The following final office action is in response to the reply filed May 18, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gear and the jack screw extending through the vehicle door panel must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Note that only the jack screw is shown extending through the vehicle door panel. See figure 4, which shows the gear 26 extending above and parallel to the door panel 10. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because recitations such as “a vehicle door panel” on line 3 of claim 1 bring the clarity of the claims into question because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the door panel set forth above or is attempting to set forth a door panel in addition to the one set forth above.
The claims are objected to because recitations such as “a window regulator” on line 4 of claim 1 bring the clarity of the claims into question because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the window regulator set forth above or is attempting to set forth another window regulator in addition to the one set forth above.
Claims 2-7, 15, 17 and 19 are objected to because the preamble of claims 2-7, 15, 17 and 19 do not agree with the preamble of claim 1 from which they depend.
Recitations such as “wherein worm” on line 1 of claim 2 bring the clarity of the claims into question because they are grammatically incorrect and confusing. Did the applicant mean to recite “wherein the worm”?
Recitations such as “wherein worm” on line 1 of claim 9 bring the clarity of the claims into question because they are grammatically incorrect and confusing. Did the applicant mean to recite “wherein the worm”?
Recitations such as “provides guiding” on line 2 of claim 19 bring the clarity of the claims into question because they are grammatically incorrect and confusing. Did the applicant mean to recite “provides a guiding”?
Recitations such as “provides guiding” on line 2 of claim 20 bring the clarity of the claims into question because they are grammatically incorrect and confusing. Did the applicant mean to recite “provides a guiding”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification fails to provide support for both the gear and the jack screw extending through the door panel. Note that only the jack screw 24 (fig. 4) extends through the door panel 10. The gear 26 extends parallel to the door panel 10 rather than extending through the door panel 10 as required by lines 8-9 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Note that claim 1 recites that both of the gear and the jack screw extend through the door panel. This is not supported by the original disclosure since only the jack screw 24 (fig. 4) extends through the door panel 10. The gear 26 extends parallel to the door panel 10 rather than extending through the door panel 10 as required by lines 8-9 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisak et al. (US 4956942) in view of Mrozowski et al. (US 2002/0008404).
With respect to claim 1, Lisak et al. discloses a window regulator and door panel assembly of a vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle door panel 42 (figs. 3 and 4);
a window regulator (see lines 49-53 of column 2 which discloses that the window 14 is movable between opened and closed positions which would require a window regulator); and
an apparatus for adjusting a location of a rail 12, 46 of the window regulator with respect to the vehicle door panel 42, the apparatus comprising:
a jack-screw 54 secured to a gear 62, the gear 62 and the jack-screw 54 being rotatably secured to and extending through (labeled below) the vehicle door panel, the jack screw 54 extending away from a surface (labeled below) of the vehicle door panel 42;
a bevel gear 64 rotatably secured to the vehicle door panel, the bevel gear 64 being configured to meshingly engage the gear 62; and
a nut 52 secured to the rail 12, 46, the jack-screw 54 extending through the rail 12, 46 and threadingly engaging the nut 52, wherein when the bevel gear 64 is rotated in a first direction the jack-screw 54 will rotate in either a clockwise direction and when the bevel gear 64 is rotated in a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, the jack-screw 54 will rotate in a or counter clockwise direction, wherein movement of the jack-screw 54 in the clockwise direction or in the counter clockwise direction will cause the rail 12, 46 to move with respect to the vehicle door panel.
Lisak et al. is silent concerning a worm rotatably secured to the vehicle door panel, the worm being configured to meshingly engage the gear.
However, Mrozowski et al. discloses an apparatus for adjusting a location of a rail 234 (fig. 6) comprising a worm 270 (fig. 9) rotatably secured to a vehicle door panel 216, the worm being 270 configured to meshingly engage a gear 272, wherein rotation of the worm and the gear causes the rail 234 to move relative to the vehicle door panel 216.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the two bevel gears 62 and 64 of Lisak et al. with a worm 270 and worm gear 272, as taught by Mrozowski et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to more accurately control the positioning of the rail relative to the vehicle door panel and to produce large torque in a small space.
With respect to claim 2, Lisak et al. discloses that the bevel gear 64 is accessible from outside of a vehicle door 10. Thus, when the bevel gear 64 is replaced by the worm and worm gear drive, the worm would also be accessible from outside the vehicle door 10.
With respect to claim 3, the apparatus 25 of Lisak et al., as modified above, is located at the lower area of the rail 12, 46 as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 4, Lisak et al., as modified above, discloses that the vehicle door panel provides a guiding 68 (fig. 3) for a tool 32 that is configured to engage a head of the worm 270 of Mrozowski et al. in order to provide a rotational force to the worm.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, the apparatus 25 of Lisak et al., as modified above, is located in a lower area of the rail 12, 46 as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 7, Lisak et al., as modified above, discloses that the vehicle door panel provides a guiding 68 (fig. 3) for a tool 32 that is configured to engage a head of the worm 270 of Mrozowski et al. in order to provide a rotational force to the worm.
With respect to claim 15, Lisak et al., as modified above, discloses that the worm 270 and the gear 272 of Mrozowski et al. would be located between the rail 12, 46 of the window regulator and the vehicle door panel 42. As shown in figure 4, at least a portion of 42 would be positioned below the worm 270 and the gear 272 of Mrozowski et al. and thus the worm 270 and the gear 272 of Mrozowski et al. would be positioned between the panel 42 and the rail 12, 46.
With respect to claim 17, Lisak et al., as modified above, discloses that the nut 52 is directly secured to the rail 12, 46.
With respect to claim 19, Lisak et al., as modified above, discloses that the vehicle door panel 42 provides guiding 68 (fig. 3) for access to the worm 272 of Mrozowski et al. by a tool 32.
Claims 8-14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisak et al. in view of Mrozowski et al. as applied to claims 1-7, 15, 17 and 19 above.
Lisak et al., as modified above, is silent concerning the specific method steps by which the apparatus of Lisak et al., as modified above, is utilized.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus of Lisak et al., as modified above, as set forth in the method steps as set forth in claims 8-14, 16, 18 and 20 with a reasonable expectation of success to adjust the position of the window during assembly of the vehicle and during use of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Lisak et al. fails to disclose the jack screw extending through the vehicle door panel. This is not found to be persuasive because, as set forth in the rejection above, Lisak et al. discloses a panel 42 and at least a portion of the jack screw 54 extends through the panel 42 as labeled above. It should be noted that the applicant’s “panel” 10 is not a continuously planar element and includes sections that are bent relative to other sections just like the panel 42 of Lisak et al. For an example of the applicant’s bent sections of the panel 10, see applicant’s figures 4-6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634