DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akazawa (US 11995359).
With respect to claim 1, figs. 1-10 of Akazawa et al. (US 11995359) discloses a non-contacting switch control system, comprising: a switch set (31-36), configured to receive a sensing signal (input into sensor 503) from a sensing target (finger or stylus), the switch set comprising a first non-contacting switch (33) and a second non-contacting switch (34); a storage unit (102/103/108/ built-in ROM not illustrated), configured to store a control program (“The operation-portion CPU 401 operates based on a program stored in a built-in ROM (not illustrated), to communicate with the controller 100 ... The RAM 102 is used for storing a program for causing the CPU 101 to operate or as a work area for information processing or image processing. The ROM 103 stores a boot program for causing the CPU 101 to boot and backup data of control parameters for image control. At the time of power startup of the image forming apparatus 1, the CPU 101 reads out the boot program from the ROM 103, stores the boot program in the RAM 102, and initializes each component according to the boot program.”); and a processing unit (CPU 101/ CPU 401), connected to the switch set and the storage unit, and configured to execute the control program and control the switch set based on the sensing signal ,wherein the control program comprises: in a first operating mode (touchless mode), determining whether the first non-contacting switch (33) receives an identification signal (ON); and disabling, by the first non-contacting switch, the second non-contacting switch (34) by entering the non-contacting switch control system to a second operating mode when it is determined that the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, wherein the disabled second non-contacting switch performs no action when being triggered. (“The setting screen 11 also includes a “touchless ON” button 33 for making the touchless operation unit 500 valid and a “touchless OFF” button 34 for making the touchless operation unit 500 invalid. “)
With respect to claim 2, Akazawa et al. (US 11995359) discloses a non-contacting switch control system, comprising: a switch set (31-36), configured to receive a sensing signal (input into sensor 503) from a sensing target (finger or stylus), the switch set comprising a first non-contacting switch (33) and a second non-contacting switch (34) ;a storage unit (102/103/108/ built-in ROM not illustrated),, configured to store a control program (“The operation-portion CPU 401 operates based on a program stored in a built-in ROM (not illustrated), to communicate with the controller 100 ... The RAM 102 is used for storing a program for causing the CPU 101 to operate or as a work area for information processing or image processing. The ROM 103 stores a boot program for causing the CPU 101 to boot and backup data of control parameters for image control. At the time of power startup of the image forming apparatus 1, the CPU 101 reads out the boot program from the ROM 103, stores the boot program in the RAM 102, and initializes each component according to the boot program.”);;a processing unit (CPU 101/ CPU 401),, connected to the switch set and the storage unit, and configured to execute the control program and control the switch set based on the sensing signal, wherein the control program comprises: in a first operating mode (touchless mode), determining whether the first non-contacting switch receives an identification signal (ON); and disabling, by the first non-contacting switch (33), the second non-contacting switch (34) by entering the non-contacting switch control system to a second operating mode when it is determined that the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, wherein the disabled second non-contacting switch performs no action when being triggered; (“The setting screen 11 also includes a “touchless ON” button 33 for making the touchless operation unit 500 valid and a “touchless OFF” button 34 for making the touchless operation unit 500 invalid. “ Thus the selection is grayed out) and a timing unit (infrared sensor “The touchless sensor 503 is, for example, an infrared sensor and emits or receives infrared light at predetermined timings”) (alternatively cpu’s inherently have a timing unit/clock integrated within the processor that determines how fast the processor executes its instructions) , and a timing unit (503 or infrared sensor) (infrared sensor “The touchless sensor 503 is, for example, an infrared sensor and emits or receives infrared light at predetermined timings”) (alternatively cpu’s inherently have a timing unit/clock integrated within the processor that determines how fast the processor executes its instructions) connected to the processing unit (CPU 101/ CPU 401), and configured to count in a first time period (predetermined timing) wherein the control program further comprises: when the non-contacting switch control system enters the second operating mode (OFF), counting in the first time period by the timing unit; and when counting the first time period is completed, configuring the on-contacting switch control system to enter the first operating mode (ON).
With respect to claim 3, Akazawa discloses the non-contacting switch control system according to claim 1, wherein the switch set comprises: a receiving unit (503) configured to receive the identification signal, the identification signal comprising an external signal sent by an external device (finger or stylus).
With respect to claim 4 Akazawa discloses the non-contacting switch control system according to claim 1, wherein the switch set comprises an emitting unit and a receiving unit (containined insider the infrared sensor 503), and the identification signal comprises a reflection signal of an internal signal; and the emitting unit emits the internal signal to the sensing target, and the receiving unit receives the reflection signal of the internal signal. (“In the touchless mode, a touchless sensor 503 detects, at a location a predetermined distance away from the display face of the LCD 406 in the direction orthogonal to the display face of the LCD 406, the position of the instruction portion having come to the location, and a touchless-sensor control portion 502 generates coordinate data indicating the detected position. That is, the touchless sensor 503 and a touchless-sensor control portion 502 correspond to a second generation portion that detects the position of the instruction portion having come to the location a predetermined distance away from the display face of the LCD 406 and generates second input information (coordinate data) indicating the detected position.”)
With respect to claim 5 Akazawa discloses the non-contacting switch control system according to claim 2, wherein the timing unit (infrared sensor “The touchless sensor 503 is, for example, an infrared sensor and emits or receives infrared light at predetermined timings”) (alternatively cpu’s inherently have a timing unit/clock integrated within the processor that determines how fast the processor executes its instructions) is further configured to count in a second time period (This is interpreted as one of the subsequent predetermined intervals), and the control program further comprises: when the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, counting in the second time period by the timing unit, determining whether the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal continuously in the second time period, and obtaining a second determination result; and when the second determination result is true, configuring the non-contacting switch control system to enter the second operating mode and disabling the second non-contacting switch.
With respect to claim 6 Akazawa discloses the non-contacting switch control system according to claim 2, further comprising a timing unit (503 or infrared sensor) connected to the processing unit (CPU 101/ CPU 401), and configured to count in a sensing count, wherein the timing unit (infrared sensor “The touchless sensor 503 is, for example, an infrared sensor and emits or receives infrared light at predetermined timings”) (alternatively cpu’s inherently have a timing unit/clock integrated within the processor that determines how fast the processor executes its instructions)is further configured to count in a second time period (considered subsequent predetermined timing period of infrared sensor), and the control program further comprises: when the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, counting in the second time period by the timing unit, determining whether the sensing count is greater than or equal to a sensing count threshold in the second time period, and obtaining a third determination result; and when the third determination result is true, configuring the non-contacting switch control system to enter the second operating mode and disabling the second non-contacting switch. (This is considered to be integral to the functioning of the operations of the circuit)
With respect to claim 7, Akazawa discloses the non-contacting switch control system according to claim 1, further comprising: a prompt unit (LCD 406), connected to the processing unit (CPU 101/ CPU 401), and configured to provide an operating mode prompt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument, the prior art of record Akazawa fails to disclose the switch set comprising a first non-contacting switch and a second non-contacting switch; and determining whether the first non-contacting switch receives an identification signal and disabling by the first non-contacting switch the second non-contacting switch by entering the non-contacting switch controls system to a second operating mode when it is determined that the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, wherein the disabled second non-contacting switch performs no action when being triggered, the Examiner disagrees.
With respect to the argument that the images displayed on the LCD 406 used to control the functions of corresponding elements are not switches, the Examiner disagrees. A switch is defined as “a device for making and breaking the connection in an electric circuit.” In that they control the making and breaking of the electric circuit, the LCD panel would be considered a switch.
With respect to applicant’s argument that Akazawa further fails to disclose “disabling, by the first non-contacting switch, the second non-contacting switch by entering the non-contacting switch control system to a second operating mode when it is determined that the first non-contacting switch receives the identification signal, wherein the disabled non-contacting switch performs no action when being triggered, the Examiner disagrees. When the first no-contacting switch is activated the second non-contacting switch (OFF) is in a deactivated state and performs no action when being triggered as the ON switch prevents the OFF switch from activating.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Akazawa does not disclose witching operating modes though the counting of the timing unit, the Examiner points out the operations performed as instructions would be issued through the CPU clock timing in the processing unit as alternatively suggested. Furthermore, the predetermined timing is still considered to also read on the timing unit.
With respect to Applicant’s argument, that Akazawa fails to disclose “a receiving unit configured to receive the identification signal, the identification signal comprising an external signal sent by an external device”, in other words “Akazawa does not disclose an external device sending an external signal to control the operating mode of the non-contacting switch control system and disable the second non-contacting switch, the Examiner disagrees. The stylus or finger moving into the infrared space would inherently send an external signal as the sensing device uses the “signal” and performs as an actuator and thus the changes in the characteristic of the infrared light would be considered the external signal.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, the first and second time period are considered to read on the claim language above as disclosed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849