DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-23 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 12/07/2023 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 01/07/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 8, 10-12, 16, 19, and 20-22 have been amended; Claims 2 and 7 have been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the argument on pages 12-13 in regards to the modification preventing the removable feature of Daniels, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan (US 2020/0238481).
In regards to Claim 20, Khan discloses a bit holder configured to engage a power tool, the bit holder comprising: a mounting element (Khan: Fig. 23; 122, 124) configured to removably engage a mounting structure of the power tool; and a bit holding portion having a first side (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; S1), a second side (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; S2) opposite the first side, and a span (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; S3) extending between the first side and the second side to form an arch, the bit holding portion defining an arch-shaped cavity bounded by the first side, the second side, and the span, the arch-shaped cavity being open to the surroundings of the bit holder opposite the span, the bit holding portion also defining a bit retaining aperture (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; A1) in communication with the arch-shaped cavity and configured to at least partially receive a bit to secure the bit to the power tool.
In regards to Claim 21, Khan discloses the bit holder of claim 20, wherein the bit retaining aperture (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; A1) extends through the first side (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; S1), and wherein the bit retaining aperture is in communication with the arch-shaped cavity and a first end (Khan: Annotated Fig. 18; E1) of the bit holder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehovetzki et al. (US 2522203) in view of Brocket et al. (US 2019/0168376).
In regards to Claim 20, Lehovetzki discloses a bit holder configured to engage a power tool, the bit holder comprising: and a bit holding portion having a first side (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; S1), a second side (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; S2) opposite the first side, and a span (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; S3) extending between the first side and the second side to form an arch, the bit holding portion defining an arch-shaped cavity (Lehovetzki: Fig. 7; 18) bounded by the first side, the second side, and the span, the arch-shaped cavity being open to the surroundings of the bit holder opposite the span, the bit holding portion also defining a bit retaining aperture (Lehovetzki: Fig. 1; 242, 243, 247, 248) in communication with the arch-shaped cavity and configured to at least partially receive a bit to secure the bit to the power tool.
Lehovetzki fails to disclose a mounting element configured to removably engage a mounting structure of the power tool. However, Brocket teaches a bit holder comprising a mounting element (Brocket: Fig. 17; 170) configured to removably engage a mounting structure of the power tool.
Lehovetzki and Brocket are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. tool holders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder in Lehovetzki with the mounting element from Brocket, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the holder with a means of receiving and retaining a clip of a power tool (Brocket: [0071]), enabling a user to attach the holder to a separate tool in order to free up their hands and thereby expanding the utility of the holder.
In regards to Claim 21, Lehovetzki, as modified, teaches the bit holder of claim 20, wherein the bit retaining aperture (Lehovetzki: Fig. 1; 242, 243, 247, 248) extends through the first side (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; S1), and wherein the bit retaining aperture is in communication with the arch-shaped cavity and a first end of the bit holder (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; E1). [Note: As the holder is hollow, the aperture is in communication with the ends.]
In regards to Claim 22, Lehovetzki, as modified, teaches the bit holder of claim 21, wherein the bit retaining aperture (Lehovetzki: Fig. 1; 242, 243, 247, 248) also extends through the second side (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; S2), and wherein the bit retaining aperture is in communication with the arch-shaped cavity and a second end (Lehovetzki: Annotated Fig. 7; E2) of the bit holder opposite the first end of the bit holder.
In regards to Claim 23, Lehovetzki, as modified, teaches the bit holder of claim 22, further comprising a second bit retaining aperture (Lehovetzki: Fig. 1; 232b) positioned in the span, wherein the second bit retaining aperture is in communication with the first side and the second side.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-19 are allowed.
Annotated Figures
I: Khan; Fig. 18
II: Lehovetzki; Fig. 7
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631