Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 05/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 10 remain pending. Claims 1 and 3 – 6 remain withdrawn. Claims 2 and 7 – 10 remain under examination.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previous objection
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejection of claims 2 and 7 – 10 under 112(b)
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 2 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusawa (US2020/0187363).
Regarding claims 2 and 9 – 10, Furusawa teaches a solder/bonding paste containing a liquid solvent and at least two solid solvents [0019]. The liquid solvent can be one or more of α-terpineol, isooctadecanol, and tetraethylene glycol [0020], meeting claim 10, and present in a range of 10 – 90 mass% [0021], which overlaps with the claimed range of 68% or more. Furusawa teaches that the solid solvent can be 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol, meeting claim 9.
The flux (interpreted as the claimed binder given the identical components of a solid solvent and liquid solvent) is present in a range of 5 – 20 mass% of the paste, which falls within the claimed range [0041]. The metal bonding material (solder meeting the BRI of “brazing material”) is present in an amount of 80 – 95 mass% [0041], which falls within the claimed range.
Lastly, the flux (interpreted as the claimed binder) can contain a thixotropic agent in a range of 1 10% [0036], which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Furusawa teaches the invention as applied above in claim 2. Wherein the flux (interpreted as the binder material of Furusawa) requires only the liquid solvent and solid solvent and the liquid solvent can preferably be α-terpineol [0020] and the solid solvent can preferably be 2,2-dimethyl-1,3-propanediol (i.e., neopentyl glycol) and 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol [0022].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected the combination above as the flux material of Furusawa to achieve predictable results. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results because the components noted above are preferable embodiments of their respective components.
Moreover, the boiling point of α-terpineol is ~217°C, the boiling of 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-hexanediol is ~215°C, and the boiling points of 2,2-dimethyl-1,3-propanediol (i.e., neopentyl glycol) is ~209°C. As such, at 250°C these components would be expected to have boiled away and therefore the residue to be essentially 0%, which meets the claimed range.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusawa (US2020/0187363), as applied to claim 2, in further view of Minagawa (NPL, 2005)
Regarding claim 7, Furusawa teaches the invention as applied above in claim 2. Furusawa teachers that the bonding material is metal [0041]. Furusawa does not teach the presence of boric acid or borax, meeting the claimed limitation. Furusawa does not discuss the oxygen content of the metal bonding material.
Minagawa provides teachings and discussion of the production of lead-free solder powder for electronic bonding applications [Title, Abstract]. Minagawa teaches that lead-free solder powder requires demanding specifications including narrow size distribution, sphericity with minimal satellites, and an oxygen content of ~100 ppm, which falls within the claimed range [Introduction].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the metal bonding material of Furusawa (which includes lead-free solder alloys [0040]) and controlled the oxygen content to be ~100 ppm, as disclosed by Minagawa. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Furusawa and Minagawa are both directed to lead-free solder alloys. Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Minagawa teaches that this approximate oxygen content is a requirement for lead-free solder alloys for bonding electronic components, which Furusawa is applied to [Title].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner notes that the applicant’s amendments and arguments thereto have overcome the previous rejection under 112(b). As such, based on the updated interpretation of the claims, the previously cited prior art does not anticipate the claims.
Upon further consideration, a new rejection is made of Furusawa (US2020/0187363). Applicant’s arguments are pertinent to Furusawa and therefore a full response is provided.
Applicant argues that the prior art is directed to a solder material with does not meet the claimed invention of brazing material. Applicant references ISO 857-2 which describes brazing and soldering and states that brazing uses a material with a melting point over 450°C and soldering uses a filler material under 450°C. The applicant’s arguments and evidence have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In particular, while brazing and soldering are generally distinguished by melting points of the filler material used, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation and under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard the solder of the prior art relied upon would meet claimed limitation of “brazing material”. The brazing material is not defined/limited (such as explicitly requiring a melting temperature) except that it is used for brazing. To this, the examiner provides evidence in Matsumoto (NPL). Matsumoto describes low-temperature brazing processes [Abstract] including using Sn alloys [Table 1] which are below 450°C in melting point. As such, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive because the solder alloy of the prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “brazing material”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738