DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The “ablating each of said plurality of polymeric coatings” as set forth in claim 6 in combination with “leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” as set forth in claim 1.
“said first polymeric coating expose a polymeric primer coating” as set forth in claim 8 in combination with “said first polymeric coating visible through said intermediate clear polymeric coating while leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” as set forth in claim 1.
“a physical vapor deposition (PVD) metal between said first polymeric coating and said intermediate clear polymeric coating” as set forth in claim 11 in combination with “said first polymeric coating visible through said intermediate clear polymeric coating while leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” as set forth in claim 1.
“a physical vapor deposition (PVD) metal is disposed between a primer and said intermediate clear polymeric coating” as set forth in claim 16 in combination with “said first polymeric coating visible through said intermediate clear polymeric coating” and “said first polymeric coating thickness being continuous at said face of said wheel” as set forth in claim 12.
“a primer coating visible through said pattern” as set forth in claim 17 in combination with “said first polymeric coating visible through said intermediate clear polymeric coating” and “said first polymeric coating thickness being continuous at said face of said wheel” as set forth in claim 12.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality: The term “expose” should be replaced with the term -- exposes -- for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of the method that includes “ablating each of said plurality of polymeric coatings” in combination with “leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of the method that includes “said first polymeric coating expose a polymeric primer coating” in combination with “leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of the method that includes “applying a physical vapor deposition (PVD) metal between said first polymeric coating and said intermediate clear polymeric coating” in combination with “leaving an entire thickness of said first polymeric coating in place” and “visible” as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of the wheel that includes “a physical vapor deposition (PVD) metal is disposed between a primer and said intermediate clear polymeric coating” in combination with said first polymeric coating being “visible” and “said first polymeric coating thickness being continuous at said face of said wheel” as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, there is no support in the original disclosure for a single embodiment of the wheel that includes “a primer coating visible through said pattern” in combination with said first polymeric coating being “visible” and “said first polymeric coating thickness being continuous at said face of said wheel” as set forth in claim 12.
Claims 6, 8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, this claim is indefinite inasmuch as it depends from canceled claim 5. For purposes of this examination, claim 6 is being treated as if it depends from independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “ablating each of said plurality of polymeric coatings” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how an entire thickness of the first polymeric coating can be left in place as required by claim 1 if it has been ablated.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “a step of ablating said second polymeric coating” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a step of ablating said second polymeric coating” refers to “using a laser for scanning a pattern over said polymeric coating thereby ablating said second polymeric coating…” as previously set forth in claim 1 or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Regarding claim 12, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “said face of said wheel”.
Regarding claim 17, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “said second clear polymeric coating”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stebbins et al. (US 2019/0308445 A1; hereinafter “Stebbins”).
Regarding claim 12, Stebbins discloses a vehicle wheel 10, comprising: an alloy substrate 32, 132 defining a face at 24, 124; a first polymeric coating 34, 134 defining a first coloration being applied to said face (paragraph [0016]; Figs. 3 and 4) an including a first polymeric coating thickness (a “thickness” of 34, 134 shown in Figs. 3 and 4); an intermediate clear polymeric coating 36, 136 applied over said first polymeric coating (paragraph [0017]; Figs. 3 and 4); a second polymeric coating 40, 140 defining a second coloration applied over said intermediate clear polymeric coating (paragraph [0019]; Figs. 3 and 4); and a pattern (shown in each of Figs. 3 and 4) defined through said second polymeric coating thereby exposing said intermediate clear polymeric coating and rendering said first polymeric coating visible through said intermediate clear polymeric coating for presenting a two-tone appearance between said first coloration and said second coloration being in a shape defined by said pattern with said first polymeric coating thickness being continuous at said face of said wheel (evident from Figs. 3 and 4; note the thickness is considered to be “continuous” inasmuch as it is uninterrupted as shown in Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Stebbins further discloses said intermediate clear polymeric coating defines a first film thickness (Figs. 3-5) being less than a second film thickness (Figs. 3-5) at said pattern defined by said second polymeric coating (the thickness of 36, 136 is clearly shown to be less than the thickness of 40, 140 in the embodiments of Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding clam 14, Stebbins further discloses said second polymeric coating is substantially covered by an outer clear polymeric coating 42, 142 (paragraph [0022]; Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 15, Stebbins further discloses said pattern is defined by removal of said second polymeric coating via milling (paragraph [0023]). Note the specific method (i.e., laser ablation) of removing the second polymeric coating is not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim (See MPEP 2113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 and 10 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding claim 12 that Stebbings fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “coating layers that remain at a constant thickness”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Instead, claim 12 merely requires the first polymeric coating thickness to be “continuous”. Both Figs. 3 and 4 of Stebbins show embodiments of the wheel in which the thickness of the first polymeric coating 34, 134 is non-constant and continuous (i.e., uninterrupted) at the face. In other words, claim 12 does not require the first polymeric coating thickness to be “constant” as argued by Applicant.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Stebbins…further fails to disclose a process capable of defining a two-tone pattern”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as such is clearly shown in at least Figs. 3 and 4 of Stebbins. Moreover, it appears that Applicant disagrees with Applicant’s own argument as Applicant expressly states, on page 8 of Applicant’s response, “Stebbins discloses the use of a lathe to define a two-tone appearance for a vehicle wheel”.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615