential direction and the second opening in the first end flange rearward of the first opening in the first end flange in the first circumferential direction.
The specific “forward” and/or “rearward” arrangement of the openings relative to the terminal connector/body would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating winding and/or connecting the ends of the coil.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837