DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments and arguments and request for continued examination filed on December 9, 2025. Applicant has amended claims 1, 9, 17-20. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained in light of applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 9, 17-20.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained in light of applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 9, 17-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks submitted on 12/9/25 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues on p. 9 of the remarks that the 101 rejection is improper. Examiner disagrees. Applicant argues on p. 10 of the remarks that the claims include various limitations that practical application. Examiner notes such limitations are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or tools for implementing the abstract idea. Applicant argues on p. 14 of the remarks that the amendments show the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. Examiner disagrees and notes that verifying authenticity of a data is an abstract step and to the extent that is automated or by a computer, those are tools for implementing such a determination. Applicant argues on p. 16 of the remarks that the claims are an improvement to a technology or technical field. Examiner disagrees and notes that verification of a document is not considered a technical field and, even if it was, verification is not being improved but rather is a step in improving the abstract idea of identifying a skill associated with a user and a verification entity of the skill based on user and receiving data indicative of whether that the user possesses the skill based on communication from an external verification entity verifying whether the user possesses the skill and generating a document and populating the document with an identifier of the skill and a verification indicator that indicates the skill as being verified by the external verification entity and storing the document and receiving scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator and determining an authenticity, based on a query including the received scan data of the document where the scan data matches the skill in the document and transmit, in response to the authenticity determination that the scan data matches the skill in the document, a notification that the at least one skill in the scan data corresponds to a verified skill. Therefore, the 101 rejections are maintained. Applicant argues on p. 18 of the remarks that the 103 rejections are improper. Applicant argues on p. 19 of the remarks that the skills passport dashboard cannot be considered a digital document. Examiner disagrees. A webpage is a type of digital document given broadest reasonable interpretation; therefore, a skill passport dashboard displayed on a computer screen can also be considered a digital document. Applicant further argues on p. 19 of the remarks that Zabar fails to show the scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator. Examiner notes that para [0036 ] of Zabar shows it can be used by a reader to obtain "a subset of the information including a universal resource locator (URL) to direct a browser to login to verification system 100. Securely encoded portions of the information might allow for verification system 100 to verify that the credential verification device 202 is authorized for use by the system, and identify the particular credential entity to verification system 100. Other embodiments might allow for other form of direct or dial-up login. The physical embodiment of credential 201, such as a diploma, might be awarded to the individual, along with credential verification device 200. Also, in for mobile applications, an employer might be able to use their camera to scan system generated. QR code that are embedded by the user in their resume and thus authenticate certain credentials and employment history directly from their resumes." The diploma and certain credentials and employment history can be considered to show it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator. Therefore, the claims remain rejected under 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are clearly drawn to at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C. 101 (a server, method and computer-readable storage medium). Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1, 9 and 17 recite the abstract idea of identifying a skill associated with a user and a verification entity of the skill based on user and receiving data indicative of whether that the user possesses the skill based on communication from an external verification entity verifying whether the user possesses the skill and generating a document and populating the document with an identifier of the skill and a verification indicator that indicates the skill as being verified by the external verification entity and storing the document and receiving scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator and determining an authenticity, based on a query including the received scan data of the document where the scan data matches the skill in the document and transmit, in response to the authenticity determination that the scan data matches the skill in the document, a notification that the at least one skill in the scan data corresponds to a verified skill. The claims are directed to a type of skills verification. Under prong 1 of Step 2A, these claims are considered abstract because the claims are a type of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and because the claims are certain methods of organizing human activity such as commercial interactions (including business relations). The claims are a type of managing personal behavior because skills are a type of personal behavior and the verification of such skills is a type of managing such behavior and the claims are organizing human activity including business relations because skills are human activities and the verification and matching of such skills can be considered organization of such data and the skills are relevant for business use. Under prong 2 of Step 2A, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims (the judicial exception and any additional elements individually or in combination such as a server comprising a data store and a processor, a host server, a data stored in a software application that is hosted by the host server, a communication channel between the host server and the external verification entity via an application programming interface (API), communications exchanged between the host server and the verification entity via the communication channel, a digital document, a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a processor cause a computer to perform steps, automatically generate, trusted data store, a computing device, read by the computing device and transmit a notification to the computing device) are not an improvement to a computer or a technology, the claims do not apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing nor do the claims apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment such that the claims as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. These limitations at best are merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination such as a server comprising a data store and a processor, a host server, a data stored in a software application that is hosted by the host server, a communication channel between the host server and the external verification entity via an application programming interface (API), communications exchanged between the host server and the verification entity via the communication channel, a digital document, a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a processor cause a computer to perform steps, automatically generate, trusted data store, a computing device, read by the computing device and transmit a notification to the computing device (as evidenced by p. 4, 9, 28-31 of applicant’s own specification) are well understood, routine and conventional in the field. Dependent claims 7-8, 15-16 also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements either individually or in combination are merely an extension of the abstract idea itself by further showing identify a job type associated with the user from the user data, map the job type to a predefined code, and identify a plurality of skills associated with the user from the list of skills queried and establish independent communication channels with a plurality of verification entities associated with the plurality of skills, verify the plurality of skills via the plurality of independent communication. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, 18-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination such as wherein the processor is configured to embed a digital code into the digital document, map the digital code to an identifier of the digital document, and store the mapping within a mapping table in the data store and wherein the processor is further configured to receive scan data comprising a scanned digital code from a computing device, determine that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the document via the mapping table, and transmit a successful authentication response to the computing device and wherein the processor is configured to transmit identifiers of known skills of the user to a user interface of the computing device in response to a determination that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the document and wherein the processor is configured to store the digital document within a blockchain ledger, generate the document via a smart contract installed on the blockchain ledger, and store the mapping within a mapping table embedded in the smart contract and receiving scan data comprising a scanned digital code from a computing device, determining that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the document via the mapping table embedded in the smart contract, and transmitting a successful authentication response to the computing device and query a database with the predefined code for a list of skills of the job type (as evidenced by p. 4, 9, 28-31 of applicant’s own specification) are well understood, routine and conventional in the field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicio (US 2019/0122161 A1) in view of Zabar (US 2014/0304183 A1).
Claims 1, 9 and 17:
Cicio, as shown, discloses the following limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17:
A server (and corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium) comprising: a data store and a processor (Fig 1, showing a computing platform for implementing the system) configured to identify a skill associated with a user and a verification entity of the skill based on user data stored in a software application hosted by the server (see para [0020], "Skills assessments may include, but are not limited to: self, peer, instructor, tested, applied, manager, lab etc. In the event that more than an individual assessment is performed the platform aggregates and computes the average scoring and recommends courses using open integration standards and mapping of competencies and KSAs to existing eco-system applications (eg HR, SIS, LMS). The machine may calculate the aggregate of the extended role profile data, mapping to courses within existing learning management systems and external offerings, and tracks enrollment and completion at the competency and KSA level the machine that aggregates, validates and certifies this information in the Skills Passport 110. Calculations of results are then applied to measure skills performance/progression/predictive/potential and sense of purpose state of showcasing individual's personas over time. The machine's ability to aggregate date, apply NLP and predictive modeling analytics validate over time is critical to scale solutions with enterprise, academic institutions, state, governments and global large data. The machine model and math techniques may be used to apply against internal structured data (private networks) and unstructured and distributed architectures and networks (eg blockchain) to source, validate and audit virtual ledgers containing skills and competency assessments that align to this applications framework.", were it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that skill needs to be identified in order to be certified),
establish a communication channel between the server and the external verification entity via an application programming interface (API) (see para [0022], "Skills Passport (overview): the aggregation of compute engine analytics and data structure to showcase talent using the most advanced technology. The Skills Passport represents an individual's skills-based DNA. Visualized in an interactive protected and secured authentication empowered platform, individuals showcase their fingerprint/DNA of skills and aligning/preparedness for perfect matching of job roles and pathways that will increase retention, employment, alignment with passion, decreased anxiety and depression of current state. Data structure extension include portfolio work product (files, video, links), academic history (degrees, courses, schools, transcripts), financial and legal background history, work experience, professional certifications and personal interests. Data is verified and verified from its “source”. Source data may be accessed directly in private networks using APIs and/or distributed ledgers (Blockchain) to capture and track data. This information is credentialed (digital badge) and is controlled by the individual (privacy and empowerment)." where the source data being accessed using APIs shows communication with external verification and see para [0020]-[0021], showing include verification entities),
receive data indicative of where the the user possesses the skill based on communications exchanged between the server and the external verification entity via the communication channel, the external verification entity verifying whether the user possesses the skill (see para [0019]-[0022], showing competency assessments validated and securely communicated between entities),
automatically generate a digital document and populate the digital document with an identifier of the skill and a verification indicator that indicates the skill as being verified by the external verification entity (Figs 8A-8F, where the skill passport dashboard can be considered a digital document and see para [0062], " A digital multimedia resume may be created using the T-Shaped data structure. A user's skills passport may include uploaded documents (i.e. credentials), a skills section (validated data), a star rating (for example, 1-5), validation of the user's involvement in different jobs/positions/experiences, and certificates (start/end data, certification number, etc.)." showing that skill sections include validated data which can include the stars which can be a verification indicator given broadest reasonable interpretation in Fig 8F and see abstract "A skills portfolio passport is generated based on skills and competency assessments in combination with “real-time” applied knowledge data"),
store the digital document in a trusted data store within the data store (see para [0044], "In various embodiments, a blockchain, or distributed ledger, provides a decentralized approach to tracking information. By eliminating the need for a central authority, information and transactions therewith may be circulated and verified over a network. A blockchain may provide a secure solution for tracking, for example, the ownership and transfer of assets. In a simplified example, a blockchain may provide proof of who owns what at any given point in time and be replicated on hundreds or thousands of computing nodes." and see para [0048], "In an embodiment of the present invention, a distributed secure transaction ledger, in the form of a block chain, may be used to communicate data between parties. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a block chain or decentralized secure transaction ledger 605 may be one that is maintained by nodes in a distributed network. Although each block of ledger 605 may contain differentiated information and may have distinct purposes, as illustrated in FIG. 6, block 610 contains a sample communication or message according to embodiments of the present invention.")
Although Cicio discloses providing scan data at para [0054], Cicio does not specifically disclose receiving, from a computing device, scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator read by the computing device. In analogous art, Zabar discloses the following limitations:
receive, from a computing device, scan data including at least one skill and an associated verification indicator read by the computing device (see para [0036], "FIG. 2 shows an exemplary credential award 200, including physical embodiment of credential 201 and credential verification device 202, as might be employed by the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1. Credential verification device 202 includes coded information ("code") 203. Credential verification device 202 forms a unique and individualized physical "carrier" for code 203. Code 203 represents a securely coded form of information that can be scanned or otherwise read. For example, code 203 might be information stored in a bar code, QR code and the like printed on a label, but might also be information stored in an NFC or RFID tag. The information in code 203 is at least partially securely encoded, and allows, for example, a reader to obtain a subset of the information including a universal resource locator (URL) to direct a browser to login to verification system 100. Securely encoded portions of the information might allow for verification system 100 to verify that the credential verification device 202 is authorized for use by the system, and identify the particular credential entity to verification system 100. Other embodiments might allow for other form of direct or dial-up login. The physical embodiment of credential 201, such as a diploma, might be awarded to the individual, along with credential verification device 200. Also, in for mobile applications, an employer might be able to use their camera to scan system generated. QR code that are embedded by the user in their resume and thus authenticate certain credentials and employment history directly from their resumes");
determine an authenticity, based on a query including the received scan data of the digital document in the trusted data store within the data store that the scan data matches the skill in the stored digital document (see para [0041], "The user will get a notification that the company is seeking the user's verified credentials and will be asked to approve access by the company. The user will be able to approve access on a per Award basis (Diploma, transcripts, sports awards, and the like) or provide complete access to die company searching for the user's information. Once approved, the company will receive an email with a link to the user's awards." and see para [0046], ", the reported credential information for each employed individual is verified by verification system 100. At step 604, verification server 101 processes the reported credential information and identifies those specific credentials or qualifications that require maintenance action by either i) the member or ii) the employed individual. At step 605, the processed, reported credential information is stored in database 102, along with due dates, compliance dates, course requirements, and the like for specific credentials or qualifications associated with each corresponding employed individual." and Figs 5-6); and
transmit, in response to the authenticity determination that the scan data matches the skill in the stored digital document, a notification to the computing device that the at least one skill in the scan data corresponds to a verified skill (see para [0042], " For seal expiration/validity, the verification system 100 retrieves third party information regarding credential expiration date that is constantly cross checked against our internal database for accuracy and allows for reporting and alerts to the user and other subscribers to the system (as long as they have the user's permission)." and see para [0046], "At step 606, verification server 101 periodically accesses and checks the processed, reported credential information for upcoming due dates for maintenance action. At step 607, verification server 101 periodically reports to the member (and the user) any upcoming, overdue or unfulfilled maintenance actions by either i) the member or ii) the employed individual. Another aspect of the system is that the employer, university and other awarding institutions might provide the verification system with the user's picture, thus enabling authentication of the user's image for future employers and other third parties.").
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zabarwith Cicio because receiving scan data that includes skills and verified data enables more efficient verification of applications and users of their credentials by employers (see Zabar, para [0005]-[0009]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the verification system as taught by Zabar in the method of real-time skills based and competency assessment of Cicio, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 2, 10 and 18:
Further, Cicio discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is configured to embed a digital code into the digital document, map the digital code to an identifier of the digital document, and store the mapping within a mapping table in the data store (see para [0054], "The disclosed embodiments provide a supply chain as applied to people to create a skill's passport for an individual user. Essentially a supply chain for people. The skill's passport may take on a T-Shaped data structure for an individual, their identity, and their unique brand. In one embodiment, the T-Shaped data structure may be maintained on a blockchain. A link or code to the data structure may be provided in hard copy form, such as on a business card. The link or code may be in scan able format, such as a QR code, or the like. Information provide may include, but is certainly not limited to, the person's biography, skills, past job/work/life experience, and education credentials/history. Further, the T-Shaped data structure may provide a data visualization of a person's passport providing at least three components:" where the QR code can considered such an embedded code)
Claims 3, 11 and 19:
Further, Cicio discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is further configured to receive scan data comprising a scanned digital code from a computing device, determine that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the digital document via the mapping table (see para [0054], "The disclosed embodiments provide a supply chain as applied to people to create a skill's passport for an individual user. Essentially a supply chain for people. The skill's passport may take on a T-Shaped data structure for an individual, their identity, and their unique brand. In one embodiment, the T-Shaped data structure may be maintained on a blockchain. A link or code to the data structure may be provided in hard copy form, such as on a business card. The link or code may be in scan able format, such as a QR code, or the like. Information provide may include, but is certainly not limited to, the person's biography, skills, past job/work/life experience, and education credentials/history. Further, the T-Shaped data structure may provide a data visualization of a person's passport providing at least three components:"), and transmit a successful authentication response to the computing device (see para [0048]-[0050], "In an embodiment of the present invention, a distributed secure transaction ledger, in the form of a block chain, may be used to communicate data between parties. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a block chain or decentralized secure transaction ledger 605 may be one that is maintained by nodes in a distributed network. Although each block of ledger 605 may contain differentiated information and may have distinct purposes, as illustrated in FIG. 6, block 610 contains a sample communication or message according to embodiments of the present invention. In an embodiment of the present invention, ledger 605 may be used to send messages between at least two users of a system through, for example, nodes in a network. By way of non-limiting example only, a message in block 620 of the ledger 605 may contain a header 622 and contents 630. The header 622 may comprises at least one block ID 624 for block 620, a block ID 626 of the previous block, and a nonce value 628, an arbitrary number that may be used as a cryptographic hash function. These values and block information may be used in linking blocks together to form a chain. The contents 630 may comprise one or more messages 632 and may also include other data 634. In an embodiment on the present invention, a message 632 may comprise a unique identifier of the owner/originator/sender of the message. This information may be used for one or more purposes, such as, for example, to identify the owner or sender to provide a way by which a third-party node or nodes that handle and or process the ledger 605. Additionally, the identifier of the owner/sender may be used or linked to an authentication module and/or server associated with using the block chain as a communication channel, or for other actions. Indeed, block 620 may include any number of identifiers which may for example, be used to indicate whether or not the ledger 605 should be directed to a different identifier than the originator of the message 632. As would be appreciated by those skilled in the art, message 632 may include data for processing, which may be obfuscated using, for example, homomorphy transformation.")
In addition, Zabar shows this limitation would have been obvious based Fig. 5, where the code is read and authenticated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the verification system as taught by Zabar in the method of real-time skills based and competency assessment of Cicio, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 4 and 12:
Further, Cicio discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is configured to transmit identifiers of known skills of the user to a user interface of the computing device in response to a determination that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the digital document (see para [0054]-[0056] and Figs 8a-8f, showing skill passport can take data from scanned codes)
Claims 8 and 16:
Further, Cicio discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is configured to identify a plurality of skills associated with the user from the list of skills queried from the database (see para [0020], "Skills assessments may include, but are not limited to: self, peer, instructor, tested, applied, manager, lab etc. In the event that more than an individual assessment is performed the platform aggregates and computes the average scoring and recommends courses using open integration standards and mapping of competencies and KSAs to existing eco-system applications (eg HR, SIS, LMS). The machine may calculate the aggregate of the extended role profile data, mapping to courses within existing learning management systems and external offerings, and tracks enrollment and completion at the competency and KSA level the machine that aggregates, validates and certifies this information in the Skills Passport 110. Calculations of results are then applied to measure skills performance/progression/predictive/potential and sense of purpose state of showcasing individual's personas over time. The machine's ability to aggregate date, apply NLP and predictive modeling analytics validate over time is critical to scale solutions with enterprise, academic institutions, state, governments and global large data. The machine model and math techniques may be used to apply against internal structured data (private networks) and unstructured and distributed architectures and networks (eg blockchain) to source, validate and audit virtual ledgers containing skills and competency assessments that align to this applications framework.", were it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that skill needs to be identified in order to be certified and it is obvious computers use database functionality for storing and accessing data), establish independent communication channels with a plurality of verification entities associated with the plurality of skills (see para [0022], "Skills Passport (overview): the aggregation of compute engine analytics and data structure to showcase talent using the most advanced technology. The Skills Passport represents an individual's skills-based DNA. Visualized in an interactive protected and secured authentication empowered platform, individuals showcase their fingerprint/DNA of skills and aligning/preparedness for perfect matching of job roles and pathways that will increase retention, employment, alignment with passion, decreased anxiety and depression of current state. Data structure extension include portfolio work product (files, video, links), academic history (degrees, courses, schools, transcripts), financial and legal background history, work experience, professional certifications and personal interests. Data is verified and verified from its “source”. Source data may be accessed directly in private networks using APIs and/or distributed ledgers (Blockchain) to capture and track data. This information is credentialed (digital badge) and is controlled by the individual (privacy and empowerment)." and see para [0020]-[0021], showing include verification entities ), verify the plurality of skills via the plurality of independent communication channels respectively based on communications exchanged with the plurality of verifications entities (see para [0019]-[0022], showing competency assessments validated and securely communicated between entities), and populate the digital document with identifiers of the plurality of skills with a plurality of verification indicators (Figs 8A-8F, where the skill passport dashboard can be considered a digital document and see para [0062], showing that skill sections include validated data which can include the stars (indicators) for proficiency in Fig 8F)
Claims 5-6, 13-14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicio and Zabar, as described above, and further in in view of Wadha et al. (US 2019/0280854 A1) (hereinafter Wadha).
Claims 5, 13 and 20:
Cicio and Zabar do not explicitly disclose generate the document via a smart contract installed on the blockchain ledger. In analogous art, Wadha discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is configured to store the digital document within a blockchain ledger, generate the digital document via a smart contract installed on the blockchain ledger, and store the mapping within a mapping table embedded in the smart contract (see para [0020], "blockchain based smart contracts may be created for user stakeholders to enter into an agreement to share their relevant CV information, for example. The back end system administrator may be one owner of the smart contract, the other user stakeholder may be another owner of the smart contract (network participants)." and see para [0025], " In the example, 106 is a typical stakeholder user, one who wishes to establish their own profile page, share CV data, and otherwise keep track of verified Skill Passport information as described herein. Typical CV information may be submitted to the back end system 102, such as but not limited to, academic institutions attended, classes taken, grades achieved, honors received, degrees/programs completed, wage data, and other employment history. Further, more fulsome information may be submitted as well, in order to provide a better picture about the users as whole people. Information such as attendance records, group participation, sports participation, society and club leadership roles may be a part of a users' experience that they want to portray to any of various third parties." and see para [0048], " In the example using CVs, through this blockchain architecture, smart contracts may be created for stakeholders to enter into an agreement to share their relevant CV information. In some examples, one entity 302 could be the single owner of the smart contract, the other stakeholder will be another owner of the smart contract as a network participant. Through such a smart contract, encryption services embedded inside the HPA virtual machine, information submitted by network participants will be encrypted and then published onto blockchain ledgers. And by using the decryption key, the back end management systems 302 will be able to decrypt the information at the application interface layer 310 to search and retrieve data from the block ledgers. The HPA 340 will physically save the private key for corresponding stakeholders and will be used for signing the transactions published to the Blockchain ledger." and see para [0043]-[0045])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Wadha with Cicio and Zabar because including a smart contract provides a real world commercial use of ledger creations that can improve the confidence in the underlying data (see Cicio, para [0002]-[0003]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the system for a skills passport blockchain platform as taught by Wadha in the Cicio and Zabar combination, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 6 and 14:
Further, Cicio discloses the following limitations:
wherein the method further comprises receiving scan data comprising a scanned digital code from a computing device, determining that the scanned digital code is mapped to the identifier of the digital document via the mapping table embedded in the smart contract (see para [0054], "The disclosed embodiments provide a supply chain as applied to people to create a skill's passport for an individual user. Essentially a supply chain for people. The skill's passport may take on a T-Shaped data structure for an individual, their identity, and their unique brand. In one embodiment, the T-Shaped data structure may be maintained on a blockchain. A link or code to the data structure may be provided in hard copy form, such as on a business card. The link or code may be in scan able format, such as a QR code, or the like. Information provide may include, but is certainly not limited to, the person's biography, skills, past job/work/life experience, and education credentials/history. Further, the T-Shaped data structure may provide a data visualization of a person's passport providing at least three components:" where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art table embedded could be from the smart contract shown in Wadha), and transmitting a successful authentication response to the computing device (see para [0048]-[0050], "In an embodiment of the present invention, a distributed secure transaction ledger, in the form of a block chain, may be used to communicate data between parties. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a block chain or decentralized secure transaction ledger 605 may be one that is maintained by nodes in a distributed network. Although each block of ledger 605 may contain differentiated information and may have distinct purposes, as illustrated in FIG. 6, block 610 contains a sample communication or message according to embodiments of the present invention. In an embodiment of the present invention, ledger 605 may be used to send messages between at least two users of a system through, for example, nodes in a network. By way of non-limiting example only, a message in block 620 of the ledger 605 may contain a header 622 and contents 630. The header 622 may comprises at least one block ID 624 for block 620, a block ID 626 of the previous block, and a nonce value 628, an arbitrary number that may be used as a cryptographic hash function. These values and block information may be used in linking blocks together to form a chain. The contents 630 may comprise one or more messages 632 and may also include other data 634. In an embodiment on the present invention, a message 632 may comprise a unique identifier of the owner/originator/sender of the message. This information may be used for one or more purposes, such as, for example, to identify the owner or sender to provide a way by which a third-party node or nodes that handle and or process the ledger 605. Additionally, the identifier of the owner/sender may be used or linked to an authentication module and/or server associated with using the block chain as a communication channel, or for other actions. Indeed, block 620 may include any number of identifiers which may for example, be used to indicate whether or not the ledger 605 should be directed to a different identifier than the originator of the message 632. As would be appreciated by those skilled in the art, message 632 may include data for processing, which may be obfuscated using, for example, homomorphy transformation.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the system for a skills passport blockchain platform as taught by Wadha in the Cicio and Zabar combination, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicio and Zabar, as described above, and further in in view of Das (US 2019/0325398 A1)
Claims 7 and 15:
Cicio and Zabar do not explicitly disclose query a database with the predefined code for a list of skills of the job type. In analogous art, Das discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processor is further configured to identify a job type of the user from the user data, map the job type to a predefined code, and query a database with the predefined code for a list of skills of the job type (see para [0007], "General aspects of the system can comprise the steps of: instantiating in memory a resume corresponding to a first user; identifying a portion of said resume having at least one predefined skill contained within said resume; instantiating posting forums in a database; identifying a posting made by said first user in said database; associating said posting with said at least one predefined skill; associating said posting with said portion of said resume having at least one predefined skill, such that a viewer of a resume can access said posting from said instantiated resume. Other embodiments of this aspect can comprise corresponding computer systems, apparatus, and computer programs recorded on one or more computer storage devices, each configured to perform the actions of the methods." and see para [0032], "The gathered resume data than then be stored in a databased 210 wherein each post made by a user can be tagged with an identifier or identifiers, such as #“skill”, and associated with the relevant skill/component of the specific user's resume. Thus, as a user creates more forum posts and partakes in platform activities, their skill level can increase and their skills can be verified, providing employers more confidence in assertions made in a user's/registrant's resume and making them a more valuable candidate for particular hiring opportunities." and see para [0045], [0048])
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Das with Cicio and Zabar because querying a database with such predefined code for a list of skills enables more effective processing of online data that can be used and associated with online generated services (see Das, para [0003]-[0004]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the method for generating skill-centric resumes with verifiable skills as taught by Das in the Cicio and Zabar combination, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Skipper et al. (US 2022/0129854 A1), a system for transmitting digital definitions of skills at a computing system to allow the digital definitions skills to be interoperable with other computing systems including identifying a skill name for a skill and contextualizing the skill name for a specific system or use case by creating and storing metadata associated with the skill name
/SUJAY KONERU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624