DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Objection removed in view of Abstract filed on 07/01/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim interpretation removed in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Rejection removed in review of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15 and 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Osawa et al. (US 2019/0144238 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Osawa discloses a method (Abstract & [0127]) and an apparatus (e.g. Abstract) comprising:
An elevator controller including processing circuitry (e.g. Fig. 1: 1-3) configured to:
obtain an elevator call indication associated with a user (e.g. [0060, 0063]: request an elevator car by elevator terminal or user mobile terminal);
cause provision of first guidance information for the user to proceed to a waiting area (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: display suggested waiting position for user);
obtain location data associated with the user, the location data providing information about the location of the user (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area);
determining for the user a specific waiting location in the waiting area based on an ability to maintain distancing between users in the waiting area (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: suggest waiting position in boarding area for user waiting for elevator; [0180]: car allocation take into account crowdedness of the boarding area; thus, the suggested waiting positions maintain distancing between users); and
allocate an elevator car (e.g. Fig. 1: 107 & [0051, 0054]) and control the elevator car in response to the elevator call indication (e.g. [0050]), wherein the allocation takes into account the location of the user (e.g. [0166]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Osawa discloses the causing provision of first guidance information to the user includes causing provision of the first guidance information with at least one of a display associated with the location of the user, a voice announcement and with a mobile application used by the user (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: display suggested waiting position for user).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Osawa discloses the processing circuitry (e.g. Fig. 1: 1-3) is configured to cause provision of second guidance information associated with the allocated elevator car for the user (e.g. [0062]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Osawa discloses the causing provision of second guidance information associated with the allocated elevator car to the user includes causing provision of the second guidance information with at least one of a display associated with the location of the user, a voice announcement and with a mobile application used by the user (e.g. Fig. 2: 111 & [0062]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Osawa discloses means for determining for the user the specific waiting location in the waiting area includes determining the specific waiting location by distancing the user from at least one other user in the waiting area (e.g. Fig. 33: space in between designated waiting location).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Osawa discloses the processing circuitry is configured to:
obtain location data associated with at least one other user in the waiting area before determining for the user a waiting location in the waiting area (e.g. [0180, 0181]: depends on other users waiting position); and
distance the user from the at least one other user based on the location data associated with the at least one other user (e.g. [0180, 0181]: prevent congestion and/or crowding the boarding area).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Osawa discloses means for changing the size and/or location of the waiting area dynamically (e.g. Fig. 31 & [0180]: using unused waiting area of car A for users of car D, for example).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Osawa discloses means for obtaining location data associated with at least one other user, the location data providing information about the location of the at least one other user; and user (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area), wherein the means for allocating an elevator car in response to the elevator call indication are configured to allocate the elevator car by taking into account the location of the at least one other user in the waiting area (e.g. [0180, 0181]: car allocation based on whether the boarding area is crowded with waiting passenger).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Osawa discloses the means for allocating an elevator car in response to the elevator call indication are configured to allocate the elevator car by taking into account at least one of existing allocated elevator calls and elevator call indications associated with other users (e.g. [0179]).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Osawa discloses the location data is obtained from an external monitoring system (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area).
Regarding claim 23, Osawa discloses an elevator system comprising: a plurality of elevator cars (e.g. Fig. 30); and the apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 24, Osawa discloses a computer program (e.g. [0056]) embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising program code, which when executed by at least one processing unit, causes an apparatus to perform the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect to newly added limitation in claims 1 and 12, Osawa discloses at least in Figs. 32-33 & paragraphs [0032, 0033, 0180] discloses the added limitation. Osawa allocates elevators for different users and suggests waiting positions in boarding area for users waiting for elevators, and the car allocation takes into account crowdedness of the boarding area; thus, the assigned waiting positions maintain distancing between users.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837