DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-7, 11-14, 18-25, 29-30, and 36, drawn to a method for forming an electrochemical device, classified in H01M 10/0568.
II. Claims 37 and 57, drawn to a method for forming an electrochemical device, classified in H01M 10/0568.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed are mutually exclusive because Invention I requires exposing anode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor, while Invention II requires exposing cathode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
The inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
The prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
The inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Richard Roche on 11 Mar 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Invention I, claims 1-7, 11-14, 18-25, 29-30, and 36. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 37 and 57 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 11-14, 19, 21, 23, 25, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (US 2022/0328812) in view of Cavanagh et al. (Cavanagh, A. S., Lee, Y., Yoon, B., & George, S. (2010), Electrochemical Society Transactions 218, 33(2), 223-229).
As to claim 1, Basu et al. discloses a method for forming an electrochemical device, the method comprising:
(a) exposing anode material particles to precursors to form a coating on the anode material particles (see e.g. applying a coating via atomic layer deposition (ALD) to anode surfaces, [0011]. This reads on an exposure step because in an ALD process, materials are exposed to precursors).
(b) forming a slurry comprising anode material particles (see e.g. the slurry of active material components, which comprises graphite, which is an anode material particle, [0048]);
(c) casting the slurry on a surface to form a layer (see e.g. “casting of slurries of active and inactive material components” onto a foil substrate, which forms a layer that reads on the claimed layer [0048]);
(d) calendering the layer to form an anode of the electrochemical device (see e.g. “calendaring the electrode,” [0048]);
(e) positioning a separator between the anode and a cathode to form a cell structure (see e.g. polymer separator 810 is disposed between the anode 804 and the cathode 806, [0019], [0047], and Fig. 8); and
(f) positioning the cell structure in a liquid electrolyte (see e.g. electrolyte 808, [0034], [0047], and Fig. 8. The electrolyte necessarily permeates the cathode, anode, and separator, and therefore it can reasonably be said that the cell structure is positioned in the electrolyte), wherein the electrolyte is essentially free of a solvent that forms a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode (e.g. as per [0034] the solvent may comprise ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate. These same solvents are all listed in para [0045] of the Instant Specification. While Basu et al. does not explicitly state that the solvent has the property that it does not form a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode, Basu et al.’s solvent is the same material described by the instant application, and therefore must also have the property that it does not form a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode).
Further regarding claim 1, Basu et al. discloses that providing a thin-film coating on anode materials via atomic layer deposition (ALD) increases the onset temperature of self-heating characteristics (see e.g. [0011]).
However, while Basu et al. teaches the partial step of (a) exposing anode material particles to precursors to form a coating on the anode material particles, Basu et al. does not disclose step (a) of: exposing anode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the anode material particles.
Cavanagh et al., also working in the field of materials for lithium batteries, teaches a method for providing a thin film coating on graphite particles via ALD (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: pg. 223, para 2, an Li2CO3 film coating is grown with ALD). To accomplish this, Cavanagh et al. teaches a step of exposing a substrate to a lithium-containing precursor (see e.g. exposure to lithium tert-butoxide (LTB), Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1. LTB reads on a lithium-containing precursor as per para [0069] of the instant specification), followed by a step of exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating (see e.g. exposure to oxygen-containing H2O, to form an Li2CO3 film, Cavanagh et al.: pg. 23, para 1). Cavanagh et al. further teaches that the coating formed in this manner may limit lithium loss and improve the capacity stability of the graphite anodes (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: Abstract and pg. 223, para 1).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the instantly-claimed invention to modify Basu et al.’s method by modifying step (a) of Basu by exposing anode material particles of Basu et al. to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the anode material particles in the manner taught by Cavanagh et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Cavanagh et al. teaches that this coating process may limit lithium loss and improve the capacity stability of graphite anodes, and additionally because Basu et al. teaches that providing a thin-film coating on anode materials via ALD increases the onset temperature of self-heating characteristics.
As to claim 3, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the lithium-containing precursor comprises a lithium alkoxide (see e.g. lithium tert-butoxide, which is a lithium alkoxide. Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1).
As to claim 5, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the oxygen-containing precursor is selected from the group consisting of ozone, water, oxygen plasma, ammonium hydroxide, oxygen, and mixtures thereof (see e.g. H2O, which reads on the claimed oxygen precursor Cavanagh et al.: pg. 23, para 1).
As to claim 7, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the anode material particles are graphite particles (see e.g. the anode is composed of graphite, Basu et al.: para [0024]).
As to claim 11, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the solvent that forms a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode is ethylene carbonate (e.g. as per [0034] the solvent may comprise ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate, all of which are free of ethylene carbonate).
As to claim 12, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the coating is a film having a thickness of 0.1 to 50 nanometers (see e.g., the coating process yields 0.8 Å of material per cycle and proceeds for 200 cycles as per Cavanagh et al.: p6. 226, para 2 and the caption to Figure 2. 0.8 Å*200 = 160 Å or 16 nm, which anticipates the claimed range of 0.1 to 50 nm).
As to claim 13, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the coating step (a) occurs at a temperature between 50 °C and 280 °C (see e.g., Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1 teaches that the step of adding a step of exposing anode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the anode material particles occurs at a temperature of 225 °C, which lies within and thereby anticipates the claimed range of 50 °C to 280 °C ).
As to claim 14, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the liquid electrolyte comprises a lithium compound (see e.g. LiPF6, which is a component of the electrolyte and reads on the claimed lithium compound Basu et al.: [0034]) in an organic solvent (see e.g. solvent may comprise ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate, which are all organic solvents, Basu et al.: [0034]).
As to claim 19, Basu et al. discloses a method for forming an electrochemical device, the method comprising:
(a) forming a mixture comprising anode material particles (see e.g. the slurry of active material components, which comprises graphite, and anode material particle, [0048]);
(b) casting the mixture (see e.g. “casting of slurries of active and inactive material components” onto a foil substrate; the slurry reads on the claimed mixture, [0048]);
(c) exposing the anode particles to precursors to form a coating on the anode material particles (see e.g. applying a coating via atomic layer deposition (ALD) to anode surfaces, [0011]. This reads on an exposure step because in an ALD process, materials are exposed to precursors).
(d) positioning a separator between the anode and a cathode to form a cell structure (see e.g. polymer separator 810 is disposed between the anode 804 and the cathode 806, [0019], [0047], and Fig. 8); and
(e) positioning the cell structure in a liquid electrolyte (see e.g. electrolyte 808, [0034], [0047], and Fig. 8. The electrolyte necessarily permeates the cathode, anode, and separator, and therefore it can reasonably be said that the cell structure is positioned in the electrolyte), wherein the electrolyte is essentially free of a solvent that forms a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode (e.g. as per [0034] the solvent may comprise ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate. These same solvents are all listed in para [0045] of the Instant Specification. While Basu et al. does not explicitly state that the solvent has the property that it does not form a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode, Basu et al.’s solvent is the same material described by the instant application, and therefore must also have the property that it does not form a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode).
Basu et al. does not disclose casting and/or calendering the mixture such that a porous structure is formed.
Further, Basu et al. does not disclose the step of (c) exposing the porous structure to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the porous structure thereby forming an anode.
While Basu et al. discloses casting the mixture (see e.g. “casting of slurries of active and inactive material components” onto a foil substrate; the slurry reads on the claimed mixture, [0048]), Basu et al. does not explicitly disclose that this mixture yields a porous structure. However, the end result of Basu et al.’s process is an electrode for a battery (see e,g, [0019]-[0020],[0048], which describe providing an electrode for a battery cell). Because an electrode by definition must allow for the transport of ions to and from the electrode in order to function, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form Basu et al.’s casting process such that a porous structure is formed, as the electrode would not function as intended if the casting process yielded a non-porous structure.
Further regarding claim 19, Cavanagh et al., also working in the field of materials for lithium batteries, teaches a method for providing a thin film coating on graphite particles via ALD (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: pg.223, para 2, an Li2CO3 film coating is grown with ALD). To accomplish this, Cavanagh et al. teaches a step of exposing a substrate to a lithium-containing precursor (see e.g. exposure to lithium tert-butoxide (LTB), Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1. LTB reads on a lithium-containing precursor as per para [0069] of the instant specification), followed by a step of exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating (see e.g. exposure to oxygen-containing H2O, to form an Li2CO3 film, Cavanagh et al.: pg. 23, para 1). Cavanagh et al. further teaches that the coating formed in this manner may limit lithium loss and improve the capacity stability of the graphite anodes (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: Abstract and pg. 223, para 1).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the instantly-claimed invention to modify Basu et al.’s method by altering step (c) to include the process of exposing anode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating, as taught by Cavanagh et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Cavanagh et al. teaches that this coating process may limit lithium loss and improve the capacity stability of graphite anodes, and additionally because Basu et al. teaches that providing a thin-film coating on anode materials via ALD increases the onset temperature of self-heating characteristics.
As to claim 21, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the lithium-containing precursor comprises a lithium alkoxide (see e.g. lithium tert-butoxide, which is a lithium alkoxide. Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1).
As to claim 23, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the oxygen-containing precursor is selected from the group consisting of ozone, water, oxygen plasma, ammonium hydroxide, oxygen, and mixtures thereof (see e.g. H2O, which reads on the claimed oxygen precursor Cavanagh et al.: pg. 23, para 1).
As to claim 25, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the anode material particles are graphite particles (see e.g. the anode is composed of graphite, Basu et al.: para [0024]).
As to claim 29, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the solvent that forms a solid electrolyte interphase on the anode is ethylene carbonate (e.g. as per [0034] the solvent may comprise ethyl methyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate, all of which are free of ethylene carbonate).
As to claim 30, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the coating is a film having a thickness of 0.1 to 50 nanometers (see e.g., the coating process yields 0.8 Å of material per cycle and proceeds for 200 cycles as per Cavanagh et al.: p6. 226, para 2 and the caption to Figure 2. 0.8 Å*200 = 160 Å or 16 nm, which anticipates the claimed range of 0.1 to 50 nm).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (US 2022/0328812) in view of Cavanagh et al. (Cavanagh, A. S., Lee, Y., Yoon, B., & George, S. (2010), Electrochemical Society Transactions 218, 33(2), 223-229) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kazyak et al. (Kazyak, Eric, et al., Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 6.40 (2018): 19425-19437).
As to claim 2, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 that includes step (a) exposing the porous structure to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the porous structure thereby forming an anode.
However, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. does not teach a step (a) that further comprises exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form the coating on the anode material particles.
Kayzak, also working in the field of ALD coatings for electrochemical materials, teaches that, by adding steps in which the substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor triisopropyl borate (TIB) (see e.g. TIB subcycles in which a substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor TIB, Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4) to a lithium tert-butoxide growth process, a coating layer of Li3BO3-Li2CO3 (LBCO) can be obtained (see e.g. Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, paras 2-4 and Fig. 1a, which describe forming an LBCO coating).
Kayzak further teaches that LBCO is a promising material for an interfacial or passivation layer that yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity (see e.g. Kayzak, pg. 19426, col. 1, paras 3-4, pg. 19435, col. 2, paras 1-2 and Abstract).Kazyak et al. further teaches that LBCO is stable against anode materials (see e.g. Kazyak et al.: pg. 19435, col. 2, para 3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. by modifying Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s step (a) of exposing anode material particles to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the anode material particles to include a step of exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form the coating on the anode material particles as taught by Kazyak et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s process because Kazyak et al. teaches that such a modification yields a coating of LBCO, which is an attractive material for an interfacial coating for electrochemical materials because it yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity.
As to claim 4, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. and Kazyak et al. teaches the method of claim 2 in which the boron-containing precursor comprises a boron alkoxide (see e.g. triisopropyl borate, Kazyak et al.: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 3. Triisopropyl borate is described as being a boron alkoxide in para [0069] of the Instant Specification).
As to claim 6, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. and Kazyak et al. teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the lithium-containing precursor, the boron-containing precursor, and the oxygen- containing precursor are in a gaseous state (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1, which states that the lithium-containing precursor lithium tert-butoxide and the oxygen-containing precursor H2O are reactants in an ALD process, which is a process in which the reactants are introduced in the gas phase. See also Kazyak et al.: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4, which states that the boron-containing precursor TIB is a reactant in an ALD process, which is a process in which the reactants are introduced in the gas phase).
As to claim 18, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach a method wherein the coating comprises Li3BO3-Li2CO3.
Kayzak, also working in the field of ALD coatings for electrochemical materials, teaches that, by adding steps in which the substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor triisopropyl borate (TIB) (see e.g. TIB subcycles in which a substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor TIB, Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4) to a lithium tert-butoxide growth process, a coating layer comprising Li3BO3-Li2CO3 (LBCO) can be obtained (see e.g. Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, paras 2-4 and Fig. 1a, which describe forming an LBCO coating).
Kayzak further teaches that LBCO is a promising material for an interfacial or passivation layer that yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity (see e.g. Kayzak, pg. 19426, col. 1, paras 3-4, pg. 19435, col. 2, paras 1-2 and Abstract).Kazyak et al. further teaches that LBCO is stable against anode materials (see e.g. Kazyak et al.: pg. 19435, col. 2, para 3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. by adding a step of exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form an Li3BO3-Li2CO3 coating on the anode material particles as taught by Kazyak et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s process because Kazyak et al. teaches that such a modification yields a coating of LBCO, which is an attractive material for an interfacial coating for electrochemical materials because it yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity.
Claim(s) 20, 22, 24, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu et al. (US 2022/0328812) in view of Cavanagh et al. (Cavanagh, A. S., Lee, Y., Yoon, B., & George, S. (2010), Electrochemical Society Transactions 218, 33(2), 223-229) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kazyak et al. (Kazyak, Eric, et al., Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 6.40 (2018): 19425-19437).
As to claim 20, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 1 that includes step (c): exposing the porous structure to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the porous structure thereby forming an anode.
However, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. does not teach a method in which step (c) further includes exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form the coating on the anode material particles.
Kayzak, also working in the field of ALD coatings for electrochemical materials, teaches that, by adding steps in which the substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor triisopropyl borate (TIB) (see e.g. TIB subcycles in which a substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor TIB, Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4) to a lithium tert-butoxide growth process, a coating layer of Li3BO3-Li2CO3 (LBCO) can be obtained (see e.g. Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, paras 2-4 and Fig. 1a, which describe forming an LBCO coating).
Kayzak further teaches that LBCO is a promising material for an interfacial or passivation layer that yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity (see e.g. Kayzak, pg. 19426, col. 1, paras 3-4, pg. 19435, col. 2, paras 1-2 and Abstract).Kazyak et al. further teaches that LBCO is stable against anode materials (see e.g. Kazyak et al.: pg. 19435, col. 2, para 3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. by modifying Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s step (c) of exposing the porous structure to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor by further including a step of exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form the coating on the anode material particles as taught by Kazyak et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s process because Kazyak et al. teaches that such a modification yields a coating of LBCO, which is an attractive material for an interfacial coating for electrochemical materials because it yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity.
As to claim 22, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. and Kazyak et al. teaches the method of claim 20 in which the boron-containing precursor comprises a boron alkoxide (see e.g. triisopropyl borate, Kazyak et al.: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 3. Triisopropyl borate is described as being a boron alkoxide in para [0069] of the Instant Specification).
As to claim 24, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. and Kazyak et al. teaches the method of claim 20 wherein the lithium-containing precursor, the boron-containing precursor, and the oxygen- containing precursor are in a gaseous state (see e.g. Cavanagh et al.: pg. 224, para 1, which states that the lithium-containing precursor lithium tert-butoxide and the oxygen-containing precursor H2O are reactants in an ALD process, which is a process in which the reactants are introduced in the gas phase. See also Kazyak et al.: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4, which states that the boron-containing precursor TIB is a reactant in an ALD process, which is a process in which the reactants are introduced in the gas phase).
As to claim 36, Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. teaches the method of claim 19, but does not teach a method wherein the coating comprises Li3BO3-Li2CO3.
Kayzak, also working in the field of ALD coatings for electrochemical materials, teaches that, by adding steps in which the substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor triisopropyl borate (TIB) (see e.g. TIB subcycles in which a substrate is exposed to the boron-containing precursor TIB, Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, para 4) to a lithium tert-butoxide growth process, a coating layer comprising Li3BO3-Li2CO3 (LBCO) can be obtained (see e.g. Kazyk: pg. 19426, col. 2, paras 2-4 and Fig. 1a, which describe forming an LBCO coating).
Kayzak further teaches that LBCO is a promising material for an interfacial or passivation layer that yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity (see e.g. Kayzak, pg. 19426, col. 1, paras 3-4, pg. 19435, col. 2, paras 1-2 and Abstract).Kazyak et al. further teaches that LBCO is stable against anode materials (see e.g. Kazyak et al.: pg. 19435, col. 2, para 3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al. by modifying step (c) of exposing the porous structure to a lithium-containing precursor followed by an oxygen-containing precursor to form a coating on the porous structure to include the step taught by Kayzak et al. of exposing the anode material particles to a boron-containing precursor followed by the oxygen-containing precursor to form an Li3BO3-Li2CO3 coating on the anode material particles. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to Basu et al. in view of Cavanagh et al.’s process because Kazyak et al. teaches that such a modification yields a coating of LBCO, which is an attractive material for an interfacial coating for electrochemical materials because it yields increased ion conductivity while maintaining electrical resistivity.
Conclusion
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723