DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiner 2004/0204117 A1, hereinafter, ‘Weiner’.
Consider Claim 1, Weiner teaches a method for precise location-based routing of calls, the method comprising :receiving an indication that a user device has originated a call to a non- short code jurisdiction specific phone number; determining an origination location of the user device when the user device originated the call(e.g., see at least 0017 – “the user dials "*151" because he or she wants to connect to his or her voice mail server and the device recognizes that the user's home network is in Israel, by determining that the handset is now calling from the United Kingdom, the device translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000". The device can then either automatically dial the new number or, alternatively, query the user if the new number should be dialed); generating a location-based translated number comprising a first portion representing the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number and a second portion representing the origination location (e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation); and routing the location-based translated number to a jurisdiction-specific destination corresponding to both the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number and the origination location ( 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…”) .
Consider Claim 3, Weiner teaches wherein the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number is associated with a plurality of jurisdiction-specific call centers, and wherein the plurality of jurisdiction-specific call centers comprises a first call center associated with a first jurisdiction and a second call center associated with a second jurisdiction( this would be met based on the teachings in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc. ).
Consider Claim 4, Weiner teaches wherein the second portion of the location-based translated number representing the origination location comprises a numbering plan area (NPA) and a central office within the NPA (NXX) of the originating location(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation ).
Consider Claim 5, Weiner teaches wherein the first portion of the location-based translated number is the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number dialed by the user device (e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”,translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation – automatic or manual entry).
Consider Claim 6, Weiner teaches wherein the first portion of the location-based translated number is a short code sequence representing the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000"- see portion short code noted in a portion of the translated number, 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation – automatic or manual entry).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner 2004/0204117 A1, hereinafter, ‘Weiner’ in view of Jain US Patent Pub. No.: 2015/0078539.
Consider Claim 12, Weiner teaches a system a method for precise location-based routing of calls comprising: to receive an indication that a user device has originated a call to a non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number associated with a plurality of jurisdiction-specific call centers(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000"- see portion short code noted in a portion of the translated number, 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation – automatic or manual entry), and wherein the plurality of jurisdiction-specific call center( this would be met based on the teachings in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc. ); and one or more networked computer processing components configured to: determine an origination location of the user device when the user device originated the call (e.g., see location determination – 0017,0019, and 0034); and route the call to the first call center based on a determination that the origination location of the user device when the user device originated the call is inside the first jurisdiction( this would be met based on the teachings in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc. ).
However, Weiner does not specify a base station configured to receive an indication that a user device has originated a call wherein the user device is wirelessly connected to the base station and the invention comprises a first call center associated with a first jurisdiction and a second call center associated with a second jurisdiction.
In analogous art, Jain teaches 0203 – “when the customer calls from a mobile phone, the mobile phone may determine the current location and provide the location information. Alternatively, for example, the base stations of a cellular communication network can determine the location of a cellular phone.
Therefore, Considering the further teachings of Weiner in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try a base station configured to receive an indication that a user device has originated a call wherein the user device is wirelessly connected to the base station and the invention comprises a first call center associated with a first jurisdiction and a second call center associated with a second jurisdiction for the purpose of determining the geographic location of a call.
Consider Claim 20, Weiner teaches a method for precise location-based routing of calls, the method comprising: receiving an indication that a user device has originated a call to a non- short code jurisdiction specific phone number, wherein the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number is associated with a plurality of jurisdiction- specific call centers determining an origination location of the user device when the user device originated the call is within the first jurisdiction(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000"- see portion short code noted in a portion of the translated number, 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation – automatic or manual entry -in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc.); generating a location-based translated number comprising a first portion representing the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number and a second portion representing the origination location(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000"- see portion short code noted in a portion of the translated number, 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation – automatic or manual entry); and routing, using the location-based translated number, the call to the first call center based on a determination that the first call center corresponds to the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number and the origination location in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc..
Weiner does not specifically teach wherein determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device and the invention comprises a first call center associated with a first jurisdiction and a second call center associated with a second jurisdiction.
Jain teaches wherein determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device (e.g., see 0330 – “the location of the user can be determined from the IP address of the mobile device (1001) in using the data connection (1033), a location estimated by the mobile device based on a location of a wireless communication access point (e.g., a cellular communications tower, a wireless local area network access point, etc.), or a location as determined by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver (1003) of the mobile device (1001)”)
Therefore, Considering the further teachings of Weiner in 0039-“… the MSC (420) is the mechanism by which each wireless call entering the network (410) gets routed to the proper destination handset (30)…” and the well understood functions of an MSC- CALL ROUTING, MOBILITY MANAGEMENT, NETWORK INTERFACE, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device and the invention comprises a first call center associated with a first jurisdiction and a second call center associated with a second jurisdiction for the purpose of determining the geographic location of a call.
Consider Claims 2 and 14, Weiner teaches the claimed invention except wherein determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device.
In analogous art, Jain teaches wherein determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device (e.g., see 0330 – “the location of the user can be determined from the IP address of the mobile device (1001) in using the data connection (1033), a location estimated by the mobile device based on a location of a wireless communication access point (e.g., a cellular communications tower, a wireless local area network access point, etc.), or a location as determined by a global positioning system (GPS) receiver (1003) of the mobile device (1001)”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein determining the location of the user device is based on a location provided by the user device and determined by one or more satellite-based location services running on the user device for the purpose of determining the geographic location of a call.
Consider Claim 11, Weiner teaches the claimed invention except wherein determining the location of the user device is based on identifying one or more base stations used by the user device to originate the call.
In analogous art, Jain teaches wherein determining the location of the user device is based on identifying one or more base stations used by the user device to originate the call
(e.g., see 0203 – “when the customer calls from a mobile phone, the mobile phone may determine the current location and provide the location information. Alternatively, for example, the base stations of a cellular communication network can determine the location of a cellular phone.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein determining the location of the user device is based on identifying one or more base stations used by the user device to originate the call for the purpose of determining the geographic location of a call.
Consider Claim 13, Weiner teaches wherein the one or more networked computer processing components is further configured to generate a location-based translated number comprising a first portion representing the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number and a second portion representing the origination location(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation).
Consider Claim 15, Weiner teaches wherein the second portion of the location- based translated number representing the origination location comprises a numbering plan area (NPA) and a central office within the NPA (NXX) of the originating location(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation ).
Consider Claim 16, Weiner teaches wherein the first portion of the location-based translated number is the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number dialed by the user device(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation ).
Consider Claim 17, Weiner teaches wherein the first portion of the location-based translated number is a short code sequence representing the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number(e.g., this is met based 0017 “…translates the "*151" dialed number into "+972 54 151000", 0028- …”translates short dialed numbers…”, “…a list of short of short codes and their corresponding numbers” – see also 0053, 0055, 0058, 0060 …short code translation ).
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner 2004/0204117 A1, hereinafter, ‘Weiner’ in view of Jain US Patent Pub. No.: 2015/007853 and further in view of Beck US Patent Pub. No.: 2011/0080871.
Consider Claim 7, Weiner as modified by Beck teaches the claimed invention except wherein the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number is a toll-free number.
In analogous art, Beck teaches “mobile switching centers 12 or gateway mobile switching center 22 may evaluate the VDC of "849" and append the same to a toll free phone number as an out-of-band signal. The toll free number is then routed to campaign management module 16 via public switched telephone network 24” – see at least 0049, 0051 and 0058-0059.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the non-short code jurisdiction specific phone number is a toll-free number for the purpose of facilitating bridge establishment in a telecommunications network.
Consider Claim 8, Weiner teaches the claimed invention except wherein routing the location-based translated number to the jurisdiction-specific destination comprises routing the location-based translated number to a session border controller.
In analogous art, Jain teaches “…the session border controller (351) may perform signaling/encoding translation to allow the connection server (355) to process the VoIP calls…” -0145.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein routing the location-based translated number to the jurisdiction-specific destination comprises routing the location-based translated number to a session border controller for the purpose of providing connections to users in different geographic regions.
Consider Claims 9 and 18, Weiner teaches the claimed invention except wherein the method further comprises appending the location-based translated number with a numeric toll-free indicator.
Weiner teaches appending location based translated numbers in 0017.
Beck teach “mobile switching centers 12 or gateway mobile switching center 22 may evaluate the VDC of "849" and append the same to a toll free phone number as an out-of-band signal. The toll free number is then routed to campaign management module 16 via public switched telephone network 24” – see at least 0049, 0051 and 0058-0059.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try wherein the method further comprises appending the location-based translated number with a numeric toll-free indicator for the purpose of call routing.
Consider Claims 10 and 19, Weiner teaches the claimed invention except wherein the method further comprises routing the location-based translated number to a toll free service provider based on a determination, by the session border controller, that the location-based translated number is appended with the numeric toll-free indicator.
Weiner teaches appending location based translated numbers in 0017.
Jain teaches “…the session border controller (351) may perform signaling/encoding translation to allow the connection server (355) to process the VoIP calls…” -0145.
Beck teaches “mobile switching centers 12 or gateway mobile switching center 22 may evaluate the VDC of "849" and append the same to a toll free phone number as an out-of-band signal. The toll free number is then routed to campaign management module 16 via public switched telephone network 24” – see at least 0049, 0051 and 0058-0059.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try wherein the method further comprises routing the location-based translated number to a toll free service provider based on a determination, by the session border controller, that the location-based translated number is appended with the numeric toll-free indicator for the purpose of call routing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO 892.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646