DETAILED ACTION
In the reply filed 3/30/2026, claims 1, 3, and 6 are amended, and new claim 12 is added. Claims 1, 3-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pike (US 7,413,213).
Regarding claim 1, Pike teaches: a baby carriage comprising:
a frame (100);
a storage basket comprising a first basket frame (510); and
two adjusting mechanisms (see the mechanism shown in Fig. 23A), each of the adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (including at least element 532A) pivotally connected to the frame (in Fig. 23A, see the pivotal connection between rotating base element 532A and element 130 of the frame),
wherein two ends of the first basket frame are movably connected to two sides of the frame through the rotating base of the two adjusting mechanisms, respectively.
See Figs. 4 and 22-24B.
Regarding claim 3, Pike further teaches: wherein each of the adjusting mechanisms further comprises a resetting member (540A);
wherein the rotating base comprises a rotating disk (A) and a connecting arm (B) connected to the rotating disk; and
wherein the rotating disk is pivotally connected to the frame, an end of the resetting member is connected to the frame (via element 534A), and another end of the resetting member is connected to the connecting arm (via the rotating disk).
Relevant elements are best shown in the annotated version of Fig. 23A, below:
Regarding claim 4, Pike further teaches: wherein a protruding post (550) is arranged on the frame, and the end of the resetting member is connected to the protruding post. See Fig. 23A.
Regarding claim 9, Pike further teaches: wherein the first basket frame is a U-shaped frame; wherein the U-shaped frame comprises a cross rod, and a first strut and a second strut respectively connected to two ends of the cross rod; and wherein an end of the first strut away from the cross rod and an end of the second strut away from the cross rod are movably connected to the two sides of the frame, respectively. The shape of the basket frame is best shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 10, Pike further teaches: wherein the frame comprises two opposite rear foot support rods (112); and the two ends of the first basket frame are movably connected to the two opposite rear foot support rods through the two adjusting mechanisms, respectively. See Figs. 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 11, Pike further teaches: wherein the two adjusting mechanisms are at least partially arranged at inner sides of the two opposite rear foot support rods, respectively. See at least Fig. 6, which shows the adjusting mechanisms located laterally inward from the rear foot support rods.
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haut (US 10,940,880).
Regarding claim 1, Haut teaches: a baby carriage comprising:
a frame (111, 112, 113);
a storage basket comprising a first basket frame (123); and
two adjusting mechanisms (121) each of the adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (1211) pivotally connected to the frame (the rotating base at least pivots relative to some frame components),
wherein two ends of the first basket frame are movably connected to two sides of the frame through the rotating base of the two adjusting mechanisms, respectively.
See Figs. 2-4 and 7.
Regarding claim 6, Haut further teaches: wherein each of the adjusting mechanisms further comprises a fixed base (1212); wherein a first matching part (1212B) is arranged on the fixed base, and a second matching part (1211B) capable of matching the first matching part is arranged on the rotating base, and wherein the end of the first basket frame is fixedly connected to the fixed base, and the fixed base is engaged with the rotating base by matching the first matching part with the second matching part. See at least Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 7, Haut further teaches: the first matching part is a matching protrusion, and a plurality of matching protrusions are provided and evenly arranged on the fixed base; and the second matching part is a matching recess, and a plurality of matching recesses are provided and evenly arranged on the rotating base. The respective teeth and grooves that make up the first and second matching parts are best shown in Figs. 9, 10.
Regarding claim 8, Haut further teaches: each of the adjusting mechanisms further comprises a rotating shaft (corresponding with the hole at the end of the basket frame; see Fig. 7, 9, 10), and the fixed base (1212A) comprises a mounting groove (see the portion of element 1212 which accepts the end of the basket frame, best shown in Fig. 6, 7), and wherein the end of the first basket frame is inserted into the mounting groove, and the rotating shaft extends through the fixed base and the end of the first basket frame to fix the end of the first basket frame on the fixed base.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 8,444,172).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches: a baby carriage comprising:
a frame (41, 431);
a storage basket comprising a first basket frame (42); and
two adjusting mechanisms (best shown in Figs. 4, 6, 7), each of the adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (432, 438) pivotally connected to the frame,
wherein two ends of the first basket frame are movably connected to two sides of the frame through the rotating base of the two adjusting mechanisms, respectively.
See Figs. 4, 6, and 7.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng further teaches: wherein each of the adjusting mechanisms further comprises a resetting member (433);
wherein the rotating base comprises a rotating disk (441) and a connecting arm (438, or 442b) connected to the rotating disk; and
wherein the rotating disk is pivotally connected to the frame, an end (433A)of the resetting member is connected to the frame (at 443A), and another end (433B) of the resetting member is connected to the connecting arm.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 6-7.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng further teaches: wherein the rotating base further comprises a limiting part (444B), and wherein a blocking arm (444A) is arranged on the frame, and the limiting part is capable of abutting against the blocking arm to limit a rotation angle of the connecting arm. See Figs. 6-7.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches: baby carriage, comprising:
a frame (41, 431);
a blocking arm (444A) is arranged on the frame;
a storage basket comprising a first basket frame (42); and
two adjusting mechanisms, each of the two adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (432, 438) pivotally connected to the frame, the rotating base comprises a rotating disk (441), a connecting arm (442b) connected to the rotating disk, and a limiting part (444b), the rotating disk is pivotally connected to the frame,
wherein two ends of the first basket frame are movably connected to two sides of the frame through the rotating base of the two adjusting mechanisms, respectively, and
wherein the limiting part is capable of abutting against the blocking arm to limit a rotation angle of the connecting arm.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 4, 6, and 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/20265 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states: “With respect to Pike, the Office Action identified Pike's frame 100 as the claimed "frame," the mechanism shown in Fig. 23A of Pike as the claimed "adjusting mechanisms," and Pike's spring carrier (532A) as the claimed "rotating base ... pivotally connected to the frame." However, Pike teaches that spring carrier (532A) is rotatably connected to spring receiver (534A) (see Fig. 23A), and that both elements 532A, 534A operate to adjust the basket frame (510).
Because element 534A is a critical part of Pike's "adjustment mechanism," Pike does not teach a "rotating base ... pivotally connected to the frame" as recited in claim 1, as amended.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Those having ordinary skill in the art would, upon review of at least Fig. 23A, understand the pivotal connection between the frame and rotating base. As stated above, each of the adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (including at least element 532A) pivotally connected to the frame (in Fig. 23A, see the pivotal connection between rotating base element 532A and element 130 of the frame). Pivotal motion is centered about the pivot pin 550, which is integral with element 130 of the frame.
Applicant states: “With respect to Haut, the Office Action identifies first mount member (1211) as the claimed "rotating base ... pivotally connected to the frame." However, Haut teaches that first mount member (1211) is fixed to the frame, and does not rotate relative to the frame (i.e., is not "pivotally connected to the frame").”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As expressed above, Haut teaches: a frame (111, 112, 113); two adjusting mechanisms (121) each of the adjusting mechanisms comprises a rotating base (1211) pivotally connected to the frame (the rotating base at least pivots relative to some frame components). For example, the rotating base (1211) is pivotally connected to element 113 the frame (see at least Fig. 4). Additionally, frame element 111 is pivotally connected to the adjusting mechanisms 121 at the mount member 1213. Pivoting/folding of the frame is further described by Haut in column 5, lines 27-46.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA K FRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613