DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations (means for obtaining, means for determining, means for detecting, means for allocating and means for causing in claim 8) in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, 10-12, 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a destination floor” in line 2 should be re-written as “the destination floor”. It should be noted that “destination floor” has been already disclosed in claims 1 and 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAI JP2013216408A in a view of Oda et al. US 2022/0194737 A1.
Regarding claim 8, KAWAI discloses
An apparatus (fig. 1) for allocating an elevator of an elevator system, the apparatus comprising: means (item 9) for obtaining image data associated with an area associated with a plurality of elevators [0020];
means for determining (shooting means), based on the image data, parameter data (floor area and height) associated with the automated guided vehicle [0018-0020];
means (item 23) for obtaining, information indicating (boarded by which elevator) a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle [0018];
means for allocating (item 23) an elevator car (item 5) for the automated guided vehicle by taking into account at least the parameter data and the destination floor [0018-0020]; and means for causing (item 23) transmission of information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle [0018-0020].
KAWAI does not disclose but Oda et al. disclose means for detecting (fig. 1, item 180), based on the image data, an automated guided vehicle (item 100) [0031, 0033, 0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use means for detecting based on the image data as disclosed by Oda in KAWAI’s teachings to improve the operation efficiency including entire facility (Oda’s paragraph 0005)
Regarding claim 1, a combination of KAWAI and Oda discloses
A method for allocating an elevator of an elevator system, the method comprising the steps of: obtaining image data associated with an area associated with a plurality of elevators; detecting, based on the image data, an automated guided vehicle; determining, based on the image data, parameter data associated with the automated guided vehicle; obtaining information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle; allocating an elevator car for the automated guided vehicle by taking into account at least the parameter data and the destination floor; and causing transmission of information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle (see claim 8 rejection for detail).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, KAWAI discloses
, wherein the parameter data comprises at least one of a size (height) and moving speed of the automated guided vehicle [0020].
Regarding claims 3 and 19, KAWAI discloses
, wherein the step of obtaining information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle comprises: further comprises the step of obtaining the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on wirelessly transmitted data from the automated guided vehicle [0013].
Regarding claims 4 and 20, KAWAI discloses
,wherein the step of obtaining information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle comprises: further comprises the step of obtaining the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on the image data [0018-0020].
Regarding claim 5, KAWAI discloses
, wherein the step of obtaining the information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on the image data comprises: further comprises the step of obtaining the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle by recognizing, based on the image data, the information indicating the destination floor from a display of the automated guided vehicle [0018-0020].
Regarding claims 6 and 21, KAWAI discloses
, wherein the step of causing transmission of information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle comprises: further comprises the step of causing transmission of the information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle using a display associated with the elevator system [0020].
Regarding claim 7, KAWAI discloses, wherein the step of obtaining image data associated with an area associated with a plurality of elevators comprises: further comprises the step of obtaining the image data from at least one camera [0018-0020].
Regarding claim 10, KAWAI discloses
,wherein the means for obtaining information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle are configured to obtain the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on wirelessly transmitted data from the automated guided vehicle [0013].
Regarding claim 11, KAWAI discloses, wherein the means for obtaining information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle are configured to obtain the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on the image data [0018-0020].
Regarding claim 12, KAWAI discloses, wherein the means for obtaining the information indicating a destination floor for the automated guided vehicle based on the image data are configured to obtain the information indicating the destination floor for the automated guided vehicle by recognizing, based on the image data, the information indicating the destination floor from a display of the automated guided vehicle [0018-0020].
Regarding claim 13, KAWAI discloses, wherein the means for causing transmission of information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle are configured to cause transmission of the information identifying the allocated elevator car to the automated guided vehicle using a display associated with the elevator system [0020].
Regarding claim 14, KAWAI discloses, wherein the means for obtaining image data associated with an area associated with a plurality of elevators are configured to obtain the image data from at least one camera [0018-0020].
Regarding claim 15, KAWAI discloses
An elevator system comprising: a plurality of elevators [0006]; and the apparatus of claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection for details).
Regarding claim 16, KAWAI discloses at least one camera configured to provide the image data about the area associated with the plurality of elevators [0020].
Regarding claim 17, KAWAI discloses
A computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising program code, which when executed by at least one processing unit, causes an apparatus (fig. 1) to perform the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection for detail) (KAWAI’s elevator control device inherently has a memory and processing unit to perform the method).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osawa et al. (US 11,834,295 B2) disclose an elevator operation managing device.
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896