Claim Objections
The previous claim objections of Claim 9 has been addressed and is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under Claims 6 and 14 has been addressed and are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200381107 A1, Lowry (hereinafter Lowry) in view of US 1745518 A, Vance et al. (hereinafter Vance).
Regarding Claim 1, 9, and 18, Lowry discloses a system for managing linen inventory (Fig 16A-16I, inventory list which include linens, [0017] inventory tracking and management system), the system comprising:
a plurality of computerized smart bins (Fig. 6 (20b – bin), Fig. 5 (drawers), two types of smart bins) that each comprise:
(1) at least one smart bin computer processor (Fig 4 (20d – smart bin), bin includes different types of electronics such as: [0066] weight sensors, [0068] camera sensors, [0069] motion sensors);
(2) memory that is operatively coupled to the at least one smart bin
computer processor ([0066] central database that records all data for inventory tracking);
(3) at least one linen item sensor (Fig. 4, (66 – weight sensor)) that is adapted to determine a quantity of linen items ([0066] sensor 66 records and sends the current weight of object within the bins 20b) within the respective smart bin (Fig 4, (20d – smart bin)); and
(4) at least one communications interface for communicating information
from the at least one smart bin (Fig 4, (20d – smart bin)) computer processor to a human user ([0024] states communication to various devices, [0080] states smartphone uses for inventory tracking),
wherein:
at least one of the plurality of computerized smart bins (Lowry, Fig. 4, (20d –bin)) is substantially in the shape of a substantially hollow cuboid defining (Lowry, Fig 4, 6, 8 all show cube like shapes with hollow interiors for storing inventory such as linen, [0062] The ER inventory tracking and management system 10 also anticipates various storage solutions. These solutions include bins 20b (see FIGS. 6 and 7), baskets, boxes, drawers 20d (for example, of the carts 20a disclosed above)):
an interior portion for storing the linen items (Lowry, Fig 16A-16I, show list of inventory list which include linens. [0017] inventory tracking and management system summary), and
a front face having an opening through which a user may remove one or more linen items from the interior portion (Lowry, Figs. 16A to 16I, show linens as part of the inventory that is tracked)
each respective smart bin (Fig 4., (20d – smart bin)) is adapted to use the at least one linen item sensor ([0066] sensor 66 records and sends the current weight of object within the bins 20b) to determine a quantity of linen within the respective smart bin ([0031] weight sensor to determine inventory levels and/or incorrect product placement) and communicate, via the communications interface ([0024] communication to various devices, [0080] use of a smartphone interface for inventory tracking), an indication of a number of items that need to be added to, or removed from, the smart bin (Fig 4., (20d – smart bin)) in order to meet a particular inventory objective ([0051] the use of alerts when inventory low to restock, [0079] The ER inventory management system through the processing server also automatically keeps track of supplies and inventory levels, accomplished with weight-based scales to keep track of used items).
Lowry does not disclose at least one of the plurality of computerized smart bins is substantially in the shape of a substantially hollow cuboid defining:
a front face having an opening through which a user may remove one or more linen items from the interior portion, the opening extending from a top of the front face to a base of the front face and having a width adjacent the top of the front face that is greater than a width adjacent the base of the front face.
However, Vance teaches at least one of the plurality of computerized smart bins is substantially in the shape of a substantially hollow cuboid defining (Vance, [Page 2 Line 130 - Page 3 Line 15] (29) Each box, comprises a bottom. 51, side walls 1,30, 52 and end walls 53. The side and bottom walls are constructed from a single sheet of metal comprising a rectangular bottom 51 from which the side walls 52 are bent upwardly along parallel lines of bend 54. The bottom and side walls of the box are provided at each end with inturned integral end flanges 57 bent along lines of bend 56. The flanges 57 embrace rectangular end plates 58, and are secured thereto by spotwelding or other convenient means to form the ends 53 of the box. The upper edges of the side walls 52 and of the end plates 58 are bent inwardly and thence downwardly parallel therewith as at 59 to form folded edges 52’):
a front face having an opening through which a user may remove one or more linen items from the interior portion (Vance, Fig. 8, [Page 3 Line 19-23] The edges of the inturned end flanges 57 20are offset at 61 to provide strips 62 parallel with and spaced from the end plates 58. The strips 62 form a rectangular pocket 63 at front and rear of the box, which is of double- end construction that is to say if formed haying identical front and rear ends), the opening extending from a top of the front face to a base of the front face and having a width adjacent the top of the front face that is greater than a width adjacent the base of the front face (Vance, Fig. 8, [Page 2 Line 4-16] The opposed sides of tubular uprights 14, Fig. 3, are provided with a plurality of spaced slots 21 of double T shape, that is to say slot 21 comprises a bottom relatively narrow portion 21', a wider portion 22 there above and a still wider top portion ]0 22'. The narrow portion 21' is adapted to receive and support the end of a bearer 16 which is slotted for engagement therein. The portion 22 is large enough to receive a bearer bar which may be inserted therein endwise Sand forced down into engagement in the narrow portion 21' of the slot).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lowry and Vance’s teaching because Lowry teaches a computerized system for managing inventory items using storage bins that permit removal of stored items and determine inventory levels. Vance teaches storage boxes having a front opening that extends from a top of the front face to a base of the front face and is configured such that the width of the top of the face is greater than the width of the bottom of the front face, thereby allowing access to stored items while reducing the likelihood of unintended removal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the opening configuration taught by Vance to the bins of Lowry in order to improve user access to linens and other inventory items while maintaining proper containment of the items within the bins or container.
Regarding Claim 2, 10 and 20, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein:
the system further comprises a smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart), [0057] The carts 20a are provided with tracking hardware known to those skilled in the art…); and
at least two of the smart bins (Fig. 4, (20d –bin)) are disposed on the smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart), [0057] the ER inventory tracking and management system 10 makes use of movable carts 20a with removable or withdrawable drawers 20d).
Regarding Claim 3 and 11, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein the smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart) comprises:
at least one smart cart computer processor ([0079] inventory tracking and management system through the processing server also automatically keeps track of supplies and inventory levels);
computer memory that is operatively coupled to the smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart)) computer processor ([0054] inventory tracking and management system includes a central database); and
networking hardware that is adapted to facilitate communication between the
smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart)) and a central linen management server ([0055] - [0056], [0025] storage devices, sensors, and monitoring devices are connected to the central database via a wireless network).
Regarding Claim 4 and 12, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein each respective smart bin (Fig. 4, (20d –bin)) is connected to communicate with the at least one smart cart (Fig. 3 (20a – cart)) computer processor (various methods of communicating an example is [0080] once an item is requested by medical staff, the correct bin lights up (via the tracking light 72) or sounds off (via the speaker 74) to identify the location of the desired item).
Regarding Claim 5 and 13, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein each respective smart bin (Fig. 4, (20d –bin)) is connected to communicate with at least one other one of the plurality of computerized smart bins (Fig. 4, (20d –bin), [0062] The ER inventory tracking and management system also anticipates various storage solutions. These solutions include bins 20b (see FIGS. 6 and 7) … and other storage products, all of which are linked to the central database).
Regarding Claim 6 and 14, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the particular inventory objective is to have enough inventory ([0080] inventory tracking and management system also includes built-in maps to ER/Trauma settings so medical staff will know which storage unit needs to be restocked or where to find items), within the smart bin (Fig. 4, (20d –bin)), to re-supply a particular type of linen item on a supply route within a healthcare facility ([0080] inventory tracking and management system will also produce inventory lists as shown in FIGS. 16A to 16I).
Regarding Claim 8 and 16, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of smart bins (Fig. 4, (20d –bin)) comprises a physical visual indicator (Fig. 4, (71 – vibration device, 72 – LEDs, 74 – speakers, 56 – sound alarm)) on the inside of the smart bin (Fig. 4, (20d –bin), [0071] In addition to the transmission of the data, the bins 20b, drawers 20d, and/or cabinets 20c are also provided with physical indicators allowing for quick staff assessment) that indicates the height of a stack of a certain type of item when the smart bin is loaded to PAR ([0068] The cameras monitor the contents of the storage content and send images to the central database and the processing server which compares obtained images to known images to identify any aberrations. These aberrations might indicate incorrect inventory placement or low inventory levels. [0079] cameras 44 could monitor the bins 20b, drawers 20d, and/or cabinets 20c and recognize changes in the shapes and quantity of the contents of the bins 20b, drawers 20d, and/or cabinets 20c).
Regarding Claim 17, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 9, wherein the linen item sensor is selected from a group consisting of: a scale (Fig. 4, (66 – weight sensor)), a camera (Fig 4, (44 – camera sensor)), a light sensor (Fig. 4, (68 - light or laser sensor)), and an audio-based item (Fig. 4 (56 – sound alarms)) sensor ([0079] the weight-based scales discussed above to keep track of used items. Pressure sensors and light sensors are also used to advise the ER inventory tracking and management system).
Regarding Claim 19, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the method of Claim 18, wherein the facility is a healthcare facility ([0017] inventory tracking and management system within a hospital).
Regarding Claim 21, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 9, wherein the opening is substantially T-shaped (Vance, see Fig. 8, [Page 2 Line 4-16] The opposed sides of tubular uprights 14, Fig. 3, are provided with a plurality of spaced slots 21 of double T shape, that is to say slot 21 comprises a bottom relatively narrow portion 21', a wider portion 22 thereabove and a still wider top portion ]0 22'. The narrow portion 21' is adapted to receive and support the end of a bearer 16 which is slotted for engagement therein. The portion 22 is large enough to receive a bearer bar which may be inserted therein endwise Sand forced down into engagement in the narrow portion 21' of the slot)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lowry and Vance’s teaching because Lowry teaches storage bins used in an inventory management system and Vance teaches a front opening having a wider upper portion and a narrower lower portion to facilitate access to stored items. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the opening configuration taught by Vance to the bins of Lowry in order to improve ease of item removal during inventory management while maintaining proper containment of the items. The recitation that the opening is substantially T-shaped merely characterizes the geometry of the opening and does not provide a functional distinction (see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. Changes in Shape “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)”.
Regarding Claim 22, Lowry in view of Vance teaches the system of Claim 9, wherein the opening is substantially V-shaped (Vance, see Fig. 8, [Page 2 Line 4-16] The opposed sides of tubular uprights 14, Fig. 3, are provided with a plurality of spaced slots 21 of double T shape, that is to say slot 21 comprises a bottom relatively narrow portion 21', a wider portion 22 there above and a still wider top portion ]0 22'. The narrow portion 21' is adapted to receive and support the end of a bearer 16 which is slotted for engagement therein. The portion 22 is large enough to receive a bearer bar which may be inserted therein endwise Sand forced down into engagement in the narrow portion 21' of the slot).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lowry and Vance for the same reasons set forth above with respect to Claim 21, with the difference being that the opening is characterized as substantially V-shaped rather than substantially T-shaped. The recited shape merely describes the geometry of the opening and does not impart of functional distinction. see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. Changes in Shape “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.”
Response to Arguments
35 USC§ 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 of the 35 U.S.C 102 Rejection have been considered but are inapplicable because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references (Lowry in view of Vance) being used in the current rejection.
Regarding the argument that the amended limitations in Claims 1, 9, and 18 “at least one of the plurality of computerized smart bins is substantially in the shape of a substantially hollow cuboid defining:
An interior portion for storing the linen items, and
A front face having an opening through which a user may remove one or more linen items from the interior portion, the opening extending from a top of the front face to a base of the front face and having a width adjacent the top of the front face that is greater than a width adjacent the base of the front face” the applicant argues that Lowry does not disclose new claim limitation of front face opening is persuasive under the original limitation, but fails in view of the new combination of references.
This argument is not persuasive because of the new reference, Vance (US 1745518 A), teaches the added limitation directed to the front face opening as described in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above. Accordingly, dependent claims 2-6, 8, 10-14, 16-17, and 19-22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857