DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on September 12, 2025, in which:
Claims 1-20 are cancelled, and
Claims 21-40 are newly presented.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US-20200053643-A1 (herein “Lee”).
Claims 21, 26, 31, and 36
Consider claim 21, Lee teaches A method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a registration request message including information on a user equipment (UE) capability, wherein the information on the UE capability indicates that the UE supports a network slice access stratum (AS) group (NSAG) (see Lee Fig. 6, [0107]-[0108], note RAN 615 transmits Registration Request with SG ID to the AMF 620);
transmitting, to a network slice selection function (NSSF) entity, at least one subscribed single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (see Lee Fig. 6, [0114]-[0116] note subscription check inquiry by the AMF 620 to the UDM 630 to determine if the slices in the slice group ID may be used by the UE 610 and the AMF 620 transmitting reallocation request message to NSSF 625 including the slice group ID for the one or more S-NSSAIs that are requested by the UE 610);
receiving, from the NSSF entity, NSAG information for the at least one subscribed S- NSSAI (see Lee Fig. 6, [0114]-[0117] note AMF 620 receiving the response to the subscription check confirming the subscription that the AMF may use the requested slices from the UDM 630 and/or receiving the AMF reallocation response message indicating AMF information belonging to the same slice group as the slice group requested by the UE from the NSSF 625); and
transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message including the NSAG information (see Lee Fig. 6, [0013], [0118] note AMF 620 transmitting registration accept to the UE 610 including the allowed NSSAIs that maybe be used by the UE and network slice group identification information corresponding to the network slice identification information).
Claims 22, 27, 32, and 37
Consider claim 22, Lee teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the NSSF entity, the information indicating that the UE supports the NSAG (see Lee Fig. 6, [0114]-[0116] note subscription check inquiry by the AMF 620 to the UDM 630 to determine if the slices in the slice group ID may be used by the UE 610 and the AMF 620 transmitting reallocation request message to NSSF 625 including the slice group ID for the one or more S-NSSAIs that are requested by the UE 610).
Claims 23, 27, 33, and 38
Consider claim 23, Lee teaches wherein the NSAG information includes at least one of identifier (ID) of the NSAG, information on at least one S-NSSAI associated with the NSAG, or information on a priority associated with the NSAG (see Lee Fig. 6, [0114]-[0116] note slice group ID for the one or more S-NSSAIs that are requested by the UE 610).
Claims 24, 29, 34, and 39
Consider claim 24, Lee teaches wherein the information on a UE capability includes a UE mobility management (MM) core network capability (see Lee [008] note registration request including the requested NSSAI and slice group ID to which the S-NSSAIs included in the requested NSSAI allow the BS to select the AMF).
Claims 25, 30, 35, and 40
Consider claim 25, Lee teaches wherein the registration accept message further includes at least one of a configured NSSAI or a mapping of the configured NSSAI (see Lee Fig. 6, [0013], [0118] note AMF 620 transmitting registration accept to the UE 610 including the allowed NSSAIs that maybe be used by the UE and network slice group identification information corresponding to the network slice identification information).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647