DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2023 and 09/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “(FIG. 1)” included in a second paragraph. Abstract is generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 12-23, according to p. 7-11 of the specification of the instant application, “means for obtaining an elevator call indication association with a user” is interpreted as mobile application executed by a mobile device of the user or destination operating panel (DOP) in vicinity of elevators, “means for causing provision of first guidance information for the user” is interpreted as guidance information given with user’s mobile device or DOP or separate display, “means for obtaining location data” is interpreted as tracking system using various camera systems or radio frequency based tracking system, and “means for allocating an elevator car” is interpreted as elevator system or elevator controller for allocating an elevator car.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea (organizing human activity and mental processes) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim(s) recite(s) the steps of “obtaining an elevator call indication associated with a user”, “causing provision of first guidance information for the user to proceed to a waiting area”, “obtaining location data associated with the user, the location data providing information about the location of the user” and “allocating an elevator car in response to the elevator call indication, wherein the allocation takes into account the location of the user”.
However, these limitations constitute human activity and mental processes, which are recognized judicial exceptions. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014); MPEP 2106.04. For example, one can obtain user elevator call indication by looking at the action of the user, direct the user to a waiting area verbally, obtain location of the user by looking at the user, and allocate ana elevator car by using pen or pencil to assign elevator to the user.
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 12, besides similar abstract idea identified in claim 1, the claim further recites additional elements based on claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112f.
However, those additional elements identified under 35 U.S.C. 112f above are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality and serves as a generic computing device for implementing the abstract idea, which are considered as post-solution activity. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F. 3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (improvement to computer architecture); Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981) (transformation); MPEP 2106.05.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, similar to “causing provision of first guidance information” recited in claims 1 and 12, the limitation “causing provision of second guidance information” is considered as abstract idea. Thus, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 13 and 15, besides identified abstract idea, the claims further recite additional elements, such as “display”, and “mobile application” for causing provision of first guidance information or second guidance information. However, these additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality and serves as a generic computing device for implementing the abstract idea, which are considered as post-solution activity. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claims 2, 4, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 16-17, the steps of determining the waiting area is considered as abstract idea directed to mental processes; thus, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the steps of obtaining location data and distancing the user are considered as abstract idea directed to mental processes; thus, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the steps of changing size and/or location of waiting area dynamically are considered as abstract idea directed to mental processes; thus, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 20-21, the steps of obtaining location data and allocating an elevator car are considered as abstract idea directed to mental processes; thus, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 11 and 22, additional element, such as “external monitoring system”, is no more than using well-known generic hardware as a tool to collect data. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”. Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claims 11 are 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 23, the claim further recites “a plurality of elevator cars”; however, they are recited at a high level of generality for implementing the abstract idea. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 24, the claim further recites a computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium executed by at least one processing unit as additional element.
However, the additional element is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are recited at a high level of generality and serves as a generic computing device for implementing the abstract idea. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Osawa et al. (US 2019/0144238 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Osawa discloses a method (Abstract & [0127]) and an apparatus (e.g. Abstract) comprising:
means for obtaining an elevator call indication associated with a user (e.g. [0060, 0063]: request an elevator car by elevator terminal or user mobile terminal);
means for causing provision of first guidance information for the user to proceed to a waiting area (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: display suggested waiting position for user);
means for obtaining location data associated with the user, the location data providing information about the location of the user (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area); and
means for allocating an elevator car (e.g. Fig. 1: 107 & [0051, 0054]) in response to the elevator call indication, wherein the allocation takes into account the location of the user (e.g. [0166]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Osawa discloses the means for causing provision of first guidance information to the user are configured to cause provision of the first guidance information with at least one of a display associated with the location of the user, a voice announcement and with a mobile application used by the user (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: display suggested waiting position for user).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Osawa discloses means (e.g. Fig. 2: 111) for causing provision of second guidance information associated with the allocated elevator car for the user (e.g. [0062]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Osawa discloses the means for causing provision of second guidance information associated with the allocated elevator car to the user are configured to cause provision of the second guidance information with at least one of a display associated with the location of the user, a voice announcement and with a mobile application used by the user (e.g. Fig. 2: 111 & [0062]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Osawa discloses means for determining for the user a specific waiting location in the waiting area (e.g. Figs. 32-33 & [0032, 0033]: display suggested waiting position for user).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Osawa discloses means for determining for the user a specific waiting location in the waiting area are configured to determine the waiting location by distancing the user from at least one other user in the waiting area (e.g. Fig. 33: space in between designated waiting location).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Osawa discloses means for obtaining location data associated with at least one other user in the waiting area before determining for the user a waiting location in the waiting area (e.g. [0180, 0181]: depends on other users waiting position); and means for distancing the user from the at least one other user based on the location data associated with the at least one other user (e.g. [0180, 0181]: prevent congestion and/or crowding the boarding area).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Osawa discloses means for changing the size and/or location of the waiting area dynamically (e.g. Fig. 31 & [0180]: using unused waiting area of car A for users of car D, for example).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Osawa discloses means for obtaining location data associated with at least one other user, the location data providing information about the location of the at least one other user; and user (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area), wherein the means for allocating an elevator car in response to the elevator call indication are configured to allocate the elevator car by taking into account the location of the at least one other user in the waiting area (e.g. [0180, 0181]: car allocation based on whether the boarding area is crowded with waiting passenger).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Osawa discloses the means for allocating an elevator car in response to the elevator call indication are configured to allocate the elevator car by taking into account at least one of existing allocated elevator calls and elevator call indications associated with other users (e.g. [0179]).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Osawa discloses the location data is obtained from an external monitoring system (e.g. [0166, 0202]: using camera or rfid tag or smartphone application to monitor waiting position of passenger in the boarding area).
Regarding claim 23, Osawa discloses an elevator system comprising: a plurality of elevator cars (e.g. Fig. 30); and the apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 24, Osawa discloses a computer program (e.g. [0056]) embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising program code, which when executed by at least one processing unit, causes an apparatus to perform the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
/KAWING CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846