DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 15-23 are withdrawn. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/04/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 112 second paragraph rejection of claims 1-14 and 25-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 second paragraph rejection of claims 1-14 and 25-30 has been withdrawn.
Claim 4 was not previously rejected in a 35 USC § 102/103 rejection. However, the deduced allowability of claim 4 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to SLOAT (US Patent 11,875,365). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) are provided, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZHANG (US 11,770,197) in view of SLOAT (US Patent 11,875,365).
Regarding claim 1,
ZHANG teaches a portable device for enhancing network of a plurality of wireless nodes, comprising:
a housing (101 in fig. 1; 400 in fig. 4) sized and shaped to enclose:
a power source (408 in fig. 4);
a wireless communication module (410 in fig. 4) including an antenna (450) and associated transceiver circuitry coupled with the antenna to receive and transmit (412, 414) wireless signals;
a human-interaction interface (col. 46:37 teaches an origin device (101,400) is a “Type 2” device; and in col. 47:40 teaches that the Type 2 device may be a device having a user interface)
a memory (404 in fig. 4) storing computer-readable instructions; and
a processor (402 in fig. 4) in communication with the power source, the wireless communication module, and the memory;
the housing being sized and shaped to self-stand when placed at a location (fig. 1 illustrates housing 101 placed on a table top surface in a living room 102);
the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the portable device to:
scan, using the wireless communication module, for ones of the plurality of wireless nodes within operating range of the wireless communication module (col. 10:40-41 teaches that the Type 2 device scans for probe signals);
receive, in response to the scan, wireless-node data from responding ones of the plurality of wireless nodes (col. 13:10-12 teaches that “Type 1” devices are signal sources for Type 2 devices);
generate a user-interpretable signal (via communication device 205 in fig. 2A per col. 51:25-37) based on the wireless-node data; and output, using the human-interaction interface, the user-interpretable signal (at least col. 51:39-43 teaches generation of communication via device 205 which may or may not be integral with housing of 101/201/400).
As to the “housing” feature of the claim, Zhang teaches in col. 46:39-46, that the portable device may be embodied by any number of devices, and specifically teaches, “It may also be a WiFi-enabled television (TV), set-top box (STB), a smart speaker (e.g. Amazon echo), a smart refrigerator, a smart microwave oven, a mesh network router, a mesh network satellite, a smart phone, a computer, a tablet, a smart plug, etc. The Type 1 device and Type 2 devices may be…a well-being monitoring system for older adults… may be used in baby monitors to monitor the vital signs (breathing) of a living baby…”.
Zhang does not however, expressly teach the housing having a handle for maneuverability of the portable device.
SLOAT teaches in col. 10:1-14, that at least the television and computer configurations (suggested by ZHANG) may comprise a handle for maneuverability. Specifically, Sloat teaches, “…the displays 102a, 102b may include touch screens, the display devices 102a, 102b can include any device capable of displaying information to a user, e.g., a personal computer, a television, a portable digital device, or any other electronic display device. Furthermore… the displays 102a, 102b may be more fully portable (e.g., lightweight and with carrying handles)…).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to form the portable device of Zhang, when embodied as a television of computer, such that it comprises a handle, for the purpose of making the configuration fully portable, as suggested by Sloat.
Regarding claim 2,
Zhang teaches the housing comprising: a base (for positioning on a table top as illustrated in fig. 1); an extension extending upward from the base (sidewalls of housing 400 as shown in figure 1); and a top area at an opposite end of the extension from the base (top surface in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5,
Zhang teaches that the power source being a rechargeable battery (col. 28:67-col. 29:1); the housing having a battery slot configured to releasably retain the rechargeable battery (col. 29:44-45).
Regarding claim 7,
Zhang teaches that the human-interaction interface including a display (col. 47:40 teaches that the Type 2 device may comprise a display).
Regarding claim 8,
Zhang teaches the human-interaction interface including a speaker(col. 47:64 teaches that the Type 2 device may comprise a speaker).
Regarding claim 9,
Zhang teaches the human-interaction interface including a microphone(col. 47:64 teaches that the Type 2 device may comprise a microphone).
Regarding claim 10,
Zhang teaches instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the portable device to: determine a mission task for the portable device based on user input received using the microphone (col. 60:49-51 and col. 61:9-10 teach computing a task associated with the monitoring).
Regarding claim 11,
Zhang teaches the mission task including terminating the user-interpretable signal when the user input indicates that a user has resolved an event defined within the wireless-node data (col. 31:32 and col. 31:50-52 disclose that part of the task comprises turning off a secondary system i.e., user-interpretable signal. In col. 32:10-11 teaches turning off a light, music or entertainment system, understood as occurring when an event requiring light, music or said entertainment system, is resolved).
Regarding claim 13,
Zhang teaches the wireless communication module implementing a plurality of wireless communication protocols; at least one of the plurality of wireless communication protocols including RFID reading capability (col.6:9 teaches that the wireless signal may utilize RFID standards).
Claim(s) 3, 12, 14 and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZHANG (US 11,770,197) in view of SLOAT (US Patent 11,875,365) and further in view of SKAAKSRUD (US 2019/0287063).
Regarding claim 12,
ZHANG, modified by SLOAT, teaches the portable device of claim 10, but fails to expressly teach the features recited in claim 12.
SKAAKSRUD teaches a system of communication between a master node and ID nodes wherein the user input defining an action that the user intends to perform; the mission task including: identify one or more assets required to perform the action, analyze the wireless-node data to determine if asset-specific wireless nodes of the plurality of wireless nodes are in proximity to the portable device ([0273] teaches a node entering an alert stage where it may be “found”), and generate the user-interpretable signal including indication that all of the one or more assets are present or that one or more of the one or more assets are missing ([0230] teaches the exchange of information indicating that a node is “missing”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Zhang system per the teachings of Skaaksrud as suggested in the claim for the purpose of facilitating the intelligent management of supplemental nodes.
Regarding claim 14,
Skaaksrud teaches the portable device to: receive indication of a specific wireless node, or asset associated with the specific wireless node, to be searched; determine if the specific wireless node is within the wireless-node data; and generate the user-interpretable signal to indicate that the specific wireless node is nearby the portable device ([0268] teaches performing an active connection between a master node 910a and an ID node 920a,b; [0271]).
Regarding claims 3 and 25,
ZHANG, modified, teaches the portable device of claim 1 wherein the processor, further causes the portable device to: determine a mission task for the portable device based on received user input (col. 60:49-51 and col. 61:9-10 teach computing a task associated with the monitoring). Zhang fails to further teach computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the user input requesting more information related to the user-interpretable signal, wherein the mission task comprises outputting an additional user-interpretable signal indicating an event defined based on the wireless-node data.
SKAAKSRUD teaches that the housing has a box form-factor (1725 in fig. 31; also see [0575]); and the user input requesting more information related to the user-interpretable signal, wherein the mission task comprises outputting an additional user-interpretable signal indicating an event defined based on the wireless-node data ([0147] teaches a request for more information from an advertising node may, in some examples, come in the form of a SCAN_REQ message which is sent from a scanning (listening) master node to an advertising node requesting additional information from the advertising node).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Zhang system per the teachings of Skaaksrud as suggested in the claim for the purpose of providing more information relative to a change in a current or an anticipated contextual environment.
Regarding claim 26,
Skaaksrud teaches the device comprising one or more of a light sensor, a vibration sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, an accelerometer, and an orientation sensor ([0121] teaches that ID node 120a may include one or more sensors 360 and sensors 360 may include one or more environmental sensors (e.g., pressure, movement, light, temperature, humidity, magnetic field, altitude, attitude, orientation, acceleration, etc.)).
Regarding claim 27,
Skaaksrud teaches the portable device further comprising a display integral with the housing; the user-interpretable signal causing the display to indicate that the specific wireless node or asset is nearby the portable device ([0267] teaches that when ID node A 910a detects ID node B 920b advertising with one or more advertising data packets as part of an advertised message from ID node B 920b, ID node A 920a identifies a status flag from the message indicating ID node B 920b has, for example, data (e.g., sensor data 350) for upload. As a result, ID node A 920a logs the scan result (e.g., as a type of association data 340) and, when next connected to master node M1 910a, ID node A 920a uploads the captured scan log information to the server 900.)
Regarding claims 28 and 29,
Skaaksrud teaches optimize position of the portable device relative to another portable device; and using received signal strength indicator (RSSI) data within the wireless-node data, determine at least one of direction and distance that would yield an optimized location of the portable device within the network; wherein the user-interpretable signal indicates at least one of the direction and the distance ([0373] teaches that a signal strength measurement between two or more nodes may be used to determine the proximity of the nodes by using one or more improvements to conventional RSSI measurements.)
Regarding claim 30,
Skaaksrud teaches causing the portable device to analyze the wireless-node data to identify when one or more of the wireless nodes breaches a geofence defined within the memory of the portable device; wherein the user-interpretable signal indicates that a wireless node has breached the geofence ([1070] teaches signal analysis based upon proximity to a location such as a geofence).
Conclusion
/DIONNE PENDLETON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689