DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schubert et al. (US 2015/0123458).
Re claim 1, Schubert et al. disclose a brake system for use in shaft and inclined conveyor systems in mining, with several brake channels for releasing or applying brake force generators (2, 4, 6, 8) to provided braking surfaces, wherein a first main pressure control path (10, 14, R1) and a second secondary pressure control path (12, 16, R2), which is activated in the event of a fault in the main pressure control path, are provided for each brake channel and wherein a plurality of, central processing units (CPUs) (18, 20) with associated signal and voltage supply are provided for redundant control of the main and secondary pressure control paths of the several brake channels, wherein each, CPU is provided for controlling the main pressure control path of at least one brake channel associated therewith, as well as a secondary pressure control path of at least one other of the plurality of brake channels. (Fig. 1, [0023])
Re claim 2, Schubert et al. disclose wherein one CPU (18, 20) is provided for each brake channel, which CPU controls the main pressure control path of the brake channel assigned to it as well as the secondary pressure control path of another of the several brake channels. (Fig. 1, [0023])
Re claim 3, Schubert et al. disclose a method for controlling a brake system for use in shaft and inclined conveyor systems in mining, having a plurality of brake channels for releasing or applying brake linings to brake surfaces provided, comprising the steps: providing a first main pressure control path (10, 14, R1) and a second secondary pressure control path (12, 16, R2) per brake channel; providing a plurality of, central processing units (CPUs) (18, 20) with associated signal and voltage supply; control of the valve arrangements (30, 32) of the main pressure control path of at least one brake channel and of a secondary pressure control path of at least one other of the plurality of brake channels by a respective, CPU; in the event of a fault, switching off the main pressure control path of a first brake control channel and the secondary pressure control path of a second brake control channel by the CPU assigned to these pressure control paths; and continuing operation of the one and the other brake channel through the second secondary pressure control path of the one brake channel and the first main pressure control path of the other brake channel through the CPU assigned to these pressure control paths. (Fig. 1, [0023] – [0025])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Schubert et al. does not teach CPUs for controlling brake systems. Schubert et al. discloses electrical brake control with electronic regulation including control units 18 and 20 which contain both the hydraulic components and associated control electronics. Upon failure of a control unit, the system can continue to be operated with the other control unit. ([0002], [0021, [0023]) In order to operate the system as disclosed by Schubert, a CPU would be a required component.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
December 24, 2025