This is in response to the Amendment dated July 1, 2026. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
I. Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728).
The rejection of claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. in view of Kampe, JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. and Sonntag et al. has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
II. Claim(s) 16 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application
Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of KR 950014370 (‘370).
The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. in view of Kampe, JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. and Sonntag et al. as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of KR 950014370 (‘370) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
III. Claim(s) 20 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of WO 2004/108995 (‘995).
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. in view of Kampe, JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. and Sonntag et al. as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of WO 2004/108995 (‘995) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Continued Response
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
I. Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO 108477 (‘477) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), Niikura et al.
(US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1), JP 2009-041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858) and Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1).
Regarding claim 11, RO ‘477 teaches an electrolyte solution (= an alkaline electrolyte, non-cyanide) [page 1, line 12] for electroplating (= electrochemical coating with zinc-iron alloy) [page 3, lines 16-17] comprising:
• an alkali hydroxide (= sodium hydroxide) [page 2, lines 21-22];
• a zinc salt, wherein the zinc salt is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1 moles per liter to about 0.2 moles per liter (= 10-25 g/L zinc oxide) [page 2, line 21];1
• a condensation polymer of epichlorohydrin and an amine (= condensation products of polyethylene polyamines with epichlorohydrin) [page 2, lines 26-27];
• a quaternary amine (= organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure) [page 2, line 32];
• an iron salt (= an iron salt) [page 2, line 19];
• an alkali metal gluconate (= sodium gluconate) [Table]; and
• an amine-based chelating agent (= salts of aminocarboxylic acids) [page 2, line 28]; and
wherein the electrolyte solution is free from cadmium, cyanide (= the elimination of
cadmium and cyanide which is particularly toxic) [page 2, line 13], nickel, and boric acid (Table).
RO ‘447 does not explicitly teach the following:
a. Wherein the condensation polymer is an amine-formaldehyde-epichlorohydrin
condensation polymer.
RO ‘477 teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss (page 2, lines 30-31].
Kampe teaches brightener additives for alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths (col. 1, line 11).
TEST RUN NO. 26
Reaction product of diethanolamine, aqueous formaldehyde of 37 percent formaldehyde concentration and epichlorohydrin, in amount of 1 1/2ml., ml. was added to an alkaline, aqueous non-cyanide zinc electroplating bath containing 0.99 oz./gal. Zn and 9.4 oz./gal. NaOH in a 267 ml. Hull test cell.
The zinc electrodeposit on the Hull test panel was semibright in the range of about 8-15 amps/ft2, and bright in the range of slightly above 0 to about 8 amps/ft2 (col. 10, lines 45-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the condensation polymer is an amine-formaldehyde-epichlorohydrin condensation polymer. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches adding organic substances which act as gloss agents to the basic composition of the electrolyte on page 2, lines 30-31, where a reaction product of diethanolamine, formaldehyde and epichlorohydrin is a brightener additive for alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths2 as taught by Kempe in col. 1, line 11, and col. 10, lines 45-53, and thus, when added to the alkaline zinc-iron alloy electrolyte of RO ‘477 would have
enhanced the brightness of the electrodeposited coating.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
b. An aliphatic amine comprising dipropylaminetriamine.
RO ‘477 teaches in the presence of chelating agents (page 2, lines 19-20).
Like RO ‘447, Niikura teaches zinc iron alloy plating (page 3, [0063]).
Examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine (pages 4-5, [0075]).
JP ‘077 teaches that:
Examples of chelating agents that prevent interference between zirconium and the silane coupling agent or its hydrolysis condensate and improve rust prevention performance include, but are not limited to, ethylenediamine, propylenediamine, butylenediamine,
hexamethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, dipropylenetriamine, dibutylenetriamine,
triethylenetetramine, tripropylenetetramine, tributylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine,
tetrapropylenepentamine, tetrabutylenepentamine, pentaethylenehexamine, phenylenediamine, ethylenediamine-N,N,N’,N’-tetraacetic acid, and ethylenediamine-N,N,N’,N’-tetraacetic acid disodium salt (ρ [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with an aliphatic amine comprising dipropylaminetriamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches the
presence of chelating agents in the electrolyte on page 2, lines 18-20, where alkylene amine
compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine,
tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine are chelating agents3 as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy plating baths, and where dipropylenetriamine is an alternative to ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine and pentaethylenehexamine as chelating agents as taught by JP ‘077 in [0035], and where the substitution of art recognized equivalents as taught by JP ‘077 in [0035] is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In addition, the substitution of one alkylene amine for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.
c. A polyhydroxy alcohol.
RO ‘477 teaches in the presence of chelating agents (page 2, lines 19-20).
Niikura teaches that examples of amine chelating agents include aminoalcohols such as
ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine (page 4-5, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with a polyhydroxy alcohol. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches the presence of chelating agents
in the electrolyte on page 2, lines 18-20, wherein diethanolamine, triethanolamine,
diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine and ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol are chelating
agents4 as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy electroplating baths.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
d. An aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof, comprising potassium benzoate.
RO ‘477 teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations
of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss (page 2, lines 30-
31].
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include benzoic acids or salts thereof (page 4, [0071]).
Like Niikura, JP ‘858 teaches a zinc plating bath (ρ [0021]).
This pure zinc electroplated film is formed by an electroplating method using a plating bath containing 0.001 to 10% by weight of at least one additive selected from the group consisting of alkynes, alkanols, amines, thio compounds, heterocyclic compounds, polycarboxylic acids and their salts, benzoic acid and its salts, ligninsulfonic acid and its salts, and polyphosphate and its salts.
As a result, a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability (ρ [0021]).
Any of the above polycarboxylic acids, ligninsulfonic acid and polyphosphate, as well as
benzoic acid, can be used in the form of their salts.
Examples of salts include sodium citrate, sodium ligninsulfonate, potassium benzoate, ammonium benzoate, sodium tripolyphosphate, and sodium hexametaphosphate (ρ [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with an aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof, comprising potassium benzoate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches adding organic substances which act as gloss agents to the basic composition of the electrolyte in page 2, lines 30-31, where benzoic acids or salts thereof are brightening agents as taught by Niikura in [0071], where potassium benzoate is a salt of benzoic acid as taught by JP ‘858 in [0033] and thus, when added to the plating bath would have resulted in a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability as taught by JP ‘858
in [0021].
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
e. An amino alcohol.
RO ‘477 teaches in the presence of chelating agents (page 2, lines 19-20).
Niikura teaches that examples of amine chelating agents include aminoalcohols such as
ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine,
ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine [pages 4-5, [0075]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with an amino alcohol. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches the presence of chelating agents
in the electrolyte on page 2, lines 18-20, where ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine are chelating agents5 as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy electroplating baths.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
f. A bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof, wherein the bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof are present in an amount ranging from about 0.01 moles per liter to about
0.02 moles per liter.
RO ‘477 teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations
of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss (page 2, lines 30-31].
Bokisa teaches an aqueous alkaline zinc-nickel-iron electroplating bath (page 2, [0028]).
In some embodiments, a brightening agent or brightener can be added to the electroplating bath. Examples of brighteners that can be potentially added to the electroplating bath include Dequest (1-hydroxyethylen-1,1-diphosphonic acid) [pages 3-4, [0046]].
The amount of brightener provided in the bath can range from about 0.01 g/l to about
10 g/l (about 10 ppm to about 10,000 ppm) [page 4, [0047]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with a bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof, wherein the bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof are present in an amount ranging from about 0.01 moles per liter to about 0.02 moles per liter. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches adding organic substances which act as gloss agents
to the basic composition of the electrolyte in page 2, lines 30-31, where from about 0.01 g/l to about 10 g/l of Dequest (1-hydroxyethylen-1,1-diphosphonic acid) is a brightening agent for an aqueous alkaline zinc-nickel-iron electroplating bath6 as taught by Bokisa in [0028], [0046] and [0047], and thus, when added to the alkaline zinc-iron alloy electrolyte of RO ‘477 would have enhanced the brightness of the electrodeposited coating.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 12, RO ‘477 teaches wherein:
۰ the alkali hydroxide is present in an amount ranging from about 1.0 mole per liter (mol/L) to about 5 mol/L of the electrolyte solution (= 100-130 g/L sodium hydroxide) [page 2, lines 21-22];7
۰ the iron salt is present in an amount ranging from about 0.05 moles per liter to about 0.1 moles per liter (= 10-25 g/L zinc oxide) [page 2, line 21];8
۰ the alkali metal gluconate is present in an amount ranging from about 0.05 moles per liter to about 0.12 moles per liter (= 5-30 g/L gluconates) [page 2, lines 24-25; and Table];9 and
۰ the amine-based chelating agent is present in an amount ranging from about 7 grams/liter to about 15 grams/liter (= 5-25 g/L of salts of aminocarboxylic acids) [page 2, lines 28-29].
Kampe teaches wherein the condensation polymer of epichlorohydrin and the amine is present in an amount ranging from about 10 grams/liter to about 25 grams/liter of the electrolyte solution (= the reaction product brightener is usually added to the alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths herein in amount within the range of 0.1 - 10 g/l) [col. 1, lines 69-71].
Niikura teaches wherein:
۰ the polyhydroxy alcohol is present in an amount ranging from about 0.03 moles per
liter to about 0.06 moles per liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the
alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
۰ the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof is present in an amount ranging from
about 0.002 moles per liter to about 0.008 moles per liter (= further preferably 5 to 100 mg/L in
the case of aromatic aldehydes and benzoic acids or salts thereof) [page 4, [0071]]; and
۰ wherein the amino alcohol is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1 moles per
liter to about 0.4 moles per liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the
alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
JP ‘077 teaches wherein the aliphatic amine is present in an amount ranging from about
0.03 moles per liter to about 0.05 moles per liter (= the chelating agent is added in an amount of 1 ppm to 10,000 ppm) [ρ [0041]).
The references do not explicitly teach wherein the quaternary amine is present in an amount ranging from about 10 grams/L to about 30 grams/L.
RO ‘477 teaches 0.5 to 4 g/L of organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure (page 2, lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quaternary amine taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the quaternary amine is present in an amount ranging from about 10 grams/L to about 30 grams/L. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it has been held that changes in temperature, concentration or both, is not a patentable modification; however, such changes may impart patentability to a process if the ranges claimed produce new and unexpected results which are different in kind and not merely in degree from results of the prior art, such ranges are termed “critical” ranges and Applicant has the burden of proving such criticality; even though Applicant’s modification results in great improvement and utility over the prior art, it may still not be patentable if the modification was within capabilities of one skilled in the art; more particularly, where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum or
workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) [MPEP § 2144.05].
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05 states that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists
where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”
Regarding claim 13, RO ‘477 teaches wherein the zinc salt is zinc oxide or a divalent zinc
salt (= zinc oxide) [page 2, line 21].
Regarding claim 15, JP ‘077 teaches wherein the aliphatic amine further comprises ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine,
hexamethylenediamine, N,N’-bis-(triaminopropyl) ethylenediamine, or a combination thereof (= ethylenediamine, hexamethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, and tetraethylenepentamine. These may be used individually, or two or more may be used in combination) [ρ [0035]].
Regarding claim 17, Niikura teaches wherein the amino alcohol is selected from ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, or a combination thereof (= aminoalcohols
such as ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
Regarding claim 18, RO ‘477 teaches wherein the iron salt is a divalent iron salt comprising one or more of iron (II) sulfate, iron (II) chloride, iron (II) acetate, and hydrates thereof (= an iron salt (chloride or sulphate)) [page 2, line 19].
Regarding claim 19, RO ‘477 teaches wherein the alkali metal gluconate is selected from sodium gluconate, potassium gluconate, or a combination thereof (= sodium gluconate) [Table].
Regarding claim 20, RO ‘477 teaches wherein the electrolyte solution has a pH of about 14 (= pH > 13) [page 3, line 6].
Regarding claim 21, Kampe does not explicitly teach wherein the amine of the
condensation polymer comprises N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or more different groups or atoms in the amine molecule. Exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group” as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include water-
soluble nylon resins such as condensation polymers of N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine, alkylene
dicarboxylic acids, and epichlorohydrin (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with
wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine.
The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine would have been suitable as the amine in a
condensation polymer as taught by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability
for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co.
v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 22, Kampe does not explicitly wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises 3-dimethylaminopropylurea.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group” as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include
polyamide polyamines including polyamine polyurea resins such as condensation polymers of 3-dimethylaminopropyl urea and epichlorohydrin and condensation polymers of bis(N,N-
dimethylaminopropyl)urea and epichlorohydrin (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises 3-dimethylaminopropylurea. The person with ordinary skill in
the art would have been motivated to make this modification because 3-dimethylaminopropyl urea would have been suitable as the amine in a condensation polymer as taught by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co.
v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 23, Kampe does not explicitly teach wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines
are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or more different groups or atoms in the amine molecule. Exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group” as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or
more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long
as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include
polyamide polyamines including polyamine polyurea resins such as condensation polymers of 3-dimethylaminopropyl urea and epichlorohydrin and condensation polymers of bis(N,N-
dimethylaminopropyl)urea and epichlorohydrin (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea would have been suitable as the amine in a
condensation polymer as taught by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 24, Kampe teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises ethylenediamine (= exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine
and diethylenetriamine (col. 2, lines 26-29); and reaction product of ethylenediamine, aqueous
formaldehyde of 37 percent formaldehyde concentration and epichlorohydrin (col. 13, lines 44-46)).
Regarding claim 25, Kampe does not explicitly teach wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises dimethylaminopropylamine.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines
are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or more different groups or atoms in the amine molecule. Exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group” as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or
more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long
as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include
condensation polymers of dimethylaminopropylamine and epichlorohydrin (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises dimethylaminopropylamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because dimethylaminopropylamine would have been suitable as the amine in a condensation polymer as taught by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability
for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co.
v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 26, Kampe does not explicitly teach wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises acetoguanamine.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or
more different groups or atoms in the amine molecule. Exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group”
as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include densation polymers of epichlorohydrin and heterocyclic amines containing triazine derivatives such as acetoguanamine and benzoguanamine (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises acetoguanamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because acetoguanamine would have been suitable as the amine in a condensation polymer as taught
by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability
for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 27, Kampe does not explicitly teach wherein the amine of the
condensation polymer comprises benzoguanamine.
Kampe teaches that:
The acyclic amine reactant for forming the soluble reaction product brightener can be any acyclic aliphatic amine having two or more functional groups. Thus primary, secondary and tertiary amines are utilizable as the amine reactant so long as the amine has two or more functional groups. The two or more functional groups, for example -OH and -NH2 groups, are separated by one or more different groups or atoms in the amine molecule. Exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine. The functional groups in the amines enumerated immediately supra include the -NH2, -OH, and -NH groups. By “functional group” as used herein in referring to the amine reactant having at least two functional groups is meant a group or radical capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in the reaction mixture, such as by an addition reaction or a condensation reaction, under the reaction conditions of the invention. It is essential that the acyclic amine reactant herein have two or more functional groups so as to be capable of forming the relatively large molecules or polymers which constitute the reaction product brightener herein (col. 2, lines 19-40).
Niikura teaches that no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include
condensation polymers of epichlorohydrin and heterocyclic amines containing triazine derivatives such as acetoguanamine and benzoguanamine (page 4, [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amine taught by Kampe with
wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises benzoguanamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because benzoguanamine would have been suitable as the amine in a condensation polymer as taught
by Niikura in [0071] because it is capable of reacting with another reactant, group or radical in a reaction mixture such as by a condensation reaction.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability
for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 28, RO ‘477 does not explicitly teach wherein the quaternary amine is selected from the group consisting of N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethylpyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxyimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxymethylimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride,
and combinations thereof.
RO ‘477 teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations
of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss. These include organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure (page 2, lines 30-32).
Niikura teaches that in addition, the brightening agent may be a nitrogen-containing
heterocyclic quaternary ammonium salt.
Specific examples of nitrogen-containing heterocyclic quaternary ammonium salt compounds include N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-carboxypyridinium
chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethyl pyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxy imidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxymethyl imidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, and 1-butyl-1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride (page 4, [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quaternary amine taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the quaternary amine is selected from the group consisting of N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethylpyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxyimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-carboxymethylimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride,
1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride, and combinations thereof. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches
adding organic substances which act as gloss agents to the basic composition of the electrolyte where these include organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure on page 2, lines 30-32, where N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-
carboxypyridinium chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-
carboxypyridinium bromide, N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-
hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethylpyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-
carboxyimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxymethylimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride are organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure and are brightening agents as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy electroplating baths, and thus, when added to the alkaline zinc-iron alloy electrolyte of RO ‘477 would have enhanced the brightness of the electrodeposited coating.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co.
v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Regarding claim 30, RO ‘477 does not explicitly teach wherein the amine-based chelating agent is selected from the group consisting of triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine,
ethylene oxide or propylene oxide adducts of triethylenetetramine; ethylene oxide or propylene oxide adducts of tetraethylenepentamine; N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine; 2-hydroxy ethylaminopropylamine; N-2(-hydroxyethyl)- N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine; N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-
hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkyleneimines) obtained from ethyleneimine or 1,2-propyleneimine; poly(alkyleneamines); poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethylenediamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from triethylenetetramine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethanolamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from diethanolamine, and a combination thereof.
RO ‘477 teaches in the presence of chelating agents (page 2, lines 19-20).
Niikura teaches that examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine; alkylene oxide adducts such as ethylene
oxide adducts and propylene oxide adducts of the above alkylene amines; aminoalcohols such as
ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine,
ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine; alkanolamine compounds such as N-(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’,N’-
triethylethylenediamine, N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine, N,N,N’,N’-
tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine, and N,N,N’,N′-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkylene imine) obtained from ethylene imine, 1,2-propylene imine, and the like; and poly(alkylene amine) obtained from ethylene diamine,
triethylene tetramine, and the like (pages 4-5, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the amine-based chelating agent is selected from the group consisting of
triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, ethylene oxide or propylene oxide adducts of
triethylenetetramine; ethylene oxide or propylene oxide adducts of tetraethylenepentamine; N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine; 2-hydroxy ethylaminopropylamine; N-2(-hydroxyethyl)- N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine; N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkyleneimines) obtained from ethyleneimine or 1,2-propyleneimine; poly(alkyleneamines); poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethylenediamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from triethylenetetramine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethanolamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from diethanolamine, and a combination thereof.
The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification
because RO ‘477 teaches the presence of chelating agents in the electrolyte on page 2, lines
18-20, where alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine,
triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine; alkylene oxide adducts such as ethylene oxide adducts and propylene oxide adducts of the above alkylene
amines; aminoalcohols such as ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine,
diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine; alkanolamine compounds such as N-(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine, N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine, N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine, and N,N,N’,N′-
tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkylene imine) obtained from ethylene imine, 1,2-propylene imine, and the like; and poly(alkylene amine) obtained from ethylene diamine,
triethylene tetramine, and the like are chelating agents10 as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy plating.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
II. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO 108477 (‘477) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), Niikura et al. (US Patent Application
Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1), JP 2009-041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858) and Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-28
and 30 above, and further in view of KR 950014370 (‘370).
Regarding claim 16, RO ‘477, Kampe, Niikura, JP ‘077, JP’858 and Bokisa teach the
solution of at least claims 11-13, 15, 17-28 and 30 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof further comprise sodium benzoate.
Niikura teaches that there is no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include benzoic acids or salts thereof (page 4, [0071]).
JP ‘858 teaches that:
This pure zinc electroplated film is formed by an electroplating method using a plating bath containing 0.001 to 10% by weight of at least one additive selected from the group consisting of alkynes, alkanols, amines, thio compounds, heterocyclic compounds, polycarboxylic acids and their salts, benzoic acid and its salts, ligninsulfonic acid and its salts, and polyphosphate and its salts.
As a result, a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability (ρ [0021]).
Any of the above polycarboxylic acids, ligninsulfonic acid and polyphosphate, as well as benzoic acid, can be used in the form of their salts.
Examples of salts include sodium citrate, sodium ligninsulfonate, potassium benzoate, ammonium benzoate, sodium tripolyphosphate, and sodium hexametaphosphate (ρ [0033]).
KR ‘370 teaches an additive for zinc-nickel alloy electroplating includes: 10-20% by weight, sodium benzoate or potassium benzoate (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aromatic organic acid and/or salts
thereof taught by Niikura with wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof further comprise sodium benzoate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to make this modification because sodium benzoate is an alternative to potassium
benzoate as an additive as taught by KR ‘370 in the abstract, where benzoic acid salts are brighteners as taught by Niikura in [0071] and JP ‘858 in [0021] and [0033], where the
combination of art recognized equivalents as taught by KR ‘370 in the abstract is within the level of ordinary skill in the art because it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose,11 in order to form a
third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.06. And hence, further adding sodium benzoate to the alkaline zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath would have enhanced the brightness of the electroplated coating.
III. Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO 108477 (‘477) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1), JP 2009-041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858) and Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-28 and 30 above, and further in view of and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728).
Regarding claim 29, RO ‘477, Kampe, Niikura, JP ‘077, JP’858 and Bokisa teach the solution of at least claims 11-13, 15, 17-28 and 30 as applied above. The references do not
explicitly teach wherein the quaternary amine is an alkyl amine ammonium polymer.
RO ‘477 teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations
of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss. These include: organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure (page 2, lines 30-32).
Sonntag teaches that it has now been found that the addition of a special type of
quaternary ammonium polymers to aqueous alkaline cyanide-free zinc baths improves the layer thickness distribution of the resultant coatings and reduces blistering of the said coatings (col. 2, lines 53-57).
A polymer soluble in the bath and having the general formula A:
wherein m has the value 2 or 3, n has a value of at least 2, R1, R2, R3 and R4, which may be the
same or different, each independently denote methyl, ethyl or hydroxyethyl, p has a value in the range from 3 to 12, and X- denotes Cl-, Br- and/or I- (col. 2, line 66, to col. 3, line 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quaternary amine taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the quaternary amine is an alkyl amine ammonium polymer. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477
teaches that to the basic composition of the electrolyte, various combinations of organic substances are added, which act as leveling agents, dispersion and gloss. These include organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure on page 2, lines 30-32, where a quaternary ammonium polymer of formula A taught by Sonntag in col. 2, line 66, to col. 3, line 15, is an
organic compounds with a quaternary ammonium structure and when added to the alkaline zinc-iron alloy electrolyte of RO ‘477 would have improved the layer thickness distribution of the resultant coatings and would have reduced blistering of the coatings.
Regarding claim 31, RO ‘447 does not explicitly teach wherein the amine-based chelating agent is N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine.
RO ‘477 teaches in the presence of chelating agents (page 2, lines 19-20).
Niikura teaches that examples of amine chelating agents include alkanolamine compounds such as N-(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine, N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine, N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine, and N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine (pages 4-5, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by RO ‘477 with wherein the amine-based chelating agent is N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because RO ‘477 teaches the presence of chelating agents
in the electrolyte on page 2, lines 18-20, where N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-
hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine is a chelating agent12 as taught by Niikura in [0063] and [0075] for zinc iron alloy electroplating baths.
MPEP § 2144.07 states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejections of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Citations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2011/029781 is cited to teach alkaline zinc alloy electrodeposition baths (pages 8-10).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this
Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of
the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a))
pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the
mailing date of this final action.
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 = 0.123 M to 0.307 M zinc oxide.
2 Also note that Niikura teaches that the additives suitable to use for a zinc electroplating bath is suitable to use for a zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath (page 3, [0063]; pages 3-4 [0069]; and page 4, [0070]).
3 A chelating agent is a chemical compound that binds tightly to metal ions, forming stable, ring-like complexes called chelates, which prevent the metals from reacting with other substances.
4 A chelating agent is a chemical compound that binds tightly to metal ions, forming stable, ring-like complexes called chelates, which prevent the metals from reacting with other substances.
5 A chelating agent is a chemical compound that binds tightly to metal ions, forming stable, ring-like complexes called chelates, which prevent the metals from reacting with other substances.
6 Also note that Niikura teaches that the additives suitable to use for a zinc-nickel-iron electroplating bath is suitable to use for a zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath (page 3, [0063]; pages 3-4 [0069]; and page 4, [0070]).
7 = 2.5 M to 3.25 M sodium hydroxide.
8 = 0.122 M to 0.307 M zinc oxide.
9 = 0.023 M to 0.138 M sodium gluconate.
10 A chelating agent is a chemical compound that binds tightly to metal ions, forming stable, ring-like complexes called chelates, which prevent the metals from reacting with other substances.
11 Also note that Niikura teaches that the additives suitable to use for a zinc electroplating bath and a zinc-nickel electroplating bath is suitable to use for a zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath (page 3, [0063]; pages 3-4 [0069]; and page 4, [0070]).
12 A chelating agent is a chemical compound that binds tightly to metal ions, forming stable, ring-like complexes called chelates, which prevent the metals from reacting with other substances.