DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that there insufficient teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine Shrader with Thornton, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the secondary reference does provide a motivation to do so as disclosed in paragraph 55 for regulating the current conducted through the solenoid coil.
In regards to applicant’s argument the rejection is dependent of hindsight reconstruction, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art reference Schrader is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the secondary reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor is concerned, since it does teach a solenoid valve for controlling a liquid similar to the primary reference using a solenoid valve. Examiner has cited multiple prior art references below in the pertinent prior art section that use pulse width modulation to control a solenoid valve of a dental device to control the fluid flow as examples.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference Schrader does not teach quasi-continuous flow, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed quasi-continuous flow is merely a function of the pulse width modulated valve, hence the pulse width modulated valve of Schrader inherently performs the claimed function of providing a quasi-continuous flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 39, the limitation “the pilot control input” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 40, the limitation “the pilot control input” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-18, 33-38, 40-44, and 46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,872,593) in view of Schrader (Pub. No. US 2021/0381617).
Regarding claim 1, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose a water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36) for a dental unit (10), comprising: a plurality (Fig. 1, plurality of positions for modules) of defined dental device positions (162) to which dental devices (164) that use water coolant (Column 8 line 59-Column 9 line 18) can be connected; and a single water coolant valve (306 or 308) configured to selectively supply water coolant to each of the plurality of dental device positions (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14) and connectible to a pressurized water coolant source (402), wherein the water coolant valve (306 or 308) is selectively controllable to supply the water coolant through a connected dental device (Fig. 1, Column 15 line 51-Colimn 16 line 14), but lacks disclosure wherein the water coolant valve is selectively controllable via low frequency pulse width modulation (PWM) to provide a quasi-continuous flow.
Schrader teach a valve system (36) having a solenoid control valve (300) that is operable via low frequency pulse width modulation (paragraphs 35, 39, and 55) to inherently provide a quasi-continuous flow (for example paragraph 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive of the solenoid valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. with a pulse width modulated solenoid valve as taught by Schrader for the advantage of regulating the current conducted through the solenoid coil (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 2, Schrader (modified above) teach wherein the low frequency PWM is in a range of 10-30 Hz (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 3, Schrader (modified above) teach wherein the low frequency PWM is in a range of 15-25 Hz (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 4, Schrader (modified above) teach wherein the water valve (300) is operable at a duty cycle of 1-25% (operable at desired duty cycle, paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 5, Schrader (modified above) teach wherein the water valve (300) is operable at a duty cycle of 100% (operable at desired duty cycle, paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 6, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (306) is a solenoid actuated, two-position, normally closed valve (Column 16 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 7, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (306) has an isolation valve design (Figs. 12-14).
Regarding claim 8, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (308) is operable to supply the water coolant at a desired flow rate (Column 16 lines 1-14), but lacks disclosure of a flow rate from 3mL per minute to 500mL per minute.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the flow rate of the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. to be between 3mL per minute to 500 mL per minute, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentable distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. is capable of operating in the desired flow rate range and would not operate differently with the claimed flow rate dimensions since the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. function in the same manner as the inventor’s claimed valve. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the flowrate dimensions are “3mL per minute to 500 mL per minute” the claimed range. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A): Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
Regarding claim 9, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (308) is operable to supply the water coolant at a desired flow rate (Column 16 lines 1-14), but lacks disclosure of a flow rate from 5mL per minute to 150mL per minute.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the flow rate of the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. to be between 5mL per minute to 150 mL per minute, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentable distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. is capable of operating in the desired flow rate range and would not operate differently with the claimed flow rate dimensions since the regulating valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. function in the same manner as the inventor’s claimed valve. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the flowrate dimensions are “5mL per minute to 150 mL per minute” the claimed range. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A): Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
Regarding claim 10, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the plurality of dental device positions (Fig. 1) comprises at least one dental device position (with module 390) that receives pressurized air in addition to water coolant (Column 22 lines 20-32).
Regarding claim 12, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), further comprising a compliance member (flexible tubing, Column 15 lines 21-32) positioned downstream of the water coolant valve (306), wherein the compliance member attenuates pulsations in the water coolant flow from the water coolant valve (306).
Regarding claim 13, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the compliance member comprises flexible tubing (Column 15 lines 21-32) through which the water coolant flows.
Regarding claim 14, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the compliance member comprises a valve member (within valve 150), but lacks disclosure wherein the valve member is a flexible diaphragm.
Schrader teach a valve system (36) having a solenoid control valve (300) that has a flexible diaphragm (320) as a valve member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve member of the solenoid valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. with a diaphragm valve member as taught by Schrader since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of solenoid valves, that perform the same function of controlling a fluid flow through a solenoid valve.
Regarding claim 15, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (306) is operable (valve is operable to fully open to function as claimed) in a flush mode to supply water coolant to one or more of the dental device positions (modules, Fig. 1) simultaneously.
Regarding claim 16, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein, in the flush mode (on mode), substantially all flush flow (all water flows through the valve) is routed through the water coolant valve (306) for simultaneous flushing of dental devices (modules, Fig. 1) at the one or more of the dental device positions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water control valve (306) is connectible to an electrical power source (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14), wherein in response to turning off electrical power or lost of electrical power supplied to the coolant valve (306), the water coolant valve (306) remains in an off state and water coolant flow is blocked (electric power is required to actuate the valves, Column 16 lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 18, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose a method of supplying dental water coolant in a dental delivery system (Figs. 1-36), comprising: providing a single water coolant valve (306 or 308) connected to multiple dental device positions (162, Fig. 1) defined on a control head (22); connecting the single water coolant valve (306 or 308) to a pressurized dental water coolant source (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14); and selectively controlling the water coolant valve (306 or 308) to selectively control a flow of dental water coolant (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14) from the single water coolant valve (306 or 308) to at least a selected one of the multiple dental device positions (162, Fig. 1) and a connected dental device (Column 15 line 51-Column 16 line 14, but lacks disclosure wherein the water coolant valve is operable via pulse width modulation (PWM) to provide a quasi-continuous flow, wherein the water coolant valve is operated via PWM with a valve poppet cycling substantially full stoke between open and closed positions.
Schrader teach a valve system (36) having a solenoid control valve (300) that is operable via low frequency pulse width modulation (paragraphs 35, 39, and 55) to inherently provide a quasi-continuous flow (for example paragraph 35), wherein the valve (300) is operated via PWM with a valve poppet (312) cycling substantially full stroke between open and closed positions (paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive of the solenoid valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. with a pulse width modulated solenoid valve as taught by Schrader for the advantage of regulating the current conducted through the solenoid coil (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 33, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (306 or 308) is selectively controllable to supply the water coolant (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14) at a programmed constant flow rate (the set desired flow rate).
Regarding claim 34, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (306 or 308) is selectively controllable to supply the water coolant (Column 15 line 66-Column 16 line 14) at a programmed flow rate (the desired flow rate) that varies over a time period (the desired intended use).
Regarding claim 35, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant valve (32) is selectively controllable to supply the water coolant at a flow rate (set flow rate) set according to load sensed (if the handpiece is within the hanger, Column 8 line 7-Column 11 line 68) by a dental device (315) connected to the at least one of the plurality of dental device positions (208).
Regarding claim 36, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the plurality of defined device positions (162) define separate, parallel connections (Fig. 10) for dental devices (164).
Regarding claim 37, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), further comprising a water coolant holdback valve (150 or 410), comprising: a valve body (Fig. 9) having a valve inlet and a valve outlet for the water coolant (Column 10 lines 17-35); wherein the valve (150 or 410) is selectively controllable (Column 10 lines 17-35) to allow inflow of the water coolant from the valve inlet and outflow of the water coolant through the valve outlet and to shut off inflow of the water coolant (Column 26 lines 31-50 & Column 22 lines 20-32); wherein the water coolant holdback valve (150 or 410) is connectible within the dental unit (10) downstream of a water coolant source (402) and upstream of one of the plurality of dental device positions (162) at which a dental device (164) can be connected, but lacks disclosure of a flexible diaphragm positioned in the valve body between the inlet and outlet to selectively control the flow of water.
Schrader teach a valve system (36) having a solenoid control valve (300) that has a flexible diaphragm (320) as a valve member positioned (Fig. 3A) in a valve body (316) between an inlet (302) and outlet (304) to control fluid flow (paragraphs 52-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve member of the solenoid valve of Thornton, Jr. et al. with a diaphragm valve member as taught by Schrader since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of solenoid valves, that perform the same function of controlling a fluid flow through a solenoid valve.
Regarding claim 38, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), further comprising a pilot control input (182), wherein a pilot control off signal (Column 11 lines 35-48) forces the valve (150 or 410) into an off position in which flow of the water coolant is prevented (Column 26 lines 16-50).
Regarding claim 40, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein one of the plurality of dental device positions (162, Fig. 10) comprises a dental device holder (162), wherein the pilot control input is a signal (Column 26 lines 16-50) from a holder valve (182) operably connected (Column 11 lines 35-48) to the dental device holder (162), wherein the pilot control input is configured to change (Column 26 lines 16-50) from a closed signal to an open signal when the holder valve (182) changes to indicate that a dental device (164) has been removed from the dental device holder (162).
Regarding claim 41, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant holdback valve (150 or 410) is configured to (“configured to” merely limits the claim to capable of performing the claimed function) prevent drips (capable of preventing drips in the closed position) from the dental device (164) when the dental device (164) is returned to the dental device holder (162).
Regarding claim 42, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the water coolant holdback valve (150 or 410) is configured to (“configured to” merely limits the claim to capable of performing the claimed function) prevent water drops (capable of preventing water drops in the closed position) from forming at an outlet of the dental device (164).
Regarding claim 43, Schrader (modified above) teaches at least one biasing member (314) configured to bias the diaphragm (320) towards a closed position (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 44, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-36), wherein the valve (150 or 410) is pilot controlled by a pilot on or a pilot off signal (Column 26 lines 16-50), wherein the water coolant holdback valve (150 or 410) comprises four states of operation: a first OFF state (when switch 182 is ON and valve 306 is OFF) in which the pilot signal is on and no inflow of water coolant is present at the valve inlet (at 150 or 410); a second OFF state (when switch 182 is ON and valve 306 is ON) in which the pilot signal is on and inflow of water coolant is present at the valve inlet; a third ON state (when switch 184 is OFF and valve 306 is ON) in which the pilot signal is off and inflow of water coolant is present at the valve inlet and outflow of water coolant is present at the valve outlet; and a fourth OFF state (when switch 184 is OFF and valve 306 is OFF) in which the pilot signal is off and no inflow of water coolant is present at the valve inlet.
Regarding claim 46, Schrader (modified above) teach wherein the valve (300) is operable (operable to set at the desired rate) to supply the water coolant at a selected rate and through a connected device (34) in a quasi-continuous flow (supplying a desired flow rate, paragraph 48), wherein the quasi-continuous flow includes flow components (paragraphs 52-58) that differ from a mean flow but the difference are not perceptible to the user (paragraph 48) .
Regarding claim 47, Schrader (modified above) teach an electronic controller (paragraph 48) configured to generate a pulse-width modulated control signal (paragraph 48) to the valve (300), and a sensor (paragraph 48) configured to detect a flow rate and provide feedback to the controller (paragraph 48), wherein the controller dynamically adjust a duty cycle (paragraph 55) of the control signal based on the feedback to maintain a predetermined pressure (paragraph 48).
Claim(s) 39 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,872,593) in view of Schrader (Pub. No. US 2021/0381617), and further in view of Brockway (U.S. Patent No. 5,425,634).
Regarding claims 39 and 45, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the pilot control input in a pneumatic pressure signal.
Brockway teaches a water coolant circuit (Figs. 1-2) comprising a water valve actuator (36) that is actuated via a pilot valve (32) having a pilot control input (at 54) that is a pneumatic pressure signal (Column 4 lines 11-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electric pilot signal of Thornton, JR. et al. with a pneumatic pressure signal as disclosed by Thornton, JR, et al. (Column 11 line 66-Colmn 12 line 4), and as taught by Brockway, since such actuating means are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of actuators that perform the same function of communicating an actuation signal to an actuator.
Regarding claim 45, Thornton, Jr. et al. disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the pilot pneumatic signal is in the range of 70-125 psi.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the pneumatic pilot signal of Brockway to be in the range of 70-125 psi, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentable distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A): Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carrigues et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0200958) disclose a dental device system having a solenoid assembly controlled via pulse width modulation to control a fluid flow of the system.
Wang (Pub. No. US 2008/0118889) disclose a dental device system having a motor controlled via pulse width modulation to a control a fluid flow of the system.
Frey et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,295,829) disclose a dental device system having a solenoid assembly controlled via pulse width modulation to control a fluid flow of the system.
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753