/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461 DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/17/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yu (CN 1695306 B), and newly cited Nammi (Pub No 20180367252)
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the amended limitation.
The examiner relies on newly cited Nammi to teach the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pub No 20200059253) further in view of Yu (CN 1695306 B), and Nammi (Pub No 20180367252)
Regarding claim 1 and 8 and 15,
Chen teaches a decoding method, comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions, and when the instructions are executed by one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to perform operations: (see para [0087]
receiving indication information, wherein the indication information indicates first information the first information indicates a channel coding mode of the to-be-encoded data, (interpreted as the communications device may obtain K and M, so that a transmission code rate can be calculated based on K and M of the to-be-encoded information, see para [0107]. The puncturing or shortening manner is flexibly selected, for example, puncturing is used for a low code rate, see para [0019]. Also see puncturing manner 1,2,3, 4 para [0041])
performing channel decoding on received data based on the indication information, to obtain decoded data. (Interpreted as Based on the determined rate matching manner, the communications device rate matches a polar code of the to-be-encoded information, or rate dematches a polar code of the to-be-decoded information, see para [0114]. Also see the receiving device can successfully complete a rate dematching process and a decoding process see para [0147])
However, Chen does not teach second information that indicates a distribution feature of the data; and
Yu teaches second information that indicates a distribution feature of the data; (interpreted as selects the best bit plane referred to as inert plane. information of the encoding unit 104 the selected inert plane is sent to the decoding unit 105, so as to correctly decode the encoded data 134, see para [0186]. Receives the upper to the selected inert plane of the encoded data 134 in information. The statistical model unit 121 will generate the probability distribution of the entropy decoder 122 receives 136, so that it can correctly decode the encoded data 134 of bit-plane symbols, see para [0189])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the taught by Chen with the probability distribution as taught by Yu with the motivation of correctly decoding the encoded data.
However, Chen in view of Yu does not teach wherein the channel coding mode is determined based on the following information: channel state information
Nammi teaches wherein the channel coding mode is determined based on the following information: channel state information (interpreted as the puncturing is selected by using the information from the feedback channel, for example channel state information sent by the receiver, see para [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the puncturing taught by Chen in view of Yu with the puncturing based on CSI information as taught by Nammi with the motivation being to select the most optimal puncturing based on the channel metrics.
Regarding claim 4 and 11 and 18,
Chen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the channel coding mode indicates a puncturing manner of encoded information bits, or the channel coding mode indicates a puncturing manner of a part of the encoded information bits and a data length of the part of the encoded information bits. (interpreted as If a third preset condition is met, any one of the puncturing manners 1, the puncturing manner 2, the puncturing manner 3, and the puncturing manner 4 is used, see para [0121])
Regarding claim 6 and 13 and 20,
Chen teaches the method according to claim 1, however, does not teach wherein the second information is determined based on a distribution probability of the to-be-encoded data or an information entropy of the to-be-encoded data.
Yu teaches wherein the second information is determined based on a distribution probability of the to-be-encoded data or an information entropy of the to-be-encoded data. (interpreted as receiving the probability distribution information from the probability distribution information exclusion unit, according to the received probability distribution information to generate variable length code table, and for storing the generated variable length code table to the encoding execution unit, an encoding executing unit for receiving the variable length code table generation unit of the variable length code table, and according to the received variable length code table on the current to-be-encoded symbol is encoded, see pg. 3 para 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the to-be-encoded data taught by Chen with the probability distribution as taught by Yu with the motivation of improving encoding efficiency of entropy encoding, reduce coding rate and improving SNR (See Yu pg. 1 para 1)
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen (Pub No 20200059253) further in view of Yu (CN 1695306 B), Nammi (Pub No 20180367252), and Jang (Pub No 20220416943)
Regarding claim 2 and 9 and 16,
Chen The method according to claim 1, however, does not teach wherein the indication information is carried in control information of a MAC layer.
Jang teaches wherein the indication information is carried in control information of a MAC layer. (interpreted as information related to the puncturing may be signaled in the MAC in order to reduce signaling overhead in the PHY, see para [0258])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify puncturing information taught by Chen in view of Yu and Nammi with the puncturing signaling in the MAC layer as taught by Jang with the motivation of reducing signaling overhead in the PHY.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chen (Pub No 20200059253) further in view of Yu (CN 1695306 B), Nammi (Pub No 20180367252), and Katayama (Pub No 20170316241),
Regarding claim 3 and 10 and 17,
Chen, in view of Yu and Nammi teach the method according to claim 1, however, does not teach wherein the to-be-encoded data comprises original data or data obtained after source coding is performed on the original data.
Katayama teaches wherein the to-be-encoded data comprises original data or data obtained after source coding is performed on the original data. (interpreted as the to-be-encoded data may be referred to original information or original data, see para [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the to-be-encoded data taught by Chen in view of Yu and Nammi with the original data as taught by Katayama with the motivation being to perform the same functionality of the system since original data is just a synonym for to-be-encoded data.
Claim(s) 5, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pub No 20200059253) further in view of Yu (CN 1695306 B), Nammi (Pub No 20180367252), and Pisek (Pub No 20160013931)
Regarding claims 5 and 12 and 19,
Chen teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the channel coding mode comprises:
a first channel coding mode, a second channel coding mode, and a third channel coding mode,
(interpreted as if a first preset condition is met, using any one of the puncturing manner 1, the puncturing manner 2, the puncturing manner 3, and the puncturing manner 4, where the first preset condition is that the code rate is less than or equal to a first code rate threshold A.sub.1, the quantity of information bits is less than or equal to a first information bit threshold B.sub.1, A.sub.1 is any value in a set [1/12, 1/6, 1/5, 1/4, 1/3, 1/2], and B.sub.1 is any value in a set [30, 48, 80, 200, 1000], see para [0017])
However, Chen in view of Yu does not teach wherein the first channel coding mode indicates a sending apparatus not to puncture the encoded information bits; the second channel coding mode indicates the sending apparatus to puncture all the encoded information bits; and the third channel coding mode indicates the sending apparatus to puncture the part of the encoded information bits.
Pisek teaches wherein the first channel coding mode indicates a sending apparatus not to puncture the encoded information bits; (interpreted as When the encoder 610 does not puncture, the complementary puncture rate (Rpunc) is less than the basic code rate (R) of the H-matrix, yielding a non-puncture effective code rate (Re) that is less than the basic code rate (Re<R), see para [0105]) the second channel coding mode indicates the sending apparatus to puncture all the encoded information bits; and (interpreted as yields a full puncture effective code rate equal to one (Re=1). For example, when Rpunc=½, then also Rpunc=½ and Re=1, see para [0116]) the third channel coding mode indicates the sending apparatus to puncture the part of the encoded information bits. (interpreted as yielding a partial-puncture effective code rate greater than a basic code rate and less than one (R≦Re≦1), see para [0106])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the puncturing based on the coding rate taught by Chen in view of Yu with the different puncturing based on the rate as taught by Pisek with the motivation being to perform the most optimal puncturing based on the coding rate parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7 and 14,
The prior art of record does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the channel coding mode is determined based on the following information: a distribution probability of the to-be-encoded data or an information entropy of the to-be-encoded data, and a quantity of currently allocated available resources of a channel.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461