DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1 and 36-40 are pending.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 36-40 are new.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Kristoufek does not teach “transferring the decarbonized vapor to a second vessel”. The term “decarbonized vapor” is interpreted as referring to the CO2 gas removed. This argument is not persuasive because there is inherently a second vessel taught by Kristoufek. Kristoufek teaches that the carbon dioxide is obtained from the column and “may be employed as carbonization gas”. As the carbon dioxide gas (decarbonized vapor) is disclosed as being used in other processes there is inherently a second vessel to hold the carbon dioxide.
The applicant argues that Kristoufek describes a single-step distillation and there is no two-vessel sequential process. This argument is not persuasive because Kristoufek teaches that the carbon dioxide and ammonia are removed separately from the distillation column (exhaust pipe for ammonia 14 and exhaust pipe for carbon dioxide 15). As the gas stream are separated the process is inherently sequential because carbon dioxide and ammonia turn to gas at different temperatures (see Kristoufek col. 3 lines 13-20) and there could not be separate outlets if the process was not sequential. Further the applicant argues that Kristoufek does not mention adjusting pH during ammonia recovery. This argument is not persuasive because the change in pH is a result of the carbon dioxide separation, not an additional step. As the carbon dioxide is removed the pH will inherently increase.
The double patenting rejection of claim 1 is maintained. The applicant has not provided any arguments or identified any limitations they believe are not disclosed by the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 states “utilizing only physical processes”. This limitation is not disclosed in the original disclosure. The original disclosure states “without chemical reactions”, however “physical processes” and “without chemical reactions” are not equivalent limitations. Claim 38 state “flow dividers the induce a churning flow”. This limitation is not supported in the original disclosure. Paragraph 0021 of the published specification sates the flow divider “allow for” a churning flow. The phrase “allow for” does not support induing churning flow. Claim 39 states “injecting steam into the decarbonized effluent in the second vessel”. There is no support for injecting steam into a second vessel. Claim 40 states “the NH4 concentrating chamber includes a cooling mechanism”. There is no support for this limitation in the original disclosure. Paragraph 0023 of the published specification states that the effluent is passed toa cooling mechanism from the concentrating chamber, not that the concentrating chamber includes the cooling mechanism. The remaining claims include new matter as they depend from claims including new matter.
Claims 1 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim refers to “the decarbonized vapor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation within the claim. There is only support for a “decarbonized effluent” and “CO-2 gas” that has been removed. For the purposes of examination “decarbonized vapor” will be interpreted as the CO2 gas.
The claim states “utilizing only physical processes”. It is not clear what changing the applicant is limiting to “physical processes”.
Regarding Claim 37:
The claim refers to “the second cell”. There is insuffient antecedent basis for this limitation within the claims.
The remaining claims are indefinite because they depend from an indefinite claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 1:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of producing organic ammonia, comprising: a. heating a biowaste material (nitrogen containing organic substance) in an anaerobic digester device to drive a biological anaerobic digestion of the biowaste and yield a digested biowaste composition; b. collecting a liquid of the digested biowaste composition; c. heating said liquid effluent to evolve and remove CO2-laden gas from the liquid effluent and thereby form a decarbonized effluent having an increased pH in a first vessel (first chamber); d. transferring the decarbonized vapor to a second vessel ( CO2 laden gas is collected, therefore there is a vessel of some kind) and heating the decarbonized effluent to a temperature sufficient to shift ammonium bicarbonate equilibrium and release NH3 vapor from said decarbonized effluent without the addition of pH-adjusting agents; (see claim 1) and e. passing the NH3 vapor into an NH3 concentrating chamber (claim 4 refers to a third venturi injector tube, this is considered to be equivalent to a chamber) to condense the NH3 vapor and yield an aqueous NH3 product utilizing only physical processes (see claims 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 36, 38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kristoufek (USPN 4,710,300) in view of Rapport et al (US 2019/0367382).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kristoufek teaches the method of producing organic ammonia, comprising: a. placing a biowaste material in an anaerobic digester device to drive a biological anaerobic digestion of the biowaste and yield a digested biowaste composition (see col. 5 lines 33-35); b. collecting a liquid effluent of the digested biowaste composition (digested product 4) (see col. 5 lines 8-10); c. heating said liquid effluent to evolve CO2-laden gas and remove from the liquid effluent (removed by exhaust pipe for carbon dioxide) (see col. 5 lines 15-20) and thereby form aa decarbonized effluent having an increased pH (carboned dioxide is removed and no other material is added, pH will inherently increase) in a first vessel (distillation column) (see col. 5 lines 8-11); d. transferring the decarbonized vapor to a second vessel (“carbon dioxide may be obtained from the column…”obtaining a gas requires a vessel of some kind to hold the gas) (see col. 6 lines 20-24) and heating the decarbonized effluent to a temperature sufficient to shift the ammonium bicarbonate equilibrium and release NH3 vapor from said decarbonized effluent (ammonia removed by the ammonia exhaust pipe 14)) (see col. 2 lines 23-24, col. 3 lines 13-30).
Kristoufek does not explicitly teach heating the biowaste material in the anaerobic digester or e. passing the NH3 vapor into an NH3 concentrating chamber to extract NH3 and yield an aqueous NH3 product derived from effluent without chemical reactions. Kristoufek further teaches that the NH3 vapor is sent to known ammonia processing equipment (see col. 5 lines 15-20).
Rapport teaches a method for producing organic ammonia comprising; heating biowaste material in an anaerobic digester (energy is used to maintain the temperature in the digester, therefore it is inherently heated) (see para. 0034). Rapport further teaches passing the NH3 vapor into an NH3 condense (condensing column) the NH3 vapor and yield an aqueous NH3 product utilizing only physical processes (see para. 0025, para. 0034).
Kristoufek and Rapport are analogous inventions in the art of producing ammonia. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to heat the digester of Kristoufek, as disclosed by Rapport , because it is the simple addition of a known treatment step to a known process, obviously resulting in a temperature change to the digestate, with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). It would have been obvious to replace the unspecified ammonia processing equipment of Kristoufek with the condensing chamber (concentrating chamber) of Rapport because it is the simple substitution of one further treatment step with another known further treatment step, obviously resulting in an ammonia product stream, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious
when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550
U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 36:
Kristoufek, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first vessel includes a multi-cell decarbonizing vessel comprising a plurality of sequential cells (each plate divides the vessel into subsequent cells), including a first carbon desorption cell configured to remove CO2 from the liquid effluent (all cells are configured to remove CO2) and at least one subsequent cell (column with a greater number of plates) (See Kristoufek col. 3 lines 13-30).
Regarding Claim 38:
Kristoufek, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first vessel comprises a series of ammonia desorption cells (column with a greater number of plates) separated by flow dividers (plates) that induce a churning flow of the decarbonized effluent (as the cells are divided some churning flow will be induced) (See Kristoufek col. 3 lines 13-30).
Regarding Claim 40:
Kristoufek, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the NH3 concentrating chamber includes a cooling mechanism selected from a heat exchanger (cold water circulating system) or a refrigeration unit, the cooling mechanism being configured to cool the NH3-laden vapor and condense it into the aqueous NH3 product (see Rapport para. 0025).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 1/12/2026