DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment II, corresponding to Figs. 1 and 5A-5C and claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 5B, 6B, 6C, 7A, 8, and 9 should be replaced with line drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprises,” “comprising,” “means,” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang [CN208127103].
In regard to claim 1, Yang discloses [in Figs. 1-4B] a DC disconnector comprising: a static electrical contact [2014], comprising a plurality of contact elements [annotated below], wherein each contact element may be individually and reversibly coupled to the static electrical contact [2014]; at least one moveable electrical contact, comprising a plurality of conductor blades [2002, 2003]; and a shaft [1002], coupled to the movable electrical contact, wherein the shaft [1002] is configured to actuate the moveable electrical contact between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of conductor blades [2002, 2003] abuts at least one contact element in the first configuration, and wherein the plurality of conductor blades [2002, 2003] are displaced from the contact elements in the second configuration.
In regard to claim 2, Yang discloses [in Figs. 1-4B] the DC disconnector of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of each contact element [2015] is arranged in a recess [2016] of the static electrical contact [2014].
In regard to claims 3 and 4, Yang discloses [in Figs. 1-4B] the DC disconnector of claim 1, wherein each contact element [2015] comprises: a contact engaging face [annotated below] configured to contact at least one conductor blade [2002, 2003] in the first configuration; and a connecting plate [annotated below] configured to couple the contact element [23015] to the static electrical contact [2014], wherein each connecting plate comprises a cut-out portion, wherein the cut-out portion is configured to accommodate deformation of the connecting plate.
In regard to claim 5, Yang discloses [in Figs. 1-4B] the DC disconnector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of contact elements are spaced along at least one edge of the static electrical contact [2014].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rhein et al. [US 10,002,732; US 10,804,055; US 2021/0027959] disclose similar devices.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831