DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0216795 (SINGH) in view of FR2956143 (SALIN) (IDS of 6/9/2025). A translation of FR2956143 was provided with a previous Official Action and is relied upon below.
SINGH teaches a weighted/ballasted agitation device for the production of red wine [0044]. The body serves as the ballast and naturally circumscribes the apertures [0010]. The agitation device is positioned over a fermentation device with a cap of grape solids and lowered to break the cap (see Fig. 3, [0034] and[0044]).
Fig. 1 of SINGH shows a cylindrical device [0010] with symmetrical holes/apertures [0030].
SINGH teaches an agitation device for the production of red wine [0044]. The agitation device is positioned over a fermentation device with a cap of grape solids and lowered to break the cap (see Fig. 3, [0034] and[0044]). This would naturally disturb the cap of grape solids increases maceration of the of the cap of grape solids so that the caps of solids and liquid would freely pass.
SINGH does not use a bridge crane.
However, SALIN teaches that a displacement unit (5) i.e. bridge crane, allows vertical displacement of a load (4) i.e. feed hopper, between an upper stage and a lower stage (1) through an opening, and a horizontal displacement of the load at the upper stage. This allows one to efficiently move equipment from upper and lower levels, as needed (see abstract and Figure 2). Fig.2 is as follows:
In the second paragraph on pg. 4, it is taught that bridge cranes find particular application in the wine industry so that one can efficiently move equipment.
It would have been obvious to use a bridge crane to move the agitation device, as SALIN teaches that the use of a bridge crane allows one to efficiently move equipment (see abstract, Figure 2, and pg. 4, second paragraph). Moreover, it would have been obvious to move the bridge crane in directions as needed based on the type of process steps that need to be completed.
As to claims 18 and 19, SALIN teaches that a displacement unit (5) i.e. bridge crane, allows vertical and horizontal movement of displacement of a load. In this regard, it would have been obvious to move in the first, second and third axes, as claimed. It would have been obvious to move the bridge crane in directions as needed, including to raise and lower the punch down device of SINGH, based on the type of process steps that need to be completed.
SINGH teaches an agitation device for the production of red wine [0044]. It would have been obvious to use pinot noir as pinot noir is a red wine. The agitation device is positioned over a fermentation device with a cap of grape solids and lowered to break the cap (see Fig. 3, [0034] and[0044]). This would naturally disturb the cap of grape solids increases maceration of the of the cap of grape solids.
SINGH teaches that upper and lower holes/apertures are present to allow the wine to fill and drain from the interior of the device when the device is lowered into and out the fermentation vessel. This device breaks the cap and increases maceration [0007], [0011], [0044].
SINGH teaches a bladder that can be inflated/extended or not and could also be used as a handle (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious that one skilled in the art could manually position the ballasted punch down device over the fermentation device.
SINGH teaches that a rubber/plastic flotation bumper extends outwardly from the housing [0030].
Relevant Art Not Relied Upon
USD854892S1- shows a ballast for pickles
Claim Free of Prior Art
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, 15-16 are free of the prior art. The prior art as noted above shows that it was known to use bridge cranes and ballasted punch down devices to produce wine. However, the prior art does not teach forming, in a fermentation vessel, a cap of pinot noir grape solids which floats on a fermentate during the fermentation; positioning, using a bridge crane, a ballasted punch down device over the fermentation vessel, the ballasted punch down device comprising:
a stainless steel cylindrical housing; one or more venting apertures extending between bases of the stainless steel cylindrical housing; one or more plastic bumpers extending outwardly from the stainless steel cylindrical housing; a concrete ballast hermetically sealed within the stainless steel cylindrical housing, the concrete ballast circumscribing the one or more venting apertures; and an extendable handle extending outwardly from the fermentation vessel; responsive to the ballasted punch down device not being suspended over the cap of pinot noir grape solids, adjusting, using the extendable handle, a position of the ballasted punch down device over the fermentation vessel; and using the bridge crane, the ballasted punch down device in the fermentation vessel such that the cap of pinot noir grapes solids is disturbed to increase maceration of the cap of pinot noir grape solids and at least a portion of the cap of pinot noir grape solids and at least a portion of the fermentate freely pass through the one or more venting apertures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791 /Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791