DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “suction portion” from claim 1; “charging portion” from claim 2; “interference portion” from claim 9; “driving device” from claim 10; “fixing portion” and “rotating portion” from claim 12; and “support portion” from claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN 211704442, "Shi '442") in view of Shi et al. (WO 2021008471, "Shi '471") and Kim et al. (US 12178385, "Kim").
1. Shi '442 teaches a cleaning device (1000, Shi '442 fig. 7) comprising:
a vacuum cleaner (200) including a dust collector (210), and a cover (2101) that is rotatable to open and close the dust collector (Shi '442 figs. 2 and 7 and Shi '442 Translation [0053]); and
a docking station (100) to which the vacuum cleaner is dockable (Shi '442 fig. 7), the docking station including:
a push rod (31),
a motor (36, Shi '442 fig. 6 and Shi '442 Translation [0079]) that is controllable to cause the push rod to ascend and descend (push rod moves vertically, Shi '442 Translation [0059], motor 36 drives motion in conjunction with a spring 35 and cam 34, Shi '442 fig. 6 and Translation [0076]-[0078]), and
a main body (10) configured to receive dust from the dust collector (Shi '442 Translation [0053]-[0054]),
wherein the push rod is configured to move linearly from the ascended position to the descended position, and from the descended position to the ascended position (push rod 31 moves vertically between the positions, Shi '442 Translation [0059], the mechanism taught by Shi will move rod 31 linearly up and down with the motion of cam 34, see Shi '442 figs. 2 and 6 ).
Shi '442 further teaches that the docking station is configured such that when the vacuum cleaner (200) is seated on the station (100), a release mechanism (20) on the station opens the lower cover (2101), dust falls into the dust chamber (101), and the bottom cover (2101) is closed by a closing mechanism (30, Shi '442 Translation [0055]), and that the processes of opening and closing the dust cup are automatic (Shi '442 [0010]).
Shi '442 does not teach the presence of a switch that is operable by a user to initiate a cleaning cycle.
However, Shi '471 teaches a docking station (10) for a cleaner (200, see Shi '471 fig. 3) including a switch (6) coupled to the docking frame and operable by a user to initiate a dust discharge process (see Shi '471 Translation [0158]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Shi '471 regarding a switch to trigger a cleaning process into the device of Shi '442 such that it included a switch that is operable by a user to initiate a cleaning cycle, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Shi '442 as modified does not teach that the docking station is configured to, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, charge the vacuum cleaner, that the docking station includes a suction portion inside the main body,
or that the switch, the push rod, and the motor are configured such that, when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station and the switch is not operated by the user, the push rod is in an ascended position at which the push rod presses the cover so as to maintain the cover in a closed state in which the dust collector is closed by the cover, and when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station with the push rod in the ascended position and pressing the cover so as to maintain the cover in the closed state, and the switch is operated by the user, the motor is controlled to cause the push rod to descend to a descended position at which the push rod no longer presses the cover such that that the cover rotates to an open state in which the dust collector is opened by the cover, and the suction portion removes foreign substances collected in the dust collector via a suction force.
However, Kim teaches a cleaning device (10) comprising:
a vacuum cleaner (200) including a dust collector (220), and a cover (222) that is rotatable to open and close the dust collector (Kim fig. 25); and
a docking station (3100) to which the vacuum cleaner is dockable, (Kim fig. 25), and being configured to, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, charge the vacuum cleaner (Kim 50:20-26), the docking station including: a push rod (combination of door arm 3143 and opening and closing member 3141, Kim figs. 45-46), a motor (3142) that is controllable to cause the push rod to ascend and descend (motor 3142 drives 31413 and 3141, see Kim figs. 45-46 and 53:36-49), a main body (3110), and a suction portion (3190) inside the main body (Kim fig. 25);
wherein, when the vacuum cleaner is attached to the dock and the cleaning cycle is not activated, the push rod is in an ascended position pressing the cover (222) to maintain the cover in a closed state (both 3141 and cover 222 are in a closed state at beginning of cleaning process, see Kim fig. 54; when both are in a closed state, push rod 3141 and arm 3143 press cover 222, see, e.g. Kim fig. 46); and when a cleaning cycle is activated, the push rod and cover are lowered such that the cover rotates to an open state and the suction portion removes foreign substances collected in the dust collector via a suction force (steps S30-S60, see Kim figs. 25, 45-46, and 54).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the system of Shi '442 according to the teachings of Kim regarding a charging system and a door control mechanism such that the docking station was configured to charge the vacuum cleaner and included a suction portion inside the main body,
wherein the switch, the push rod, and the motor were configured such that, when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station and the switch is not operated by the user, the push rod is in an ascended position at which the push rod presses the cover so as to maintain the cover in a closed state in which the dust collector is closed by the cover (Kim teaches that the door of the station and cover of the cleaner are in a closed position at the beginning and end of a bin emptying cycle, the push rod being responsible for ensuring the closed state, see Kim fig. 54 and 74:47-67; during at least the final step of closing the door, the switch is no longer being operated by the user, the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station, and the push rod would be in an ascended position to close the doors), and when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station with the push rod in the ascended position and pressing the cover so as to maintain the cover in the closed state, and the switch is operated by the user, the motor is controlled to cause the push rod to descend to a descended position at which the push rod no longer presses the cover such that that the cover rotates to an open state in which the dust collector is opened by the cover, and the suction portion removes foreign substances collected in the dust collector via a suction force (if the switch were pressed during the period where the doors are closed but before the cleaner is removed from the station, the operation would begin again, which would necessitate the lowering of doors as required by steps S30-S80 of Kim, see Kim fig. 54), as doing so would allow for charging of the battery while providing a mechanism for the station to determine the cleaner is attached (Kim 55:54-57), reduce movement of the station (Kim 62:38-43) while improving the convenience and effectiveness of dust removal (Kim 22:11-20), and further represents the combination of a known method (taught by Kim) for operating a cleaning station having automatic door opening and closing capabilities with a known structure (taught by Shi '442 as modified) having the same, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claims 2-5, 7-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi '442 in view of Shi '471 and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of further in view of Shi et al. (WO 2021143864, "Shi '864").
2. Shi' 442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein
the main body includes a housing (exterior of 100),
the docking station further includes:
a docking frame (40, see Shi '442 fig. 1) coupled to the housing and configured such that, to dock the vacuum cleaner to the docking station, the dust collector is seated on the docking frame (Shi '442 fig. 7), and
the vacuum cleaner further includes: a suction nozzle and an extension pipe connecting the suction nozzle and the dust collector (200 includes a floor nozzle and extension pipe, see Shi '442 fig. 7).
Shi '442 as modified teaches the presence of a charging element (from the combination with Kim), but does not explicitly teach that the docking station includes a charge terminal mounted on the docking frame and the vacuum cleaner includes a charging portion between the dust collector and the extension pipe and configured to, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, receive power from the charge terminal.
However, Shi '864 teaches an extremely similar cleaning device to Shi '442 (see, e.g. Shi '864 fig. 18), wherein the docking station includes a charge terminal (20, Shi '864 Translation [0218]-[0221]) mounted on a docking frame (20 is mounted on a front portion of docking frame 30, see Shi '864 figs. 14-16), wherein the charge terminal interacts with a charging portion on the vacuum cleaner between a dust collector and the extension pipe (charging interface on vacuum cleaner 200 is not explicitly shown, but fig. 18 of Shi '864 shows the cleaner coupled to the station such that the a charging interface on the cleaner would need to be located between the dust collecting portion and the nozzle to connect to charge terminal 20 of the station).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the system of Shi '442 as modified according to the teachings of Shi '864 regarding placement for charging interfaces, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill. Furthermore, the figures of Shi '442 appear to show a structural element analogous to the charging terminal of Shi '864 (see, e.g. Shi '442 figs. 1-2).
3. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein the switch is coupled to the docking frame (the switch of Shi '442 as modified would necessarily be electrically coupled to the docking frame as it would otherwise be unable to complete or break the electrical circuit).
4. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 3, wherein the docking station further includes:
a duct (101) configured to, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, move foreign substances collected in the dust collector to a dust bag (duct 101 would be capable of moving foreign substances collected in the dust collector to a dust bag if a dust bag were placed therein), the duct including a recessed surface recessed from outside of the duct to inside of the duct, and a seating space formed outside of the duct by the recessed surface (recessed surface defines the seating space occupied by 30, see Shi '442 figs. 2-3).
5. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 4, wherein the push rod and the motor are accommodated in the seating space (assembly 30 including push rod 31 and motor 36 is accommodated in the space, see Shi '442 figs. 3 and 6).
7. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 5, wherein the duct includes a rod passage hole formed in the recessed surface so that the push rod ascends and descends by passing through the duct (push rod 31 passes through hole 1013, Shi '442 fig. 4).
8. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein the docking station further includes: a connecting rod (moving block 37) having a first end coupled to the motor (via cam 34) and a second end coupled to the push rod (37 is coupled to push rod 31 via moving blocks 38) so as to transmit power from the motor to the push rod to raise and lower the push rod (see Shi '442 fig. 6).
9. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 8, but does not teach that the connecting rod includes a protrusion extending toward the push rod, and the push rod includes an interference portion configured to allow the protrusion to be inserted thereinto.
However, Shi '471 further teaches an alternate embodiment for a rod driving portion (50, see Shi '471 fig. 20), wherein the rod driving portion includes a rod driving motor (linear motor 524) configured to generate power, and a connecting rod (525) having one end coupled to the rod driving motor and an other end coupled to the push rod (525 couples 51 to 524, see Shi '471 fig. 20) so as to transmit the power to the push rod (Shi '471 Translation [0126]), and the connecting rod includes a protrusion extending toward the push rod, and the push rod includes an interference portion configured to allow the protrusion to be inserted thereinto (525 is coupled to 51 via a slot and pin mechanism, see Shi '471 fig. 20).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the system of Shi '442 as modified according to the additional teachings of Shi '471 such that the connecting rod includes a protrusion extending toward the push rod, and the push rod includes an interference portion configured to allow the protrusion to be inserted thereinto, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one known rod driving mechanism for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
10. Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 8, wherein the suction portion includes a driving device configured to provide power to generate the suction force, and the motor and the driving device are configured to, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, operate to remove the foreign substances from the dust collector as the switch is operated (the switch of Shi '442 as modified controls operation of the door opening motor and suction motor to empty the dust collector according to the method taught by Kim).
Regarding claims 12-15, Shi '442 as modified teaches the cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein the vacuum cleaner further incudes a suction nozzle and an extension pipe connecting the suction nozzle and the dust collector (200 includes a floor nozzle and extension pipe, see Shi '442 fig. 7),
the main body includes a housing (exterior of 10),
the docking station further includes:
a recessed portion recessed from an outside of the housing to an inside of the housing (10 includes a recessed portion for receiving the wand, see Shi '442 figs. 1 and 7), and
a supporter coupled to the housing to support the main body and forming an accommodation space (bottom portion of 10 includes a base and an accommodation space for a floor cleaning nozzle, see Shi '442 figs. 1 and 7),
wherein the recessed portion and the accommodation space are configured such that, to dock the vacuum cleaner to the docking station, a portion of the extension pipe is accommodated in the recessed portion and the suction nozzle is accommodated in the accommodation space (see Shi '442 figs. 1 and 7).
Shi '442 as modified does not teach that the supporter includes:
a fixing portion configured to accommodate a power supply unit and form a bottom surface of the docking station, and
a rotating portion having an upper part coupled to the main body and a lower part coupled to the fixing portion, the rotating portion being rotatable with respect to the fixing portion.
Shi '442 does not teach that
the supporter includes: a fixing portion configured to accommodate a power supply unit and form a bottom surface of the docking station, and a rotating portion having an upper part coupled to the main body and a lower part coupled to the fixing portion, the rotating portion being rotatable with respect to the fixing portion,
wherein the rotating portion includes: a first frame coupled to the housing, a side frame coupled to an edge of the first frame, and a moving frame coupled to a lower portion of the side frame and configured to come into contact with a rail frame of the fixing portion;
wherein the first frame includes: a support portion configured to be coupled to the housing, an extension portion obliquely extending downward from one end of the support portion, and a nozzle seating portion connected to the extension portion and including a surface facing the support portion, the nozzle seating portion forming the accommodation space between the support portion and the nozzle seating portion, wherein the vacuum cleaner, the main body of the docking station, and the rotating portion of the docking station are, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, rotatable with respect to the fixing portion as one part.
However, Shi '864 teaches a stand (100) for a vacuum cleaner (200), wherein the stand has a supporter (combination of 40 and 110, see Shi '864 figs. 5 and 19), and the supporter includes
a fixing portion (40) capable of accommodating a power supply unit (40 includes slotted portion capable of receiving a power cable, see Shi '864 fig. 24) and forming a bottom surface of the docking station (40 forms bottom surface of station 100, see Shi '864 figs. 19-24), and
a rotating portion (110) having an upper part coupled to the main body and a lower part coupled to the fixing portion (upper part of 110 is attached to body 10 of station 100 and lower part is coupled to 40, see Shi '864 figs. 19-24), the rotating portion being rotatable with respect to the fixing portion (Shi '864 Translation [0261]),
wherein the rotating portion includes:
a first frame (upper portion of 110) coupled to the housing, a side frame (109) coupled to an edge of the first frame (109 is on 110, see (Shi '864 fig. 24), and
a moving frame (1101) coupled to a lower portion of the side frame and configured to come into contact with a rail frame (420a) of the fixing portion (1101 is coupled to lower portion of 109 and contacts edges of channel 420a on fixing portion 40, see Shi '864 fig. 24 and Shi '864 Translation [0263]-[0272]),
wherein the first frame includes:
a support portion configured to be coupled to the housing, an extension portion obliquely extending downward from one end of the support portion, and a nozzle seating portion connected to the extension portion and including a surface facing the support portion, the nozzle seating portion forming the accommodation space between the support portion and the nozzle seating portion (upper portion of 110 extends into lower portion of 10, which includes portions extending in various directions and acting to support the housing, and form an accommodation space for a nozzle to be seated, see Shi '864 figs. 19 and 25; these elements are all rotationally coupled together), and
wherein the vacuum cleaner, the main body of the docking station, and the rotating portion of the docking station are, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, rotatable with respect to the fixing portion as one part (Shi '864 Translation [0271]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the rotating base plate from Shi '864 into the device of Shi '442 as modified, such that it included a fixing portion configured to accommodate a power supply unit and form a bottom surface of the docking station, and a rotating portion having an upper part coupled to the main body and a lower part coupled to the fixing portion, the rotating portion being rotatable with respect to the fixing portion,
wherein the rotating portion includes: a first frame coupled to the housing, a side frame coupled to an edge of the first frame, and a moving frame coupled to a lower portion of the side frame and configured to come into contact with a rail frame of the fixing portion;
wherein the first frame includes: a support portion configured to be coupled to the housing, an extension portion obliquely extending downward from one end of the support portion, and a nozzle seating portion connected to the extension portion and including a surface facing the support portion, the nozzle seating portion forming the accommodation space between the support portion and the nozzle seating portion, wherein the vacuum cleaner, the main body of the docking station, and the rotating portion of the docking station are, with the vacuum cleaner docked to the docking station, rotatable with respect to the fixing portion as one part, as doing so would reduce the effort involved in placing the vacuum cleaner station (Shi '864 Translation [0261]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination of Shi ‘442, Shi ‘471, and Kim would not have produced a station wherein the push rod was configured to move linearly between the ascended and descended positions, applicant is reminded that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant further argues that Kim does not teach that
“the switch, the push rod, and the motor are configured such that, when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station and the switch is not operated by the user, the push rod is in an ascended position at which the push rod presses the cover so as to maintain the cover in a closed state in which the dust collector is closed by the cover, and
when the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station with the push rod in the ascended position and pressing the cover so as to maintain the cover in the closed state, and the switch is operated by the user,
the motor is controlled to cause the push rod to descend to a descended position at which the push rod no longer presses the cover such that that the cover rotates to an open state in which the dust collector is opened by the cover.” (Emphasis added).
Regarding this argument, applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
This limitation requires that the switch, push rod, and motor be capable of existing in:
1) a first state in which
(a) the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station,
(b) the switch is not operated by the user, and
(c) the push rod is in an ascended position and pressing the cover to maintain the cover in a closed state; and
2) a second state in which
the vacuum cleaner is docked to the docking station,
the push rod is in the ascended position and pressing the cover to keep it closed, and
the switch is operated by the user, which causes the motor to be controlled to lower the push rod to the descended position, allowing the cover to rotate to an open state, and the suction portion operates to remove waste from the dust collector.
As noted in the rejection, Kim teaches a station capable of existing in these two states. It would exist in the first state at the end of a discharge cycle, at which time (a) the cleaner is docked to the station, (b) the switch is not currently operated by a user and (c) the push rod would be in an ascended position for purposes of closing the dust bin. The system is capable of having a user operate the switch during that time, which would result in the cleaning operation restarting from the second state. Adapting the station of Shi to operate in a similar fashion as described in the above rejections would result in a linearly-moving push rod capable of existing in the claimed states.
That the stations include additional mechanisms for actuating a dust bin door latch (the door being securable by such a latch when the cleaner is removed from the station) does not mean that the push rods would not be capable of existing in a state of maintaining the doors in a closed position, the switch being pressable during that time.
For these reasons, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, and the rejections of claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are maintained.
Conclusion
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723