DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–19 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0063503 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01 November 2024, 16 May 2025, and 24 July 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Partial views are identified by the same number followed by a lowercase letter. Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY ENCLOSURE INCLUDING RELIEF VENT AND BURST DISK, AND BATTERY SYSTEM INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The English units of ° F are used in paragraph 0018. All patent applicants should use the metric (S.I.) units followed by the equivalent English units when describing their inventions in the specifications of patent applications. See MPEP § 608.01 IV. Paragraph 0018 should use S.I. units.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls connected to each other." It is unclear if the phrase "connected to each other" is further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., side walls) or all the limitations preceding the phrase (i.e., a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery enclosure pressure relief" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2–5 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–5 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5, which claim 6 is directly dependent, provides antecedent basis for a single barrier plate.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5, which claim 7 is directly dependent, provides antecedent basis for a single barrier plate.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5, which claim 8 is directly dependent, provides antecedent basis for a single barrier plate.
Claim 9 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls connected to each other." It is unclear if the phrase "connected to each other" is further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., side walls) or all the limitations preceding the phrase (i.e., a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a lithium-ion battery cell positioned within each battery module" in line 8. Claim 10 has previously recited the limitation "a battery enclosure having a battery module therein" in line 2. The term "each" is defined as used to refer to every one of two or more people or things (see each, New Oxford American Dictionary). The limitation "a battery enclosure having a battery module therein" appears to require a single battery module. However, the limitation "a lithium-ion battery cell positioned within each battery module" appears to require at least two battery modules. Therefore, the number of battery modules required by claim 10 is unclear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a electronics control tray within electrical communication with the battery module." The term "within" is defined as inside (something) (see within, New Oxford American Dictionary). It is unclear how a electronics control tray can be inside electrical communication with the battery module.
Claims 11–14 are directly dependent from claim 10 and include all the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claims 11–14 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites, in the preamble, "[t]he battery system of claim 9." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the barrier plates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is directly dependent from claim 10 and includes all the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 19 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites, in the preamble, "[t]he battery system of claim 9." Claim 9 recites in the preamble "[t]he battery enclosure of claim 1;" and claim 1 recites, in the preamble, "[a] battery enclosure." Neither claim 9 nor claim 1 are directed to a battery system. Therefore, claim 15 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3, 5–7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (CN 111106278 A; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0328281 A1; hereinafter Chu).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses a battery enclosure (1, [0061]) comprising:
a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls connected to each other, forming an inside (11) and an outside of the battery enclosure (1, [0061]);
a relief vent (9, [0077]),
the relief vent (9) extending through the top wall or side wall (FIG. 1, [0077]); and
a deflagration assembly (2),
the battery enclosure pressure relief (2) including a deflagration panel (6, [0071]),
wherein the deflagration panel (6) is a burst disk (FIG. 1, [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure:
wherein the relief vent (9) is adapted to equalize pressure between the inside (11) of the battery enclosure (1) and the outside of the battery enclosure (1, [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure, further comprising:
a dock bumper (8, [0066],
the dock bumper (8) positioned on the side wall (FIG. 1, [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure:
wherein the top wall, the bottom wall, and/or the side walls include a barrier plate (8, [0066]),
the barrier plate (8) positioned on the inside of the battery enclosure (1, [0066]).
Regarding claim 6, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure:
wherein the barrier plates (8) are separate pieces (FIG. 1, [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure:
wherein the barrier plates (8) are one connected or molded piece (FIG. 1, [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery enclosure:
wherein a barrier plate (8) is placed between battery modules (3) positioned within the inside (FIG. 1, [0066]).
Claims 10–13, 15–17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (WO 2021/221351 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0407170 A1; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 10, Shin discloses battery system (1000, [0049]) comprising:
a battery enclosure (400) having a battery module (100) positioned therein (FIG. 3, [0049]),
the battery enclosure (400) including a top wall, bottom wall, and side walls connected to each other (FIG. 3, [0049]), forming an inside and an outside of the battery enclosure (400, [0052]); a relief vent (500), the relief vent (500) extending through the top wall or side wall (FIG. 12, [0070]); and a battery enclosure pressure relief (500), the battery enclosure pressure relief (500) including a deflagration panel (510), wherein the deflagration panel (510) is a burst disk or explosion vent (510, [0070]);
a lithium-ion battery cell (101) positioned within each battery module (100, [0042]); and
a electronics control tray (BMS) within electrical communication with the battery module (100, [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system, further comprising:
gap filler plates (411) positioned with the battery enclosure (400, .
Regarding claim 12, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system:
wherein the relief vent (500) is adapted to equalize pressure between the inside of the battery enclosure (400) and the outside of the battery enclosure (400, [0070]):
Regarding claim 13, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system, further comprising:
a dock bumper (520, [0062]),
the dock bumper (520) positioned on the side wall (FIG. 7B, [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system:
wherein the top wall, the bottom wall, and/or the side walls include a barrier plate (200, [0049]),
the barrier plate (200) positioned on the inside of the battery enclosure (400, [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system:
wherein the barrier plates (200) are separate pieces (FIG. 3, [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system:
wherein the barrier plates (200) are one connected or molded piece (FIG. 3, [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery system:
wherein a barrier plate (200) is placed between battery modules (100) positioned within the inside (FIG. 3, [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (CN 111106278 A; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0328281 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shalaev et al. (RU 199162 U1, hereinafter Shalaev).
Regarding claim 4, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery enclosure, wherein the deflagration assembly includes:
a flange having flange bolts therethrough,
wherein the flange bolts pass through an outside gasket, the deflagration panel, an inside gasket, the side wall; and
a flame arrester,
the flame arrester secured to at least one of the flange bolts.
Shalaev discloses a deflagration assembly (FIG. 2, [0011]) including a flange (3, 15) having flange bolts (9, 11) therethrough, wherein the flange bolts (9, 10) pass through an outside gasket, a deflagration panel (4), an inside gasket (6), a side wall (16); and a flame arrester (5), the flame arrester (5) secured to at least one of the flange bolts (9, 11; [0011]) to improve the reliability of the deflagration assembly (see end arrester, [0008]). Chu and Shalaev are analogous because they are directed to flame propagation prevention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the deflagration assembly of Chu with the configuration of Shalaev in order to improve the reliability of the deflagration assembly.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (CN 111106278 A; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0328281 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2022/0263189 A1, hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 8, Chu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery enclosure:
wherein the barrier plates are constructed of ceramic or silica.
Ko discloses a battery enclosure (200) containing barrier plates (300) constructed of ceramic or silica (FIG. 8, [0101]) to prevent thermal propagation so as to avoid or prevent propagation of heat and flame (see ceramic material, [0100]). Chu and Ko are analogous because they are directed to improving safety of battery enclosures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the barrier plates of Chu with the ceramic or silica of Ko in order to prevent thermal propagation so as to avoid or prevent propagation of heat and flame.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (WO 2021/221351 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0407170 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shalaev (RU 199162 U1).
Regarding claim 14, Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery system, wherein the battery enclosure pressure relief includes:
a flange having flange bolts therethrough, wherein the flange bolts pass through an outside gasket, the deflagration panel, and an inside gasket, the side wall; and
a flame arrester,
the flame arrester secured to at least one of the flange bolts.
Shalaev discloses an enclosure pressure relief (FIG. 2, [0011]) includes a flange (3, 15) having flange bolts (9, 11) therethrough, wherein the flange bolts (9, 10) pass through an outside gasket, a deflagration panel (4), an inside gasket (6), a side wall (16); and a flame arrester (5), the flame arrester (5) secured to at least one of the flange bolts (9, 11; [0011]) to improve the reliability of the enclosure pressure relief (see end arrester, [0008]). Shin and Shalaev are analogous because they are directed to flame propagation prevention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the battery enclosure pressure relief of Shin with the configuration of Shalaev in order to improve the reliability of the enclosure pressure relief.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (WO 2021/221351 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0407170 A1) in view of Shalaev (RU 199162 U1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ko (US 2022/0263189 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Shin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery system:
wherein the barrier plates are constructed of ceramic or silica.
Ko discloses a battery enclosure (200) containing barrier plates (300) constructed of ceramic or silica (FIG. 8, [0101]) to prevent thermal propagation so as to avoid or prevent propagation of heat and flame (see ceramic material, [0100]). Shin and Ko are analogous because they are directed to improving safety of battery enclosures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the barrier plates of modified Shin with the ceramic or silica of Ko in order to prevent thermal propagation so as to avoid or prevent propagation of heat and flame.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725