Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This is in response to the Amendment dated November 21, 2025. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
I. Claim(s) 11-13, 15-19 and 21-31 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728).
The rejection of claims 11-13, 15-19 and 21-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. in view of Kampe, JP 2009041077 (‘077), Bokisa et al. and Sonntag et al. has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
II. Claim(s) 20 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728) as applied to claims 11-13, 15-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of WO 2004/108995 (‘995).
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. in view of Kampe, JP 2009041077 (‘077), Bokisa et al. and Sonntag et al. as applied to claims 11-13, 15-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of WO 2004/108995 (‘995) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Continued Response
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
I. Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728).
Regarding claim 11, Niikura teaches an electrolyte solution for electroplating (= an alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath) [page 1, [0001]] comprising:
• an alkali hydroxide (= examples of caustic alkalis include sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide) [page 5, [0077]];
• a zinc salt (= examples of zinc ion sources include Na2[Zn(OH)4], K2[Zn(OH)4], and ZnO), wherein the zinc salt is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1 moles per liter to about 0.2 moles per liter (= the concentration of the zinc ions in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 2 to 20 g/L or more preferably 4 to 12 g/L)1 [page 5, [0076]];
• a quaternary amine (= in addition, the brightening agent may be a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic quaternary ammonium salt) [page 4, [0072]];
• an aliphatic amine (= examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine
compounds) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
• a polyhydroxy alcohol (= aminoalcohols such as ethanolamine, diethanolamine,
triethanolamine) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
• an aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof (= benzoic acids or salts thereof) [page 4, [0071]];
• an amino alcohol (= aminoalcohols) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
• an iron salt (= examples of metal ion sources include nickel sulfate, ferrous sulfate, cobalt sulfate, stannous sulfate, and manganese sulfate) [page 5, [0078]]; and
• an amine-based chelating agent (= an amine chelating agent) [page 4, [0070]].
Niikura does not explicitly teach the following:
a. A condensation polymer of epichlorohydrin and an amine, wherein the condensation polymer is an amine-formaldehyde-epichlorohydrin condensation polymer.
Niikura teaches that:
The alkaline zinc electroplating bath used in the present invention is an alkaline zinc plating bath containing an organic compound additive. The alkaline zinc electroplating bath preferably contains one or more organic compound additives selected from the group consisting of brightening agents, auxiliary additives such as leveling agents, and defoamers. The alkaline zinc electroplating bath is preferably one containing a brightening agent (pages 3-4, [0069]).
Kampe, like Niikura, teaches alkaline zinc electroplating baths (col. 1, line 11).
Additional zinc plating tests were carried out to evaluate various reaction products as brightener additives to non-cyanide, low cyanide, and full or high cyanide zinc electroplating baths. Test Runs No.’s 26-38 which follow are concerned with electroplating of zinc from non-cyanide, i.e. cyanide-free, alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths, Test Runs No.’s 39-55 which follow relate to electroplating of zinc from low cyanide content alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths, and Test Runs No.’s 56-67 also which follow are concerned with electroplating of zinc from full cyanide, i.e. high cyanide content, alkaline zinc electrodepositing baths (col. 9, lines 48-58).
TEST RUN NO. 26
Reaction product of diethanolamine, aqueous formaldehyde of 37 percent formaldehyde
concentration and epichlorohydrin, in amount of 1 1/2ml., ml. was added to an alkaline, aqueous non-cyanide zinc electroplating bath containing 0.99 oz./gal. Zn and 9.4 oz./gal. NaOH in a 267 ml. Hull test cell.
The zinc electrodeposit on the Hull test panel was semibright in the range of about 8-15 amps/ft2, and bright in the range of slightly above 0 to about 8 amps/ft2 (col. 10, lines 45-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution taught by Niikura with a condensation polymer of epichlorohydrin and an amine, wherein the condensation polymer is
an amine-formaldehyde-epichlorohydrin condensation polymer. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Niikura teaches that the alkaline zinc electroplating bath preferably contains one or more organic compound additives selected from brightening agents in [0069] where a reaction product of diethanolamine, formaldehyde and epichlorohydrin is a brightener as taught by Kempe in col. 9, lines 48-58 and col. 10, lines 45-53, and thus, adding a reaction product of diethanolamine, formaldehyde and epichlorohydrin to the alkaline zinc electroplating bath of Niikura would have enhanced the brightness of the electroplated film.
b. Wherein the aliphatic amine comprises dipropylaminetriamine.
Niikura teaches that the alkaline zinc alloy electroplating bath used in the present
invention is an alkaline zinc alloy electroplating bath containing an amine chelating agent and an organic compound additive (page 4, [0070]).
Examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine; alkylene oxide adducts such as ethylene oxide adducts and propylene
oxide adducts of the above alkylene amines; aminoalcohols such as ethanolamine,
diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, ethylenediamine
tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine; alkanolamine compounds such as N-(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine, N,N′-
di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine, N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine, and N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkylene imine) obtained from ethylene imine, 1,2-propylene imine, and the like; and poly(alkylene amine) obtained from ethylene diamine, triethylene tetramine, and the like. The amine chelating agent preferably contains one or more selected from the group consisting of alkylene amine compounds, alkylene oxide adducts thereof, and alkanolamine compound. These amine chelating agents may be used alone or in combination of two or more. The concentration of the amine chelating agent in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L and more preferably 30 to 100 g/L. (pages 4-5, [0075]).
JP ‘077 teaches that:
Examples of chelating agents that prevent interference between zirconium and the silane coupling agent or its hydrolysis condensate and improve rust prevention performance include, but are not limited to, ethylenediamine, propylenediamine, butylenediamine, hexamethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, dipropylenetriamine, dibutylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tripropylenetetramine, tributylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, tetrapropylenepentamine, tetrabutylenepentamine, pentaethylenehexamine, phenylenediamine, ethylenediamine-N,N,N’,N’-tetraacetic acid, and ethylenediamine-N,N,N’,N’-tetraacetic acid disodium salt.
These may be used alone or in combination of two or more (ρ [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aliphatic amine taught by Niikura with wherein the aliphatic amine comprises dipropylaminetriamine. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because dipropylenetriamine is an alternative to ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine as amine chelating agents as taught by JP ‘077 in [0035] where the substitution of art recognized equivalents as taught by JP ‘077 in [0035] is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In addition, the substitution of one amine chelating agent for another is likely to be obvious when
it does no more than yield predictable results.
c. Wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof, comprises potassium
benzoate.
Niikura teaches that there is no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include benzoic acids or salts thereof (page 4, [0071]).
JP ‘858, like Niikura, teaches a zinc plating bath (ρ [0021]).
This pure zinc electroplated film is formed by an electroplating method using a plating bath containing 0.001 to 10% by weight of at least one additive selected from the group consisting of alkynes, alkanols, amines, thio compounds, heterocyclic compounds, polycarboxylic acids and their salts, benzoic acid and its salts, ligninsulfonic acid and its salts, and polyphosphate and its salts.
As a result, a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability (ρ [0021]).
Any of the above polycarboxylic acids, ligninsulfonic acid and polyphosphate, as well as benzoic acid, can be used in the form of their salts.
Examples of salts include sodium citrate, sodium ligninsulfonate, potassium benzoate, ammonium benzoate, sodium tripolyphosphate, and sodium hexametaphosphate (ρ [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof taught by Niikura with wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof, comprises potassium benzoate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Niikura teaches that the brightening agents
include benzoic acids or salts thereof in [0071] where the salts include potassium benzoate as
taught by JP ‘858 in [0033], and thus, adding potassium benzoate to the alkaline zinc electroplating bath of Niikura would have resulted in a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability.
d. A bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof, wherein the bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof are present in an amount ranging from about 0.01 moles per liter to about 0.02 moles per liter.
Niikura teaches that:
The alkaline zinc electroplating bath used in the present invention is an alkaline zinc plating bath containing an organic compound additive. The alkaline zinc electroplating bath preferably contains one or more organic compound additives selected from the group consisting of brightening agents, auxiliary additives such as leveling agents, and defoamers. The alkaline zinc electroplating bath is preferably one containing a brightening agent (pages 3-4, [0069]).
No particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths (page 4, [0071]).
Bokisa, like Niikura (page 3, [0063]), teaches an aqueous alkaline zinc-nickel-iron electroplating bath (page 2, [0028]).
In some embodiments, a brightening agent or brightener can be added to the electroplating bath. Examples of brighteners that can be potentially added to the electroplating bath include Dequest (1-hydroxyethylen-1,1-diphosphonic acid) [pages 3-4, [0046]].
The amount of brightener provided in the bath can range from about 0.01 g/l to about 10 g/l (about 10 ppm to about 10,000 ppm) [page 4, [0047]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution taught by Niikura with a bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof, wherein the bisphosphonic acid and/or salts thereof
are present in an amount ranging from about 0.01 moles per liter to about 0.02 moles per liter. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Niikura teaches that the alkaline zinc electroplating bath preferably contains one or more organic compound additives selected from brightening agents in [0069] where Dequest (1-hydroxyethylen-1,1-diphosphonic acid) is a brightening agent as taught by Bokisa in [0046], and thus, adding from about 0.01 g/l to about 10 g/l of Dequest to the alkaline zinc electroplating bath of Niikura would have enhanced the brightness of the electroplated film.
e. An alkali metal gluconate.
Sonntag, like Niikura, teaches zinc-iron alloy electroplating baths (col. 4, lines 57-60).
If the baths according to the invention contain the aforementioned additional metal ions, it is expedient to add to the baths also complex-forming agents adapted to these additional metal ions in order to control the deposition potentials and permit a common reduction with the zinc ions that are present (col. 5, lines 12-17).
Chelate-forming agents are preferred as such complex-forming agents. Examples of suitable chelate-forming agents include hydroxycarboxylates such as sodium gluconate, aminoalcohols such as triethanolamine, polyamines such as polyethylenediamine, aminocarboxylates such as
EDTA, aminophosphonates such as aminotris(methylenephosphonic acid), and polyhydric alcohols such as sorbitol or sucrose. The chelate-forming agent may be contained individually or
as a mixture in the baths according to the invention, the amount of the agent preferably being in the range from 2 to 200 g/l (col. 5, lines 18-28).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution taught by Niikura with an alkali metal gluconate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because sodium gluconate is a complex-forming agent as taught by
Sonntag in col. 5, lines 18-28, which added the solution would have adapted to iron ions in
order to control the deposition potentials and permit a common reduction with the zinc ions that are present as taught by Sonntag in col. 5, lines 12-17.
Regarding claim 12, Niikura teaches wherein:
۰ the alkali hydroxide is present in an amount ranging from about 1.0 mole per liter (mol/L) to about 5 mol/L of the electrolyte solution (= the concentration of the caustic alkali in
the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 60 to 200 g/L) [page 5, [0077]];
۰ the condensation polymer of epichlorohydrin and the amine is present in an amount
ranging from about 10 grams/liter to about 25 grams/liter of the electrolyte solution (= is preferably 0.01 to 10 g/L in other cases) [page 4, [0071]];
۰ the quaternary amine is present in an amount ranging from about 10 grams/L to about 30 grams/L (= the concentration of the nitrogen-containing heterocyclic quaternary ammonium
salt in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 0.01 to 10 g/L) [page 4, [0072]];
۰ the aliphatic amine is present in an amount ranging from about 0.03 moles per liter to
about 0.05 moles per liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
۰ the polyhydroxy alcohol is present in an amount ranging from about 0.03 moles per liter to about 0.06 moles per liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
۰ the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof is present in an amount ranging from about 0.002 moles per liter to about 0.008 moles per liter (= further preferably 5 to 100 mg/L in
the case of aromatic aldehydes and benzoic acids or salts thereof) [page 4, [0071]];
۰ the amino alcohol is present in an amount ranging from about 0.1 moles per liter to
about 0.4 moles per liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]];
۰ the iron salt is present in an amount ranging from about 0.05 moles per liter to about
0.1 moles per liter (= the total concentration of the metal ions in the alkaline zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 0.4 to 4 g/L (page 5, [0078]); and Sonntag teaches that the concentration of the metal ions in the baths may vary within a wide range and is preferably 0.01 to 100 g/l (col. 4, line 66, to col. 5, line 1));
۰ the alkali metal gluconate is present in an amount ranging from about 0.05 moles per liter to about 0.12 moles per liter (= Sonntag teaches that the chelate-forming agent may be contained individually or as a mixture in the baths, the amount of the agent preferably being in the range from 2 to 200 g/l) [col. 5, lines 25-28]; and
۰ the amine-based chelating agent is present in an amount ranging from about 7
grams/liter to about 15 grams/liter (= the concentration of the amine chelating agent in the alkaline zinc or zinc alloy electroplating bath is preferably 5 to 200 g/L) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
Regarding claim 13, Niikura teaches wherein the zinc salt is zinc oxide or a divalent zinc
salt (= examples of zinc ion sources include Na2[Zn(OH)4], K2[Zn(OH)4], and ZnO) [page 5, [0076]].
Regarding claim 15, Niikura teaches wherein the aliphatic amine further comprises ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine,
hexamethylenediamine, N,N’-bis-(triaminopropyl) ethylenediamine, or a combination thereof (= examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and pentaethylenehexamine) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
Regarding claim 17, Niikura teaches wherein the amino alcohol is selected from ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, or a combination thereof (= aminoalcohols
such as ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
Regarding claim 18, Niikura teaches wherein the iron salt is a divalent iron salt comprising one or more of iron (II) sulfate, iron (II) chloride, iron (II) acetate, and hydrates thereof (= examples of metal ion sources include nickel sulfate, ferrous sulfate, cobalt sulfate,
stannous sulfate, and manganese sulfate) [page 5, [0078]].
Bokisa teaches ferrous or ferric salts of iron, such as Fe2(SO4)3۰7H2O, FeSO4۰7H2O, Fe(OH)3, FeCl3۰6H2O, and FeCl2۰4H2O (page 3, [0040]].
Sonntag teaches that individual examples of suitable salts are nickel sulfate, iron sulfate, cobalt sulfate and manganese chloride (col. 4, lines 64-65).
Regarding claim 19, Sonntag teaches wherein the alkali metal gluconate is selected from sodium gluconate, potassium gluconate, or a combination thereof (= examples of suitable chelate-forming agents include hydroxycarboxylates such as sodium gluconate) [col. 5, lines 19-
21].
Regarding claim 21, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine (= epichlorohydrin and water-soluble nylon resins
such as condensation polymers of N,N-dimethylaminopropylamine) [page 4, [0071]].
Regarding claim 22, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises 3-dimethylaminopropylurea (= polyamide polyamines including polyamine polyurea resins such as condensation polymers of 3-dimethylaminopropyl urea and epichlorohydrin and condensation polymers of bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea and epichlorohydrin) [page 4,
[0071]].
Regarding claim 23, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea (= polyamide polyamines including polyamine polyurea resins such as condensation polymers of 3-dimethylaminopropyl urea and
epichlorohydrin and condensation polymers of bis(N,N-dimethylaminopropyl)urea and
epichlorohydrin) [page 4, [0071]].
Regarding claim 24, Kampe teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises ethylenediamine (= exemplary of the amine reactant are monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethylenetriamine, tetraethylenepentamine, triethanolamine, ethylenediamine and diethylenetriamine (col. 2, lines 26-29); and reaction product of ethylenediamine, aqueous
formaldehyde of 37 percent formaldehyde concentration and epichlorohydrin (col. 13, lines 44-46)).
Regarding claim 25, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises dimethylaminopropylamine (= condensation polymers of dimethylaminopropylamine
and epichlorohydrin) [page 4, [0071]].
Regarding claim 26, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer
comprises acetoguanamine (= condensation polymers of epichlorohydrin and heterocyclic amines containing triazine derivatives such as acetoguanamine and benzoguanamine) [page 4, [0071]].
Regarding claim 27, Niikura teaches wherein the amine of the condensation polymer comprises benzoguanamine (= condensation polymers of epichlorohydrin and heterocyclic
amines containing triazine derivatives such as acetoguanamine and benzoguanamine) [page 4, [0071]].
Regarding claim 28, Niikura teaches wherein the quaternary amine is selected from the group consisting of N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-carboxypyridinium
chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide,
N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethylpyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxyimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxymethylimidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, 1-butyl-
1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride, and combinations thereof (= specific examples of nitrogen-containing heterocyclic quaternary ammonium salt compounds include N-benzyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-phenethyl-4-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-butyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-chloromethyl-3-carboxypyridinium bromide, N-hexyl-6-hydroxy-
3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-hexyl-6-3-hydroxypropyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-2-hydroxyethyl-6-methoxy-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-methoxy-6-methyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-propyl-2-methyl-6-phenyl-3-carboxypyridinium chloride, N-benzyl-3-carboxymethyl pyridinium chloride, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxy imidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-3-methyl-4-carboxymethyl
imidazolium bromide, 1-butyl-2-hydroxymethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, 1-butyl-1-methyl-3-methylcarboxypyrrolidinium chloride, and 1-butyl-1-methyl-4-methylcarboxypiperidinium chloride) [page 4, [0072]].
Regarding claim 29, Niikura does not explicitly teach wherein the quaternary amine is an alkyl amine ammonium polymer.
Sonntag teaches that it has now been found that the addition of a special type of
quaternary ammonium polymers to aqueous alkaline cyanide-free zinc baths improves the layer thickness distribution of the resultant coatings and reduces blistering of the said coatings (col. 2, lines 53-57).
A polymer soluble in the bath and having the general formula A:
wherein m has the value 2 or 3, n has a value of at least 2, R1, R2, R3 and R4, which may be the
same or different, each independently denote methyl, ethyl or hydroxyethyl, p has a value in the range from 3 to 12, and X- denotes Cl-, Br- and/or I- (col. 2, line 66, to col. 3, line 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quaternary amine taught by Niikura with wherein the quaternary amine is an alkyl amine ammonium polymer. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because adding a quaternary ammonium polymer of formula A to the alkaline zinc electroplating bath of Niikura would have improved the layer thickness distribution of the resultant coatings and would have reduced blistering of the coatings.
Regarding claim 30, Niikura teaches wherein the amine-based chelating agent is selected from the group consisting of triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, ethylene
oxide or propylene oxide adducts of triethylenetetramine; ethylene oxide or propylene oxide adducts of tetraethylenepentamine; N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine; 2-hydroxy ethylaminopropylamine; N-2(-hydroxyethyl)- N,N’,N’- triethylethylenediamine; N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’- tetrakis(2-hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine; N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkyleneimines) obtained from ethyleneimine or 1,2-propyleneimine; poly(alkyleneamines); poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethylenediamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from triethylenetetramine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from ethanolamine, poly(amino alcohols) obtained from diethanolamine, and a combination thereof (= examples of amine chelating agents include alkylene amine compounds such as ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, and
pentaethylenehexamine; alkylene oxide adducts such as ethylene oxide adducts and propylene
oxide adducts of the above alkylene amines; aminoalcohols such as ethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, diisopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, ethylenediamine tetra-2-propanol, N-(2-aminoethyl)ethanolamine, and 2-hydroxyethylaminopropylamine; alkanolamine compounds such as N-(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’,N’-triethylethylenediamine, N,N’-di(2-hydroxyethyl)-N,N’-diethylethylenediamine, N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-
hydroxyethyl)propylenediamine, and N,N,N’,N′-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine; poly(alkylene imine) obtained from ethylene imine, 1,2-propylene imine, and the like; and poly(alkylene amine) obtained from ethylene diamine, triethylene tetramine, and the like) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
Regarding claim 31, Niikura teaches wherein the amine-based chelating agent is
N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine (= N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine) [pages 4-5, [0075]].
II. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of KR 950014370 (‘370).
Regarding claim 16, Niikura in view of Kampe, JP ‘007, JP ‘858, Bokisa and Sonntag teach the solution of at least claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof further comprise
sodium benzoate.
Niikura teaches that there is no particular limitation is imposed on the brightening agent as long as it is a brightening agent known in zinc plating baths, and examples thereof include benzoic acids or salts thereof (page 4, [0071]).
JP ‘858 teaches that:
This pure zinc electroplated film is formed by an electroplating method using a plating bath containing 0.001 to 10% by weight of at least one additive selected from the group consisting of alkynes, alkanols, amines, thio compounds, heterocyclic compounds, polycarboxylic acids and their salts, benzoic acid and its salts, ligninsulfonic acid and its salts, and polyphosphate and its salts.
As a result, a plating film with less color unevenness and a uniform appearance is electrodeposited, and the film becomes lubricated, improving workability (ρ [0021]).
Any of the above polycarboxylic acids, ligninsulfonic acid and polyphosphate, as well as benzoic acid, can be used in the form of their salts.
Examples of salts include sodium citrate, sodium ligninsulfonate, potassium benzoate, ammonium benzoate, sodium tripolyphosphate, and sodium hexametaphosphate (ρ [0033]).
KR ‘370 teaches an additive for zinc-nickel alloy electroplating includes: 10-20% by weight, sodium benzoate or potassium benzoate (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof taught by Niikura with wherein the aromatic organic acid and/or salts thereof further comprise sodium benzoate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because sodium benzoate is an alternative to potassium benzoate as an additive as taught by KR ‘370 in the abstract, where benzoic acid salts are
brighteners as taught by Niikura in [0071] and JP ‘858 in [0021] and [0033], where the combination of art recognized equivalents as taught by KR ‘370 in the abstract is within the level of ordinary skill in the art because it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.06. And hence, further adding sodium benzoate to the alkaline zinc electroplating bath would have enhanced the brightness of the electroplated film.
III. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niikura et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0263314 A1) in view of Kampe (US Patent No. 3,655,534), JP 2009041077 (‘077), JP H081858 (‘858), Bokisa et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0071843 A1) and Sonntag et al. (US Patent No. 6,652,728) as applied to claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 above, and further in view of WO 2004/108995 (‘995).
Regarding claim 20, Niikura in view of Kampe, JP ‘007, JP ‘858, Bokisa and Sonntag teach the solution of at least claims 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-31 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach wherein the electrolyte solution has a pH of about 14.
Niikura teaches an alkaline zinc alloy electroplating bath (page 4, [0070]).
WO ‘995, like Niikura, teaches a zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath (page 21, line 23).
The electroplating bath can be an aqueous solution that is alkaline, having a pH that is preferably
about 14 (page 11, lines 18-19).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte solution taught by Niikura with wherein the electrolyte solution has a pH of about 14. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Niikura teaches that the zinc alloy electroplating bath is alkaline in [0070] where a pH of about 14 is a suitable alkaline pH for a zinc-iron alloy electroplating bath to electroplate a zinc-iron alloy as taught by WO ‘995 on page 11, lines 18-19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejections of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 20 g/l of zinc oxide is 0.246 M of zinc oxide.