DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re: claim 3. The phrase “a spring device” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the spring device in claim 3 is intended to be the same or different from the spring devices recited in claim 1.
Re: claim 4. The phrase “the spring device” is indefinite. More than one spring device was previously recited; therefore, it is unclear which of the plurality of spring devices Applicant intends to refer to or whether intended to refer back to the plurality of spring devices.
The remaining claims are indefinite due to their dependency from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3668939 to Schrader in view of DE-102019104386 (DE’386).
Re: claims 1, 6, 7, and 9. Schrader shows in figures 1 and 4 a vibration absorber, comprising: a carrier plate 32 having two sides, the carrier plate including a bore shown surrounding element 35, a mass element 34 on each of the two sides, the mass element 34 on each of the two sides forming a mass pair 34, 34, and a connecting bolt 35, wherein the connecting bolt projects through the bore on each of the two sides of the carrier plate and into the mass element on each of the two sides of the carrier plate as shown to form a respective holding connection to fix or connect the mass elements
[AltContent: textbox (Closed interior space)][AltContent: arrow]
on or to the carrier plate 32, and wherein the carrier plate 32, the mass elements 34 of the mass pair 34, 34 and the spring devices 33 of the mass pair form a closed interior space, as labeled, in which the connecting bolt 35 is arranged, but is silent with regard to the connecting bolt being disposed entirely within the closed interior space and wherein the respective holding connection being formed in the corresponding one of the mass elements.
DE’386 teaches in figure 3 the use of a holding connection 34 of a connecting element 26 of a vibration absorber being entirely enclosed within a mass element 12 via the presence of a blind hole surrounding portion 34 of the connecting element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the mass elements of Schrader to have included a blind hole to entirely enclose the holding connection of the connecting element within the mass element, in view of the teachings of DE’386, in order to provide a means of resulting in an arrangement in which the connecting bolt is disposed entirely within the closed interior space and wherein the respective holding connection is formed in the corresponding one of the mass elements to shield the connecting element from dirt or impact damage and to reduce rattling and the possibility of snagging by fully enclosing the connecting element.
Re: claim 2. Schrader, as modified, teaches in figure 4 of Schrader wherein the holding connections are screw connections, latched connections and/or press-fit connections or particularly screw connections as shown by the threaded connection shown near the end of the lead line of 35.
Re: claims 3 and 4. Schrader, as modified, teaches in figure 4 of Schrader wherein a spring device 33 is arranged between each mass element 34 of the mass pair and the carrier plate 32.
Re: claim 10. Schrader, as modified, teaches in figure 4 of Schrader wherein the connecting bolt 35 in combination with the connecting nuts of the mass pair has a shoulder or the nut portion for each mass element of the mass pair.
Re: claim 11. Schrader, as modified, teaches in figure 1 of Schrader wherein a second mass element or one of the similar elements 20 in figure 1 is arranged on each of the two sides of the carrier plate, the second mass elements forming a second mass pair.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrader in view of DE’386 as applied above, and further in view of WO-2021058181 (WO’181).
Re: claim 5. Schrader, as modified, is silent with regard to the spring devices having bores that rest in a radially centered manner against the bolt.
WO’181 teaches in figure 12 the spring devices top and bottom 40a, 40b having bores that rest in a radially centered manner against the fastener 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the spring devices of Schrader, as modified, to have had bores radially centered against the bolt, in view of the teachings of WO’181, in order to provide a means of eliminating play resulting from the gap and to ensure damping and limiting of any lateral motion of the fastener during operational movement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references used in the previous Office action.
Conclusion
mmb
May 26, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616