DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10-11 and 13-19 and have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments
[e.g., in view of applicant’s amendments, an updated search was performed that revealed new relevant prior art that fairly renders the amended claimed invention(s) obvious when considered in combination with the previously cited prior art reference US 20220250674 A1 (Hamamoto)];
[e.g., the newly cited analogous prior art reference US 20200283063 A1 (Kashi) teaches a comparable steering system (of which is also notably a steer-by-wire steering system), and wherein a respective (or redundant) steering actuator configuration is (or can be) utilized for both the front and rear axles of the vehicle to increase reliability (e.g., presumably so that in the event of a failure of one steering system/actuator, of which could be the actuator of the front-axle steering system, the other (or rear-axle) steering system/actuator can be utilized to help ensure that the vehicle can still be reliably and/or safely steered/controlled), and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have desired and/or considered implementing the aforementioned technical feature(s) into the vehicle and/or system(s) per Hamamoto to similarly achieve an increase in reliability and/or safety when a failure occurs in the front-axle steering system and the electric motor is being short-circuited to generate an electromagnetic brake effect];
[e.g., while the examiner agrees with applicant in that Hamamoto only expressly discusses a front-axle steering system (note the front wheels 20 per Fig. 1 and/or paragraph [0021]), the claim feature(s) per applicant’s amendments that pertain(s) to the control of a rear-axle steering system in the event of a failure of one of a front-axle steering system/steering actuator is/are taught and/or at least suggested by Kashi (at least suggested in view of basic engineering logic/principles concerning implementing redundancy in mechanical and/or vehicle systems)];
[e.g., at best, the amended claimed invention(s) constitute(s) a novel but non-inventive application and/or combination of well-known analogous prior art elements/techniques from the general field(s) of endeavor pertaining to vehicle steering system configurations (e.g., routinely opting for steer-by-wire steering and separate (or redundant) steering systems/actuators for the front and rear axles of the vehicle (as per Kashi), and utilizing the same (or a substantially similar) steering configuration that comprises the short-circuiting of the electric motor of the front-axle steering system for braking when there is a failure/fault detected in the front-axle steering system (as per Hamamoto))]. See detailed rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rear-axle steering system including a respective electric motor of a steering actuator that acts on a coupling element after receiving a control signal from the control unit (see at least claims 1 and 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) [e.g., Fig. 1 only illustrates the front-axle steering system, and not the other defining feature(s) of the claims that include(s) the rear-axle steering system and the components thereof]. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 8, 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-5, 8 and 13-14, each claim recites “the electric motor” after the respective independent claims 1 and 11 have previously established two distinct electric motors [e.g., an electric motor of a front-axle steering system and an electric motor of a rear-axle steering system]. The claims are rendered indefinite such that it is not exactly clear as to which particular electric motor is necessarily being referenced via the aforementioned recitation of “the electric motor” [e.g., while the aforementioned limitation(s) is/are presumably in reference to the electric motor of the front-axle steering system, this is not exactly clear]. Note that the examiner has construed the aforementioned limitation(s) as being with respect to the electric motor of the front-axle steering system, as this appears to be applicant’s intent.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the steering actuator” after the independent claim 1 has previously established two distinct steering actuators [e.g., a steering actuator of a front-axle steering system and a steering actuator of a rear-axle steering system]. The claims are rendered indefinite such that it is not exactly clear as to which particular steering actuator is necessarily being referenced via the aforementioned recitation of “the steering actuator” [e.g., while the aforementioned limitation(s) is/are presumably in reference to the steering actuator of the front-axle steering system, this is not exactly clear]. Note that the examiner has construed the aforementioned limitation(s) as being with respect to the steering actuator of the front-axle steering system, as this appears to be applicant’s intent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20220250674 A1 (Hamamoto) in view of US 20200283063 A1 (Kashi).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) teaches a method of operating a e.g., input via steering handle 12] into a steering movement of steerable wheels (20) of the motor vehicle (see Fig. 1 in conjunction with paragraphs [0020]-[0021]) [e.g., “The manual steering system directly transmits the steering operation of the steering handle 12 by the driver to the front wheels 20”], comprising:
sending a first control signal [e.g., via control device 50 and/or inverter 36] to an electric motor (22, 22a) of a steering actuator (56) of the front-axle steering system (see Fig. 1 in conjunction with paragraphs [0025], [0029]-[0030]);
converting the received first control signal into a mechanical movement of the steering actuator of the front-axle steering system by the electric motor of the steering actuator of the front-axle steering system, wherein the steering actuator of the front-axle steering system acts on a coupling element (62) of the front-axle steering system to implement the steering input command [e.g., noting that with respect to claim 11 only, Fig. 1 of Hamamoto similarly teaches a steering gear that comprises the steering actuator 56, the electric motor 22, 22a, and the coupling element 62] (see Fig. 1 in conjunction with paragraphs [0025], [0029]-[0030]) [e.g., “The steering torque Tr is converted to a thrust force by the pinion 56 of the pinion shaft 54 and the rack teeth 62 of the rack shaft 16, and this thrust force moves the rack shaft 16 in the vehicle-width direction. Along with the displacement of the rack shaft 16, the tie rods 18 steer the front wheels 20, changing the orientation of the vehicle”];
detecting a predefined serious exceptional state of the front-axle steering system of the e.g., a state in which electromagnetic braking is required to prevent or suppress a sudden change in vehicle orientation and/or behavior when there is a failure in the steering system] (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]);
in response to detecting the predefined serious exceptional state of the front-axle steering system of the see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., “The above electric power steering device may have a configuration in which the drive device is connected to the battery of the vehicle together with the circuit of the first power supply path and supplies electric power to the motor, and the control device, in a case of detecting a failing of the first power supply path, short-circuits the motor to generate an electromagnetic brake”]; [e.g., the aforementioned short-circuiting of the electric motor to generate an electromagnetic brake corresponding to the generation of a second control signal including a further steering command to operate the electric motor in a generator mode]; and
in response to the further steering command, operating the electric motor of the front-axle steering system in the generator mode, in which the electric motor of the front-axle steering system is short circuited (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., “The above electric power steering device may have a configuration in which the drive device is connected to the battery of the vehicle together with the circuit of the first power supply path and supplies electric power to the motor, and the control device, in a case of detecting a failing of the first power supply path, short-circuits the motor to generate an electromagnetic brake”]; [e.g., “The control device 50 is capable of generating an electromagnetic brake on the motor 22 by controlling the inverter 36. The control device 50 opens all the upper arm devices 86u, 86v, and 86w of the inverter 36 and short-circuits all the lower arm devices 88u, 88v, and 88w to the ground. In this state, the motor 22 stops rotating and in addition, puts a brake on external force that seeks to rotate the output shaft 22a. In other words, the motor 22 stops the rotation of the pinion 56 via the output shaft 22a, the worm gear 24, and the worm wheel gear 26. This locks the power steering device 10 and restrains the steering of the front wheels 20, and thus, it is possible to prevent or suppress a sudden change in the behavior of the vehicle caused by input from the contact surface of the front wheels 20 with the ground”].
Hamamoto fails to expressly teach wherein the steering system and/or features thereof is/are (or can be) applied to a steer-by-wire steering system [e.g., a steering system where the traditional mechanical connection(s) between the steering wheel/handle and the steerable wheels is/are replaced with electronic controls], and a rear-axle steering system configured such that a [third] control signal is sent to an electric motor of a steering actuator of the rear-axle steering system, wherein the [third] control signal is converted into a mechanical movement of the steering actuator of the rear-axle steering system and the steering actuator of the rear-axle steering system acts on a coupling element of the rear-axle steering system [e.g., while Fig. 1 of Hamamoto is with respect to a four-wheeled vehicle (which presumably includes a rear-axle), Hamamoto only expressly discusses a steering system for the front-axle of the vehicle (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021]), and as such, Hamamoto fails to expressly teach a separate steering system for the rear-axle].
However, notwithstanding that the provision of utilizing a steer-by-wire steering system is incredibly well-known and/or commonplace in the relevant art(s) concerning steering system design(s), Kashi (Figure 1) teaches an analogous steering system configured as a steer-by-wire steering system (see Fig. 1 in conjunction with title, abstract), and wherein in addition to the front-axle steering system (10) comprising a corresponding control unit (18) and steering actuator (16), the vehicle may include a rear-axle steering system (described but not illustrated) comprising a respectively controlled steering actuator (see Fig. 1 in conjunction with paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0029]-[0031]) [e.g., “Alternatively, with individual wheel steering, each steerable wheel can have its own steering actuator 16 assigned. The redundant use (not visible here) of several steering actuators increases reliability. In addition to the front wheels, the rear wheels can also be steerable (not shown) in the case of a rear axle steering system”]; [e.g., “The steering actuator can adjust the wheel steering angle or the wheel steering angles of one or more steerable wheels. As an example, each steerable wheel can be assigned its own steering actuator for individual wheel steering. In the case of Ackermann steering, on the other hand, a steering actuator can also steer two steered wheels simultaneously by means of a track rod. The redundant use of multiple steering actuators, which can be assigned to the respective steerable wheel, increases reliability. In addition to the front wheels, the rear wheels can also be steered with rear axle steering”]; [e.g., further noting that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably infer a corresponding coupling element being acted on in view of the context pertaining to the disclosed track rod 17, such that one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that a track rod is a fundamental part of a steering system that connects a steering rack (or steering gear) to the wheels, allowing them to turn].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or merely involve routine skill in the art to accordingly (or similarly) have the system(s) per Hamamoto converted to a steer-by-wire steering configuration, if desired, as a modification (or an alternative) [e.g., largely or completely replacing the steering shaft 14 per Fig. 1 with corresponding electronic controls, converting the steering system per Hamamoto to a steer-by-wire configuration, and/or applying the features pertaining to the short-circuiting of the electric motor 22 to generate an electromagnetic brake effect to a steer-by-wire steering system in the same (or a substantially similar) manner], as suggested by Kashi, in order to achieve one or more of improved low speed maneuverability, high speed stability, a simplified vehicle interior, more available space and/or compactness, less vibration and/or harshness felt by the driver, improved crash safety, more customizable and/or intuitive driving/steering feel and/or capability, a reduction in weight and/or improved fuel efficiency as a result of the reduction in weight (implicit in view of well-known and/or basic engineering logic/principles concerning steer-by-wire steering systems) [e.g., also reference Pertinent Prior Art section provided below and/or paragraphs [0003]-[0005] of Kashi].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or merely involve routine skill in the art to accordingly utilize a rear-axle steering system in addition to the front-axle steering system as a modification in the system(s) per Hamamoto [e.g., converting the traditional steering system per Hamamoto to a steer-by-wire steering system and implementing a rear-axle steering system in addition to the front-axle steering system, such that at least the rear-axle steering system can still be controlled and/or utilized via a signal from the control unit if/when a failure of the front-axle steering system is detected], as suggested by Kashi, in order to increase steering system reliability via implementing redundant steering actuators (or front-axle and rear-axle steering systems), and thereby improve one or more of safety and/or fault tolerance [e.g., the use of redundant steering actuators to increase reliability (as explicitly provided per Kashi) further implies and/or reasonably suggests that if one steering actuator fails, the remaining actuator(s) can still be utilized to help maintain vehicle stability and/or safely control/steer the vehicle, and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have desired and/or considered implementing a rear-axle steering system in addition to the front-axle steering system into the system(s) per Hamamoto, so as to further ensure the control and/or stability of the vehicle and/or vehicle steering system when a failure in/at the front-axle steering system causes the control device to generate an electromagnetic brake on the electric motor/actuator] (implicit in view of well-known and/or basic engineering logic/principles concerning implementing redundancy in mechanical and/or vehicle systems) [e.g., also reference at least paragraphs [0007], [0031] of Kashi].
Additionally (or alternatively), note that the aforementioned modification(s) constitute(s) the application and/or combination of well-known analogous prior art elements/techniques in such a way as to yield highly predictable results [e.g., in consideration that Hamamoto and Kashi are both relevant to at least the same general field(s) of endeavor concerning vehicle steering systems, vehicle steering actuator configurations, front-axle steering systems, techniques for improving the reliability of a vehicle steering control system, etc., there would be no unexpected result(s)/effect(s) yielded via accordingly implementing and/or utilizing the features per Kashi in the system(s) per Hamamoto, and similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art can readily select from various well-known configurations based on certain factors concerning the particular application (cost considerations, space considerations, design safety and/or reliability requirements, etc.), without exercising inventive skill].
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein in the generator mode at least two phases (88u, 88v, 88w) of the electric motor (or of a circuit arrangement of the electric motor) are electrically conductively connected to each other (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., see the circuit arrangement per Fig. 2, of which includes the phases or legs u, v, w of the electric motor 22, 22a]; [e.g., “The control device 50 is capable of generating an electromagnetic brake on the motor 22 by controlling the inverter 36. The control device 50 opens all the upper arm devices 86u, 86v, and 86w of the inverter 36 and short-circuits all the lower arm devices 88u, 88v, and 88w to the ground”]; [e.g., when the phases of the electric motor are short-circuited to the ground, there is an electrical connection between the phases and the ground].
Regarding claim 3, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein the at least two phases of the electric motor are short-circuited with each other in order to connect them to each other electrically conductively (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., see the circuit per Fig. 2, of which includes the phases or legs u, v, w of the electric motor 22, 22a]; [e.g., “The control device 50 is capable of generating an electromagnetic brake on the motor 22 by controlling the inverter 36. The control device 50 opens all the upper arm devices 86u, 86v, and 86w of the inverter 36 and short-circuits all the lower arm devices 88u, 88v, and 88w to the ground”]; [e.g., when the phases of the electric motor are short-circuited to the ground, there is an electrical connection between the phases and the ground].
Regarding claim 4, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein all phases (88u, 88v, 88w) of the electric motor are electrically conductively connected to each other (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., see the circuit per Fig. 2, of which includes the phases or legs u, v, w of the electric motor 22, 22a]; [e.g., “The control device 50 is capable of generating an electromagnetic brake on the motor 22 by controlling the inverter 36. The control device 50 opens all the upper arm devices 86u, 86v, and 86w of the inverter 36 and short-circuits all the lower arm devices 88u, 88v, and 88w to the ground”]; [e.g., when the phases of the electric motor are short-circuited to the ground, there is an electrical connection between the phases and the ground].
Regarding claim 5, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein the electric motor is operated with a maximum set current drain in the generator mode (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., the maximum set current drain implied via the short-circuiting of the electric motor function(s) described, such that short-circuiting an electric motor leads to a maximum current drain or equivalent thereof]; [e.g., the maximum set current drain being with respect to current taking the path of least resistance during the described short-circuiting, where there is little to no resistance].
Regarding claim 10, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2, 4) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein to detect the predefined serious exceptional state at least one of the following is evaluated: a torque of the steering input command (see Fig. 1-2, 4 in conjunction with paragraphs [0020], [0053], [0067]-[0071]) [e.g., “the control device 50 may determine whether or not the steering handle 12 is held, for example, based on the steering torque Tr inputted from the torque sensor 28”]; [e.g., “In the case in which the steering handle 12 is not held (step S3; NO), the control device 50 starts the three-phase short-circuit control to generate an electromagnetic brake”]; [e.g., per Fig. 4, S3 precedes S4 where the electric motor is operated in a generator mode in which the electric motor is short-circuited to generate an electromagnetic brake].
Regarding claim 14, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein the circuit arrangement comprises controllable switching elements [e.g., indicated at arm devices 88 u, v, w per Fig. 2 and/or implied via the short-circuiting capability described] connecting (or configured to connect) the phases of the electric motor (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0046], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., “The control device 50 opens all the upper arm devices 86u, 86v, and 86w of the inverter 36 and short-circuits all the lower arm devices 88u, 88v, and 88w to the ground”].
Regarding claim 15, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein the switching elements are self-conducting semiconductor switching elements (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0034], [0041], [0046], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably infer that the switching elements in the arm devices of the inverter 36 per Fig. 2 define and/or comprise semiconductor switching elements, otherwise the inverter would not be able to convert DC to AC]; [e.g., semiconductor switches are an essential and/or inherent feature of a DC to AC inverter].
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein in response to detecting the predefined serious exceptional state of the front-axle steering system (or steering gear) of the steering system, controlling steering of the motor vehicle by targeted brake interventions [e.g., via the short-circuiting of the electric motor to cause said electric motor to generate an electromagnetic brake effect, targeted brake interventions are defined] (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., also reference the discussion(s) regarding the independent claims 1 and 11 with respect to Hamamoto failing to teach a steer-by-wire steering system].
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto (Figures 1-2) further teaches (at least implicitly) wherein in response to detecting the predefined serious exceptional state of the front-axle steering system (or steering gear) of the steering system, controlling steering of the motor vehicle by introduced drive torques [e.g., via the short-circuiting of the electric motor to cause said electric motor to generate an electromagnetic brake effect, negative drive torques are introduced] (see Fig. 1-2 in conjunction with paragraphs [0008], [0041], [0052]-[0053]) [e.g., also reference the discussion(s) regarding the independent claims 1 and 11 with respect to Hamamoto failing to teach a steer-by-wire steering system].
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20220250674 A1 (Hamamoto) in view of US 20200283063 A1 (Kashi) in further view of US 20160339949 A1 (Mori).
Regarding claim 6, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto fails to explicitly or expressly teach wherein electricity generated in the generator mode is configured to be stored in an energy storage device.
However, Mori (Figures 1-10) teaches an analogous electric power steering device [e.g., the entirety of Fig. 1, 4], said steering device comprising a highly comparable three-phase electric motor (22) and inverter circuit (42A) (see Fig. 1, 4) [e.g., compare to applicant’s Fig. 2 illustrating the corresponding three-phase electric motor 4 and inverter circuit 17], and wherein an energy storage device [e.g., per Fig. 4, the capacitor illustrated slightly above and to the left of Q2] is provided in the inverter circuit and with respect to an electric motor that is known to operate in a generator mode if/when there is a short-circuit failure in the inverter circuit (see Fig. 1, 4 in conjunction with paragraphs [0006], [0133]) [e.g., “when an on failure (short-circuit failure) occurs at the switching unit of the inverter unit, the motor becomes the power generator and generates electromagnetic braking”].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or merely involve routine skill in the art to accordingly implement an energy storage device [e.g., a capacitor], if desired, at the inverter circuit per Hamamoto as a modification, as suggested by Mori, in order to accordingly store electrical energy (or excess electrical energy) for later use and/or smooth out voltage fluctuations during the corresponding operating mode(s) of the electric motor per Hamamoto and thereby ensure stable operation(s) of the steering system(s) [e.g., to help filter out voltage spikes that might accompany the short-circuit operation(s) per Hamamoto, and/or improve stability] (implicit in view of basic engineering logic/principles concerning the use of capacitors in electrical circuits).
Additionally (or alternatively), note that the aforementioned modification constitutes the application and/or combination of well-known analogous prior art elements/techniques in such a way as to yield highly predictable results [e.g., in consideration that Hamamoto and Mori are both relevant to at least the same general field(s) of endeavor concerning electric power steering systems, three-phase electric motor and inverter systems used in steering systems, techniques for utilizing and/or dealing with short-circuits in steering systems, etc., there would be no unexpected result(s)/effect(s) yielded via accordingly implementing the energy storage device (or capacitor) per Mori into the steering system per Hamamoto in the same (or a substantially similar) manner, and similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art can readily select from various well-known configurations based on certain factors concerning the particular application (cost considerations, electrical circuit design ratings, intended use(s) of the electric motor, etc.), without exercising inventive skill].
Regarding claim 7, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto fails to explicitly or expressly teach wherein electricity generated in the generator mode is converted into heat by means of ohmic resistors [e.g., resistors that follow Ohm’s law].
However, Mori (Figures 1-10) teaches an analogous steering system for steering a motor vehicle and/or electric power steering system (see Fig. 1-10 in conjunction with paragraph [0131]), and further suggests that electricity is generated while an electric motor (22) is being operated as a generator, and such that said electricity is converted into heat by means of ohmic resistors (see Fig. 1-2, 7A-7B in conjunction with paragraph [0006]) [e.g., see the various resistors indicated per Fig. 7A-7B in conjunction with the context per paragraph [0006] which describes how the motor and/or inverter become overheated due to large currents supplied to the motor and/or inverter]; [e.g., when an electric current flows through a resistor, the resistance within the material(s) cause(s) the electrical energy to be transformed into heat energy].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to accordingly utilize ohmic resistors as required for the particular application, so as to intentionally limit the flow of electric current by introducing a specific resistance and/or control the voltage drop across one or more components of the electric power steering system, thereby preventing excessively large currents from causing overheating and/or damage to other parts of the system(s)/circuit(s) (implicit in view of basic engineering logic/principles concerning the use and/or purpose(s) of ohmic resistors in electrical circuits/systems).
Regarding claim 8, Hamamoto in view of Kashi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Hamamoto fails to explicitly or expressly teach wherein the electric motor is cooled in the generator mode.
However, Mori (Figures 1-10) teaches an analogous steering system for steering a motor vehicle and/or electric power steering system (see Fig. 1-10 in conjunction with paragraph [0131]), and further suggests that electricity is generated while an electric motor (22) is being operated as a generator, and such that said electricity is converted into heat by means of ohmic resistors (see Fig. 1-2, 7A-7B in conjunction with paragraph [0006]) [e.g., see the various resistors indicated per Fig. 7A-7B in conjunction with the context per paragraph [0006] which describes how the motor and/or inverter become overheated due to large currents supplied to the motor and/or inverter]; [e.g., when an electric current flows through a resistor, the resistance within the material(s) cause(s) the electrical energy to be transformed into heat energy].
Furthermore, Mori clearly recognizes the problem(s) concerning the overheating (or potential overheating) of the electric motor when the electric motor is being operated as a generator (see paragraph [0006]), and as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or merely involve routine skill in the art to accordingly implement an appropriate cooling device to cool the electric motor as required (or desired) [e.g., realizing that the electric motor and inverter per Hamamoto are susceptible to overheating and/or damage/failure as a result of overheating, especially during a short-circuit condition that entails a significant amount of excess heat being generated, opting to implement an appropriate cooling device to manage the operating temperature(s) of the electric motor and inverter], so as to accordingly prevent and/or further reduce the likelihood of overheating of the electric motor, especially in the event of a short-circuit condition (implicit in view of basic engineering logic/principles concerning the use and/or purpose(s) of generic cooling devices in electrical circuits/systems) [e.g., the provision of implementing a generic cooling device (e.g., fans, liquid cooling, heat sinks, etc.) for cooling electrical components is well-known and/or commonplace in the relevant art(s), and to the extent that there would be no exercise of inventive skill required in opting to provide a generic cooling device to address overheating or potential overheating concerns of an electric motor/generator].
Pertinent Prior Art
While not relied upon per the detailed rejection above, the examiner notes the following NPL reference to further support the examiner’s assertion(s) concerning the rationale(s) provided per the independent claims 1 and 11, in particular with respect to the well-known utilization of steer-by-wire steering systems and/or the well-known technical advantage(s) that is/are achieved via the utilization of a steer-by-wire steering system in lieu of a traditional (or conventional) steering system:
A LABORATORY WORKING MODEL ON STEER BY WIRE SYSTEM (Joseph) [e.g., for the sake of argument that the provision of utilizing a steer-by-wire steering system should be regarded as inventive, Joseph discusses the numerous technical advantages to be achieved with respect to utilizing steer-by-wire steering and/or via converting to a steer-by-wire steering system, and to the extent that it is undoubtedly clear that applying the feature(s) per Hamamoto that pertain to intentionally short-circuiting an electric motor to a steer-by-wire steering system would not involve the exercise of inventive skill, and/or would not yield any unexpected technical effect(s)/result(s)];
[e.g., “The absence of a steering column greatly simplifies the design of car interiors”];
[e.g., “The absence of a steering shaft allows much better space utilization in the engine compartment”];
[e.g., “noise, vibration, and harshness (NVH) from the road no longer have a path to the driver’s hands and arms through the steering wheel”];
[e.g., “during a frontal crash, there is less likelihood that the impact will force the steering wheel to intrude into the driver’s survival space”];
[e.g., “with steer-by-wire, previously fixed characteristics like steering ratio and steering effort are now infinitely adjustable to optimize steering response and feel”];
[e.g., “the most significant benefit of steer-by-wire technology to driving safety and performance is active steering capability: the ability to electronically augment the driver’s steering input”].
Contact Information
/ANTHONY DONALD TAYLOR JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747