DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: an amendment filed on 01/19/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5,8,9-11 are currently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 01/19/2026 with respect to claim prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 discloses “a third fiber optic cable configured to direct light signals from the first optical lens system to the single switch”. The limitation “the first optical lens system should be corrected to the third optical lens system”. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1), and further in view of Tian et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0217253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Inomoto discloses an optical sensor system (1) (Para 26; 3D image pickup apparatus), comparing:
plural optical lens system (2a-2n) disposed respectively at plural spatially distributed positions (Fig. 1; Para 26,27; 3D image pickup apparatus; The 3D image pickup apparatus includes left and right (two) exchangeable lenses 101 (a first lens apparatus and a second lens apparatus) for taking subject images having a disparity);
plural light guide means (4a-4n) corresponding in number to the plural optical lens system (2a-2n) (Fig. 1; reflective member 105 corresponding to each of the lens; Para 27), each of the plural light guide means (4a-4n) having opposite upstream and downstream ends, the upstream ends being connected respectively to the plural optical lens system (2a-2n) (Fig. 1; wherein one end of the lens adaptor ( including two reflective members 105) is connected to exchangeable lens 101) ;
a single switching means (5) connected to the downstream ends of the plural light guide means (Para 27, 28; wherein the light arrays is alternately transmitted through lens unit 109 to image pickup portion 111) , the single switching means (5) being designed to selectively switch between the plural light guide means (4a-4n) ( Para 28; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111) ; and a single imaging optical sensor means (3) connected to the single switching means (5) ( Para 28; image pickup element 111; Fig. 1; wherein the image pick up element 111 is connected to the lens adaptor) ), the single imaging optical sensor means (30) receiving light signals from one of the plural light guide means in accordance with operation of the single switching means and converting the received light signals into computer readable images (Para 27-29; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111. The image pickup element of the camera as the image pickup apparatus alternately receives subject images from the left and right exchangeable lenses in a time division manner.).
However, Inomoto does not disclose at least one of the plural light guide means (4a-4n) being flexible.
Ackerman et al. discloses at least one of the plural light guide means (4a-4n) being flexible ( Col 4, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 1-15; Fig. 2; Optical path 226 is specifically configured to redirect illumination light 205 that would otherwise be emitted into environment 206, and potentially reflected by objects therein, back toward image sensor 220. In still other implementations, optical path 226 may be a fiber optic cable. In yet other implementations, optical path 226 may be a mirror.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Ackerman et al. to utilize fiber optic cable as light guide in order to be shaped to direct light where it is needed and deliver light into tight space or area with limited access and have longer lifespan to provide illumination and provide images with higher quality.
However, the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al. does not teach wherein the plural optical lens systems comprise at least three optical lens system and wherein the plural light guide means comprise at least three light guide means.
Tian et al. discloses the plural optical lens systems comprise at least three optical lens system (Fig. 3; Para 123; lens 31a, 31b, 31c) and wherein the light guide means comprise at least three light guide positions ( Para 126; the camera module 10 has three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c), and the three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c) are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with three lenses (31a, 31b, and 31c).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Tian et al. to in order to include three lens and corresponding light guide positions (even Tian et al does not teach separate reflective members for the three light guide positions, it can be easily modified as a design choice in order to reduce mechanism components to switch light guide positions which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.) so that comprehensive coverage of views from different angles can be provided and multiple viewpoints can be provided to show surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 3, Inomoto discloses the optical sensor system (1) of claim 1, wherein the switching means (5) is integrated with the light guide means (4a-4n) (Para 27,28; Fig. 1; wherein the reflective members and switching member 107/ lens unit 109 are integrated together within lens adaptor ) .
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1) , and further in view of Shabtay et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2009/0225171 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Inomoto discloses the switching means and the optical sensor means are integrated ( Fig. 1; the lens adaptor and image pickup element are integrated to become a 3D image pickup apparatus ) .
However, Inomoto does not disclose wherein the switching means (5) and the optical sensor means (3) are integrated on a microchip (6).
Shabtay et al. discloses the image sensor or camera module is integrated on a microchip (Para 55; it can be embedded into a microchip including the sensor of the image capturing device.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Shabtay to integrate the optical element tray with imaging unit on a microchip in order to improve compactness of the device and save space for other elements of the mobile phone for manufacturing.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1) , and further in view of Hanzawa (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0036930 A1), and further in view of Tian et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0217253 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Inomoto discloses an optical sensor system (1) (Para 26; 3D image pickup apparatus), comparing:
plural optical lens system (2a-2n) disposed respectively at plural spatially distributed positions (Fig. 1; Para 26,27; 3D image pickup apparatus; The 3D image pickup apparatus includes left and right (two) exchangeable lenses 101 (a first lens apparatus and a second lens apparatus) for taking subject images having a disparity);
a single switching means (5) disposed at a location spaced from the plural optical lens systems (2a-2n) ( Para 28; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111);
plural light guide means (4a-4n) corresponding in number to the plural optical lens system (2a-2n) (Fig. 1; reflective member 105 corresponding to each of the lens; Para 27), the plural light guide means (4a-4n) extending from the plural spatially distributed positions of the plural optical lens system (a1-2n) and connecting the respective optical lens system (2a-2n) to the single switching means (5) (Fig. 1; wherein one end of the lens adaptor ( including two reflective members 105) is connected to exchangeable lens 101) ;
a single imaging optical sensor means (3) connected to the single switching means (5) ( Para 28; image pickup element 111; Fig. 1; wherein the image pick up element 111 is connected to the lens adaptor) ), the single imaging optical sensor means (30) receiving light signals from one of the plural light guide means in accordance with operation of the single switching means and converting the received light signals into computer readable images (Para 27-29; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111. The image pickup element of the camera as the image pickup apparatus alternately receives subject images from the left and right exchangeable lenses in a time division manner.).
However, Inomoto does not disclose at least one of the plural light guide means (4a-4n) being flexible.
Ackerman et al. discloses at least one of the plural light guide means (4a-4n) being flexible ( Col 4, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 1-15; Fig. 2; Optical path 226 is specifically configured to redirect illumination light 205 that would otherwise be emitted into environment 206, and potentially reflected by objects therein, back toward image sensor 220. In still other implementations, optical path 226 may be a fiber optic cable. In yet other implementations, optical path 226 may be a mirror. ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Ackerman et al. to utilize fiber optic cable as light guide in order to be shaped to direct light where it is needed and deliver light into tight space or area with limited access and have longer lifespan to provide illumination and provide images with higher quality.
However, the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al. does not disclose a motor vehicle .
Hanzawa discloses a motor vehicle comprising the optical sensor system ( Para 63; The imaging device 100 is a device that captures image data and includes an imaging lens 110, a solid-state image sensor 200, a recording unit 120, and an imaging control unit 130. An action cam, an in-vehicle camera, or the like is assumed as the imaging device 100.The imaging lens 110 condenses light and guides the light to the solid-state image sensor 200. The solid-state image sensor 200 generates image data under the control of the imaging control unit 130. The solid-state image sensor 200 supplies the generated image data to the recording unit 120 via a signal line 209. The recording unit 120 records the image data.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Hanzawa to implement the camera disclosed in Inomoto in a vehicle to capture images for road condition detection or weather detection with appropriate light guide material that can be selected for better image quality.
However, the combination of Inomoto , Ackerman et al. and Hanzawa does not teach wherein the plural optical lens systems comprise at least three optical lens system and wherein the plural light guide means comprise at least three light guide means.
Tian et al. discloses the plural optical lens systems comprise at least three optical lens system (Fig. 3; Para 123; lens 31a, 31b, 31c) and wherein the light guide means comprise at least three light guide positions ( Para 126; the camera module 10 has three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c), and the three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c) are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with three lenses (31a, 31b, and 31c).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Tian et al. to in order to include three lens and corresponding light guide positions (even Tian et al does not teach separate reflective members for the three light guide positions, it can be easily modified as a design choice in order to reduce mechanism components to switch light guide positions which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.) so that comprehensive coverage of views from different angles can be provided and multiple viewpoints can be provided to show surrounding environment.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1) , Hanzawa (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0036930 A1), and further in view of Tian et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0217253 A1) and Shabtay et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2009/0225171 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Inomoto discloses the switching means and the optical sensor means are integrated ( Fig. 1; the lens adaptor and image pickup element are integrated to become a 3D image pickup apparatus ) .
However, the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al., Hanzawa does not disclose wherein the switching means (5) and the optical sensor means (3) are integrated on a microchip (6).
Shabtay et al. discloses the image sensor or camera module is integrated on a microchip (Para 55; it can be embedded into a microchip including the sensor of the image capturing device.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Shabtay to integrate the optical element tray with imaging unit on a microchip in order to improve compactness of the device and save space for other elements of the mobile phone for manufacturing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1), and Zeng et al. (US Patent. No.: 10,965,857 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Inomoto discloses a system (Para 26; 3D image pickup apparatus), comprising:
a first optical lens system (Fig. 1; Para 26,27; 3D image pickup apparatus; The 3D image pickup apparatus includes left and right (two) exchangeable lenses 101 (a first lens apparatus and a second lens apparatus) for taking subject images having a disparity ) ;
a second optical lens system (Fig. 1; Para 26,27; 3D image pickup apparatus; The 3D image pickup apparatus includes left and right (two) exchangeable lenses 101 (a first lens apparatus and a second lens apparatus) for taking subject images having a disparity );
a single imaging optical sensor ( Para 28; image pickup element 111; Fig. 1; wherein the image pick up element 111 is connected to the lens adaptor) ;
a single switch (Para 28; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111);
a first light guide configured to direct light signals from the first optical lens
system to the single switch and a second light guide configured to direct light signals from the second optical lens system to the single switch ( Fig. 1; reflective member 105 corresponding to each of the lens; Para 27) ,
wherein the single switch is configured to selectively direct light signals from one of the light guide or the second light guide to the single imaging optical sensor such that, at any instant in time, light signals from only one of the first optical lens system or the second optical lens system are received by the single imaging optical sensor and converted into computer readable images ( Para 27-29; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111. The image pickup element of the camera as the image pickup apparatus alternately receives subject images from the left and right exchangeable lenses in a time division manner) .
However, Inomoto does not disclose a first light guide is a first fiber optic cable, a second light guide is a second fiber optic cable.
Ackerman et al. discloses fiber optic cable as light guides ( Col 4, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 1-15; Fig. 2; Optical path 226 is specifically configured to redirect illumination light 205 that would otherwise be emitted into environment 206, and potentially reflected by objects therein, back toward image sensor 220. In still other implementations, optical path 226 may be a fiber optic cable. In yet other implementations, optical path 226 may be a mirror.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto with the teaching of Ackerman et al. to utilize fiber optic cable as light guide in order to be shaped to direct light where it is needed and deliver light into tight space or area with limited access and have longer lifespan to provide illumination and provide images with higher quality.
However, the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al. does not teach a first optical lens system disposed at a first position in or on a motor vehicle at which image data for a driving assistance system is intended to be acquired during operation of the
motor vehicle; a second optical lens system disposed at a second position in or on the motor vehicle at which image data for a driving assistance system is intended to be acquired during operation of the motor vehicle, the first position being a different position relative to the second position.
Zeng et al. discloses a first optical lens system disposed at a first position in or on a motor vehicle at which image data for a driving assistance system is intended to be acquired during operation of the motor vehicle; a second optical lens system disposed at a second position in or on the motor vehicle at which image data for a driving assistance system is intended to be acquired during operation of the motor vehicle, the first position being a different position relative to the second position (Fig. 1; Col 3, lines 35-65; lens 105 located at different positions on the vehicle to increase camera angle of view) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the system and technique disclosed in Inomoto for the vehicle system disclosed in Zeng et al. wherein multiple lens with different angle of views are included in order to provide more information of the environment to assist drivers to drive safely or perform autonomous driving to improve safety.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1), and Zeng et al. (US Patent. No.: 10,965,857 B1) and further in view of Koravadi et al. ( US Pub. No.: US 2019/0230323 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al. and Zeng does not teach a processor configured to process computer readable images received from the single imaging optical sensor, wherein no electrical wiring between the first optical lens system and the processor is provided, and wherein no electrical wiring between the second optical lens system and the processor is provided.
Koravadi et al. discloses a processor ( Para 22; a control or electronic control unit (ECU) or processor 18 that is operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras and may detect objects or the like and/or provide displayed images at a display device 16 for viewing by the driver of the vehicle) configured to process computer readable images received from the single imaging optical sensor, wherein no electrical wiring between the first optical lens system and the processor is provided, and wherein no electrical wiring between the second optical lens system and the processor is provided (Para 22; The camera or cameras may comprise wireless cameras that may wirelessly communicate image data to a processor or a display at the vehicle and may wirelessly communicate with a device and/or display.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the wireless camera with lens as disclosed in Koravadi for the system disclosed in the combination of Inomoto and Ackerman et al. and Zeng to send images to process for processing without cables or wires so that images can be remotely processed and increase flexibility without arrangement of wires and cables.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomoto (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0127997 A1), in view of Ackerman et al. (US Patent No.: US 9,330,464 B1), and Zeng et al. (US Patent. No.: 10,965,857 B1) and further in view of Tian et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0217253 A1).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Inomoto, Ackerman and Zeng et al. teaches a third optical lens system (Inomoto; Fig. 1; Para 26,27; 3D image pickup apparatus; The 3D image pickup apparatus includes left and right (two) exchangeable lenses 101 (a first lens apparatus and a second lens apparatus) for taking subject images having a disparity) disposed at a position in or on a motor vehicle at which image data for a driving assistance system is intended to be acquired during operation of the motor vehicle, the first position being a different position relative to the second position ( Zeng et al; Fig. 1; Col 3, lines 35-65; lens 105 located at different positions on the vehicle to increase camera angle of view that includes a third optical lens system);
wherein the single switch is configured to selectively direct light signals from one of the first fiber optic cable (Ackerman et al. ; Col 4, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 1-15; Fig. 2; Optical path 226 is specifically configured to redirect illumination light 205 that would otherwise be emitted into environment 206, and potentially reflected by objects therein, back toward image sensor 220. In still other implementations, optical path 226 may be a fiber optic cable. In yet other implementations, optical path 226 may be a mirror) , the second fiber optic cable ( Ackerman et al. ; Col 4, lines 55-67; Col 7, lines 1-15; Fig. 2; Optical path 226 is specifically configured to redirect illumination light 205 that would otherwise be emitted into environment 206, and potentially reflected by objects therein, back toward image sensor 220. In still other implementations, optical path 226 may be a fiber optic cable. In yet other implementations, optical path 226 may be a mirror ) , to the single imaging optical sensor such that, at any instant in time, light signals from only one of the first optical lens system, the second optical lens system, or the third optical lens system are received by the single imaging optical sensor and converted into computer readable images (Inomoto; Para 27-29; drive the switch member 107 to alternately transmit the light rays of the left and right subject images in a time division manner, and to guide the individual light rays independently to the image pickup element 111. The image pickup element of the camera as the image pickup apparatus alternately receives subject images from the left and right exchangeable lenses in a time division manner ) .
However, the combination of Inomoto, Ackerman and Zeng et al does not teach a third fiber optic cable configured to direct light signals from the third optical lens system to the single switch.
Tian et al. discloses the third (Fig. 3; Para 123; lens 31a, 31b, 31c) optical lens system and the third light guide ( Para 126; the camera module 10 has three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c), and the three dwell positions (61a, 61b, and 61c) are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with three lenses (31a, 31b, and 31c).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inomoto and Zeng et al. with the teaching of Tian et al. to include three lens and corresponding light guide positions (even Tian et al does not teach separate reflective members for the three light guide positions, it can be easily modified as a design choice in order to reduce mechanism components to switch light guide positions which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.) and to also utilize fiber optic cable as light guide as disclosed in Ackerman so that comprehensive coverage of views from different angles can be provided and multiple viewpoints can be provided to show surrounding environment to improve safety of drivers while light can also be provided and directed with limited access by using flexible optic cable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Xi Wang/
Primary Examiner, Art unit 2637